Ascender Payroll and HCM Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.6 /5

About Ascender Payroll and HCM

Unlock the full potential of your workforce with an award-winning end-to-end integrated Payroll and Human Capital Management Solution.

Learn more about Ascender Payroll and HCM

Showing 25 reviews of 38

Natasha B.
Executive Manager, Sales & Marketing
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018

"Easy Performance Management"

Comments: Our Customer Success Manager has been a fantastic support for us along this journey. He is very knowledgeable and happy to help in any way. It took us some time to implement due to the project being managed by only one person - but this goes to show that it is a truly scalable solution for large and smaller businesses.
We will soon implement the Learning & Development Module across our teams and know it will lift our training and personal development to a new level with this professional and well-structured solution.

Pros: Peoplestreme is customisable and is very 'follow your nose' in terms of employee and manager use.
Dashboards are great to easy report on individuals, teams and also for compliance requirements.
For a business which did not have anything in place previously it has helped is to implement a performance management program which is best of breed and best practice.

Cons: There were a couple of items with our version which meant we needed some manual workarounds but with our upgraded version ready to go live next month everything will be resolved.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 15/10/2018

Hi Natasha,

Thanks for your kind words and the trust you put in us. This is the reason we come to work every day and hope the team can continue to add value to Northern Inland Credit Union and the team.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Laura S.
Organisation Development Consultant
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018

"One platform for all our HR initiatives to be housed making it easy and straight for our staff."

Comments: It's a great tool to engage our staff in our HR initiatives. The platform allows our processes to be uniformed and create a professional environment for all things people/HR.

Pros: - One platform for all our HR initiatives
- It is easy and straight forward to use
- We can add new modules at the time that suits our organisation
- Easily monitor completion rates etc.
- Ability to export data into excel in a friendly way
- Friendly helpdesk if support is required
- Engages team well
- Ability to have single sign on

Cons: - Fixed structure so can be difficult to make bespoke for our business when required
- Can take time to set up new modules

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/06/2018

Laura, thank you for the great review! We¿re so happy PeopleStreme can play a part in Audi's HR initiatives and can¿t wait to see future outcomes. Keep up the good work!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Ann S.
General Manager, Corporate
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018

"Performance and Learning & Development modules"

Comments: Now that we have been through a performance review cycle, the benefits are apparent to everyone, Managers can see how powerful it can be and they want to use it! We now have plans that are truly tailored to each individual and everyone's KPI's actually link back to our Company Strategic objectives. There is greater clarity for all about their futures and were their development is headed. There is greater engagement in general across the board. We also like to ability to be able to add relevant additional modules as we like as we evolve.

Pros: Its has allowed us to adopt some of the latest HR strategies in this area by replacing our paper based performance appraisal process, providing alignment with our company strategy and improved employee engagement and development.
Ease of use is also key.
It also provides an easy to use tool to for all our Learning and Development which ties back into our Personal development plans and is constantly being referred to and worked on via the 1 on 1's. We were never good at this in the past.
After sales support has been excellent as you are proactively contacted to ensure you are getting the most from the software.

Cons: Some of the data entry is into windows (rather than into a field ) which when they open are too big and take up most of the screen

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 18/09/2018

Hi Ann,

Thanks for your glowing review. Glad that the PeopleStreme team could be a part of your journey and I'm sure it's only the start of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2018
Ruta B.
Human Resources Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2017

"Great product with great support."

Pros: Ease of use, allowing for a much more efficient recruitment. Support for the product is excellent and no question is considered trivial; no problem considered too difficult.

Cons: Some of the configuration seems unreasoned but nothing that can't be worked around. I am sure it is that HR meets IT scenario with perhaps slightly different outcomes/focus.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/10/2017
Michelle N.
Recruitment Manager
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019

"Peoplestreme Review"

Comments: Staff are friendly. If I have had an issue or question it has been resolved quickly.

Pros: Ability for the software to grow and able to easily add and change templates and processes

Cons: Not always smooth and step by step. Alot of going in and out of stages

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/07/2019
Simon H.
Dealer Operations Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017

"Excellent, user-friendly tool and great support"

Comments: Totally transformed our performance management process from a paper based, out of sight process to a visible, accessible and engaging mechanism. This was the platform for launching a new approach to not only performance management but also L&D, recruitment and talent management.

