Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.1 /5

About Jira

With 15+ years in the agile space, Jira offers teams the top tools and best practices to provide the right foundation for growth.

Learn more about Jira

Showing 10,215 reviews

Luis D.
Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2021

"Excellent tool to organize and control for work processes"

Comments: It is great! we use JIRA to manage projects (internal and external), customer services desk process, reporting, measure work efficiency, monitoring and work hour control.

Pros: It is an outstanding platform easy to use, with a great UI design, and wide range of customization and con configuration. It has standard templates to manage projects according to current approach and new trends (Agile/scrum/PMI). It service desk offer everything you may need to control all of the process internal and external. It has a large number of app to aggregate, as well as REST full API, Webhooks, and the likes to extract data or make interfaces with company's systems.

Cons: About the cloud service, is a litther pricy, and most of the time you need to contract (monthly fee) some apps to do basic things. On the other hand, support service has its opportunities. Response time is quite slow, and in some occasions -simply- not attended.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2021
Adam H.
Founder and CEO
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2021

"Enterprise Issue Management for Teams"

Comments: Generally I love Jira - with the plugins and immense flexibility, it is the best issue management for software development teams that I have ever used.

Pros: Jira is highly configurable, allowing you to set it up exactly as your team works rather than having to change how you work for the software. It provides a huge amount of flexibility that is difficult to match in the crowded issue management category. This is the industry standard when it comes to software development and agile process management.

Cons: Only use Jira if you are ready to get stuck into the administration and management of the software - it takes a significant amount of setting up to get it right. You are rewarded with strong features and it is highly configurable but it can also have a managament time impact.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/02/2021
Prince K.
Senior Consultant
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020

"Fantastic Tool that is ESSENTIAL for Agile"

Comments: Since Jira has been introduced, it has allowed the company coming closer together and break down the previous silos that were prevalent for quite some time. This assisted the architects, UI/UX engineers, developers, testers, and all of management/leadership to take a peek at different parts of the entire overall lifecycle of development. Automated scripts took this a step further which allowed reports to be generated and key points to be communicated across. I believe this tool or any other tool will suffice for your Agile needs however Jira is considered one of the more widely used and best tools available.

Pros: Jira is an essential tool that will greatly improve traceability, task management, and planning for any organization. It is incredibly intuitive when it comes to the reports that may be generated for any user. Giving the business greater control and vision into the finer details of each day (if process is followed by users), a company or organization can drill down into details of what teams and resources are working on. You can step back a level and see overall features and implementations to be delivered by any set of teams/individuals. It truly is a well thought out tool with lots of available customization.

Cons: One thing I've always disliked about Jira is the lack of UI customization such as applying themes or having certain sections stand out more than others. You will see much of the UI is plain and ambiguious. I am not sure if this is customizable from a different permissioned user however, I have never seen the ability to have a nicer looking interface from my accounts within my organizations. Yes it is much more powerful but lacks creativity in UI design.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/08/2020
Verified Reviewer
Help Desk Customizable Solution
Airlines/Aviation, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2020

"HelpDesk Dream System"

Comments: Overall I really loved the platform and the easy of use and they offer a mobile solution which allows you to manange, support and assist using your mobile device which is important which you are on the go and have customers who diesire information or support.

Pros: Coming on board with Delta I hadn't user the JIRA platform outside of submitting tickets in my past. There was a shell created by our IT team and it was a great start but with the help of an intern he and I were able to completely change and enhance the user experience on both sides for those who enter tickets and those who work or engage with tickets. The system seems a little overwhelming at first because it offers so many variations however once you really consider what you want to do and who you want to achieve it really straightforward.
You're able to change and modify just about every aspect of the interface so that its complete company-specific or even department-specific is you choose. You can make it look like its an extension of your companies actual website.
You can access and run reports for so many different KPI's or metrics to see preformance or SLA's and they are all realtime.

