15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About PRTG

500,000 reasons to try Paessler PRTG: That's the number of users that rely on it every day. Why not start your trial right away?

Learn more about PRTG

Pros:

Overall good product and gives needed visibility.

Cons:

The interface was a little weird to understand at first. However, I had to find how to add users and groups for alerts.

PRTG ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

PRTG has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 233 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used PRTG before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (233)

Nicat
Nicat
Network and network security engineer in Azerbaijan
Verified LinkedIn User
Government Administration, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

It is a pleasure to use

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been working in this field for more than 5 years, and everyone knows that you have to monitor the established IT infrastructure at all times. There are many solutions like PRTG, but I prefer PRTG, which is chosen with both the convenience of the interface and a lot of features. It was very easy to set up and manage. And one of my favorite parts is that you can use licenses that are suitable for your environment, even if your environment grows in the future, there is no need to rebuild the license accordingly. I think the monitoring application is very important from the point of view of security and stability, and PRTG is the most suitable and convenient for me among these applications.

Pros:

It was very easy to use in the first turn, moreover, it has sensors suitable for the desired device.

Cons:

There are many network monitoring tools like PRTG, but PRTG had the most convenient and easy-to-use interface among them. It has many good features. I've been using PRTG for several years now and I'm very satisfied. There's nothing I don't like about it.

Paessler GmbH Response

last year

Dear Nicat, Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that PRTG's interface stands out as the most convenient and easy-to-use among other network monitoring tools. We're glad to have met your expectations and provided you with a satisfying experience over the years. Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations in the future. Your Paessler Team

Harjot
Sr. Network and Security Administrator in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome product to use

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

The monitoring system, dashboard, logs, patch management etc. I think I like all the features of PRTG.

Cons:

I would say they should improve their Remote management system more. We cannot push the softwares directly from there.

Paessler GmbH Response

3 months ago

Dear Harjot, We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying PRTG. We're committed to providing a trusted platform with comprehensive features that meet your needs. Thank you for choosing PRTG! Your Paessler Team

SAURABH
Architect Networking and Security in India
Computer & Network Security, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good to fulfil the basic needs, Inbuilt sensors are not enough

3.0 4 months ago

Pros:

1. Easy to use 2. Instalation and preconfig is easy 3. Making Alert policies are easy

Cons:

1. Sensors are not enough to link PaloAlto, Cisco and HP hardware

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you found our product easy to use and install. We appreciate your insight regarding the sensors and will take it into consideration for future improvements. Your Paessler Team

Cesar Enrique
Cesar Enrique
PROJECT MANAGER in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG a useful and easy to deploy tool

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: We started using PRTG with the demo and we realized that it had many functionalities such as email notification and others such as being able to monitor the traffic of an interface or the SNMP of a device and we decided to purchase the licensed version and it has been a great choice.

Pros:

What I like most about PRTG is that it is very easy to deploy, in addition to being very intuitive, it does not require much knowledge to configure it. It also has an APP for Android that is very useful and from which you can monitor the services.

Cons:

What I like least is that it is a little expensive compared to the competition.

Paessler GmbH Response

8 months ago

Dear Cesar Enrique, Thank you for your feedback on PRTG Network Monitor! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG easy to deploy and intuitive, with an easy-to-use Android app for service monitoring. We understand your concerns about the cost compared to the competition, but we appreciate your decision to switch to PRTG for its efficiency and faster notifications. We're happy to have you as a satisfied user and hope it continues to effectively meet your monitoring needs. Your Paessler Team

Michael
Senior Manager, Information Technology in US
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A well priced, well featured Network Monitor

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Substance over spectacle is in our value system, and PRTG has always delivered on substance. Their updates have been rock solid over the last 10+ years and we’ve been able to effectively leverage PRTG to catch, alert, investigate, and address issues, bit pro- and reactively.

Pros:

PRTG has allowed us to accurately monitor our network and systems as well as been the forefront of our notification system for 10+ years. There tool has been easily implemented in multiple environments and for multiple workloads for us. It has a good ability set, and has received modern updates as new technology has emerged.

