15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Splunk Enterprise Reviews

About Splunk Enterprise

Search, analyze, and visualize data from your entire data ecosystem. Monitor, alert, and report on your operations to drive resilience.

Learn more about Splunk Enterprise

Pros:

When you need to store, correlate, and search large amounts of data, especially System Log data, there is no tool that even comes close to Splunk. It's power and flexibility is amazing.

Cons:

So, first time user it can be difficult to use it.

Splunk Enterprise ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Splunk Enterprise has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 221 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Splunk Enterprise before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (221)

Subham
Subham
Incident responder in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best SIEM in the market

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: My overall experience has been awsome so far. I would rate it 8.5/10.Splunk has been as effective soluntion when it comes to triaging and monitoring of day to alerts.

Pros:

- Easy to triage and monitor alert (Very fast and gives effective results as compared to other produts)Arcsight,Devo etc- Customer Support is excellent- Threat Hunting can be done effectively with the help of Splunk(IOC based,Corellation based etc)- Log parising is very effective & intelligent.

Cons:

- The only think i liked least about splunk is the cost involved/pricing model in case of high data volumes.

Shayla
Shayla
Human Resources Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Big data is no problem for Splunk Enterprise

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Splunk is a powerful and useful monitoring tool. Splunk's efficiency is enhanced by the ability to integrate third-party apps developed in-house. It's also interesting that we can incorporate a customs alert and dashboard. In most situations, it resolves the need to normalize data, allowing for the use of any and all data in business forecasting. It is analyzed for data that can be utilized to optimize spending plans and asset tracking.

Pros:

Without worrying too much about data type or normalization, Splunk Enterprise can efficiently manage massive amounts of data from numerous sources. Data may be accessed in a flash, and there are a number of options for tailoring and integrating data analysis workflows to create bespoke dashboards or utilizing apps from our other product partners.

Cons:

There isn't much I dislike about splunk, however if we have to be picky, it would be that it's more difficult to maintain as an administrator when splunk is installed on outdated architecture.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

nice tool with functionality for everyone

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: very good tool to see your logging and get alerts when something is wrong.

Pros:

Splunk is easy to use, also non technical persons can also use and create their dashboards. Easy to implement and very easy to use the query language, the documentation is also sufficient

Cons:

We cannot setup the alerts for realtime. we only us it for logging and not for metrics. the maintenance of the dashboards are very time offering.

Patrick
IT Application SR Dev in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Spunk Review

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons:

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

Ajay
Lead it engineer in India
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best log monitoring tool

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Powerful search language Advanced visualisation Flexibility to accept logs from any source High availability Ease of administration

Cons:

The cost is too high compared to other log monitoring tools.

Davis
Principal Security Researcher in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The most expensive tool, requiring highly-skilled employees, capable of limitless value

4.0 last year

Comments: Splunk's SPL is a flexible, straight forward query-language with aspects of SQL, R, Python, and Bash. The fact that an analyst can learn to be an engineer through using the platform provides ease of growth. It is unmatched in its automation to make data actionable, while providing reporting and visualization capabilities.

Pros:

Splunk is provides a single tool for log aggregation, log analysis, and visualizations. Threat hunting, applying threat intelligence, and incident response are easily repeatable; pushing organizations to proactive security processes.

Cons:

Splunk is expensive, especially when an organizations is exploring and building new security or data use cases. It also requires a lot of engineering maintenance, making the quality of the data highly-dependent on the skill(s) of those supporting it. Many organizations do not maximize its benefit because it is poorly managed or supported by low-skilled employees.

Kerry
Operations Coordinator in Türkiye
Furniture, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The only tool you need to manage production data

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: I'm very pleased with the data management capabilities Splunk Enterprise has given us. Before we implemented it, we were really struggling to make sense of some of the big data we get from our machines, but now, we can get very detailed insights into hw the machines are performing at any time. It's helped us monitor performance, issues, and opportunities much easier.

Pros:

I love how detailed you can have the dasboards and charts go. It supports tons of chart types, and custom reporting elements. But above all, with the automaetd monitoring, you can have access to continuous insights from large data you wouldn't have been able to make sense of otherwise.