Cons: Like I stated it was a bet overwhelming bacause there are so many options and changes that can be made using JIRA however there are tons of resources as well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/07/2020
Ding L.
Chief Systems Officer
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2020

"Review on Atlassian JIRA"

Comments: Overall, JIRA does the job for our team and even though I am on the Systems Team, we ourselves are mostly users as well. That keeps the headaches in check (as things could be very frustrating when trying to administer the applications. See above for the reasons).

Pros: A team needs a ticket/issue tracking system and JIRA Atlassian seems to be used widely in the industry. As a user, it's easy to use for the most part. Besides having the option of hosting the application in-house, it also has the Cloud edition so from the Systems Team perspective, there's no need for servers, backups, security, keeping the service up (with fault tolerance), etc.

Cons: From the administration aspect of the software, JIRA still has a long way to go: 1) As an administrator, as far as I can see, one can *not* even do such a simple thing as change the Display Name for a user (I suppose it's a "feature" but I can't see why that's a good feature). Instead, an invite is sent out to the user, who can then set the Display Name after signing up. 2) As an administrator, one can login as another user to test permissions. That's normally a nice functionality for administrators. However, for some functionalities, while you are still logged in as another user, you suddenly go back to your normal identity. That's very confusing and thwarts the purpose. One potential good use is being able to login as another user to set/update the Display Name (see #1). 3) Setting permissions is not that easy. I tried to set permissions for an account that's used for scripting (using the REST API) but it seems very difficult (really, it should be easy) to get the permissions done correctly -- sufficient but minimal privileges. 4) The REST API is not great. The online documentation is often outdated and sometimes things don't work (with errors). Even when things run without errors, it might not actually do the thing that it's supposed to do (so you write the code for nothing when you expect it to work).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/05/2020
Glenn B.
Manager, Operations
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2020

"Great Collaboration Tool For Teams"

Comments: Great way to collaborate with team members and outside vendors on ticketing and projects, with a lot of integration opportunities. Would highly recommend to users not currently using JIRA.

Pros: It is a feature packed program that helps teams collaborate using a ticketing system. Much easier way to work with team members to fix issues, deploy updates and collaborate. Using this system between employees, departments, consultants and others we have been able to streamline collaboration on projects. It also has a lot of integration, including with Slack, to expedite notifications.

Cons: There is definitely a learning curve with this project and it can be a little hard to get the hang of, but once you do, the UI of the program will make sense.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/04/2020
David R.
Full stack developer
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019

"JIRA is necessary to my everyday organization"

Comments: I use it every day to organize my workflow. Without it, I would be pretty lost.

Pros: Agile development on Jira is great. The ecosystem allows me to track my time, organize my issues into tasks and sub-tasks, track when things get done, create estimates, and organize complex projects into smaller and simpler pieces.

Cons: The support is pretty ignorant of their user-base on several issues and refuse to add new features that would benefit hundreds, if not thousands. It can be very tricky to migrate, update, or set up. Plugins can cost money and it can add up, though I haven't spent too much at all for the value I received.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/12/2019
Kevin W.
Software Engineer
Gambling & Casinos, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2019

"JIRA is the best project planning and organising tool"

Comments: My overall experience is excellent, it is the best project management software ever. I have used a few others in the past, but there is none that can compete with JIRA. with a integration of slack, confluence, it is very hard to refuse.

Pros: 1. It is very flexible and fitted really well with agile development work. whether you are using kanban or standard sprint planning work flow, it supports all of those.
2. It is extremely useful to do project planning and creating stories, they will be saved in backlogs and you can access them with weight, estimate and priority.
3. It is quick to create a bug ticket to track bugs.
4. It is very easy to plan for a new sprint, by adding task, stories from the backlogs, it helps with the total points you want to target for a particular sprint, it automatically sum up the story points and make sure you don't over plan.
5. great report tool to help you analyse the project completion and nice burn down chart as well. To help the team retrospectively go back and review.

