Epicor ERP Reviews

by Epicor Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    3.9 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 /5
  • Customer Service
    3.5 /5

About Epicor ERP

Epicor ERP delivers flexible, industry-specific business software to fit the precise needs of our manufacturing customers.

Learn more about Epicor ERP

Showing 25 reviews of 83

Rob M.
IT Directior
Restaurants, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2021

"Full-featured mid-tier ERP based on Microsoft Stack (or cloud option)"

Comments: Very simple to implement. Training people was the hardest part. We upgraded from a 20 year old ERP which was not WYSIWYG but users liked new formats. As usual customers wanted every option but after implementation realized that they could live without it since there were similar features in the existing software. We have a factory with about 40 office workers, 400 on factory floor, two distribution centers and main office. Factory in Mexico, others in US. Project management support from Epicor was great. Not impressed with support. Often had to wait long time for solutions and it required a lot of data on our part to answer their questions. The MS Stack was easy to configure, secure and administrate. We purchased our own servers and hosted them in a shared DC. Performance was good once we figured out how to configure everything including firewalls, WAN and various remote servers. No problems migrating data to new environment but we kept the legacy system for queries. We added a 3rd-party EDI solution and it worked well to reduce Order processing issues. The Epicor software was rarely the problem. Mostly project and training issues that delayed the effort.

Pros: The MS stack makes it easy to customize for reporting, data storage. Multi-tier configuration with database, application server and options for web-clients, fat clients and terminal servers.
Many options for customization in addition to code development. Multi-everything.
Relatively easy to upgrade and stay on current releases. Great administrative tools and ability to add resources as demand grow, including localizing servers for better performance.

Cons: Nothing really. There are lots of modules and each has a lot of simple to understand configuration options.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/01/2021
Roger G.
Parts/IT
Business Supplies & Equipment, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Not user friendly and to make changes we need to contact the developers. NOT GOOD AT ALL"

Comments: its a cloud base database and we don't need to back up the data. Also all the info we need is on one location!

Cons: NOT user-friendly, the turnaround on tickets is horrible. There is no videos or forums where customers can go and see how other Epicor users are fixing there/workaround problems they are facing. I was referring to one but apparently its all money. I wish there was a better training on how to admin the software. Also, performance is slow, We upgraded our network to better Mbps and the software has not improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
James P.
Production Manager
Machinery, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2019

"Feature Packed but Cumbersome"

Comments: The software is a total package for any type of manufacturing company. When i say it has it all, I mean it. However, it comes at a cost. The interface can be a bit clunky and there isn't always a great workaround for what should be a simple task. However, once you get it all figured out the sky is limit with this tool and it can be fully customized if you have someone on staff who can code and script.

Pros: This software has a ton of features. From Quote to Invoicing and every piece of the production pipeline in between.

Cons: It's not super intuitive and requires a bit of a learning curve to get it going in the right direction.

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 26/08/2019

Hi James, Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the solution has provided
you with the proper features. We're sorry to hear the learning curve has been steep. We would like to learn more about the issue you are experiencing so we can deliver a solution. Please send us an email to [email protected] with your contact information, so we can assist you. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you've experienced, and we look forward to resolving it.
Sincerely,
The Epicor Social Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2019
Jim K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019

"Good ERP system"

Comments: Been a good experience. Since I help administer the software I have a good knowledge of how it works.

Pros: For the most part easy to use. Has a lot of modules that you can use depending on your business. Can also integrate into your B2B webiste.

Cons: Sometimes it takes awhile to get issues resolved through tech support. Costs a lot of money for maintenance, and they also charge for each module that you may need if you need it later on down the road.

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 30/08/2019

Hi Jim,

Thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear you are finding it easy to use and benefiting from your website integration. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

Yours Sincerely,
The Epicor Social Team

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2019
Chris W.
Business Analyst
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2017

"Everything in one package"

Comments: Been working with Epicor since 2005 and they have been making great strides to make the software more efficient, easier to update, and constantly adding new functionality to make it a real value! If you don't need all the modules, just purchase the ones you need and add on at anytime, perfect for the growing business

Pros: Easy to update and use, navigation by pc or tablet makes it a portable solution on the shop floor as needed

Cons: Some features are connected to others so to track labor you need to purchase payroll, even if you don't use payroll in Epicor

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2017
Bryn M.
Production Coordinator
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020

"Great ERP"

Comments: It is easy to use and pick up, taught myself quite a bit.

Pros: The ability to customize reports is outstanding. I also like that I can easily find the information I need when I need it.

Cons: Modules. You have to purchase quite a few separate modules to be able to use everything which can cost

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 29/04/2020

Hi Bryn, thanks so much for your review of Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear the customized reporting is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020
Tony D.
Sales manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"mostly pleased with the software."