Cons:

The interface, while easy to evaluate on a limited environment, can become cluttered or larger than feasible for a quick dashboard-type view on larger environments. It provides good logs and graphs for deep dives, but can be seen as dated in it’s presentation compared to other options on the market.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Michael, Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate your detailed review and your commitment to PRTG. While we prioritize functionality and reliability, we're committed to improving the user interface to scale to larger environments and provide a more intuitive experience. Your Paessler Team

Ahmad Fahmi
Network Specialist in Malaysia
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A simple and cost-effective way for traffic monitoring

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: The installation are pretty easy and operationally, it's easy to maintain as long as you have large disk space and good CPU resources.
The monitoring is made easy with custom sensors and updated snmp library files.
Previously, the mail support will be a bit delay since HQ in Germany is 6-8 hours away, but now, APAC has its own resources to respond to the case.

Pros:

Easy to setup and operate. Few clicks and you are able to monitor the performance and health of your network, devices, servers, IOTs devices. Not too expensive and light installation file.

Cons:

Not able to run on Linux or other non-Windows operating system.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Ahmad Fahmi, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're glad to hear that you found our system easy to set up and operate, with effective monitoring capabilities. Your Paessler Team

Rene
IT System Engineer in Italy
Chemicals, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Monitoring with some limits

4.0 6 months ago

Comments: overall we are pretty happy with this product.

Pros:

I really like the scheduled scanning with templates for specific ip ranges, so that even new servers/devices/components directly are monitored without forgetting them to add. Also the possibility to write own sensors with Powershell or other languages is very good.

Cons:

Batch management is poor in some places. if you want to manage multiple servers at once it is possible at some places but there are limitations so that some task are pretty repetative if you need to add batches, or you have to use workarounds.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Rene, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad you find the scheduled scanning and custom sensor features valuable. We'll take your comments on batch management into consideration. We appreciate your support and are committed to improving your experience with our product. Your Paessler Team

Yolanda
CIO in Portugal
Automotive, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

PRTG - a helping hand in monitoring devices

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: After the initial configuration setup the software pretty much finds what needs to be monitored and suggests ever sensor available. So, pretty easy.

Pros:

It just took off all the manual work of checking equipments and let's me know when there's a problem.

Cons:

Havng to remove the auto discovery sensors manually because my licence didin's allow for that many.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Yolanda, Thanks for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that PRTG has streamlined your monitoring process and provided automated alerts for device issues. Our goal is to simplify setup and provide comprehensive monitoring options, so we're thrilled that you found it easy to configure and use. Your Paessler Team

Warren
Group IT Manager in Australia
Building Materials, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fast and easy to set up monitoring

5.0 4 months ago

Pros:

The initial setup of PRTG is very easy, and the 100 free sensors allows you to monitor a reasonable part of your network for free to determine that it will do the desired job - or if you only have a small network, this may be fine to monitor your entire network.

Cons:

Some advanced features like the ability to set up auto-remediation of issues would be nice, as would the ability to use PRTG behind Cloudflare.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Warren, Thank you for your positive feedback on PRTG's easy setup and free sensor offering. We appreciate your suggestions and we'll consider them for future updates to improve our product's capabilities. Your Paessler Team

Adam
Adam
Service Desk Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG Is a Great Tool for many Organizations

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: PRTG brings a lot of value to our organization and it works well to notify our Department immediately when something is down. We have a critical need for this. Some of the user interface and customization for alerts could be better though.

Pros:

PRTG works on Mac or PC! I can set it up to alert me only on certain items in my org tree by priority, and it works 100% and I don't ever miss notifications.

Cons:

Some alert settings could be more customizable or paused for a certain time period easier. The user interface could be setup a little cleaner and up to date.

