About Splunk Enterprise

Search, analyze, and visualize data from your entire data ecosystem. Monitor, alert, and report on your operations to drive resilience.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Pros:

Splunk is very easy to use due to high community support and many video tutorials available online for new users to learn. Functionalities are robust and simple to use.

Cons:

So, first time user it can be difficult to use it.

Splunk Enterprise ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Splunk Enterprise has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 180 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Splunk Enterprise before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (180)

Sachin
Sachin
DevOps Engineeer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk: A Monitoring Tool for all your needs

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: If i have put a word it would say "Fantastic". The functionalities Splunk provides eases team to manage/monitor their IT infrastructure and internal application you will be well aware about the performance of your applications. Setup alerting and take necessary actions in stipulated time to overcome all the issues which may affect your application performance.

Pros:

Splunk offers various features whether you need to setup monitoring on your server, application logs based on logs ingestion set alerts so that teams got notified on real time and take actions accordingly. In this way, it helps to monitor application which are mission critical. You can make dashboards in Splunk where you can configure various components such indexes, data inputs and schedule reports as well. To achieve additional functionalities we can install third party apps as well such as AWS Add on for cloud watch log ingestion.

Cons:

From Admin perspective, I found user access management a little difficult. The roles of access management becomes complicated because some time the config files for that didn't came very handy. Other then that I think all in all Splunk provides fulfill all of the requirements.

Muhamed
Muhamed
RPA Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A better business companion when integrated with RPA

5.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, the experience was positive; even with a free trial license, it was much easier, and on the course and certification side, Splunk has a very good collection of videos and materials that help even a novice quickly setup the integration and indexing.

Pros:

The most useful thing about Splunk is the ease of integration with application. With uipath on-premises it was very much helpful as the business users can monitor the actions of robots through spluink without entering into uipath orchestrator

Cons:

Expression creation for indexing was bit hard as it is not user-friendly to business users if they wanted to create any new fields, also the forwarder was not able to directly connect with uipath cloud so that the logs has to be shifted to intermediate file before uploading into splunk, but that seems not an issue with splunk but more related to uipath cloud

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise: Splunk was much cheaper than power bi and only little effort needed for implantation and the resources cost is also higher for power bi

Patrick
IT Application SR Dev in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spunk Review

3.0 6 years ago

Pros:

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons:

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

Verified Reviewer
Software development Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best friend for debugging

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Splunk basically makes debugging and monitoring easier and touch less. I can easily debug by starring the rolling logs from different instances in single screen.
I can monitor multiple components and multiple metrics, without running commands manually with custom plugins.

Pros:

Splunk comes with lot of in-built templates for each and every feature like log visualisation, dashboarding, traces,etc This makes the developers life lot easier. I can't think of any other logging tool that is snappy as well as accurate. I love the fact how easily I can plug it in my docker-compose to push container logs.

Cons:

Even though, it offers numerous features for different needs, each feature has its own learning curve. For instance log visualisation needs querying skills, which may be in natural language but it takes bit of time to get familiar.

Surabhi
Surabhi
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best monitoring solutions for different platform.

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

Best tracking and data analysis tool which help to monitor and manage the server and system component in very effective way. Real time Visualization helps to take the quick decision so that desired action can be taken to avoid failure.Best data collection in the forms of log and which helps to define the best set of automation jobs to fix the issue.

Cons:

There are few components or observation like,1. most of the time observes the slowness in the performance.2. Sometime observe the delay in the issue or updated log reflection on the portal. 3. Need more storage to manage and maintain the lo g which impact organizational costing and budget.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk is a lifesaver!

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: It’s been wonderful. I was able to take most of my forwarded lambdas and charts them to watch duration and throughput. Notifications and alerts let me know if things are out of whack. Such a relief to know Splunk is watching my back!

Pros:

If you need real-time grokking into your infrastructure, look no further than Splunk. I love love love the dashboards. It’s easy to tell a story with your data, and the live search is so FAST!

Cons:

SPL is a little hard to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, it’s not so bad. I recommend downloading their community edition for some great examples of queries and dashboards.

Edward
Lead Infrastructure Engineer in US
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk Enterprise Review

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Good overall experience. It’s an expensive product and there is a learning curve, but it’s an amazing ing product once you are accustomed to using it

Pros:

The ability to set up queries and get data back quickly is invaluable

Cons:

Learning to structure queries is a bit of a challenge in the beginning

jay
Network Security Specialist in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The ease of initial setup along with the app market for add ons makes this a great product. Couple this with their support and it is so simple and great to use.

Cons:

A little overwhelming how much is out there for this product and can get to be a large task to get implemented correctly.

Sunil
Operations Manager SAP in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splint is a great tool

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall experience is very great. I personally used this tool to provide RCA.

Pros:

This tool provides holistic overview of network and infra reports which supports RCA analysis.

Cons:

Too many time consuming but has detailed overview.

Verified Reviewer
Azure Architect in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best log monitoring

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

While Microsoft didnt provide a centralized log monitoring for enterprise machines, Splunk filled the gap. It is good one stop console to monitor logs on your every server.

Cons:

Reports can be more user friendly and descriptive.

