15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About Cvent Event Management

A complete event marketing and management platform that handles the entire event lifecycle (in-person & virtual) from start to finish.

Learn more about Cvent Event Management

Pros:

I really enjoy how it is able to integrate with other systems to enhance the capabilities or to leverage existing information instead of having to recreate everything.

Cons:

I don't know if the issue was software-based, or due to admin error, however. I think part of the problem is that the system can be complicated in setting up, and needs expertise to fully leverage.

Cvent Event Management ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

Cvent Event Management has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 945 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Cvent Event Management before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (945)

Jennifer
Jennifer
Manager - Creative Services in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent for Event Management and Attendee Experience

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall, our company and attendees have adopted Cvent and find it easy to register, set schedules, and utilize the app. We highly recommend Cvent when checking out the event management software in the market. Cvent has so many features to make your events stand out, and make your life easier when planning, executing, and marketing your events.

Pros:

Cvent makes it very easy to set up and deploy registration websites, manage hotel bookings, flights, and overall user experience. We have been using Cvent for over 5 years and there are always new developments and upgrades being added. There's a huge community of users who also help each other and submit request for new ideas. Cvent is always listening to us and adding new features that enhance our events.

Cons:

In the beginning it was a little tricky setting up events. After using it for a few events though, it is now much easier to set up.

Alternatives Considered: EventCreate , Webex Suite and Eventbrite

Reasons for Switching to Cvent Event Management: Ease of use is a big consideration for our marketing team. We also want features and easy registration processes.

Cvent Response

3 months ago

Thank you Jennifer for taking the time to review our software. Make sure to subscribe to our Product News to keep on top of our frequent updates to our products!

Brooke
Director of Operations in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Cvent has been a game changer!

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

When we set out to find a new event management tool, we met with several vendors. None could meet our needs. Then we found Cvent. Cvent checked all our boxes and more! The sales staff was extremely helpful and bent over backwards to help us test our specific use cases. They were a wealth of knowledge and gave us confidence in the product. We've now been using Cvent for over a year and we couldn't be happier. It's streamlined our processes, improved the user experiences, and gives us all the reporting we need easily. There team was with us every step of the way during our integration phase and made it a breeze. I highly recommend this tool!

Cons:

Cvent was such a drastic improvement from our previous solutions, so it's hard to speak to anything negative! The tool does SO much so it can be daunting to learn everything and get your webpages looking nice. However our support teams have been a great resource. Cvent also has many help articles that are a great reference point.

Mercy
Account Executive in US
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best of all times tool for registration every 24.7

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I do like how the customizable features are The customer service is legit The platform is easy to use Their web registration is a 100% the best

Cons:

Nothing really is wrong with cvent it is genuinely the best

Alyse
Treasurer in US
Law Enforcement, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great result but incredibly time consuming

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Difficult to understand packages. Onboarding often did not even know what was purchased. Poor responses from billing regarding getting payments made. Overall it is presented as a very user friendly and simple app and it is not seems designed to create an upsell to get things accomplished.

Pros:

The outcome was great and attendees loved it. The look was good and it captured the info we needed to capture.

Cons:

Incredibly time intensive Not as user friendly as expected Very poor descriptions of what is included and what is not for such high tech the payments and invoices were super difficult. They do not simply give you a link for payment. You must contact them and wait for delays to respond to get a payment link and you have to do the same for every payment. Help sessions were not as described during the sales. Bottom line is that it works well if you want to pay Cvent to do the entire set up. Otherwise be prepared to spend a great deal of time learning and setting up

Julia
Association Coordinator in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent Event Management is the best event management software!

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Our experience with Cvent is among the best relationships I've ever had with a vendor. The customer service is exceptional. They anticipate our needs and have solutions read for us. We speak to our account manager quarterly and our customer support every other month.

Pros:

We use Cvent Event Management to manage our events and membership database. We use Cvent for event set-up, registration, speaker management, sponsor and exhibitor interaction, attendee engagement, and feedback afterward. Cvent has streamlined our processes, allowing a small staff to concentrate on other activities related to our conferences and providing a better experience for our attendees.

