15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About RevenueCat

RevenueCat provides backend subscription infrastructure and analytics for mobile and web apps.

Learn more about RevenueCat

Pros:

Good AppStore IAP support (didn't used Android side yet). Quick support team responses (I am very appreciated, guys! Keep it up!).

Cons:

There was no SwiftUI example app at the time I was using the docs.

RevenueCat ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

9.2/10

RevenueCat has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 45 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used RevenueCat before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (45)

David
David
Chief Learning Officer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Critical for running my subscription business

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Happy customer!

Pros:

Just works — provides server-side software and client-side APIs the Apple and Google should provide but don't. Useful charts Supports iOS, Android and many integrations It just works! No drama.

Cons:

Nothing comes to mind. It does its job well.

Dakota
Developer in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple Solution for In-App Subscriptions

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We turned to RevenueCat because of the hassle that exists trying to verify purchases manually. Doing this ourselves would mean setting up a server, handling all the different cases across the App Store and Play Store, and making sure this server is maintained and always live. For a small team like ours, this just wasn't viable and any potential money "saved" doing it ourselves would be lost in the time we would spend setting up our own solution. That would also mean extra time before an app can be released which would increase our time to market. RevenueCat handled everything we needed it to and took about a week to fully integrate.

Pros:

RevenueCat made it really easy for us to implement In-App Subscriptions for our app with absolutely no prior experience in taking payments on mobile devices. It saved us the upfront cost of paying for our own server to verify purchases along with the potential months of headache to handle all of the different scenarios you need to plan for and handle with in-app purchases (buying, renewing, pausing, canceling, etc.) Being able to pull information directly from RevenueCat instead of hard-coding it into our app also meant we could have a single source of truth (the App Store/Google Play Store) where we would update our available products.

Cons:

The only thing I wasn't a fan of (which has since been changed) was the payment model. When we first integrated it, the payment model was a fixed monthly rate versus the percentage cut that it is now. Extremely useful features like webhooks weren't accessible for us at the time because of this, but as I stated they've now changed this. Because of that, I cannot name anything I dislike about RevenueCat.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A good tool but still need lots of work

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Ok, could be much better but still the tradeoff between implementing everything and relying on it is still worth it

Pros:

We decided to use revenuecat in order to have "one ring to rule them all" for our IoS and Android app to manage our products and subscriptions. It works fine (most of the times) and takes away that burden from us.

Cons:

The key points that come to my mind are: - Calculated revenue is wrong! It does not match the actual app revenue since it does not take into account neither the day of the purchase exchange for the currency and also automatically uses USD dollars for everything - When some events happens RevenueCat is often quite slow in contacting our APIs to tell us about it. I reckon it might be due to the Store updates but still want to mention this since often it gave us problems in sync subscriptions purchases - Sometimes support has taken even 4-7 days to answer our emails and we had to ping them

Maciej
CEO in Poland
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

no brainer for small mobile app

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: when i started building our app RevCat was a no-brainer. now, when we grow and have $30k revenue monthly, the product starts to be a little bit pricy. in the future, we may consider building our own system and use native apple api. what could hold us at RevCat is a possibility to reach to users who cancel their paying plan and send a push notification with a special offer.

Pros:

- easy setup for a developer - i did it a long time ago and since then it works perfectly - dashboard with charts that i check almost daily to have an idea of how many users we have on trials/how is the app performing. - MOST IMPORTANT: i can instantly see if the new version converts users to a paid plan better.

Cons:

- there are bugs in the iOS iAPs, so it's hard to point where the fault is, but some of our users complain that they can't restore purchases on their second device. RevCat support suggested they can remove the app and redownload - and that helps... but it is a lot of work for a new user.

Simon
Founder/Developer in Sweden
Health, Wellness & Fitness, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must have for cross platform indie developers

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Super easy integration and saved months of development time for cross platform subscriptions. The SDK also helps out tremendously when doing customer support. And it saves a bunch of time when building support for new subscription features or when configuring products. Signing up for RevenueCat was one of the best things I have done for my company!

Cons:

The charts are a bit slow to update and don't seem to be accurate when it comes to revenue from countries that have VAT added to the price. For example, the revenue from countries like Sweden, where I have a large percentage of my customers, is reported as having a take home percentage of 70%. The real number is around 55% due to VAT, so the charts are inflated.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I Need RevenueCat

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Over all I am 100% happy. I can continue to be happy when you keep iterating as we all must in the subscription world.

Pros:

I have to chose 1 thing? I can't. 1. I love how you built this for hardworking app developers. You saw the unmet need and you filled it with love. 2. I love your response from your team when I have a question or problem. 3. I love how you offer a very affordable service and when we want more features you hook us so we have to pay more but we like it ;)

Cons:

Better communication with Apple when we update our price of subscription. Have that reflect on our charts side.