Pros: safer storage on the cloud. configurator for production. ability to modify pricing for each customer by adding individual price sheets.

Cons: cloud based makes it a little slower than server based. cannot email orders direct from Epicor. cannot handle VIN numbers. inability to print invoices until after the order is closed. cannot modify orders after the order is marked shipped. in our old system we could modify until the month was closed. we write many more credits than before.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Executive Assistant
Consumer Goods, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2018

"We are a manufacturing plant that distributes products worldwide and Epicor manages it all."

Pros: Epicor allows us to manage multiple companies with multiple currencies. One system for the entire company. We use if from the manufacturing floor to distribution & sales to financial reporting.

Cons: It's a very complex program because it does a lot. It took a team about a year to implement and users require training. It is not intuitive to use but once you understand how it works, it works very well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2018
Saw K.
DBA
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Knowledge Base (Most of the issue and problem solving available for only internal staff)"

Pros: Epicor ERP system can heavily, fairly and easily customized compare to any other ERP system in the world.

Cons: Need to improve Knowledge Base (Most of the issue and problem solving available for only internal staff). Hardly can search any error message that generated from Epicor in EpicCare Portal. Need to improve performance as well

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
Cloud Developer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018

"It wasn't that great, Epicor has many things that can be better."

Comments: Experience with ERPs, It was the first time I used it and I didn't like how complicated it was for everyone to accomplish the easiest tasks.

Pros: Once you get to know how everything works, it gets easier to move around and accomplish your tasks.
It has many featuress that can be exploded.

Cons: The database is terrible, it has like 100 fields in every table that aren't necessary and you can not identify them in any way.
Moving around Epicor is extremely difficult, you have to do so many clicks for any functionality or any task you decide to do.
It bugs easily and you have to close it and finish the task in windows.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Supply Chain Assistant
Defense & Space, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018

"Decent ERP"

Comments: Generally everything is user friendly & self explanatory.

Pros: Epicor provides lots of useful reports where I previously may have had to manually go find the info and compile in another program.

Cons: I don't like that there isn't a way to link jobs with sales orders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/11/2018
Darin W.
Systems Analyst
Computer Hardware, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018

"very user friendly good help knowledge base"

Comments: Very user friendly desktop/dashboard. ease of training for beginning users just starting out. Newer version easier to maintain.

Pros: Excellent support and service when needed, staff is very knowledgeable and always willing to help whenever needed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Ryan W.
Mechanical Engineer
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2018

"Epicor ERP"

Comments: We are currently in the process of upgrading to the latest Epicor. However our current version seems to have a lot of stability issues.

Pros: Helps keep jobs and inventory on track.

Cons: The software at times can be rather slow and crash often.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/12/2018
Verified Reviewer
Sr. Analyst
Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018

"Easy transition to cloud"

Pros: They made it a priority the last few years to transition to the cloud which was really a boon to our distributed teams. Implementation support was excellent. We have never had down times with the cloud.

Cons: When we first started using, it was difficult to get the software to "speak" to some of our supply chain software but there has been a solve for that in place for a number of years. Over time, epicor has become more industry-oriented.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2018
Shawn B.
VP, Operations
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2017

"Overall happy with our selection and use."

Pros: Balances intuitive design w/complex features and functionality. Very good documentation and built-in help.

Cons: Easier ability to make more common, minor, cosmetic customizations; somewhat inconsistent from module to module/menu to menu.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2017
Verified Reviewer
Accountant
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018

"Preferred ERP System"

Pros: I've used SAP, Netsuite, and Epicor ERP systems and when it comes to ease of use this definitely my preference. There are things I love about Netsuite as well but overall I prefer Epicor.

Cons: When I was using Epicor I had issues with their consulting because they were located in Australia so it would take an entire day to get a response back.

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 12/09/2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided. At Epicor, we are committed to providing an ease of use experience. We will share this feedback internally and continue to improve. Thank you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018
Gail O.
Sr Systems Analyst
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"Epicor"

Comments: It can do the normal accounting, payables, receivables, general ledger.

Pros: It is basic accounting software with all the normal features.

Cons: There are a lot of integration points needing to be built to automate feeds of data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Quba Q.
CFO
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"good experience during implementation but lack of quality ongoing technical support"

Pros: good technical support during implementation stage. The system is fine to navigate. BAQ seems to be working okay to produce report for business.

Cons: 1. Features of Cloud solution were under tested and supported. 2. Extra resource and efforts are required to rectify system issues which should have been part of the cloud service offering. The post live ongoing technical support is fairly poor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018
Tony R.
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2017

"Epicor Review"

Comments: Epicor allows for easy data entry and retrieval. It is slow in speed. I don't like how you can't easily go back a screen... instead everything is a pop up window.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2017
Alicia W.
Materials Manager
Furniture, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019

"Robust ERP System Ideal for Manufacturing"

Comments: We’ve been pleasantly surprised at how it is turning out to meet our business needs, while knowing the amount of work necessary to get it set how we need.