Cons:

It's quite difficult to set up in the beginning. It took us a lot longer than expected to map our production data onto the system. But once you have it up and running, it works like clockwork

Muhamed
Muhamed
RPA Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A better business companion when integrated with RPA

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, the experience was positive; even with a free trial license, it was much easier, and on the course and certification side, Splunk has a very good collection of videos and materials that help even a novice quickly setup the integration and indexing.

Pros:

The most useful thing about Splunk is the ease of integration with application. With uipath on-premises it was very much helpful as the business users can monitor the actions of robots through spluink without entering into uipath orchestrator

Cons:

Expression creation for indexing was bit hard as it is not user-friendly to business users if they wanted to create any new fields, also the forwarder was not able to directly connect with uipath cloud so that the logs has to be shifted to intermediate file before uploading into splunk, but that seems not an issue with splunk but more related to uipath cloud

yuval
IR Analyst in Israel
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best SIEM out there.

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I used a lot of SIEMs in my career, Splunk is the best one out there. Comfortable, Easy to use, Great big data platform.

Cons:

Easy to use, versatile, A lot of options, dashboards

Sathiyan
Sathiyan
Lead Consultant in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

log Master

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall i'm happy to use for any malicious activity is happened in the forwarder system its giving immediate alert system

Pros:

It's giving live alert, triggers, dashboard system based on rules we already set. the dashboard helps to see and virtualize the data.

Cons:

The only concern I feel it consumes the system space due to this my system running slow. without knowledge of Splunk query language, it is difficult to handle.

THOMAS
Management Reporting and Business Analyst in Zambia
Telecommunications, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk an Enterprise Business intelligent user tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Is a robust and intelligent management tool that enables everyone with user computer knowledge to navigate in real-time, consolidate vast data into a visualized report of dashboard features , reliable and web based, no major equipment required for setup, user need a smartphone or compute to access the platform through the web, you can navigate the system as long as you have computer knowledge without any training required(user friendly) .

Pros:

It an intelligent business tool that provided me an opportunity to customize and build report from large volume of data from different departments within the 13 Africa countries in telecommunication sectors. The platform allows data to be consolidated accordingly to the organization need and produces visualized reports of dashboard features. I also noted that the system can analyst unstructured large volume of data speedily and is reliable and web based allowing for user flexible accessible from any part of the world if you have internet. The systems have been reliable and secured from the time (2 years) I started using it without any system intermittent, system errors and cyber-attack.

Cons:

The system is built and use-able with structured and unstructured organization though the price in foreign currency could hamper small and medium organization to use it especially in most Africa country where the local currency has depreciated against the major trading foreign currency.so the Forex pricing is a challenge. The navigation of the platform will require minor training though if the user is computer proficient, they would management with minor challenge and interpretation of the data. So, first time user it can be difficult to use it It will depend on internet for access and internet tend to be pricey in most African country and therefore could increase the business cost for small and medium enterprise. It can increase business cost if not fully used

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An excellent SIEM at a low cost

5.0 last year

Comments: We have many programs that measure the performance and quality of the operation, of the production in chevron, I think it is important that they give extra barriers to what we do and splunk is an optimal collaborator so that we can track all these programs and not get intrusions through the network.

Pros:

It is a very subtle program, when generating the setup it is not necessary to have a great knowledge of programming to install it, but to solve some configuration errors, when you start what I like the most is that you start from day one to organize your applications, then From that you can easily configure cybersecurity for each program, I particularly like the monitoring of data programs and that the program alerts you with notifications so that you see errors that sometimes jumps in the program.

Cons:

What I don't like and I see that it is something widespread is that it has very poor support in technical help, I think that the old technical support collaborators have left and people who are not so qualified have arrived to answer the tickets.For my part it is not a big problem since I am a researcher and with the information that is on the splunk website it is enough for me to generate the resolutions of problems.

Nana Kwame
Teaching Assistant in Ghana
Education Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk Enterprise is a powerful data analytics software

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: I believe getting important data analysis in real-time saves us from threats

Pros:

Splunk Enterprise offers real-time data analysis tools makes it possible for my institution to see and take immediate action against security risks, performance difficulties, and other operational concerns.

Cons:

Splunk Enterprise is really expensive and it is a huge part in our annual budget because we require add-ons.