Chad
Founder, owner, and developer in US
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

An amazing service for facilitating the development of StoreKit-enabled apps

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I give RevenueCat a truly enthusiastic recommendation. Apple does not make it easy to get up and running with StoreKit-enabled apps; RevenueCat eliminates all the pain from developing those apps, cutting out months of development time. Not only is the service exemplary, but so is their documentation and their customer service, even for their lowest-level "Build" plan. The RevenueCat team know they are investing in the future of those who use RevenueCat, so they provide prompt, professional support to RevenueCat's users. I can recommend RevenueCat without reservation. Don't pass up the opportunity to use this exemplary service!

Cons:

I can't think of anything I dislike about the service— it's really that good.

Sudipto
Sudipto
Product Owner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using RevenueCat server from app inception to release to the App Store

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: The integration is stable. Once coded, I seldom need to revisit it.
So, it's now a seamless experience for my users and the app

Pros:

The integration mechanism into swift code base is detailed in RevenueCat docs. This made it possible to successfully integrate it. It is very helpful that testing in the sandbox is possible using a sandbox user

Cons:

The concepts of Entitlements, Offerings, Products is difficult to memorize. It's good that RevenueCat has readily available detailed documentation to cover these concepts

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Exactly what I needed!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

I like how the setup is very easy and fast, and it has all the feature I needed especially the one source of truth. I am currently using it for free, and thats a major plus as my app grow and sales grow I will be joining the paid plan which is very fair considering the benefits and the revenue I will be making. Having react-native library was a major plus for me as well.

Cons:

Nothing, really. If I had to say something I would say that when I tested on sandbox, I experienced some delays for test users to show on the dashboard, but that is not really a major issue and most of the time its working just fine.

Oskar
Oskar
Co-Founder in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Flutter App Development w/ RevenueCat

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am very satisfied with this service and hope to use it for the next years to come.

Pros:

Implementing custom billing structures that are reliable and secure is difficult. When building our app, RevenueCat made the implementation process much easier. It allowed us to quickly implement subscriptions and in-app purchases with Apple and Google Play.

Cons:

Since I've been working with this software (for 3 months now). I have not encountered any problems, and if so, the support team was quick to help me solve them.

Niels
CTO in Canada
Individual & Family Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

RevenueCat Evaluation

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We love the value that RevenueCat has brought us. It's honestly saved us thousands of man hours if we had not used them. During covid-19 our business has been hit hard and had to get rid of other services but RevenueCat we never one them we thought we could do without.

Pros:

The ease of use to plug directly into our Flutter Application.

Cons:

The Charting with Churn Reporting is completly broken. We've been keeping track of every cancellation and failed payment internally and we have drastictly different numbers on the daily numbers. Because of this our subscription count will jump up and down on the dashboard and show weird daily numbers that start off for the previous day way higher that it should be and then reduce down to where they should be in a day or two. We love RevenueCat and what it gives us and as a startup ourself, we understand growing pains. We have a internal meme that there is someone at RC is manually adding the numbers and doing it wrong and then on Mondays someone else is manually adjusting them! All in good fun!

Sophie
Founder in US
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Useful but expensive solution for mobile app subscriptions

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

RevenueCat makes it easier to handle subscriptions for mobile apps through the Apple and Google Play Stores. It handles a lot of the behind-the-scenes mechanics of checking users' subscription status and dealing with refunds and cancellations.

Cons:

It's very expensive - because you're charged based on revenue processed, it can wind up eating a huge percentage of your profits for apps with moderate or low margins. It's tough to make a business work when Apple or Google takes 15-30% and RevenueCat takes another significant cut off the top. Other issues: the app often has significant downtime/outages which aren't always reported or resolved promptly, and the charts features are quite unpolished.

Michael
Founder / Developer in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Quick and Convenient

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Fantastic! Customer service has been incredible. Very impressed by the dashboards and the SDKs that you can use to implement into your app. I am honestly amazed and would highly recommend them.

Pros:

As an app developer, I ran into several nuances with how different platforms have different requirements for processing payments. RevenueCat made it easy to implement In-App payments in a time when I was pressed for time. I also use Stripe and will be implementing Google Play IAP when they force it in fall 2020. RevenueCat makes it easy to combine all subscriptions into a nice dashboard where I can go to see and manage all of my subscriptions regardless of the platform.

Cons:

I somewhat struggle with the thought of paying a small percentage of my revenue rather than paying a flat, monthly rate. Currently, with revenue so low, RevenueCat is definitely worth it. As revenue increases, I may have to consider implementing some of these webhooks myself to manage my own subscriptions.

Harry
Founder in Czechia
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great platform for integrating subscriptions into your iOS app.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's been great, no problems so far.

Pros:

RevenueCat makes it easy to keep track of receipts, and I also enjoy using the metrics recorded as a basis for future decisions.

Cons:

Nothing serious that I don't like. But, if I were to nitpick, the charts could use an UI refresh. They're looking a little old.

Trond
Developer in Norway
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent, would absolutely recommend!

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Very easy to use, did really like how they made a complicated process easy to integrate in apps. The SDK and documentations is just awesome with good written articles, examples, tutorials and also great youtube tutorial videos for getting started. Integrating in app purchasing/subscription in apps is a big hassle, a lot of stuff must be implemented in backend/frontend and must be 100% stable. RevenueCat just fix all that hassle for you so you can use your time on the important stuff, creating apps. It's free until you reach 10k USD/month, I would gladly pay for this service when reaching that amount and maybe do it sooner to access the extra features they provide.

Cons:

The concept of Entitlements, Offerings and Products was not so self explaining at start and I had to read the documentation to understand it. However after integrating it into my apps I understand why it's very good way to go.

Asher
CEO in Canada
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good to manage subscription billiong

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

We like the fact that it saves us from building out our own subscription management system. It has enabled us to focus a lot more on helping our customers succeed.

Cons:

Reporting can be improved and additionally more integrations can be made available for a lower fee for indie developers.

Zafer
CEO in Türkiye
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

App Subscription Business

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Fast and easy implementation. Reliable in many aspects.

Cons:

For big companies no problem at all but when you think of a startup and integration with other third parties you must pay for it. And the payment is not affordable for startups.

Mehmet Emin
Software Engineer in Türkiye
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good Job ! Thanks for developing such a good experience for us.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is really good, I really like the coming emails from the RevenueCat team. Product is really good from technical perspective but especially the charts can be more cool :) I hope you guys won't get offended but they look really old. I hope the analysis also will be improved in the future. I am in a small team but me and my business partners will continue using RevenueCat and also for the projects that we will be develop in the future. We are again considering using RevenueCat.

Pros:

Implementation of subscription type of in-app payment actions actually hard to handle in long-term and the server-side of such an implementations also really time taking actions for small businesses like ours. So, RevenueCat provides really good way to handle in-app payments and it is easy implement. I really like that.

Cons:

The user interface and the analysis part can be improved.

Tyler
Creator in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy Setup For First Time App Developer

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

The software was super easy to implement. This is the first iOS app I ever created and scraped my way through countless tutorials to get here. My app was ready to launch but I was overwhelmed by payments. I want to do it manually but found it way to confusing. I heard about RevenueCat and thought it was too good to be true. I followed the QuickStart guide and had it up and running in a couple days. Now I've sold my first in app purchases and this is the first time in my development career I've made money from my code.

Cons:

There was no SwiftUI example app at the time I was using the docs. I know there is now, also more detail for app extensions would be helpful.

Mahmoud
Senior Android Developer in Türkiye
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Startups

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It saves my time, by two days you can integrate the service into your app by testing all cases and using all their features! If you need to implement them without using a SaaS, you need more than 1 month (with a bunch of bugs:))

Pros:

It's really easy to implement. It has great features such as defining offers from the Console and push them to clients with just one click! I really like it, and recommend it. Thanks to RevenuCat team for their Service.

Cons:

It's great, no Cons! But if there's a way to send Promotional subscription to users who don't subscribe to the app. I mean if I (the owner of the app) want to send a gift to a user, I could send them a promotional subscription for 3 months for example using the RevenuCat console.

Yasarcan
Founder in Türkiye
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Must Use!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I love RevenueCat and happy to use it.

Pros:

It's very easy to use. Charts are wonderful.

Cons:

RevenueCat needs to support Huawei Android Market. Price Experiments needs to added in Analyze package.

Andor
Mobile Developer in Norway
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Don’t look further

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Just amazing, everything just works as expected. No complaints.

Pros:

Trying to implement subscription handling on my own was a time consuming mess. You have to learn multiple platforms and stay up to date if anything changes. After discovering RevenueCat I had my subscription handling in my React Native app up in a couple hours. Just amazing!

Cons:

I think a more detailed pricing section would be good, I had to email you guys to ask if it’s really free for so long.

Usman
iOS Developer in Pakistan
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

RevenueCat is the Best Cat 😺

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall experience is really satisfying. I mean implementing IAP in less than 6 hours is amazing. I can spend this else where in the development process.

Pros:

The best thing about using RevenueCat was ease of use. The documentation is so well written. Moreover the helpful auto emails during the integration process helped me a lot ok every step.

Cons:

So far so good. Nothing bad about the product yet. Only concern is what if Apple someday decides to stop third parties from handling IAP. What will be the get out plan from RevenueCat

Svyatoslav
Svyatoslav
CTO in Russia
Verified LinkedIn User
Investment Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for startup

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

It's an easy-to-integrate and powerful product for adding in-app purchases to your app

Cons:

I still don't have cons about RevenueCat

Zaur
Software engineer in Russia
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Not all features used yet, but I like RC.

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I've tried to use some counterparts, but eventually decided to use RC owing to accessibility and good functionality.

Pros:

- simple to integrate - good AppStore IAP support (didn't used Android side yet) - quick support team responses (I am very appreciated, guys! Keep it up!) - good documentation - most cases are described, even StoreKit testing - RC is mature comparing to counterparts, hence RC has more features implemented than counterparts

Cons:

- not all corner cases covered, but not critical as we realised