Pros: The admin interface is quite intuitive and the software is designed to support key HR and L&D principles (e.g. 70/20/10 learning)

Cons: The LMS can feel a little cumbersome until familiarity is established. This can result in a user experience that isn't the best.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2017
Petar J.
HR Project Officer
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019

"Great software and support"

Pros: Easy to use and navigate, behind the scenes support.

Cons: Somewhat rigid, occasional errors that seem to appear at the most inconvenient times. Having said that, the support team are always prompt to action and assist.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/06/2019
Kim L.
HR Advisor
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018

"A great tool that allows HR processes to occur electronically"

Comments: Real time data and eliminates manual paperwork

Pros: - Easy to use
- Accessible from anywhere
- Accountability and monitoring of goals are linked together

Cons: This system is great but our business is slightly unique and require some customizations which will come at a cost. This will improve over time with system upgrades.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 25/04/2018

Thanks Kim for the great review. We're glad that you're finding the tool easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
HR Business Partner - Projects
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018

"Easy to use and value for money"

Pros: Peoplestreme is quite intuitive and a simple to use system as a user. Our customer manager is approachable, knowledgeable and friendly and the helpdesk understanding, responsive and know their product!

Cons: The backend doesn't seem to be as intuitive as the front end, however the support from the helpdesk etc made up for this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/07/2018
Rebekah L.
General Manager, HR and Organisational Development
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2017

"Comprehensive easy to use product"

Comments: Great piece of software, particularly when it is integrated with payroll software so that new starts and terminations are automatically updated live.

Pros: Has good features that can be turned on or off depending upon the needs of the business. From a front end it is well laid out and logical to follow. Fully hosted off site so low reliance on internal IT requirements.

Cons: The back end administration of the system requires some time to understand and will need to be well resourced so that changes can be made regularly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/11/2017
Stephanie C.
General Manager Human Resources
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016

"A good product"

Comments: PeopleStreme has proven to be very easy to use. The staff has been able to work out the functionality for themselves after one quick training session. Feedback has been very positive.

Pros: Easy to use

Cons: Software seems fine. Well, developer and mature so no bugs have been encountered.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Ben J.
Chief HR and Technology Officer
Medical Devices, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017

"Mobile Performance Management Solution"

Comments: The system has a great mobile platform for remote employees and promotes self reliance. Features single sign on, digital sign off, activity feeds, high frequency one on ones, diary notes, recommended on-the-job development activities, tracking of aligned strategic objectives, technical competencies, quick reference guides, secure and unlimited data, customisable fields and rating scales, practical reporting. Looking forward to more Peoplestreme modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/02/2017
Barry B.
Managing Director
Civil Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020

"Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere"

Comments: We were sold a puppy when we purchased this software. The salesman promised the world and the reality of what has been delivered is quite underwhelming compared to the previous software we used. We have escalated on three occassions and each time have been given a different senior executive to talk to, each promising to fix the issues, but nothing being done. They seem to worry more about their restructure, than they do solving client issues. Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

Pros: Nothing that is worth writing about.

Cons: It's slow, not interconnected, limited in capability

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/12/2020
Carley M.
Finance Manager
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019

"PeopleStreme Performance Management"

Comments: The PeopleStreme Performance Management software has taken our business from an adhoc, paper-based performance management system to a clear, accountable, streamlined system readily accessible by management and staff

Pros: Straightforward, easy to use with good functionality
Taken up well with buy in from all users and positive feedback
Well supported

Cons: Some initial difficulties with logins and Single Sign On

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 25/02/2019

Hi Carley,

Thanks for the great review.
I hope the team can continue to add value to Air Powered Services. Keep up the good work.

Jean-Paul

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2019
Laura E.
People and Culture
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018

"Professional, supportive,"

Comments: Staff engagement and management of performance and development.

Pros: It's intuitive, adds value to the employee life cycle and engaging. The performance management module is streamlined and encourages ongoing conversations between the manager and employee. The software also promotes individuals managing their own performance management and development in a transparent approach. Reporting is extremely easy to use and read with the back end having the ability to push workflows and emails to outstanding items. PeopleStreme are extremely responsive to our queries and issues.

