Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.9 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Project management, job costing, materials management, service call entry, receiving, billing, and sales solution.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics SL

Showing 84 reviews

Michelle B.
Consultant
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017

"Microsoft Project Management"

Comments: Microsoft Project Management software has pretty much had a market monopoly for many years in terms of powerful functionality. However, the choices have become more diverse without sacrificing powerful management features. Also, I have found other applications much more user-friendly with ongoing training support & superior customer service.

Pros: Functionality

Cons: Complex, not user friendly, low level of customer service, expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2017
Elizabeth D.
Gerente de Aseguramiento de Calidad
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2018

"Great and reliable software!"

Comments: We are currently using this software for accounting in our company

Pros: I love how extremely customizable Dynamics SL is when it comes to fitting our team needs. Also it is backed by the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is great

Cons: It's learning cuve is very steep because of the degree of customization built in it. But otherwise is a really great tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2018
Taylor C.
Bookkeeper
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2016

"Dynamics SL Review - I recommend it!"

Pros: I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons: The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2016
Paul H.
Telecommunications
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2015

"Controller of private company, using Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Pros: The product is written by one of the best names out there, Microsoft, and is supported by a great team. Getting a hold of them is easy and working with them is a pleasure.

Cons: It is built with today's technology, using SQL and Crystal; tools that my IT staff is familiar with. The database is easy to navigate and the programs can be easily integrated with our own home grown system. Microsoft is always trying to improve the product and in this latest release (SL2015), they have really hit a home run with some of the new tools, features and enhancements!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/02/2015
Robert V.
CIO
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4.5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2016

"Seamless and effective."

Pros: Pricing was very fair, and rollout was smooth. Product performs almost exactly as advertised!

Cons: Needed a bit more customization than we originally discussed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2016
Kelby B.
A/R Manager
Food & Beverages
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2016

"Assistant General Manger"

Pros: Organized numbers and easy to read/use!
Your business will love this software

Cons: Cost is a little high at first but after awhile it pays for itself

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/09/2016
Gargi singh C.
Student
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016

"Value for money"

Comments: The product feels good to operate and manage. The overall experience is pleasant with a few minor glitch's. But that can be ignored if you are not a big fan of extravagant UI.

Pros: Value for money. great functionality and swift response.

Cons: Customer support from microsoft is always lousy , so expect them to be a little delayed like always.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Hanna K.
Organization Member
Primary/Secondary Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016

"Great Product, Y'all!"

Comments: I first encountered this product through Auburn University, and really enjoyed the convenience of the product and the ease of customer support. With Microsoft Dymanics SL, it's good to have exactly what you need in mind, and the program is super helpful with accommodating those goals. And it offers copy/paste features! A total bonus for quick planning and organization.

Pros: Copy and paste feature, awesome customer support, great for organization.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2016
Angela K.
Managing Partner
Legal Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017

"Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics SL is easy to use and provides an adequate foundation for keeping track of due dates and deadlines.

Cons: Microsoft Dynamics SL is fairly expensive for what you get. For the money spent on the software, it should have more capabilities.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/07/2017
Shivakshi C.
Software Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Extremely easy to use."

Comments: Microsoft Dynamics SL is being used throughout our whole company on a daily basis. It is used from service techs, to sales people, and to accounting department. If someone is looking for a true accounting system for a small to mid-sized company, then I would definitely suggest looking into Microsoft Dynamics SL.

Pros: Extremely easy to use.
It has a strong and flexible Project Accounting system.
It is easy to customize.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Allen H.
Recruiter
Management Consulting, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"An amazing software with great UI!"

Comments: Microsoft Dynamics SL delivers integrated project management and accounting capabilities that provide increased control and insight. It looks and works like Microsoft Office. That means everyone can jump right in and get to work.

Pros: Simple and easy to use.
Multi-company operations are a great benefit.

Cons: The field service module is not multi-currency compliant.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Gerson M.
IT Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018

"Identify the modules you need and focus on that"

Comments: Once you configure and deploy this solution, you get a better understanding of your clients businesses.

Pros: Multi Company functionality is fantastic. This is a product designed to empower your people and making them more productive. It's focused on Financial and projects deployments. Provides the tools to share information across the company. Budgets, Invoices, projects and information in general.
It's scalable and focused on Professional Services, Government Conntractors, Service in General, Distribution and we can say that Construction can be an industry that is perfect for this software.

Cons: It requires some hardware resources that can be overwhelming for small businesses. But the more you allocate for this area, the bigger the reward.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Terrell B.
Songwriter
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2021

"A regular part of my job"

Comments: I enjoyed it! The foundation that I learned on this software can be applied to multiple jobs in various industries.

Pros: The best part of this software was that it was very user friendly and easy to grasp as a new employee at the time. This software being a regular part of my job wasn’t a headache because no prior experience was required.

Cons: The downside is that technical support for troubleshooting had to be handled by our in house IT team because Microsoft’s technical support was a bit pricey.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/02/2021
Zach N.
Valet Director
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2020

"DynamicsSL!"

