Oracle Database Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.6 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About Oracle Database

Leading enterprise-grade relational database that offers secure data management and transaction processing.

Learn more about Oracle Database

Showing 332 reviews

Arslan U.
CEO
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2021

"Enterprise level RDBMs; perhaps suitable for enterprises only"

Comments: Oracle is an old elephant that is recommended for large enterprise systems only. So I am satisfied with its performance in larger projects whereas it is not suitable for smaller projects. I use it only when its really needed. For smaller projects i go for MySQL etc.

Pros: Oracle has the advantages of being a mature and stable RDBMS with a lot of features. Unlike its open-source counterpart MySQL; it has better features for point in time recovery; performance and stability. It makes it suitable for Enterprise level projects where performance is a must alongside stability.

Cons: It's not easy to set up in a test environment and containers. Cloud-based setups for this are much expensive. Secondly, you need a lot of client software for backups and interaction with DBMS. Secondly, it overindulges when its about resources and starves other processes thus needing expensive servers with more resources.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/04/2021
Wesley A.
Senior Developer
Information Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019

"Senior Software Developer - Creating Tables, Triggers and Views"

Comments: I was having issues getting it to work with Entity Framework as far as retrieving meta data when the database entities were changed.

Pros: The DBMS has many features and they are very efficient.

Cons: The error messages seem a little vague at times and really don't describe the problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Jose G.
Consultor Java Senior
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018

"Why use Oracle Database"

Comments: My experience with Oracle has been as administrator and developer which gives me an overview of the projects and has allowed me, thanks to the tools it provides, to achieve projects that with other database managers could not have been successfully completed, that is, the multiple tools provided by oracle are very helpful although the examples and the documentation seem scarce

Pros: It is a very powerful database from the point of view of storage and development, I have used oracle in many aspects, as a database engine and for a large amount of data it is perfect because it handles high volume data efficiently, as well It provides the advantage of being able to develop with SQL ansi standard procedures and tasks that automate the management of data, the advantage of being able to run on any platform and with any development tool allows development projects to be carried out in the expected time, compatibility It is your biggest advantage

Cons: As a disadvantage I think that the way to handle the downloads of the connection drivers for the different platforms is a bit tedious since other databases do not require so much protocol to download the drivers. it may be necessary in some cases to document about the new functionalities because the examples provided by the provider are not so clear and / or non-existent

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018
Narayanaswami S.
sr software developer
Semiconductors, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2020

"Good product but can be improved"

Comments: It is definitely a great product to learn and work with. Easy to learn sql and pl\sql in oracle. Anyone can write sql to be honest but anyone to write the best performing sql in a long run takes experience and wish oracle has a clear cut way to say when oracle optimizer would use which plan, which indexes to use/ignore etc.
pl\sql features are great for batch processing. File processing features can be improved.

Pros: Writing sql queries are easier to learn for anyone.
PL\SQL is pretty good for batch processing.
Table partitioning is one of the best features
Regex is very powerful
It is good for OLTP apps with reasonable amount of data to be queried

Cons: Wish there is more json/xml features available in oracle 12.1. Yet to explore those options in 18c
SQL-Plus features can be improved.
Oracle sql developer can be improved as well.
Always dependent on the toad software to interact with oracle DB
Wish there is a clear cut way to say when oracle optimizer would use which plan, which indexes to use/ignore etc.
Oracle sql and pl\sql tuning is learnt by experience and not for beginners.
OLTP apps querying a loads of data from the backend perform slow which is where no-sql would help better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
DBA Especialista I
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Oracle DataBase"

Comments: Very good software, I have been using oracle for 5 years as a database administrator, it gives me security and integrity in the data, the manipulation of the data is safe and easy.
It is stable with the systems in which oracle has been implemented

Pros: Integrity and data security
Standardized the use of sql
It can be run on any operating system and on any machine from PC to high-tech servers
Allows database replication in a secure and consistent manner
Allows multiple databases (Instances) in the same server
The export and backup of the database is done according to the different needs of the user if it is a table excluding certain parameters, etc.
It can be monitored by application such as cloud control.
It allows to generate reports, statistics, multiple queries.

Cons: Incompatibility with previous versions at the time of restoration
High costs

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Ramya R.
Tech Lead
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2019

"Oracle DB review"

Comments: We have used Oracle database as storage for many of our applications. It is a great software. Once the license requirements are completed, it will provide the needed storage and support for the procured database. I really like Oracle DB.

Pros: It is a great software for storing all the needed data for your application in the database. Once we have obtained the desired licenses, it is a great tool available in the market for DB storage.