Sachin
Sachin
DevOps Engineeer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Splunk: A Monitoring Tool for all your needs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: If i have put a word it would say "Fantastic". The functionalities Splunk provides eases team to manage/monitor their IT infrastructure and internal application you will be well aware about the performance of your applications. Setup alerting and take necessary actions in stipulated time to overcome all the issues which may affect your application performance.

Pros:

Splunk offers various features whether you need to setup monitoring on your server, application logs based on logs ingestion set alerts so that teams got notified on real time and take actions accordingly. In this way, it helps to monitor application which are mission critical. You can make dashboards in Splunk where you can configure various components such indexes, data inputs and schedule reports as well. To achieve additional functionalities we can install third party apps as well such as AWS Add on for cloud watch log ingestion.

Cons:

From Admin perspective, I found user access management a little difficult. The roles of access management becomes complicated because some time the config files for that didn't came very handy. Other then that I think all in all Splunk provides fulfill all of the requirements.

kalaiselvan
Integration Enginner in US
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Splunk review

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Pros:

Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI . People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query. It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively. we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON. we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues. This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Cons:

Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage. Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Get useful insights into your logs with Splunk Enterprise.

5.0 last year

Comments: We majorly use Splunk enterprise for IT security and log analysis. It is a powerful log analytics solution. We use it to collect data from several sources, analyze and transform it into meaningful metrics.

Pros:

Its been a while since I started using Splunk Enterprise. I love its ability to cumulate data and logs from multiple sources and correlate them to help find incidents and their root cause. It consolidates logs and manages them form a central place. It is a great tool for log analysis as it segregates data and provides in depth profiling. Splunk enterprise also automates alerts and indexes on logs received.

Cons:

It has a complex architecture making the learning curve quite steep

Or
Sr. Software Eng in Israel
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk helps us to walk in the darkness, for sure in the Prod arena

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are in Autodesk, use it much, as part of the monitoring tool. We like it and would like it to be improved and even more useful

Pros:

Dashboards feature is amazing, I use it much. Alerts and queries are easy to set up. Mostly it works fast so it's kind of Dev friendly so it's easy to onboard the new guys

Cons:

Alerts should have a better way to manage it. There should be a way to promote alerts to different environments - so we will be able to set the Dev/Stg/Prod Sometimes some things that we want to do take a while searching on the internet for a solution - they might think how to do it better - maybe some examples or better documentation

Robert
US
Management Consulting
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

5.0 9 years ago

Pros:

Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Cons:

Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Pros:

Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Cons:

Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

Stephan
Stephan
Cyber Securit Analyst in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Splunk is a great SIEM solution for anyone to use

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Vey happy to user the product, it fits our client's need perfectly

Pros:

The easy of setup and integration makes this one of my favorites As well as the real time dashboard

Cons:

Not much i don't like yet, but maybe the interface can do with an update

Chintan
Technical Specialist in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Carry out data analysis with Splunk

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It has been a great experience working with Splunk , we have been using it since past 3 years.
It is integrated tool with fuse component for real time data analysis of the data flow from source system to target system

Pros:

-Easy to use tool -Simple graphical interface which makes it easy for a new user to understand the features easily -Real time data analysis can be carried out

Cons:

When we try to search for data which is more than 30 days old, then sometimes we see slowness

André
André
System Administrator in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very reliable and powerful resource

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: On business side we have a lot of logs, informations provided for a very different resources, the most beautiful thing about Splunk is to consolidate everything on just one place, and the ease to extract this information make Splunk the most powerful resource to gather and extract data from every resource that you have logs, even if you are using Windows or Linux, Splunk covers both.

Pros:

Ease of use, you can extract any kind of information using commands provided by the software vendor. The other good thing about this software is the easy implentation on the servers, and the configuration is basic.

Cons:

For people that are not used to use command lines, it might be a liitle bit difficult on the beggining.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Pros:

Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Cons:

Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

Lina
Senior Software Developer in Latvia
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Master of multiple event log data collection with excellent intrusion detection capability

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Flexible product with extensive data collection capability for complete visibility to ensure effective threat investigation.

Pros:

Advanced security analytics to quickly detect malicious threats within our networks and devices with rapid response and effective alert prioritization to accelerate investigation.

Cons:

Great integration to collect multiple data easily and in built-threat intelligence that helps to accelerate our investigations. Full of incredible features, there is nothing to dislike.

mattt
Pre-Implementation Onboarding Coordinator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Cons:

Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.