Cons: That you can't be logged in more then once because as an administrator it would be useful to have several screens open at a time. Would also prefer the software not to time out and require relogin.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 01/03/2018

Thanks Laura for your review and compliment. The success could only be achieved because of your guide and help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2018
Verified Reviewer
Group Fitness Instructor
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017

"I used PeopleStreme software in a previous role for over 9 years"

Pros: * Easy to use
* First class customer service
* The complete employee lifecycle is available in this system with add in modules as required which provides flexibility dependent on requirements.
* Regular updates and amendments to keep the system agile.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2017
Lianne L.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016

"Peoplestreme makes a difference"

Comments: We are a small NZ business with approx 70 staff, we have implemented the Performance Management, Employee Self Service kiosk and Learning and Development modules. The business has already started seeing some great outcomes and cost savings as a result of having the Peoplestreme software in place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2016
Dana M.
Recruiting Manager
Staffing & Recruiting, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017

"Pretty good"

Comments: I have worked with this in the past and we ended up upgrading for more options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 24/01/2017
Steve C.
Senior Advisor
Higher Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020

"HES Review"

Comments: Excellent working relationship wirh many people inside of Ascender at all levels.

Pros: Very suited to a university environment and has been for many decades. HES has had a relationship with Ascender and it's predecesor companies since 1997. We continue to strengthen the relationship through collaborative software development and broader services to the universities we serve.

Cons: It is (understandably) difficut to configure since it is a complex payroll.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2020
Anne T.
HR Manager
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019

"eRecruitment - Effective, streamlined recruitment process, Peoplestreme supportive, responsive"

Comments: Highly positive relationship developed with Peoplestreme. Useful tool in the management of high volume recruitment. Database functions highly useful and efficient for management reporting. Intuitive software, easy to follow and matches our company processes well. This is one of the reasons why we selected this module for our company. We have been impressed with the level of customer service and promptness in delivery of troubleshooting.

Pros: Easy to use, intuitive software that enables recruitment to work in line with our internal company processes. Highly responsive troubleshooting. Punctual support when needed.

Cons: System inability to identify same candidate twice. Candidates that apply for multiple roles within company cannot be easily identified under search. Candidates within system are not easily identifiable as they are assigned by number not name.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Sean C.
HR Business Partner
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018

"Great product and wonderful service support."

Comments: The software has allowed us to centrally manage our decentralised recruitment process and has significantly reduced our recruitment timeframes. Additionally, the performance module provides an easy and intuitive platform for our staff to capture and record ongoing performance conversations. The reporting functionality also provides easy to access and build reports to demonstrate compliance of all of our staff.

Pros: A really intuitive system that allows end users a central location to manage their performance conversations, learning and development activities and recruitment all in one place. Staff in our organisation often comment on how easy the processes are to follow and how simple it is to capture and record ongoing performance discussions.

Cons: The only part of the system that sometimes causes us issues is that the hierarchy in PeopleStreme has a person to person relationship whereas our other hierarchy based systems are position to position.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 26/06/2018

Thanks for the awesome review, Sean! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we¿re happy when we hear we hit the mark for you. Cheers!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/06/2018
Stephanie C.
Senior HR BP
Wine & Spirits, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018

"New to system, but very happy"

Comments: Greater buy in to the review process.

Pros: The software is very straightforward to use and has successfully been rolled out to our business with great buy in from staff who previously have not worked with an online system.

Cons: Back end reporting can be messy when utilised.

Vendor Response

by PeopleStreme on 03/09/2018

Hi Stephanie.

Thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you're overjoyed with your system.

Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Erika B.
HR Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2017

"Meets our needs"

Pros: Easy functionality. Does what want it to do. The support team is fantastic. and offer a lot of support when needed.

Cons: We could do with better reporting functionality (however this is available and is a matter of us upgrading).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2017
Ali S.
Group Performance Manager
Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017

"A Good Option"

Comments: I have used PeopleStreme in one of my companies and was impressed with their dashboards and system functions. A good option to explore!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2017
Felicity M.
Former HR Manager
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018

"PeopleStreme eRecruitment Module"

Comments: Excellent.

Pros: PeopleStreme's recruitment module enabled CEA to move away from manual recruitment processes and manage a very high recruitment workload for the last few years. The support we received from representative and the Helpdesk was excellent.

Cons: The version we used meant that at times, it seemed there were too many tabs to click through to get to the information we wanted, however, it was not something that seriously impeded the way we worked.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/10/2018