Cons: It does crash sometimes. So make sure to commit all of your work at regular intervals if a disaster strikes. If you are used to another DB product, there are few changes in the commands that you are expected to know.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2019
Ravi R.
Assistant Software Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2017

"User Friendly Database handling"

Comments: I have worked on several projects on Java platform while using Struts2 framework. I always used Oracle for handling my databases because I have to select the best and at the same time the client needs must be taken care off. My first freelancer project was to normalise the database of a person and I did it with ease while importing the whole data to oracle. Trust me user friendly medium saves alot of effort which may seem unnecessary for basic tasks. In my view one should use Oracle for database handling if they do not want any complexities on their end.

Pros: User Friendliness is the best part of oracle database. We can have large installations and it will perform fine.

Cons: Costly than the others in market and installation times may be huge. It also requires a big partition allotted to it for best functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/04/2017
George Y.
dba
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2021

"Great enterprise level database"

Comments: I am very happy with the software, in fact, I am making an living as an oracle DBA, once you know the product, it is a super good database product.

Pros: Super power database engine, very good structure design, it is the most powerful and robust relational database on the market.

Cons: it is pricy and the license schema is very complicated, even an average oracle DBA might be lost in the licensing arrangement and use some feature unintentionally thus breaching the license agreement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
QA Manager
Computer Games, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2020

"Powerful Database With Grant Privileges"

Comments: Oracle DB is very powerful and provides sustainable solutions.

Pros: Privacy and managing accesses are very solid. It enables you to mask your data and provide some parent-child queries which also saves your time while you’re querying.

Cons: The size of the installation and configuration steps could be tricky. It takes time to get used to install and maintain your database. I think application performance and query return speed can be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/05/2020
Melany B.
Administrative assistant
Civil Engineering, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019

"Accounting application"

Comments: I have good experience with the Oracle program. As part of my job, I can use it to complete several administrative tasks and accounting tasks. I can generate reports that allow me to strictly follow the status of my contracts.

Pros: The ability to use the program for multiple tasks, such as time sheets, expense reports, project budget tracking, project opening, etc.

Cons: Sometimes the program is complicated. We must understand and know the program to perform our various tasks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019
Abdul wahab K.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2021

"Good for huge data but Heavy, Complicated, Old, Outdated and not supported by modern applications"

Comments: My experience with Oracle database was good in terms of performance with huge databases only. Some of the features are still unmatched but it is an outdated database overall and seeking to be refurbished urgently if they don't wish to loose in competition.

Pros: I found it good for huge databases. The performance is not compromised with huge database. It supports manipulation of huge data very well. Encryption is good. The compression and partitioning features are good to enhance efficiency.

Cons: It is unnecessarily heavy and complicated. It is actually an outdated database not supported now by most off the modern applications.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2021
Nestor Z.
Integration Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2018

"The Oracle database is undoubtedly the most efficient among all."

Pros: It is easy to program our stored procedures. The PLSQL is designed for its practical and easy. There is a large community of developers that help us with problems that we can not solve.

Cons: The name of the objects can not exceed 30 characters in the 10g version.
This makes the names of the objects difficult to understand.
The execution plan is not very understandable. And this hinders a quick intervention to modify our queries.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/05/2018
Arpit S.
SDET
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2018

"Good relational database tool"

Comments: Customer information is stored in Oracle database on which we are continuously working upon.

Pros: Oracle Database is very stable and can handle large amount of data efficiently. It is pretty much secure and is available on cloud as well.

Cons: The price of it is very hefty. Installing and setting it up is a pain point as the entire process is time and space consuming. These two areas are something that Team Oracle can work upon.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Outsourcing/Offshoring
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018

"Easy and secure way to store large amount of data"

Comments: Storing client data on it and all business trasction details.

Pros: As we know Oracle database never compromise with security that is the reason most of web sites us it to store product data. We can store any amount of data on it and retrieve it very fast through queries. We can link it with any language like java and c#. Our customers is very happy to using it as they are able to get data in few seconds.

Cons: It should add more feature like SQL to check the query performance and execution plan and shortcuts menu to run queris directly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/03/2018
Kunal K.
Application Developer
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2019

"Oracle database for office work"

Comments: It's good experience while using oracle database.

Pros: It's one of the fast and famous data base system. It allows us to store the data in any way. Even it gives us an option to make different workspace with that we can secure the data.

Cons: As it's a database so takes some longer time to load but quicker than others. So some improvement can be done in reducing time taken in loading.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2019
Leo A.
Network Specialist II
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"We live on Oracle Database"

Comments: Our organization has hundreds of databases that rely on Oracle. It is an exceptional tool.