Paessler GmbH Response

3 months ago

Dear Adam, We're happy to hear that PRTG meets the critical needs of your organization by alerting you promptly on both Mac and PC. Your ability to prioritize alerts ensures that you never miss important notifications. We appreciate your feedback on UI and customization and will strive to improve these aspects for a better user experience. Your Paessler Team

Carolina
Carolina
NOC1 Support Engineer in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

the best IT infrastructure analysis with PRTG

4.0 last year

Comments: As technical support of our organization focused on LATAM customers we have made use of different tools with which we monitor the entire deployment of fiber optic network in different countries, PRTG stands out within that palette of monitoring tools since it allows remotely and through its different communication protocols to connect remotely with the different equipment and resources and obtain from them clear and accurate data, In addition, we can geographically locate the different sensors and program preventive alarms according to their impact on the network, the notifications are instantaneous and arrive simultaneously to the personnel who are active in the shift for their immediate reaction.

Pros:

When we talk about PRTG we immediately think of a very consistent, stable and oriented tool for the analysis and monitoring of all our network resources, being part of NOC Colombia through PRTG I can have a global view of the status of the fiber optic network and the transport layer equipment involved in it, provides detailed metrics that help us to diagnose the different failures reported by our users and incidentally to generate the trubleshooting of the different failures reported on the access network. Referring to the tool I can say that it has a very complete interface with its different functions strategically located and able to allow adaptation to our needs.

Cons:

Based on the criteria of the number of network components (servers, switches, routers, virtual machines) it is necessary to evaluate the type of license which depends on the number of sensors that are required to have absolute vision of all these teams, therefore, the associated costs will rise, although seeing the cost/benefit ratio is justifiable that investment.

Paessler GmbH Response

last year

Dear Carolina, Thank you for your positive review of PRTG. We're thrilled to hear that our tool provides you with a consistent and stable analysis and monitoring solution for your network resources. It's great to know that PRTG offers a global view of the fiber optic network and transport layer equipment, helping you diagnose and troubleshoot reported failures effectively. We appreciate your feedback on the comprehensive interface and its adaptability to your specific needs. We're committed to continuously enhancing PRTG to meet your expectations. Your Paessler Team

Tobias
IT-Systemadministrator in Germany
Computer Networking, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review from me

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: My overall experience with the PRTG Network Monitor has been positive. The comprehensive monitoring capabilities allowed me to effectively monitor my network and identify potential issues early on.

Pros:

User-friendly interface and easy configuration. Comprehensive monitoring capabilities for networks and systems. Flexibility in customizing alerts and notifications. Good scalability for small to large environments. Regular updates and good support from the manufacturer.

Cons:

Potentially longer learning curve due to the variety of features.

Paessler GmbH Response

last month

Dear Tobias, Thanks for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear that you're pleased with the interface, monitoring features, and customization options. Your recognition of our scalability and support means a lot to us. Your Paessler Team

Adam
IT Administrator in Canada
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Highly Customizable and Very Capable Systems Monitor.

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Saved our bacon numerous times. Was able to monitor just about everything I could throw at it. Very satisfied with the performance and options of the product.

Pros:

The plethora of ways and systems to monitor. Built in support for Windows Active Directory, DNS, SQL Server and more. So many aspects to monitor - SSL Certificates, Running Services, individual SQL tables.With SNMP, you can add anything that supports that protocol. I Added Printer toner levels.Integrates out of the box with Active Directory, for single sign on purposes. Fine grained security options. An API to easily add new systems.The free version is full featured, limiting only the amount of sensors (100) you can run.Built in Integration with other well known systems like Meraki, and Sophos.

Cons:

It's a great product that does what it does every well. Nothing really comes to mind. Perhaps too much customization.

Paessler GmbH Response

8 months ago

Dear Adam, Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that PRTG is a valuable tool for you, offering a wide range of monitoring capabilities and seamless integration with various systems. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that PRTG is helping you save the day. If you ever have any suggestions or need further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us. Your Paessler Team

Chad
IT Coordinator in US
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG Network Monitor Review: Simplify Your Network Management

4.0 4 months ago

Comments: In terms of performance and reliability, PRTG generally receives positive feedback. Its distributed monitoring architecture helps ensure high availability and fault tolerance, contributing to a smooth and uninterrupted monitoring experience

Pros:

One common positive aspect users highlight is the real-time insights provided by PRTG, which allow them to proactively identify and address network issues before they escalate. The ability to customize dashboards, reports, and alerts according to specific requirements is also highly appreciated.