Pros: Easily mass upload and update data. Configurable modules to meet your business needs. Responsive, knowledgeable and helpful consultants.

Cons: Some restrictions which are costly to customize and work around. Forms are not easily edited. Many modules are an extra added cost to subscribe every year.

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 22/11/2019

Hi Alicia, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. We're glad to hear that the data mangagement aspects of our ERP is working well for you. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019
Brian M.
IT Support
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020

"Workflow made easy"

Comments: We used this to manage the company. We track time on projects. Keep inventory, and is used heavily in supply chain.

Pros: This software handles all of your company needs. It does time management, inventory, project management, and more. This was very easy to roll out to end users.

Cons: So far we have only used this for less then 6 mo. I don't have any down side at this point. There is still a learning curve that we need to over come.

Vendor Response

by Epicor Software on 09/10/2020

Hi Brian, thank you for your feedback about Epicor ERP. Your feedback is invaluable. Please email us at [email protected] to share additional comments and learn about our customer reference program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2020
Carmen O.
Supply Chain Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"Only used for 2 years. Easy to use but complicated steps for simple task"

Comments: MRP functionality for our business. Better business tools . Improved processes. Increased communication because of shared information system provides.

Pros: It is user friendly , and has good basic functionality . Structure of menu modules make sense and makes it easy to move in and out of different screens. Information at your reach with a key stroke. easy to download to excel for more customized usage.

Cons: Some functionality which I feel is a basic process is complicated for the user . Some fields should default information instead of user having to key in. Needs more flexibility . Biggest issue is when a new version comes out.....something that was working before is no longer working. And its not a customization its core functionality.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018
Alan H.
Applications Development Lead
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"Overall great experience it in terms of scalability, customization, and providing business needs."

Comments: I learned how to create SSRS reports. I learned how to customize different menu items using the wide variety of customization tools. I learned how to query data and transform them in many different ways to present accurate reports. I learned how to use the many menu items and modify them to our business needs. I learned how to develop business process flows for our company to reference whether it's entering an order, tracking an order, creating a job, etc. I learned how to troubleshoot errors that arise. I learned how to identify what causes errors within the software. I learned how to map out what what each menu item is used for. Overall it is a great learning experience and there is much more to learn from this software and I am grateful for having to work with this software.

Pros: I mostly like the ease of use of this software. Data entry and Data queries are easy to do with the many screens provided in this software. One thing to mention is the powerful search function to find different screens, displays their path within this software so that is also a big plus. Another positive is the overall navigation of this software with the different modules feels natural because of the 'tree view' option for the menu items. The different maintenance screens are set up pretty nicely and can be customized depending on what type of SaaS option you have so that is great as well. I also really like the security settings I can adjust to prevent users from accessing certain screens or hiding certain fields from them. One final mention for this section would have to be the SSRS integration. I design lots of reports and it is extremely easy to pull data into an SSRS report and present them how I want it.

Cons: Of all the pros that I have listed in the previous section, there are some cons to mention as well. One mention that I like least about this software is the optimization of this software. Many screens take at least 2 minute to open and that is with the recommended hardware specs provided. Another mention is that the PDF reports take at least 2 minute or more to view. I know that the reports are server side and I don't know the process flow of it but it would be nice to click the print preview button and 3 seconds later, have the report show.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Brandon A.
Inventory and ERP system manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"We use Epicor to run our whole business."

Comments: The customizability of this software is the key advantage for this compared to other ERP systems. They approach the company has is "we can't make it perfect for everyone, so we will let you make the changes you need for you".

Pros: We like that it's incredibly flexible. Epicor has put a lot of work into tools to help customize the product. Each tool has a different level of complexity, and some take more knowledge than others to use, but it will get as advanced as your skill set.

Cons: Out of the box it's fairly clunky to use. One record at a time is usually how things are done. That makes initial acceptance from users a bit of a challenge. But if you have users that are creative and can convey what they want, you usually can find a way to make things easier for them. If they just whine, not so much.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Sheri G.
Master Production Scheduler
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018

"The experience has been good, the software seems to be working as desired."

Pros: The ease in which most parameters are set in the part entry screen. The forecast module seems to be performing as desired, offering consumed quantities for easier visibility. MRP plans unfirmed jobs which make sense between planned jobs and firmed jobs. They are distinguished very well, giving the user a sense of clearness. The site maintenance screen allows the user to set up the prefix for the MRP unfirmed orders which is nice and clear to see upfront in identifying MRP unfirmed jobs.. It is also nice to have a time fence parameter in the part master where no jobs can plan within that time fence.

Cons: It is often no intuitive, making it hard to figure out why MRP suggested something that did not make sense.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2018