Pros: Setup and configuration of Oracle is straightforward and simple. As often as we are required to reimage, setting up is a breeze.

Cons: Connection issues do come up at times but usually setting up again fixes the problem. It's a minimal issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Ragavi K.
Software engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Oracle Database"

Comments: It has been an excellent learning curve from realational database perspective

Pros: One of the most powerful relational database that to have ever been created is Oracle database with some of the most powerful capabilities

Cons: Except for the high Enterprise licensing cost there is nothing to complain on the offering that It has

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Javed D.
Assistant Engineer
Oil & Energy, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020

"Optimum solution for business planning and data management"

Comments: Inventory management have been dealt with oracle multi feature. Specially its cloud computing services are very appropriate

Pros: For inventory management Oracle is the best option available. It has been deployed in procurement, store and other operational departments.

Cons: It's data coding becomes sometimes a bit tricky.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/12/2020
Eddy H.
Customer Service Representative
Printing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018

"GREAT PROGRAM FOR COMPANIES"

Comments: I had an overall good experience. I have been using it for a year and a half. Honestly there is no need for us to use any other program except this one. As I mentioned, it is useful for so many features.

Pros: What I liked the most was all the different options Oracle has to offer. It has many tools and functions for different needs.

Cons: At first, it is not that easy to use, however once you get the hang of it, it comes in really handy. It has many functions and options so you need to practice a lot to get to know it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Head of Business Support
Music, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019

"Frustrations of a Microsoft User"

Comments: Some features of Oracle are rather nice, such as it only loading the top 50 results initially as standard, rather than running an insane query returning millions upon millions of rows. However, it can be very frustrating having to remember to use very slightly different syntax than in T-SQL to use the same feature. That said, the documentation is much easier to read than that from Microsoft. Ultimately, this is rarely a matter of choice - you run with the DB you have powering your software. The important thing with Oracle is to explore and persevere.

Pros: Databases are wonderful things, and Oracle is no exception. It is used as the power behind a multitude of products we use every day, and is our go-to place for basic data warehousing.

Cons: This comment is about personal preference: it is sometimes difficult to switch between Oracle and MS-SQL, which is a problem as we run software that uses both.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Software Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2019

"An Enterprise level high performance RDBMS"

Comments: Reliable, high performance, secure & distributed RDBMS system

Pros: Oracle provides great performance when you have huge data to process & it's scalability model is great.

Cons: Using Oracle is not that easy as compare to SQL Server, you have to remember exact syntaxes while querying the data base.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2019
Amit S.
MS Systems Analyst
Computer Software
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"Best database solution out there for Relational databases"

Comments: I was working on a mission critical application and we choose Oracle as back end over sql server. Initially everyone was hesitant to opt for oracle but later on it proved to be more efficient than sql server for the application in terms of performance.

Pros: What I like most is wide range of tools at disposal to create and maintain mission critical applications like OEM and Profiler to debug and fix performance issues. There are so many improvements done after version 8 in the optimizer to help it handle complex queries.

Cons: The license version of Oracle is very complex, you'd need an expert to handle it. Also it lacks a GUI like Sql Server from microsoft.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Ray S.
Oracle DBA
Government Administration, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017

"Ok...too expensive"

Pros: Reputation, job security....I also like the product because it seems pretty stable. Also one of the best databases I've supported

Cons: I think Orale licensing is too expensive. I also believe Oracle make the rules as they go. I would like to see the pricing of Oracle too decrease.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/05/2017
Adson L.
Intern
Government Administration, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2019

"Great functions for data"

Comments: The IT staff uses it to design a robust bank, having to service more than 500 computers and servers. This requires quality software, and we can find this with the Oracle product.

Pros: One of the biggest advantages is the range of possibilities in database creation. You can customize it according to your need.

Cons: The implementation of the software requires a professional with a lot of knowledge, there is not so much material for learning.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Gurgaon
Human Resources, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2018

"Database is perfect word for Oracle"

Comments: Users of Oracle are satisfied customer and one and most popular demand is cost reduction. We see no issues with Oracle and are satisfied with performance

Pros: Oracle database is a software which enable an organization to practice database warehouse.it is being used in the IT department.it has wide range of measuring performance, tuning and solving business issues. It is essential for data mining, it provides Oracle cloud to store data. It has robust security framework.. it can support various operating system and architecture

Cons: Cost of handling is high. It's not very easy to upgrade

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/11/2018