Cons:

While PRTG is known for its user-friendly interface, some find the initial learning curve steep, especially when configuring more advanced monitoring settings or integrating with third-party systems.

Paessler GmbH Response

3 months ago

Dear Chad, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG's real-time insights valuable for proactive network management. Your Paessler Team

Julián
Lead engineer monitoring and automation IT in Colombia
Financial Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good tool for a fair price

4.0 4 months ago

Pros:

It is an easy to configure tool, the configuration process does not take more than 10 minutes and it is not necessary to install agents on all your servers.

Cons:

Although they have a good knowledge base and related documentation, there is a lack of support for the customer who has purchased a license they should have more real time support by connecting through any tool and seeing the error without so much documentation or evidence that is sometimes required by other means and more support for configurations and troubleshooting or configuration.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 months ago

Dear Julián, Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you found our tool easy to configure, and appreciate your feedback on our knowledge base. We're constantly working to improve our support offerings and will consider your suggestions for future enhancements. Your Paessler Team

Jeremiah
Director of Technology in US
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great monitoring software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: we use this on a daily basis to monitor disk space, memory usage, and cpu load for various servers and machines. the dashboards with clear warnings combined with email notifications give us a clear picture of trouble spots.

Pros:

The free version of PRTG network monitor that comes with 100 sensors allows you to do an in-depth analysis of the sensors available, notifications, architecture, monitoring capabilities etc... to determine if it meets your company's needs. The graphical interfaces, intuitive dashboards, and ease of setup and creating templates and inheritance across devices and types allows for easy use and administration.

Cons:

it can get expensive the more devices and sensors you continue to add to the platform so use your trial to evaluate wisely how you will implement and for what types of devices. the auto discovery can be nice but also tends to clutter up things.

Paessler GmbH Response

4 years ago

Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Know when there's a problem before the end users start calling

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We monitor customer routers that we service and their ISP gateways. We can find out rather quickly when a customer goes down, or when a customer is having an issue with just the router, and we do not have to be actively doing it ourselves. We are just notified when there's an issue and jump in and start resolving right it away.

Pros:

It tells me when there is a problem without much overhead on my part, and it puts me ahead of the game before end users start notifying me there is a problem. Its a pretty great feeling being able to call the end user up and tell them that you have already detected a problem and that you were actively working on before they have gotten around to notify you there was even an issue.

Cons:

It takes some time to set up and configure the software. Its not as intuitive as I'd like it to be, but its entirely manageable. You just need to invest the time to learn it get it working the way you want and then from that point on its a breeze.

Paessler GmbH Response

6 years ago

Thank for your review!

Mauricio
Business Manager in Colombia
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Top five monitor app for IT departments on SMB and corporations 24/7 365 days.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Most of my clients are SMB and need a free option to monitor his IT devices, with a free option it's easier.

Pros:

-The free version allows up to 100 sensors to be included on his interface. This feature helps allot of companies IT departments to monitor and compare without limitations. -Easy installation process for core app, available for SNMP devices (almost every tech device has this option). -Add devices for a monitor it's easier than other competitors because its agent less and his auto discover feature make deployment process fast and secure. -Available as web interface with every OS and app for the most important devices (iOS and Android).

Cons:

-User guide needs to be adapted for none IT users. -Reports need an experienced partner to customize executive options. -Customer Support it's not the best part of this company, sometimes take days to solve an issue that would take minutes on other monitoring software.

John
Network Administrator in US
Packaging & Containers, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use network monitor program

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love this tool because it is so easy to setup. Very user friendly and free license with 100 nodes.