Gabe
IT Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A powerful log aggregation solution with immensely useful tools built-in for popular applications.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Free to use for small 500MB or less daily ingress, quite nice for small use cases and learning - No development work required to deploy and provide value. - Deployment flexibility: client agents are available to use, or clientless configurations for multiple OS platforms. It's also very easy to deploy, not just flexible. its a very simple affair. - Segmentation of logs: You can create separate instances of of logs to aggregate, based on organization needs. And those instances can have their own individual storage policies to optimize consumption of storage resources. - Configuration design: Thoughtful and mature documentation and design of the application regarding enterprise-class scaling on network storage. -POWERFUL tools: The user interface lends itself to learning more about your organization from the logs you collect, through metrics of trends of the logs being gathered. There are also specific modules/add-ons for popular applications to provide more value and event-based monitoring, all without having to develop in-house dashboards and intelligence of those logs. - Customization: You can create your own queries of logs, and event-based alerts. - Web-based GUI that clean is powerful - Sales/Technical Reps are top notch in fielding questions and evaluating environment for deployment. They were extremely helpful in helping our organization develop procedures and scaling our environment for expansion with our existing infrastructure.

Cons:

- Price: This product is not free for more than the minimal use. Pricing can be very expensive, relative to open source offerings. That is the trade-off you pay for not having in-house development of open source offerings. As this product is priced based on gigabytes of indexed logs, it is important to understand the scope of licensing necessary for your environment to determine if it is a good fit for your organization. - Watch your saved queries and hardware resources: Users have the ability to create and save queries. Like in database queries, some are more efficient than others. Large inefficient queries can be very resource-intensive. If you notice slowness in day-to-day queries, or navigation in the UI, or resource use in contention, keep an eye on saved queries and user practices.

Verified Reviewer
Senior Security Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great, wholistic centralized monitoring solution

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I've been using Splunk for over 8 years. I've seen it constantly improve and change a lot. I do enjoy it. Cloud is getting better and much better parity with on-prem

Pros:

We use this as our SIEM. The ability to have the data ingest, visualization, alerting and correlation all in one product is very important to me from a security standpoint. We're cloud-first so having that ability with large cloud providers is important to me (AWS, Okta, GCP, etc)

Cons:

The cost can be a little concerning and htere is a bit of a learning curve when you first get into Splunk. User groups, their forum and pro serv all help with that.

Alternatives Considered: Datadog and Elastic Stack

Reasons for Switching to Splunk Enterprise: Better product.

Robert
US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Cons:

Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

shashank
Software Trainee in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Pros:

1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML 2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format. 3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose. 4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple. 5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results. 6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers. 7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy. 8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Cons:

I did not find any flaws with this software.

Verified Reviewer
business development manager in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Number 1 SIEM

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: I was very happy with splunk and I suggest it to everyone

Pros:

I think Splunk is first and best software in the field, easy to use, does what it had promised,

Cons:

pricing could be better, they could be more flexible, support is a bit slow

Rob
CEO in Canada
Computer Networking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk vs Humio and Devo

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The APIs and plugin are great. the parsers are just fantastic. It can log anything and everything.

Pros:

We have been using splunk for over 5 years now. nothing beats splunk in the market place. The only concern we have the pricing and the resource to support it. it's just too expensive

Cons:

Too expensive and it's too hard to manage. You have to find a very qualified and very expensive resource to support it.

Mark
Mark
Software QA Engineer 5 in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros:

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons:

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

André
André
System Administrator in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very reliable and powerful resource

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros:

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons:

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Parth
Parth
DevOps Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Monitoring Tool Splunk

4.0 last year

Comments: With Splunk anything identified with the application backend logs and observing, it's extremely suitable to utilize, in light of which we can make different dashboards. For server Monitoring, Splunk logs are not exceptionally accommodating. It totally depends on log explanations, assuming articulation isn't organized in standard organization, and it gives mistaken outcomes.

Pros:

Splunk Light is ideal for independent on-premise organization. Augment endpoint logging. Can find and store logs from a wide range of resources. Customization of dashboards. Making applications dependent on your requirements.

Cons:

Complex generally design. Long execution time. The instrument needs to incorporate AI to comprehend the framework logs and alarming ought to be founded on the auto learning.

shaik
shaik
Associate Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: make our business life easy

Pros:

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons:

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

Joevanne
IT Security Engineer in US
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very cool but pricey

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons:

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

Carlo
IT Manager in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk Review

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons:

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

Satish
Satish
Assistant Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent tool for logs & data anlaysis

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: As a developer/operations team member i felt this tool is excellent to analyse any logs or texts

Pros:

log analysis, text patterns, statistics and graphing

Cons:

Too much of programming, not easy for laymans to write queries.

Damon
Damon
Engineering Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Worth the Learning Curve

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

As a software engineer, Splunk helps me debug issues in my microservice applications. The Splunk forwarders are efficient and quickly collect logging from multiple server instances. The timestamp resolution is precise making it easier to track down race conditions. The reporting and pivot tables are powerful ways to visualize frequency of api calls once you learn the syntax.

Cons:

Splunk forwarders that collect the data from applications can sometimes hang and need to be restarted. The amount of traffic that can be collected has maximum caps based on your subscription.

Ryan
Sr. Linux Systems Engineer in US
Public Relations & Communications
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very Powerful and easy to administer

5.0 8 years ago

Pros:

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons:

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.