15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About Workday HCM

Cloud-based human resources solution that helps businesses streamline workforce planning, talent management, and payroll processes.

Learn more about Workday HCM

Pros:

It also is useful to keep track of pay as well as money being taken out for insurance and taxes.

Cons:

Their expensive user training courses are absolutely appalling for adult learners - 4 days in a classroom flicking through a 500 page bound workbook, anyone.

Workday HCM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.1/10

Workday HCM has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 1,378 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Workday HCM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,378)

John
John
Financial Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best HR tool a company can use

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

My favorite aspect of Workday is the User Interface. The software is very easy to navigate for any user, and requires almost no training. I also love the personnel reports I can pull through Workday with our HRIS specialist.

Cons:

The Workday implementation took a long time. It took months before the Workday team could implement this software for us to go live.

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy to inspect, edit and access payroll information

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Excellent human resource management is made possible by Workday's integrated platform. Insights and statistics regarding employee preferences are provided, allowing for more informed decision making.

Pros:

Workday is flexible software that facilitates many different aspects of human resource management. Workday HCM has user-friendly data analytics. By collecting and analyzing this data, we may gain useful understanding and improve our approaches to workforce management.

Cons:

Workday does not offer a lot of room for user input. It also has trouble merging with other programs on occasion. In addition, there are sometimes technical difficulties. I think the user interface could use some work.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday is the best tool for HR

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very recommendable! Mainly for managers and HR have been a great tool

Pros:

1. Unified - combines HR, payroll, talent management, and workforce planning in one system, providing a seamless and integrated experience for users. 2. User-Friendly Interface- making it simple for employees and HR professionals to access and manage their information. 3. Mobile Accessibility. 4.Continuous Innovation hearing the needs of HR professionals and organizations.

Cons:

Sometime gave me problems with integration challenges, I believe that Integrating Workday with other systems and processes can be time-consuming and may require additional resources to ensure seamless connectivity.

Kate
Marketing Manager in US
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM

3.0 last month New

Pros:

I liked how easy it was to learn. I also liked how there was an app for my phone so I could check while not at work

Cons:

It lags, rarely lets you sign in on the first try and it never remembers your password

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday HCM, an exceptional Tool for one stop HR solutions

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Its a must try software for matrix organizations. It can solve all the problems but need someone specialist on products. Heavy training is required for advance features.

Pros:

1. Excellent interface 2. Looks posh and advanced 3. Can work in less bandwidth 4. No downtime

Cons:

1. Too complex features, highly categorized 2. Very expensive 3. Not very flexible for product level changes

megan
pet hotel manager in US
Veterinary, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

workday review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: everything is easy to use / easy to find

Pros:

everything in one spot ./ tax /hours / pay

Cons:

Nothing everything has been super easy to use

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Workday, an all rounder for all TA related stuff

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

1. Fabulous interface 2. Multifunctional dashboard 3. Smooth navigation 4. Supports quick self troubleshooting

Cons:

1. A bit heavy tool 2. Hard to integrate external software

Kristina
Senior Operations Specialist in Slovakia
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday: Steps to Learn, But Powerful Functionality.

3.0 6 months ago

Pros:

I've been using Workday for a while now. What I really like is how it effortlessly connects peers and gives a transparent view of the entire business process for any task. Despite the learning curve, the way it ties everything together is a definite plus.

Cons:

I have to admit, the multiple steps can be a bit of a hassle, and I haven't fully adjusted to them. However, I can't deny its excellent functionality.

Sarah
principal accountant in US
Accounting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Ease of Use and Cost Efficient

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Ease of use and flexibility of setup. Product was also cost efficient.

Cons:

Required a considerable amount of troubleshooting in the initial setup due to the complex and diverse nature of our reporting.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Everything you need in one place

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love that I can login and view everything I need. From trainings, to performance, to time off, to salary and career development (and much more). This makes things easier for me, as I can log onto workday and find everything in one place. Do i need to take time off, easy, i request it, do I need to see how much I am making, go to payroll.

Cons:

It is not that easy to take off notifications.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Strongest HCM we were able to identify

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Very satisfied with Workday as a tool, we have recently conducted an internal assessment of how satisfied we are with the tool and it has highlighted very few areas where the tool is not meeting our needs. We see the tool as a long term solution for our organisation.

Pros:

All requirements in one place, and more. Meaning we were able to centralise and transform (in an agile way) our HR processes as we implemented. Alerts allow for end users to engage and be engaged with using a sensible approach. All data in one place allows for reporting and budgeting to be easy.

Cons:

Implementation was sticky for us. We had a number of requirements which we thought were typical however had to create significant work-arounds in order to meet our needs. This was resource heavy from our perspective and elongated the implementation (we used an implementation partner and not Workday FYI)

Cathy
HR & Recruiting Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sad to not have Workday

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, Workday is a good product with good support.

Pros:

Workday was easy to navigate and very intuitive. A new employee could come in that was unfamiliar and quickly be up-to-speed. We had several upgrades, each making the process better each time.

Cons:

We could not be on our own cloud, making the organization more vulnerable to cyber attacks.

Chakkrit
People Technology Junior Analyst in Thailand
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Workday is probably the best human capital management too in the world right now.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Every big organization needs a human capital management program. Without Workday, this wouldn't have been possible. Especially in big companies like Agoda, where there are many requirements from stakeholders such as GDPR, Data Privacy, and Security, these are things that many of the competitors couldn't do.

Pros:

Workday is probably the best human capital management in the world right now. Learning Workday opens wide opportunities to various jobs. As a Workday HCM beginner, it might be overwhelming, but after one training course and a month of practice, Workday HCM can easily become a simple thing. Workday HCM is important as it is the core of other Workday modules such as Workday Security and Workday Business Process Architecture.

Cons:

Workday is definitely an expensive tool that is only utilized by big companies. It is going to be rare for small to medium size company to use Workday. It means that, if you are going to quit a company that uses Workday and would prefer to find a job in a similar fashion, it has to be a large size company. Workday training is also kind of expensive, yet it is not a one-on-one training but a group course instead. Workday Support is very technically useful, however, it might take some time for an issue to resolve and they don't provide live chat support. Workday Learning is something that my company has issues with the most.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Revolutionizing HR and Payroll: A Deep Dive into Workday HCM

5.0 last year

Comments: from my experience, I found that One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide me with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.the only negative feedback with workday HCM, is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, some challenges with customizing certain aspects of the system to meet specific needs.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Pros:

One of the key strengths of Workday is its user-friendly interface, which enables employees and managers to easily access and manage HR and payroll-related tasks from a single platform. Workday is also known for its mobile accessibility, which allows employees and managers to access HR and payroll-related information on the go.Another strength of Workday is its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, which provide organizations with detailed insights into HR and payroll-related metrics such as employee engagement, performance, and turnover. These insights can be used to inform strategic decisions and improve overall business performance.Workday also provides strong customer support, including a dedicated customer support team and a community of Workday users who share best practices and provide support to one another.Overall, Workday is a powerful and user-friendly HCM system that provides a comprehensive set of tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks. Its advanced analytics and reporting capabilities, combined with strong customer support, make it a popular choice for organizations looking to streamline their HR and payroll operations.

Cons:

One potential weakness of Workday is its relatively high cost, particularly for small and mid-sized organizations. Additionally, I have challenges with customizing some aspects of the system to meet my specific needs. While Workday offers a range of features and tools for managing HR and payroll-related tasks, I have found that certain features are not customizable or flexible enough to meet my unique business requirements. Finally, Workday's complexity and depth of features may require significant training and onboarding for new users, which could result in a longer learning curve and potential productivity loss. However, once users become familiar with the system, Workday's comprehensive set of tools and advanced analytics can provide significant benefits for HR and payroll operations.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Philanthropy, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Finally getting away from PDFs

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The best part of about Workday Performance Management is the ability to get away from manual processes. Previously at our company, we had to write our self-evaluations in a PDF document that was submitted to our managers. Then the manager could choose to write something completely different or utilize what was already written by the employee. Ultimately, the manual process left out information. With Workday Performance Management, everything is included. The self-evaluation is maintained within the performance review, as is the manager's review. That way anyone can compare and contrast what the manager had to say vs. what the employee had to say about themselves. All of this can be custom created per company so that an organization can keep whatever fields work best for them. It also can maintain goals, as well as milestones throughout the course of the year so that employees aren't just touching their reviews once a year, but actually working on them throughout the entire year. Sometimes it is hard to keep up with all that I have accomplished at the end of the year, unless I have written it down in a Word doc. But now you can add things to your review as it happens and then do one final edit at the end of the year.

Cons:

The biggest con for me is the lack of stating what can be improved. This could be a customized field that my organization failed to incorporate. If that's true, then maybe the improvement could come from WorkDay itself on best practices. But every employee wants to shine a light on all the good they did throughout the course of the year. It is just as important for each employee to shine a light on the things they could do better, or improve upon for the next year. Another con for our organization was the length of time it took to implement WorkDay within our systems. It was far from an easy task that took thousands of man-hours to implement. However, now that it is implemented and people are using it, it seems to have been worth the effort.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

‘A platform for employees to speak-up’

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: comparatively, ‘workday’ is an efficient, effective and affordable system for an above average organization.

Pros:

Many companies lose their talented employees due to failures by the top management to recognize the contributions made by certain employees for the growth of the organization, which goes unnoticed by the hierarchy which creates a negative opinion towards the management by those employees. HCM tool makes a positive impact as a go-between the employee and management and WORKDAY has made substantial developments with this regard. ‘Workday’ HCM has given the employees all the freedom to put on record their contributions/ achievements, goals, training requirements, etc which has almost totally brought to halt human ignorance/negligence of appraisers during evaluations and give due recognition to each employee according to the employee value to the company. ‘Workday’ has many features that help both the management and employees to know each other better and make justifiable decisions. With an advanced HCM such as ‘workday’, it is not only the HR head, but the whole top management is aware of the positives and negatives of the members of the organization which strengthens the transparency of the decision makers. With ‘workday’, the management doesn’t need to wait till the due period for performance appraisals, but identify ‘real-time’ the value of certain talents and apply sensible decisions to recognize such employees. ‘workday’ comes with an attractive UI which is a pleasing plus point. Additionally, it supports multiple devices which are useful on the go.

Cons:

so many beneficial features are incorporated in the system that it takes a fairly big effort to familiarize. As this is a HR centered software with access to each member, we find difficulties in getting the full potential due to cultural diversities by way of language barriers (non-English speakers).

Tiffany
Practice Administrator in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Very User Friendly!

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Workday is very easy to maneuver through, you can self-teach yourself pretty much how to do anything in this software. The categories are self-explanatory, its easy input/output for reports, great for payroll and timecard management. I highly recommend Workday to all businesses.

Cons:

At this point in time, I cannot think of anything that I didnt care for with this product.

Kavindu Githsara
Kavindu Githsara
System Specialist in Sri Lanka
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Why Workday HCM is the Future of HR Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall, Workday HCM is a powerful HR management solution that offers a wide range of functionality and integration with other business systems. While there are some challenges associated with using the software, it is an excellent choice for businesses that require a comprehensive HR management tool.

Pros:

Workday HCM is an enterprise-level human capital management software that provides various HR services. As an admin user of the software, I found several advantages to using it. First and foremost, it offers a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate. This makes it simple to access and manage HR functions such as payroll, benefits, and performance management. Additionally, the software has strong reporting capabilities, providing access to data on everything from employee demographics to compliance data. Another major advantage of Workday HCM is its integration with other business systems, such as accounting software and time tracking applications. This integration makes it possible to streamline HR processes and reduce the need for manual data entry. The software also has a comprehensive mobile app, allowing users to manage HR functions on the go.

Cons:

However, there are also some drawbacks to using Workday HCM. One of the biggest concerns is the complexity of the system. While it offers a lot of functionality, it can be overwhelming for new users.

Manju
Data Labeling specialist in India
Hospitality, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best software for marking attendance, leaves and benefits

5.0 last year

Comments: On workday I apply leaves which is very easy as it gives detailed segregation of them. The notification comes when the leave is approved. I also update my yearly goals on it and file yearly work report for appraisal on it. Setting goals and comparing them on year end it so simple. It comes with pre filled details as per organisation requirement which makes filling details even more easier. Different benefits provided the employer is displayed nicely and adding members or new details are straight forward.

Pros:

Workday is very easy to understand. Marking leaves is very easy. Enrolling for the benefits given by organisations is also very simple. Adding family members to the benefits and checking the changes was never so seamless.

Cons:

I wish my organisation leave other tools for IJP, onboarding and payroll and use workday because its just the best. No flaws whatsoever.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Learning Curve, but Allows for a lot of Consolidation

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Complex so far, but also rewarding to have a single platform to build off of. There are a lot of things that need to be monitored at once, but again, having things consolidated will make those efforts much easier, along with leveraging the consistent updates from Workday.

Pros:

Consolidating one-off software into a single solution. We were utilizing separate candidate tracking software, performance review software, employee profile details, and more. Workday offers all of this, and once everything was ported over, it has become much easier to manage and there are now several other offerings that can be taken advantage of from a data analysis and management standpoint.

Cons:

The onboarding and internal training required is extremely robust, however, essential. This is not an overnight switch, it will take a lot of time and internal training, to achieve the top uses of this powerful platform, but the expectation is that it will be very worthwhile.

Pragnesh
Principal FAE in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Use Workday HCM to manage human resources

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall a nice software. We have not used the leave tracking and management feature but that is something we will evaluate in future. Other than that, a nice software for managing human resources that are spread across the globe.

Pros:

Easy access to employee profiles, easy process of onboarding new hires, easy way to split direct deposits and easier to understand one's compensation package that is made up of base salary, stock options, RSUs or bonuses.

Cons:

Splitting of salaries. For example, I don't have an option to split based on percentage. I can't do 50% or 40% of salary into one account. I have to put in a whole number for first account and the remainder would go into second account.This is fine for some time but after increments or pay rise are kicked in, the process of finding exact $$ for 50% split needs to be done again.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday is an industry standard and for good reason

5.0 last year

Comments: I use Workday as part of my company’s software solution for HR, finance, payroll planning. I’m able to update all my information related to HR benefits and payroll electronically and also update my self-reviews and reviews of my colleagues all in one place. it’s nice because everything is electronic and in one place.

Pros:

In my opinion, I think Workday is a great software suite because of its user-friendly interface, flexibility, and advanced capabilities for tracking HR and performance reviews. I appreciate how easy it is to use and customize making all things HR efficient. I believe that Workday is a leading enterprise software solution for organizations of all sizes and industries, and I look forward to using it in the future.

Cons:

I think the user experience could be better in that you have to know where to find some items such as goal setting, etc. However, I think that is minor given the overall pros of Workday. it’s and the time required to learn and implement. Also, it may not suit all industries or types of organizations, but like I said, the pros outweigh any cons in my opinion.

Brittany
Scribe in Antigua & Barbuda
Hospital & Health Care, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Workday is not user friendly.

3.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I feel like this program is not worth the money. It's wasted a lot of time for HR and our scheduler to manually enter everything following down time. The lack of ease of use for our employees has led us to switch to a new program.

Pros:

Workday organizes sections by tabs. It's easy to navigate and find what you are looking for with regards to your personal information, benefits, pay, tax forms, etc.

Cons:

The software is not user friendly. While it is easy to navigate between tabs and find things, it is NOT easy to enter information in these tabs. Generally, it requires contacting some form of support in order to change any information. This was a company wide problem, which is why we chose to switch to a new scheduling and business platform. Workday has frequent down times. Scheduled every Friday for about 10 hours. This requires us to manually enter in any information (clock in/clock out) that would normally be easily done in Workday. This becomes a huge hassle when you have several hundred employees. It takes HOURS. There are also frequent random down times throughout the month without warning.

Adam
Adam
Marketing Coordinator in Czechia
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Fantastic software for all of your HR solutions

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Expense reports are the main thing I use Workday for. The biggest benefit is how straightforward it is for a manager to review the expense reports entered by an employee, with the possibility of delegates designated for managing the expense reports for the manager. System also works very well for time off management and business trip reimbursement management.

Pros:

I like the simplicity of entering expense reports, which can even be done by scanning the receipts by your phone. Everyone can do this easily by mobile app or web based application. Workday is very complex and contains all your HR data including your pay and position, and you can easily see things like your career progress and your CV. The system is connected to our Microsoft Accounts solutions and works very well alongside of it.

Cons:

The system is sometimes working slower than you'd like. Currency conversion could be improved, as of right now it's easier for accounting purposes to find the current conversion rate at the national bank and use the conversed amount. The software could go a little faster, with bigger number of expense reports, the system slows down and it's harder to input new data into the system. However, this can be momentarily fixed by creating more reports instead of one huge one.

Shaun
Entrepreneur in US
Fund-Raising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Workday will make your day go more than okay!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Workday I am so glad it is becoming a lot more common in the industry and I love the convenience that the product provides to the consumer. It expedites the process of applying to positions on a lot of major corporations' websites.

Pros:

I love the fact that you can upload your file onto their platform and everything is already prefilled in for you with great accuracy. Yes, other sites do offer that same kind of service but I do notice when applying the file onto the form to prefill, most other sites aren't as good in entering data in the correct fields. The interface is easy to use as well and does not take a long time to load.

Cons:

The only thing that I don't like about the product is the fact that depending on the carrier using the product, your account may or may not be saved. Which is no big deal, you just create another account for each consumer's page you are visiting and wish to register on.