Pros:

This is a very easy software to implement. It also provide 100 nodes for free license. You can implement it within 30 minutes.

Cons:

The free license is limited to 100 nodes.

Paessler GmbH Response

2 years ago

Dear John, Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

John
IT Manager in Australia
Consumer Goods, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG Network Monitor Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: it's still very good, although the dashboard and backup is a bit pain, but it's reliable and give me a pic of what the network situation

Pros:

reliability, this is the software for telling me what is happening over the network, so it must need to very accurate and reliable that i can trust on and react to it.

Cons:

backup is a big headache still, and no easy way to do it. i would prefer automation on this area.Dashboard are not easy to me. so I just click on device page instead of staying in dashboard

Paessler GmbH Response

2 years ago

Dear John, Thank you for leaving us a review! If you have any questions please get in touch with our support team. We're happy to help! Your Paessler Team

Scott
Senior Systems Administrator in US
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Robust and reliable monitoring solution

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: This is your one stop shop for a monitoring solution. Best value and most functionality all in one package.

Pros:

Very wide variety of sensors for monitoring of various applications from SQL servers to custom scripts to ping to SNMP and WMI. Can be configured in a distributed configuration to spread out the load that the sensors place on a monitoring server or to consolidate WAN traffic between the central host and branch offices. Can be setup in a cluster for ultra high capacity server. Very robust selection of reports available with the ability to create custom reports. Beautiful Android client with push notifications. If you are looking for a monitoring solution this need be your one and only stop.

Cons:

Support can be a little slow to respond often taking a day to respond via email. Only Windows hosts can be used as full sensor probes.

Mark
Network Admin in Canada
Mining & Metals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG Great but missing some features for scale

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: For network monitoring, daily use and ad-hoc to solve specific problems this software is perfect - you wont find a better all in one tool that is as easy to use as this tool.

Pros:

PRTG has a lot of customization ability and can monitor almost anything with the right know how. From very simple stuff like SNMP to script based monitoring and alerting this software can do anything. The reporting and alerting are great and does the job very weel.

Cons:

The scale of the program is not the best at time. Unless you have a full licenses to monitor anything you must be "choosy" as to what you monitor. In addition executing the same monitor over and over is not easy to do "automatically" or via scripting like other tools so it can get cumbersome.

Paessler GmbH Response

5 years ago

Dear Mark, thank you for taking the time leaving us a review! Have you heard about our feature request? [https://bit.ly/2ZkfLp1] Cheers, Paessler AG

Jason
Senior Director of IT in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG Rocks!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, PRTG rocks! The customer service is fantastic. It's very configurable and once you learn the basic setup it's easy to set up new systems and services.

Pros:

PRTG network monitor works wonderfully. They have a wide range of monitoring elements, from SNMP to SQL Server checks. The software auto updates which is great and I've configured it to send me monthly reports on downtime for certain systems. The general reporting is great and I can keep a lot of uptime history on all my systems and services.

Cons:

PRTG takes a little bit to get set up and dialed in to operate efficiently but it's worth the time. If you don't have the parent-child relationships configured correctly it's easy to get bombarded with messages of downtime.

Paessler GmbH Response

5 years ago

Hi Jason, Thank you for your review! We love our PRTG fans. Cheers, Paessler AG

Paul
Responsable On-Premise & Cloud Infrastructure in France
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

PRTG, the best monitoring solution

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: before we have nagios, we need Nagios Administor, now it's easy to deploy and monitor our server

Pros:

Easy to install, Easy to use, Easy to deploy Sonde

Cons:

Nothing.Nothing.Nothing.Nothing.Nothing.

Paessler GmbH Response

2 years ago

Dear Paul, We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review! Your Paessler Team

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best Monitoring Software

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Easy to Setup Extensive Reporting and alert management

Cons:

Learning curve -- Takes time to get acclimatize

Paessler GmbH Response

2 years ago

Thank you for leaving us a review! To help you make the change, take a look at our PRTG Tutorials channel on YouTube where you will find many topics related to PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG