Ascender Payroll and HCM Reviews

4.1 (42) Write a Review!

About Ascender Payroll and HCM

Unlock the full potential of your workforce with an award-winning end-to-end integrated Payroll and Human Capital Management Solution.

Learn more about Ascender Payroll and HCM

Pros:

The support we received from representative and the Helpdesk was excellent.

Cons:

Inability to bulk upload all historical data (e.g. Job Ads, Position Descriptions, Resumes). Purchased modules don’t communicate to one another, requiring a increased workload for the HR team.

Ascender Payroll and HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.5
Features
3.9
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Ascender Payroll and HCM has an overall rating of 4.1 out 5 stars based on 42 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Ascender Payroll and HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (42)

Natasha
Natasha
Executive Manager, Sales & Marketing in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy Performance Management

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our Customer Success Manager has been a fantastic support for us along this journey. He is very knowledgeable and happy to help in any way. It took us some time to implement due to the project being managed by only one person - but this goes to show that it is a truly scalable solution for large and smaller businesses.
We will soon implement the Learning & Development Module across our teams and know it will lift our training and personal development to a new level with this professional and well-structured solution.

Pros:

Peoplestreme is customisable and is very 'follow your nose' in terms of employee and manager use. Dashboards are great to easy report on individuals, teams and also for compliance requirements. For a business which did not have anything in place previously it has helped is to implement a performance management program which is best of breed and best practice.

Cons:

There were a couple of items with our version which meant we needed some manual workarounds but with our upgraded version ready to go live next month everything will be resolved.

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Hi Natasha, Thanks for your kind words and the trust you put in us. This is the reason we come to work every day and hope the team can continue to add value to Northern Inland Credit Union and the team. Jean-Paul

Sheralyn
Senior Consultant in Australia
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ascender Payroll - sound and proven payroll for complex configuration and requirements

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Our current Account Executive is great, always ready to help and is easily at hand whenever we have any queries or issues. She is very professional and provides a level of assurance over working with Ascender. We have used Ascender Pay for around 30 years since it was first released and find it suits our complex enterprise agreement requirements. There is an abundance of new functionality being released for review and implementation. Ascender is a big part of my life and I am very attached since my connection goes back some 23 years. I almost feel part of their family working with some of the long-term staff for such a time – they are just wonderful people.

Cons:

With all the new functionality being released it is hard to keep up.

Emre
Emre
Software Developer in Turkey
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

You should try

4.0 last month New

Pros:

You can choose if you want to improve your skills, it does not take much time to learn thanks to its simple interface, it is easy to use.

Cons:

I didn't have a bad experience because customer service is always able to solve problems.

Adam
Director of Corporate Services in Australia
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Extremely disappointing product, promised the world and delivered very little.

2.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Extremely poor. Leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.

Pros:

We can use the payroll function, but only because we have invested heavily in the rollout. There is little point rolling our the rest of the suite of products we purchased as just after we signed the contract, they were bought out by Ceridian who did not intend to continue their product offering further than 18 months.

Cons:

Having to continually correct the mistakes made in payroll outsourcing through Ascender. The fact that as soon as we signed up for the product, the company was sold which meant that the products we were investing in would not be supported and developed after our initial contract term.

Anne
HR Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

eRecruitment - Effective, streamlined recruitment process, Peoplestreme supportive, responsive

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Highly positive relationship developed with Peoplestreme. Useful tool in the management of high volume recruitment. Database functions highly useful and efficient for management reporting. Intuitive software, easy to follow and matches our company processes well. This is one of the reasons why we selected this module for our company. We have been impressed with the level of customer service and promptness in delivery of troubleshooting.

Pros:

Easy to use, intuitive software that enables recruitment to work in line with our internal company processes. Highly responsive troubleshooting. Punctual support when needed.

Cons:

System inability to identify same candidate twice. Candidates that apply for multiple roles within company cannot be easily identified under search. Candidates within system are not easily identifiable as they are assigned by number not name.

Felicity
Former HR Manager in Australia
Defense & Space, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PeopleStreme eRecruitment Module

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

PeopleStreme's recruitment module enabled CEA to move away from manual recruitment processes and manage a very high recruitment workload for the last few years. The support we received from representative and the Helpdesk was excellent.

Cons:

The version we used meant that at times, it seemed there were too many tabs to click through to get to the information we wanted, however, it was not something that seriously impeded the way we worked.

Verified Reviewer
Senior HR Advisor in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great cloud based application that manages the whole employee life-cycle for us.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Streamlined employee on-boarding and administration, greater understanding of employee performance and a platform to manage learning & development, as well as remuneration reviews more effectively

Pros:

Whilst the application is module based, all data is interconnected so that you can build a full view of your employees as individuals as well as a collective.

Cons:

A few more system configuration options as the system administrator would be useful, particularly when trying to build or customise reports.

Elias
Accounting in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

RCJ Transport Logistics

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: After having worked manually and also with other slow response programs, this one has been extraordinary, efficient, fast and saves me more time for other commercial activities

Pros:

Friendly, versatile and easy to connect with other software

Cons:

really so far I have not gotten anything that tells me that I do not like this or that, rather it has been very useful

Laura
Laura
People and Culture in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Professional, supportive,

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Staff engagement and management of performance and development.

Pros:

It's intuitive, adds value to the employee life cycle and engaging. The performance management module is streamlined and encourages ongoing conversations between the manager and employee. The software also promotes individuals managing their own performance management and development in a transparent approach. Reporting is extremely easy to use and read with the back end having the ability to push workflows and emails to outstanding items. PeopleStreme are extremely responsive to our queries and issues.

Cons:

That you can't be logged in more then once because as an administrator it would be useful to have several screens open at a time. Would also prefer the software not to time out and require relogin.

PeopleStreme Response

5 years ago

Thanks Laura for your review and compliment. The success could only be achieved because of your guide and help.

Erika
HR Consultant in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Meets our needs

3.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy functionality. Does what want it to do. The support team is fantastic. and offer a lot of support when needed.

Cons:

We could do with better reporting functionality (however this is available and is a matter of us upgrading).

Sean
HR Business Partner in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product and wonderful service support.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: The software has allowed us to centrally manage our decentralised recruitment process and has significantly reduced our recruitment timeframes. Additionally, the performance module provides an easy and intuitive platform for our staff to capture and record ongoing performance conversations. The reporting functionality also provides easy to access and build reports to demonstrate compliance of all of our staff.

Pros:

A really intuitive system that allows end users a central location to manage their performance conversations, learning and development activities and recruitment all in one place. Staff in our organisation often comment on how easy the processes are to follow and how simple it is to capture and record ongoing performance discussions.

Cons:

The only part of the system that sometimes causes us issues is that the hierarchy in PeopleStreme has a person to person relationship whereas our other hierarchy based systems are position to position.

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Thanks for the awesome review, Sean! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we¿re happy when we hear we hit the mark for you. Cheers!

Ann
General Manager, Corporate in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Performance and Learning & Development modules

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Now that we have been through a performance review cycle, the benefits are apparent to everyone, Managers can see how powerful it can be and they want to use it! We now have plans that are truly tailored to each individual and everyone's KPI's actually link back to our Company Strategic objectives. There is greater clarity for all about their futures and were their development is headed. There is greater engagement in general across the board. We also like to ability to be able to add relevant additional modules as we like as we evolve.

Pros:

Its has allowed us to adopt some of the latest HR strategies in this area by replacing our paper based performance appraisal process, providing alignment with our company strategy and improved employee engagement and development. Ease of use is also key. It also provides an easy to use tool to for all our Learning and Development which ties back into our Personal development plans and is constantly being referred to and worked on via the 1 on 1's. We were never good at this in the past. After sales support has been excellent as you are proactively contacted to ensure you are getting the most from the software.

