VEGAS Pro Reviews

by VEGAS Creative Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.9/5
  • Ease of Use
    4.6/5
  • Customer Service
    4.9/5

About VEGAS Pro

VEGAS Pro is a customisable workflow for professional video editing. Features include color grading, special effects or audio editing.

Learn more about VEGAS Pro

Showing 15 reviews

Eliezer C.
Organization Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/12/2019

"Powerfull and Simple Video Editor"

Comments: Vegas' timeline has always been very simple—It allows for speedy editing while not detracting from functionality. Other NLEs' timelines feel clunky (I've use almost every major editor). Rather than holding to firmly to a layout which is over-inspired by outdated linear editing systems, Vegas has always (even since the Sonic Foundry years) been one of the quickest NLE's to learn.

Pros: I love the unique qualities that allow the user to be able to alter and edit video from color to manipulations. With endless ability to get added transitions, and capability to render any way you prefer I think it is a unique user experience that I can't get anywhere else. Best of all? It is easy to learn if you are willing to look up some youtube tutorials. I have used this for years. Get it.

Cons: Some advanced manipulations are difficult, and in regard to free transitions and such, options are slightly limited. I can't say much else is a dislike.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/12/2019
Angel G.
Administrator
Marketing & Advertising, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019

"Great Video Editing Tool"

Comments: We use this program for the editing and design of videos for the sites, advertisements or apps that we are commissioned, since it has many tools and options where we are allowed to adapt the screen size as well as file terminations, whether it is being cut or adapting the measurements of the videos to multiple devices where we want to focus our products in order to reach a greater number of customers, so it has been very good so far.

Pros: It is a very complete video editor that has everything necessary for our videos to remain with professional characteristics, it is very useful and professional in all aspects, it is definitely the type of editor where they are applied from basic knowledge to advanced in the video , where we can handle excellent quality audio up to HD and 4K definitions, it has a very good interface where we will find a timeline with the lapses between the cuts, and a possibility of high quality audio editing.

Cons: I think that although it has everything that is needed, more features could be added to it, either in the effects in the videos, as well as screen capture options and images.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/11/2019
Gustavo S.
Intern
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2020

"Professional video editing tool"

Pros: Sony Vegas is a reference for video making and editing, especially among content creators. It offers a very large set of options and expandable effects library

Cons: Resource intensive and difficult to learn how to properly use many functions. Previous training is highly reccomended.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2020
Robin M.
Filmmaker
Entertainment, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    3/5
  • Features & Functionality
    3/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"Good video editing solution for Windows"

Comments: VEGAS Pro has helped to edit professional looking videos for online distribution quickly with more features than simple programs like Windows MovieMaker.

Pros: I highly recommend VEGAS Pro if you use Windows. It is a feature rich video editing program that has all the bells and whistles for professional work. One of the great things about VEGAS Pro is that it is a one time purchase vs. Adobe's monthly subscription.

Cons: While the software is great, there are sometimes some bugs that causes crashes. It can be frustrating as you edit. This happens with most video editing programs however and should not be looked as a deal breaker.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Ivan I.
IT Specialist
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2019

"The tool for all video editors"

Comments: I had a great time using Vegas Pro. It was easy on the RAM of my PC and fun to play around with. I like it more than Premiere Pro.

Pros: Sony Vegas Pro has an extremely large set of tools that professional editors can use for their projects. It's user friendly UI makes the workflow go smooth without any complications. It even has built-in tutorials for most tools that users can experiment and try out new features.

Cons: Extremely expensive piece of software and takes a lot of time to master. Cannot make projects with FPS lesser than 12.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
UI/UX Designer
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Easy to use for non-video makers"

Comments: Let's start with I am not a great video editor, in reality I know very little. And when I tried I was surprised on how fast I learned it and understood its most important features in a fast pace. So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it!

Pros: I like how easy is to use the timeline and its features with great user interface.

Cons: Does not have as many features/is not as powerful as Adobe Premiere

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Elliot W.
Assistant Merchandiser
Apparel & Fashion, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Fantastic software and service"

Comments: The Vegas Pro is brilliant and professional and is a great tool for my business work. I feel confident and excited to explore the tools and custonising features to improve the videos I produce for our clients abroad.

Pros: The software is very detailed and professional. It offers you the ability to completely customise and imrpove your video production.

Cons: The software does not provide a very easy instruction guide

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Tamás H.
Trade marketing manager
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2019

"One of the best videoeditors"

Pros: Easy to use, user-friendly, fast, minimalist design

Cons: Sometimes rendering time takes a bit longer time. (Maybe this is the problem of the computer.)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2019
Frank U.
Online Marketing Specialist
Media Production, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019

"VEGAS Pro is Excellent For Video Marketing"

Pros: Video marketing is in high demand today and VEGAS Pro is one of the best tools to be able to actualize this. VEGAS works effectively and it is relatively easy to use. It is great when it comes to creating visual effects, 3D titling and even compositing.

Cons: It is pretty expensive. But will definitely recommend if you can afford.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Nneka O.
Freelance Content Writer
Marketing & Advertising, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Ease of Use
    4/5
  • Features & Functionality
    4/5
  • Customer Support
    4/5
  • Value for Money
    3/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019

"Video editing with Vegas Pro"

Pros: It doesn't have a steep learning curve. Anyone can use this. I am learning how to edit videos and this has been easy to use. I like the community. There are tons of plugins to use with the software. The frame by frame editing isn't bad.

Cons: It's too expensive. It's way out of reach for beginners or anyone who edits videos as a hobby. For it's price, it features don't compare to Adobe Premiere.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2019
Holly H.
IT Technician Intern
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2020

"VEGAS Pro Review"

Comments: My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

Pros: I liked that I could create videos such as AMVs with VEGAS Pro.

Cons: Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like least about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/02/2020
Eric R.
Videographer
Broadcast Media, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020

"I Love Vegas"

Comments: Vegas almost never crashes on me, which was an a occasional issue with Final Cut. It's just solid software that does what you need it to, with all the professional features and effects.

Pros: I have used Vegas and Final Cut, and I have found Vegas to be faster, more reliable, easier to use, and have at least as many features...if not more.

Cons: There is nothing I dislike about Sony Vegas. If you're familiar with video editing software you'll get the hang of the layout and quick keys very fast.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2020
John C.
Consulting
Alternative Medicine, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019

"Easy install "

Pros: Easy install anyone can do it, easy instructions to read.

Cons: I think the entire thing is great no complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2019
Christopher D.
Software Tester
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019

"One of the Best Video editors available"

Comments: If you can afford it, you should have it, its pretty easy and powerful, im editing all my videos with it

Pros: It's on of the easiest programs to master, most of its features have a very simple and nature way to function that you instantly know how to use them, like the fade in fade out feature
Completely professional with every feature you ever need from a simple youtuber to a photography studio

Cons: No free version, only free trial
It is only compatible with Windows
Interface while it has some amazing features, it hasn't been changed for a lot of major releases

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Jijin S.
Data Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Ease of Use
    5/5
  • Features & Functionality
    5/5
  • Customer Support
    5/5
  • Value for Money
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2019

"A great alternative"

Comments: Vegas has been extensively used for creating and turning complex information to easy to comprehend set pieces that transcends value and message with utmost perfection. It transformed the domain our company by how it managed to deliver intelligent business at strategic levels.

Pros: - Flexible
- Simple UI
- Lot of features
- Lightweight yet gets the work done
- Caters to both amateur and professional editors

Cons: Not a whole lot of plugins available for various grading and effects, but still it's manageable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/11/2019