Cons:

The learning curve was steep. Once we were familiar with it, we could quickly set up events. The products that are still being updated, like Abstract Management, are not as user-friendly as the updated products.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for Event builders and planners!

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: 1. Resolve potential last minute issues that may arise onsite
2. Staff has been very productive and prepared to manage attendees
3. Provide enough metrics for admins
4. Easy to adopt by non-technical users

Pros:

1. Interactive Features with Crowdcompass that customize the user experiences and engagement in an effective way. It has really helped us with onsite preparedness. 2. Cloning events or creating templates to re-use and make adjustments that saves time 3. CRM integration options have allowed us to have 360 degree customer view across CRM and Cvent. We have also used SSO to link our existing users account at registration websites. 4. Flex events 5. Ability to integrate with supplier network and survey tools

Cons:

1.Ways to manage field permissions for users/roles (edit/delete/update) 2.Enforce field validations on account/organization level so that we can maintain data integrity and event planners cannot customize anything and everything at event level 3. 2 way sync through standard integration is not dynamic for custom fields 4. If salesforce has person account enabled, not business account, cvent has no way to accommodate that on contact level during integration. 5. API limit of 10000 is very less for large events

Mary Ann
Event Coordinator in US
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent Event Management - Mary Ann Hall

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Once I read and understand the program, its easy with tutorials and articles in the help section to figure out what I want to do step by step. If those do not work there is an excellent customer service to assist.

Pros:

The ease of use, the valuable data that it compiles, and the ease for the attendees.

Cons:

I dont think there isnt anything I do not like about the Event Management.

Alternatives Considered: Salesforce Sales Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Cvent Event Management: Ease of use, the data the program can provide, and the flexability of advancing events in the program.

Carlos
Senior Client Services Executive in UK
Events Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Feedback

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: It has been a learning curve but we are getting to the point where we are perfectionist and targeting more does issues we are getting but everything else is fabulous

Pros:

I really like the bespoke building of events / tayloring

Cons:

VAT issues sometimes when amending transactions the VAT option disappears

Alternatives Considered: Bizzabo and Swapcard

Reasons for Switching to Cvent Event Management: Pending approvals and more customised experiences

Alisa
Events Manager in US
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done!

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

User-friendly and customizable. Also the customer support.

Cons:

n/a I haven't had any issues that would cause me to write any cons.

Nicole
Event Technology and Registration Manager in US
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Overall a great platform with several integrated solutions

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

I like that the management portion of the platform integrates with all of their solutions and tools across the platform.

Cons:

Currently, my least favorite part of the event management portion is the reporting feature. It is hard to create the reports we need with the limited flexibility. Our internal team has a hard time understanding reports.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A good mobile app tool with lots of integration capabilities

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall, CrowdCompass has made the user and administrator experience much better. It is easy to use on both ends and provides a convenience that we never had before. Having event information in app form also means reducing or eliminating the need to print details on paper and this is a huge deal for the environment and overall cost, manpower and waste improvement. Notices, surveys, programs, speaker bios, attendee connections, reminder alerts, personal agendas, sponsor banners, exhibitor details and more can all be integrated in one place that anyone in the age of mobile devices can access.

Pros:

Since it is a CVENT product, any event setup in CVENT can be integrated into CrowdCompass so you can have a full featured app almost completely built without having to do the same work you already did to set the event up originally. Additional customization and options are available to tailor the app experience so it is unique and more useful as a tool for attendees. The best part of it to me is the Map feature where a diagram of the event location can be uploaded and then any area on the map can be pinpointed and associated with other content throughout the app. This means precise locations can be easily pointed out and found by anyone using the feature and it is invaluable for events where there are a lot of different specific spaces. Registration, session rooms, exhibitor booths, meals and breaks can all be pinned and found directly on the map or from their own detail pages.

Cons:

It's not their fault but recently due to app regulations, event apps are becoming consolidated into one platform app that contains events from all the clients who use it. This means no branding of your own app with your own name and your attendees having to download a third party app with events other than just yours available in it. In this day and age, privacy protection is very important and there are several ways to handle this in CrowdCompass but all are a bit clunky and add that to the way every company using the software has their events together under the same platform means potential confusion for users when conflicts come up in the shared database. Also, while there is a lot of integration and duplication ability, there are still several features that don't have the ability to be duplicated so a lot of duplicate work needs to be done if you have a similar event that happens on a regular basis.

Denise
Meeting Technology Specialist in US
Hospitality, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent Event Management is an easy and effective management tool

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: I enjoy building our programs on Cvent, there was a learning curve as with all systems, but with Cvent's wide range of help desk options we know we always have resources at our fingertips to help us along the way.

Pros:

We use Cvent event management daily for multiple clients in a various array of fields. Cvent allows us to customize our registration sites so we can relay meeting specific information to our attendees. We build simple to very complex sites, mobile apps, in-person, virtual and hybrid events. Having one platform that allows us to build all of these options based on our clients needs is amazing, easy, and time saving. We can easily provide reporting, planner alerts, session content and so much more.

Cons:

I'm still getting used to the new mobile app layout and features. I used to build the mobile apps on the old Cvent platform and there are a few features I miss having access to such as groups, which made assigning last minute breakouts for attendees a bit easier.

Cvent Response

8 months ago

Thanks for your feedback Denise! Just to let you know, Audience Segmentation (Groups) in Attendee Hub allows you to configure page visibility and push notifications. We are happy to report that it will include sessions very soon and should give you the capabilities you have described. It should be available in the next month.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent in a K-12 World

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Our school can now offer transparency when accepting money for events. We have improved our communication with our participants. We have streamlined our check-in procedures for our events. Our parents love the event emails that we send out. Our administration loves the data we are able to collect.

Pros:

The Cvent platform saved graduation! Our K-12 school operates in an ever-evolving atmosphere, and Cvent allowed us to pivot on a dime during the pandemic. We were able to grant a better than expected graduation experience to the Class of 2020 through the help of Cvent and Crowd Compass. We have upped our game in communicating with our participants registering several devices. We are kicking off the new school year with season ticket passes for sale through Cvent. We just finished up an elementary summer camp that consisted of over 113 different camp sessions. Our event manager was able to keep track of 5 additional weeks of camps with over 113 sessions and 325 registrants. She loved the flexibility of OnArrival because she was able to register walk-ups on site.

Cons:

We are stretching the platform further than the platform can perform. We have minor children without email addresses, and that tends to confuse the parents who are trying to register these children for our events.

Gladys
Executive Assistant to the CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Be prepared for a 180 degree experience with Cvent's Event Management solution.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Cvent's event management software saves countless man hours and potential marketing costs.

Pros:

Cvent's Event Management solution truly automates your meetings & events marketing, registration and check-in processes. Upload your attendees with from an Excel or CSV file. Create and send save the date, registration open, reminder emails and practically anything else you can think of to effectively market your meetings & events. Check your registration numbers at-a-glance. Run reports to see who registered, who didn't, and even who is possibly thinking about it with the abandoned registrations feature. My favorite tool is OnArrival (event check-in). Put those days behind you of paper tickets, attendee checklists, and long lines & chaos at the registration table. Upon arrival, your attendees check-in on an iPad, or you can scan them with a mobile device, and look cutting edge while doing it!!!

Cons:

I would say that Cvent's Event Management platform, like any other tech platform, has a learning curve a moderate one. Setting up my first event was challenging even with training. To my surprise, setting up my second event was even more challenging. Partly because I challenged myself to create vs. copy (feature) my second event from scratch. Due to the platform's many, and I do mean many, features and functionality, I found it difficult to remember all the steps (menu navigation) to create an event. Undeterred, I contacted Cvent's Customer Support (really Customer Care as they go the mile for you) to help me create my second event. For the second time around, I worked smarter and documented all the steps. I can honestly say, it's been smooth sailing ever since! If I run into a snag or have a question, I contact Customer Support or look to my Cvent Community for help. There are many meetings & events solutions out there, but it's hard to beat one of the first and best to market! Stop searching and give Cvent a try.

Autumn
Operations in US
Higher Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Do NOT fall for the salesman reroutine

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: We have had a horrible experience with Cvent. Our industry is in crisis mode due to the pandemic and they will not work us at all. We came up with completly reasonable solution that anyone would agree works for both companies, but their solution is only if you sign for a longer term. Why would we sign on for a longer term when the software is not up to par? It's all about them making their money and making sure they stay in business. They are a not a team or a partnership. It's all about their bottom line and they don't care about their clients that they destroy in their path to make that $. Buyer beware. I think they are scrubbing the negative reviews to keep a high number of stars to dupe potential clients.

Pros:

After many work arounds you can make this software work. Does it do everything they promise and seamless like they promised, no. We didn't pay tons of money (triple our other vendor offering the same thing) to have to do workarounds and have to still purchase additional better software to get the job done. So much for being the "leader in the industry".

Cons:

There are too many things to count. Simple things that you would think would be obvious are not options. This was supposed to be a partenrship not a battle. We have a LONG list of things they promised that they could not deliver. Promised features that are a year away from development, with no mention it's years away. Once you sign the dotted line the restrictions soon follow. Do NOT sign with them.

Max
Max
Digital Projects in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full Featured Software To Run Events From Start To Finish

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: CVENT is great for running single or reoccurring events. If you have a lot of the same people coming, the system can remember them to make the process easier depending on how much personal info you collect. If you use other CVENT software, most of it can be linked to make it even easier to make everything seamless from event apps to on site check ins. Some admin items can be hard to find even after using it for a while because of the logic they use to choose what items are under what headings but not a huge issue. If you are using the software to host your event site, it's best if you can code it all because working with their design and coding team can be frustrating. Customer support is very quick to respond and resolve issues but make sure you contact your account manager and general support just in case your account manager is unavailable at the time.

Pros:

The integration start to finish can cover anything you need for an event. The software is very robust to allow you to customize for almost any scenario. Registration options are very good for multiple registrations and easy to modify or switch. Customer service is very helpful when you need it.

Cons:

Along with the robustness of the software, certain quirks come with it. Some events have a lot of repetitive tasks you have to complete to get it all working properly and some items are hard to find.

Katherine
Electronic Communications Coordinator in US
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The Best Customer Service Meets Great Event Tech

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: The ability to scale an event management solution across our large, enterprise program was a huge win for my team!

Pros:

Cvent's event management solution has plenty of flexible features that make logistics including registration and session tracking a breeze for busy event planners. Plus, the customer service is second to none. (Seriously, one call to their support line will transform the way that you think about help & support lines.)

Cons:

It can take a while to learn the ropes and feel comfortable navigating across the platform. That said, after you get the hang of it, using the event management tool will be like second nature.

Cvent Response

6 years ago

Hello Katherine, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We take great pride in our client support services and are happy to hear they've been a valuable resource for you. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

Amanda
Professional Learning Coordinator / Analyst in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Events with Great Reports

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Our company has the ability to reach our entire U.S. client base with only a few clicks. We can communicate with them with ease, offer registration for virtual and in-person events, track people, financials, communications, substitutions, attendance, and lots more. The new Flex version of the platform gives you the ability to create more workable and attractive registration sites. The reporting is a dream, and the learning curve can be adjusted by relying on other Cvent users in the vast and extremely knowledgeable Cvent community.

Cons:

There is a learning curve when moving to this platform. It can take a while to find all of those little checkboxes that may cause something to work just a little wonky.

Jillianna
Tech lead and developer in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent is the most event management product out there.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The software is so customizable. It will fit any events needs from inception to post event follow up. With the new interface Flex, it’s better than ever. It is mobile ready with responsive design and customizable event pages to create professional looking website that rival Wix and Squarespace. And definitely take advantage of the onsite solutions as well as the mobile event apps.

Cons:

It’s expensive, but you really get what you pay for. It’s the best solution out there. You’ll save money elsewhere, but you’ll be compensation the integrity of your event.

Alternatives Considered: Eventbrite

Kacie
Kacie
Marketing Manager in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Customer Service Lacking + Overly Complex UI = Stress

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: If you don't have a full-time event planner with LOTS of UI and web design experience, I wouldn't recommend it at all. CVent was supposed to make conference planning easier. Instead, it took several of us away from our primary roles in order to solve glitches and endure endless wait times with customer support.

Pros:

You can both set up an event, manage invites and create your event website using CVent. Registration questionnaires allow for everything from selecting meals to payment.

Cons:

CVent is not user friendly at all. It takes 12-15 clicks what you should be able to do in 3-4, and the dropdowns don't make sense. It seemed that every month or so we'd have a new rep. It was as if the company had a revolving door. The event website was incredibly difficult to set up compared to Wix, Wordpress or any other site I've used, and the limitations were frustrating. To have a sharp-looking solution, you have to purchase multiple upgrades. After a difficult first year we were told we could clone the event website next year and change certain details and pictures.... and then CVent decided to redo their platform, and not for the better. So we had to start from scratch. You can create an event app to go with your website, but the content didn't copy over. Which means we had to manually enter in all speaker, session and attendee data over twice. It was senseless.

Ted
Membership Information Systems Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best event program on the market right now. We use it for all of our companies events.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Cvent allows you to control all aspects of your event, including registration, email marketing, and billing. It even allows for integration between many CRMs. Our company uses Weblink as our CRM and it integrates perfectly together

Cons:

Most of their options for events is a la carte pricing. So sometimes you may not be able to fully utilize what Cvent has to offer due to budgetary constraints.

Cvent Response

6 years ago

Hi Ted, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. Your feedback is invaluable as we are always looking for ways to improve our current offerings. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

Karen
Event Marketing Manager in Canada
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Cvent ideal for multiday virtual conference

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: -Cvent has by far the best customer support from account managers to their 24/7 online customer support

Pros:

-easy to host mulitple sessions-easy to build website and attendee hub

Cons:

-there is not a direct integration into Hubspot

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User Friendly!

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This software looks like sometime spend time developing it. I use this almost everyday as an administrator, and it is so simple. Easy to add users, edit content, and overall a nice website to have to spend alot of time.

Cons:

The customer service department could use some work. Helpful, but with the new integration of systems i feel that they are just looking for more money.

Cvent Response

6 years ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. Your feedback is invaluable as we are always looking for ways to improve our current offerings. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Resource intensive work made easy

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: All in one place, great event management tools, great for multiple people to work on the same event software.

Pros:

Its helped save lots of hours I would normally spend on organising events. The tools that this application have are great, from duplicating events (so you dont have to redo the paperwork) to templates for websites to help promote your event. Its very good.

Cons:

Like with all new applications, the initial set up and getting to know the system can be time consuming. But once you get to know it its a very easy application to use.

Cvent Response

6 years ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience using Cvent! We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared it with our product team. Your feedback is invaluable as we are always looking for ways to improve our current offerings. We¿d also like to tell you more about our loyalty program, Cvent Celebrity. As a Celebrity, you¿ll have opportunities to take part in beta testing, be the first to know about new Cvent products and events, learn best practices, and earn cool rewards! To learn more about Cvent Celebrity and to join, visit http://bit.ly/2IuDlXh Please do not hesitate to reach out to us should you have any questions or need any assistance!

Anne
Executive Director in US
Hospitality, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

2016 Custom Eventgrid Platform

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: Eventgrid is one of the few software solutions we found that was willing, and able to work with us on important customization for our unique business needs, and meet our budget. From RFP & requirements review to our execution phase, they've been responsive, friendly, flexible and capable. The software has important baseline features, but is pliable enough to include unique considerations for our organization's structure. The team - I can't say it enough - is willing to walk through every step with us patiently and skillfully.

Pros:

Quickstart: The ease of initial setup of events, a variety of design options like easy to use templates, and ability to post events using java or iframes for turnkey event booking. Can accommodate custom color palettes and design needs within the existing framework. In depth: Eventgrid's team is willing to work on important customizations, and the platform is pliable enough to accommodate those changes. The software on it's own is good, the team makes it awesome.

Cons:

Still needs some work on reports, would be interested in additional levels of automated communications to ticket holders, and some features could be more polished/nuanced.