Cons:

Some of the data entry is into windows (rather than into a field ) which when they open are too big and take up most of the screen

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Hi Ann, Thanks for your glowing review. Glad that the PeopleStreme team could be a part of your journey and I'm sure it's only the start of it.

Verified Reviewer
Human Resources Manager in Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great affordable product

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Saving on time and money!

Pros:

The software is easy to use and more affordable than others on the market. The system allows you to easily find a candidate using the search function and has saved our company thousands in recruiter fees as a result. As adverts are directly uploaded to SEEK and our website the software has saved me time. In addition, the ability to mass (personalised) respond to candidates has saved me time and ensured a better candidate experience with our organisation.

Cons:

The software does not imped itself into our website to suit our style guide. It clearly looks like it has been added, rather than matching the rest of our webpage.

Danielle
HRBP in Australia
Construction, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

System lacks basic Functionality & Oversold Product

1.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, my recommendation is to avoid this product, it is not worth the increased administrative burden that the modules come with. The product is expensive for the lack of functionality and the presentation of the modules.

Pros:

Performance Management Module is only Module I would recommend purchasing.

Cons:

Customer Service: -Disconnect from the sales team and product delivery team -Sales team over sale PeopleSteme Modules that doesn't save time but increases administrative tasks -Product team provides workarounds to compensate for the lack of the system functionality once you have purchased the modules - PeopleStreme can't commit to timeframes for the companies 'road map' on new features System: -There is minimal automation provided by the purchased modules -System is extremely slow -Inability to bulk upload all historical data (e.g. Job Ads, Position Descriptions, Resumes) -Purchased modules don’t communicate to one another, requiring a increased workload for the HR team -There is no Employee Landing page that displays basic employee data (hire date, department, job title), which is collected from the Onboarding process. Sales team now tells us that this is only available to them because of their access permissions and not part of the package sold -Onboarding Module does not allow for cross-boarding to be captured in PeopleStreme

Laura
Organisation Development Consultant in Australia
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

One platform for all our HR initiatives to be housed making it easy and straight for our staff.

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: It's a great tool to engage our staff in our HR initiatives. The platform allows our processes to be uniformed and create a professional environment for all things people/HR.

Pros:

- One platform for all our HR initiatives - It is easy and straight forward to use - We can add new modules at the time that suits our organisation - Easily monitor completion rates etc. - Ability to export data into excel in a friendly way - Friendly helpdesk if support is required - Engages team well - Ability to have single sign on

Cons:

- Fixed structure so can be difficult to make bespoke for our business when required - Can take time to set up new modules

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Laura, thank you for the great review! We¿re so happy PeopleStreme can play a part in Audi's HR initiatives and can¿t wait to see future outcomes. Keep up the good work!

Laure
Senior HR Advisor in Australia
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great HRIS for SME

4.0 4 years ago

Pros:

The modules are user friendly and intuitive.

Cons:

The control panel was a little harder to navigate and to understand where and how certain areas/fields could be customised. Upgrades could also be improved with some customisation getting reset.

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Hi Laure, Thanks very much for your great review! We work hard to offer the best HRIS and services and I'm happy to see that reflected in reviews such as yours. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need any help. Thanks. Jean-Paul

Helen
Talent Aquisition Specialist in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great value for money, easy to use system - with the option to add modules over time..

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

- Easy to use as both an administrator & end user - Simplifies the recruitment process end to end. For us it has improved compliance & cost cost management significantly - Online onboarding - esignature approval is great feature!

Cons:

- It can be costly to make custom changes to the platform post implementation - At some points the process the system could be more intuitive, we have overcome this with training and support

Steve
Group HR Manager in Australia
Automotive, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Peoplestream staff have been a pleasure to deal with, outstanding professionalism, great product.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Implementing this software as a tool in our performance management process has lead to improvements in alignment, engagement and outcomes. We are able to easily review progress and take appropriate steps in a timely manner to ensure we are achieving our key objectives.

