Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.8 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.6 /5

About Microsoft Dynamics GP

Efficiently manage accounting and finances, distribution, projects, HR processes and customer relationship management.

Learn more about Microsoft Dynamics GP

Showing 107 reviews

Michael B.
Accounts Payable Specialist
Accounting, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2021

"Easy to use but some quirks to learn"

Comments: Its a great product and it allows for massive amounts of data in the form of transactions to be handled and reconciled easily. its a must have for any mid to large sized business

Pros: I love the ability to run smart list and then run specific queries drilling down to specific vendors and dates. it makes reconciling vendor statements a breeze. i also love the integration to be able to run transfers from other software to be able to auto enter retail invoices and gas sales. taking a way the manual entry nightmare of most retail situations.

Cons: I don't like that once something is entered it cant be deleted. you have to void it to remove it but it still will show up on all of the reports. also there are allot of quirky ways you need to learn to use the software that don't transfer over from similar software use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2021
Lee B.
Director Of Financial Planning and Analysis
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017

"Great ERP for Small to MidSize Businesses"

Comments: Dynamics GP is an ERP that is flexible and dynamic. it provides all the tools a small to midsize business needs.

Pros: Easy and Intuitive UI that leads to quick learning curve for all areas of Accounting. GL, AP, and AR modules are top notch. Integrates with many 3rd party applications for seemless sharing of data to enhance BI needs.

Cons: Lots of windows and a slightly confusing card structure. SmartLists can be cumbersome to create, save, and manage.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2017
Summer L.
Accountant
Retail, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"A challenge to learn"

Comments: Each portal operates under the same method which makes it easier to understand when moving through the many facets.

Pros: It has many functions and levels to operate a multifunctional facility. It includes Financials, Purchasing, Sales, Administrative, and a multitude of reports, inquiries, and lists that can be customized and modified to the users preferences.

Cons: There’s a lot to learn about the functions of this software. It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time. Make sure that this is the right software for the functions of your company Before purchasing. The annual renewal can be quite expensive as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Elaine W.
Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2017

"I recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Comments: I've used this software for 6 years and expect to keep doing so. There is so much support from our Microsoft partner and GPUG.

Pros: I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes.

Cons: There are many different reporting options available to use but are there ever really enough.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/02/2017
Lauren S.
Accounting Supervisor
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018

"Great software with great reporting functionality"

Pros: - ease of use once you know what you're doing
- ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful
- multi entity functionality

Cons: - no direct integration with tax software
- need to pair with reporting software to get accurate financial reporting
- need to log out to switch entities

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2018
Matt W.
Junior Accountant
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    3/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018

"Behind the times"

Comments: In today's world, there are dozens of better accounting programs out there for a similar price that operate on a cloud system and are continually updated so that you are never behind the times. GP just feels obsolete.

Pros: It is cheap and gets the job done. There is a lot of help online if you need to figure out how to do something.

Cons: It is the least user-friendly software I may have ever seen. The reports are awful, not in places you would assume, and they dump out to excel in a way that makes me want to punch something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/04/2018
Antonio G.
Accountant
Insurance
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2016

"Great product."

Pros: Great product that works with other Microsoft products

Cons: reporting is not great out of the system. there are smartlists that can be used, but as far as creating management reports, you may want to use another software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/02/2016
Mylene M.
Sales Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018

"All-in-one business solution!"

Pros: Microsoft Dynamics GP is not just accounting software. It is an ERP, making you manage and have full control on your inventory, financial, services and operation.

Cons: Microsoft Dynamics GP is a bit costly, but worth it for every SMB size company. I'm not sure if nowadays this is already available via cloud. Make sure to talk with your local partner to help you and discuss your requirement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2018
Mohamad C.
Owner
Accounting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018

"Dynamics GP is good software for companies who wants to use segment accounting"

Pros: Has segment accounting
The only software that has Equipment Log , which is similar to timesheet but this for equipement

Cons: is not easy to implement proper planning need to be in place before implementing Dynamics GP
Microsoft focused now on Dynamics NAV & AX and now those available in the market with new versions and new name

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Natali B.
Deputy Director
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017

"Average but it's the 2013 version"

Comments: I find this software to be cumbersome and not very user friendly when it comes to things that should flow easily like payroll. I also find the reporting isn't as easily manipulated for individuals that don't have the back-end database tables knowledge. Please keep in mind that we are still using the 2013 version and although our consultant has tried to help with things like smartlist; it's still not as comprehensive as many other systems on the market.

Pros: The accounting aspect is relatively easy to follow.

Cons: Reporting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/04/2017
Seana P.
Human Resources Manager
Civic & Social Organization, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2017

"Clunky and complicated"

Comments: I find this software to be complicated and not at all user friendly. It seems like you have to repeat information in several different area's that should just flow from one to another.

Pros: I like that you can export your reports in many formats. I use the pdf and csv formats often.

Cons: You have to repeatedly input information. I think it should flow from one page to the next.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2017
Joshua B.
IT Director
Accounting
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2016

"Good and Practical ERP"

Pros: Ease of creating reports and reliability of the platform.

Cons: Performance - it utilizes resources too heavily often times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2016
Jeff R.
Treasuer
Accounting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2017

"It is decent"

Pros: This is not the worst accounting software that I have used before. I enjoy the interface and the design.

Cons: It is very slow to use. It took me a while to learn how to operate the system. I have not had a good time with customer support.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2017
Alexa V.
Administrative Assistant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018

"Best accounting Software I’ve used till date!"

Pros: I am completely in love with program, it has been great to use it. It has been very useful and efficient whenever I find myself in a hurry.

Cons: I can say not many bad things about this product. It has helped overall in its usefulness. The only thing I would not be he very happy about is it’s price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 11/01/2018
Khalil A.
Talent Acquisition and Development Lead
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2019

"Good"

Pros: It helps you with all functions at the organization and you can use part of the functions as needed.

Cons: Ease of use, features, updates, and you need a consultant to install it and provide training for the team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2019
Lawrence S.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 18/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Buyer
Machinery, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020

"User friendly and versatile ERP"

Comments: I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros: I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons: It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2020
James X.
Senior Accountant
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"Senior Corporate Accountant"

Comments: I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros: t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons: With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
Judith F.
Accounts Receiveable Technician / Rental Credit Officer
Industrial Automation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016

"Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave"

Comments: I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros: Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons: Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2016
Linda R.
Procedure Control Manager
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018

"Microsoft Dynamics GP"

Pros: This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons: In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2018
Michael W.
Professional Services Director
Management Consulting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018

"Dying product"

Comments: It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros: Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons: Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018
Tesa D.
Administrator
Construction, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2018

"Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration"

Pros: The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons: Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only.
Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2018
Lewis M.
I T Support
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv"

Pros: Has all accounting features,
Best for manufacturing/production
Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons: Poor customer support
No ease of upgrade
Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Tracey K.
Finance Manager
Government Administration, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2017

"Dynamics GP for Government (Version GP 2010)"

Comments: The basic accounting functions are fine and compares well to peers.

Cons: We have yet to find an add-on to handle our grant billing that isn't either too simple or too complex for our needs.
Reporting sucks.
Annual maintenance is expensive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2017
Sean A.
Controller
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015

"Moved from QuickBooks to GP!"

Pros: Express Information Systems out of San Antonio, Texas worked REALLY hard with me and had me up and running in no time! I didn't miss the cut over and was even able to process my first payroll ON TIME!

Cons: A bit difficult to set up the way I needed it, but works great now!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2015