Pros: We use this program for all our company records including invoicing, payroll, contracts, etc.

Cons: Double clicking can cause the whole system to malfunction for some reason

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2020
Jose V.
CFO
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017

"Dynamic SL Review"

Pros: Provides the necessary tools to process a service dispatch function. Have been using Dynamics SL since 2005 and at that time, it was one of the best available software that had the service dispatch module along with the accounting software. We also had a local dealer that helped us implement.

Cons: Has not kept up with changing times. Not sure how much Microsoft spend in research and development of Dynamic SL to stay current with changing technology. You have to access various screens to view information that should be available with a click. The service invoices are not connected to payroll, inventory, or purchasing. There are constant bugs in the software that we have to get a third party to fix.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017
Mary love F.
Supply chain planner
Food & Beverages, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018

"Easy to use. Amazing software!"

Pros: It is a user-friendly software where you can familiarize the functions/tasks easily with lesser supervision.

Cons: So far I can't remember anything that I could say the least likeable about this product/software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 30/08/2018
Jennifer B.
Construction Draw Adminsitrator
Construction, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017

"Perfect for Project Based Accounting"

Comments: This is a real accounting system, if you've got people who have never used anything but Quickbooks, you're in for a big mess! If you've got real accountants and not bookkeepers, you will be VERY pleased with this product.

Pros: It interfaces with our purchase order software (Sapphire Build) and gives us the detailed job cost we were lacking from our old accounting software.

Cons: It is not very user friendly. Training is almost non existent for it, and it isn't a widely used software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017
Emmanuel S.
CEO
Philanthropy
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2016

"Work with the it between 2000 to 2007 in international organisation"

Pros: Not the one who setup the product, but found it very easy to use in multi-project environment

Cons: The preparation and management of 'resource and application of funds' was manually calculated making it a little problematic

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2016
Jaspal S.
Director
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016

"Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Comments: I am in accounting so most of my business problems are monetary. I love how smoothly all of my transactions flow between reports.

Pros: The flexibility of creating your reports to suite your company needs is a great asset of this product. It is user friendly and can be great for small up to large companies.

Cons: I would like to have a feature that allows you to preview the affect of a journal entry before it posts. I would also like to be able to edit descriptions after a posting and an error has been discovered. That error is forever in the GL.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Vikash K.
Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016

"Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Comments: We use Microsoft Dynamics SL as our financial software handling all accounting operations and as a financial reporting base. We used it to keep track of our G/L accounts as well as make debit and credit adjustments to our factories overseas. It helped us keep track of what we owe and what is to be paid out to us.

Pros: Easy to create debits and credits to applicable accounts.
Built on a SQL Server back-end. SQL Server is fairly easy to use and integrates well with other Microsoft products.
Screen customization.

Cons: Difficult to reverse an incorrect entry.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2016
Harmandeep singh S.
Graduate Assistant
Primary/Secondary Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016

"Microsoft Dynamics SL Review"

Comments: It is resource planning software product for project driven small and mid size companies

Pros: Available as online and client service
It could be easily integrated with microsoft project server
It supports numerous industry specific add-ons from other microsoft software vendors

Cons: The technology used by software is old
customer support is only available through third party vendors
It does not offer native apps for android and IOS devices

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2016
Claudia D.
Accountant
Philanthropy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017

"Dynamics"

Comments: I have used this system for over ten years. The system is fairly easy to use.

Pros: I like the accuracy of the reports you can run within this system.

Cons: I hate when batches get stuck in unreleased mode or manual checks don't post to vendor history.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 12/01/2017
Sari R.
Program Manager
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2019

"Poor time sheet system"

Pros: Not many, overall basic design and interface

Cons: Horrible time taking features, constantly miscalculating hours spent on tasks after inputted. Limited space in notes field to describe tasks completed leading to acronym or shorthand which can be misleading.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2019
Rosie C.
Owner
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2018

"Project software with big learning curve"

Pros: Dynamics SL works best for small to medium size organizations. The software is able to do what you need--budgets, forecasting, local and web-base analytics, etc. While it has many features, we have designated a main person on our team to be the expert and then help teammates along the way as the software is bulky and can be very confusing up front.

Cons: This software comes with a big learning curve. Don't expect to get started on your projects right away with this tool as you'll need to do significant training to understand the benefits before use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2018
Diego G.
Associate Application Developer
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2016

"Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Comments: Project setup is quite easy for users, as is review and analysis. We manage by budget for each project and have never had an issue or need for additional information. Time and Expense capturing by employees is painless and efficient. This is highly important to a project centric organization. It meets our needs and users are content.

Pros: AP, AR and GL processing is straight forward and quite efficient.
Multi-Currency - We use three different currencies, and Dynamics allows us to easily create journal entries, raise sales invoices, and receive payments in any of those currencies.

Cons: Integration with other Systems

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2016