Pros:

At Emmetts we are pleased with our choice after reviewing many options. Employees have adjusted quickly to the system following initial training and change management support from the PeopleStream staff. The design of the software makes it very easy to use, following processes is intuitive and flows well. Reporting functionality has given us a more timely line of site to progress on strategic and key objectives across 12 locations. We love that we no longer have a paper chase on reviews, with this tool we have confidently increased increased the frequency of 1:1's.

Cons:

That we did not find it sooner, we have found that implementing this software has improved our performance management process.

PeopleStreme Response

4 years ago

Hi Steve. Thanks for leaving such a glowing review. The team here at PeopleStreme is thrilled to hear such good feedback and we're proud to be helping Emmetts on this journey.

Ruta
Human Resources Manager in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product with great support.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use, allowing for a much more efficient recruitment. Support for the product is excellent and no question is considered trivial; no problem considered too difficult.

Cons:

Some of the configuration seems unreasoned but nothing that can't be worked around. I am sure it is that HR meets IT scenario with perhaps slightly different outcomes/focus.

Marion
HR Business Partner in Australia
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We have recently upgraded and added the Learning & Development module.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

New version has improved ease of use & reporting capability. Mobile option is a great enhancement. Learning & development module integrated with the performance management module is fantastic.

Cons:

The setup is critical and it is challenging to work through in terms of implications of decisions made in that setup process.

Michelle
Recruitment Manager in Australia
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Peoplestreme Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Staff are friendly. If I have had an issue or question it has been resolved quickly.

Pros:

Ability for the software to grow and able to easily add and change templates and processes

Cons:

Not always smooth and step by step. Alot of going in and out of stages

Steve
Senior Advisor in Australia
Higher Education, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

HES Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent working relationship wirh many people inside of Ascender at all levels.

Pros:

Very suited to a university environment and has been for many decades. HES has had a relationship with Ascender and it's predecesor companies since 1997. We continue to strengthen the relationship through collaborative software development and broader services to the universities we serve.

Cons:

It is (understandably) difficut to configure since it is a complex payroll.

jamil
Teacher in Pakistan
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Efficient Recruitment System

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: This software has taken our organization from a paper-based performance system to a streamlined, accountable and precise policy that is easily accessible by me. It removes the manual paperwork and results in improving outcomes, engagement, and alignments. I can review the progress and take necessary steps to make sure we as a team are gaining our principle objectives.

Pros:

This software is affordable and easy to use as compared to others in the market. While using the search function, it allows us to find a candidate easily, and it saves our organization thousands through efficient recruitment. It saves a lot of my time and support for the products is excellent.

Cons:

The control panel is difficult for us to navigate and to get an idea where particular fields or areas can be customized. When we utilized, the back end reporting is messy. We also suffered some of the initial difficulties with Single Sign-On and logins.

Liz
Office/Payroll Manager in Australia
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

This is a good product and has moved us away from a paper-based reviews.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: This software has moved us from a paper-based review system that was onerous on our people to a streamlined software application that makes the performance review system easy.

Pros:

This software is easy to use; intuitive...I love the visibility into how everyone is going via the Progress tab on the Dashboard. So easy to follow people up.

Cons:

The only thing I can think of is when requesting third party feedback, only the objective is sent through not the expectations.

PeopleStreme Response

5 years ago

Thanks Liz for the kind words and valuable comments about the 3rd party feedback. We hope that PeopleStreme keeps adding value to your organisation.

Simon
Dealer Operations Manager in Australia
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent, user-friendly tool and great support

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Totally transformed our performance management process from a paper based, out of sight process to a visible, accessible and engaging mechanism. This was the platform for launching a new approach to not only performance management but also L&D, recruitment and talent management.

Pros:

The admin interface is quite intuitive and the software is designed to support key HR and L&D principles (e.g. 70/20/10 learning)

Cons:

The LMS can feel a little cumbersome until familiarity is established. This can result in a user experience that isn't the best.