Cons: 1. It is a big over complex by providing such flexible functionalities. But it is worth the time and learning curve.
2. As a developer, I don't have to pay the bill. But it is not very cheap if you have a large development team, the bills add up quickly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Lead Quality Analyst
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2019

"Entry level to management - tool for everyone"

Comments: Overall Jira is a nice tool which helps to create and track issues and also agile boards are really helpful. I would recommend it to everyone because for basic level you need not to guide anyone (how to use it etc.) entry level people can use it themselves.

Pros: I pretty much like everything about this software. It’s UI, features are great. The fields while
logging any issue/user story are extensive and self explanatory and there is tool tip too if you wanna know about the details of any field. For eg: you can format the description field like colours bold etc. this really helps while logging defects. This way it’s easy to understand the user stories too.
Secondly, attaching screenshots is quite easy. You can simply copy paste which saves time. There option of upload too but saving files and uploading is on effective utilisation of time I think. You can copy paste the screenshot directly.
Thirdly, issue search is good. History is maintained very well. You can search and filters tickets with any field and moreover there is advanced search where you can write a query (it’s very simple) to search issues. You can add delete columns and can also download an excel or cvs file. This results helped us in creating reports which were in turn send to the higher managements.
Another feature which I found very useful is agile birds and dashboards. It’s simple to move tickets on agile board and track progress.The sprints are maintained well.Dashboards has a lot of gadgets which you can customise and add. It’s give a very clear picture of the whole project and all team members. You can create multiple dashboards.It gives the latest summary of the project which saves a lot of time and effort when you need to share the report with the management.

Cons: There at not much to write in cons section. But I think starting to work with Jira, using bas features, is quite simple but if you wanna use variety of features like advance ones, you need to explore them. Some features are not direct and you need to do the R&D. Like creating dashboards look simple but adding filters and complex gadgets takes time and will be quite difficult to implement in first go.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/11/2019
Youness M.
Business Solutions Specialist ( Developer and Consultant )
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019

"Jira is the Best Project Management Software"

Comments: THe best software for project management ever.
It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.

Pros: Everything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features:
- Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows.
- Security setup for every type of users.
- A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know )
- Very simple to use
- Sprints support..
- High Availability.
- Awesome Designs ( old and new ).
And so many other things i love about JIRA

Cons: I wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/08/2019
Joshua M.
Process Optimization Analyst
Printing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2019

"Jira: An Essential Task Management Application"

Comments: My experience with Jira has been fantastic. Overall, once a team gets used to the 'ticketing' structure, there are a lot of organizational efficiencies that can be gained. The standardization of ticketing can help teams navigate through areas of need and allocate resources from other projects if ahead of schedule. Jira works phenomenally as a tool to help manage projects both large and small. I have helped test and implement projects that have utilized Jira as the primary project management tool and believe that it is a state-of-the-art solution. Overall, I cannot recommend this service enough!

Pros: I use Jira for Project Management in my occupation. As a worker in a large enterprise, Jira does a phenomenal job of creating a fantastic user experience for both desktop and mobile. I think mobile project management is especially intuitive with this service. Where Jira stands apart from other standard project management tools is in its ability to track issues throughout an entire development lifecycle. Tickets are an essential component to keeping work organized and teams moving forward. The ability to collaborate via comments is unparalleled. Jira also offers extensive add-ons and pre-created templates for those just learning the service. When tracking projects, I never felt overly-encumbered by high learning curves or a clunky interface. Jira allowed me to work with many of the tools I am comfortable with and expand my potential.

Cons: From my experience, the largest pain-point / decision point between my team is on the issue of creating 'tickets'. While Jira is a very detail oriented application, this detail can sometimes become quite cumbersome. For example, the process of creating and resolving tickets can sometimes feel even longer than completing the task itself. Furthermore, it is difficult, if not impossible to close a ticket if you are not the creator. Therefore, project managers need to carry significant oversight as task statuses change. Therefore, tickets are very controversial but also an essential component to completing work successfully on this platform.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/04/2019
Kristin L.
Technical Writer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018

"Thoughts on JIRA from a non-programmer: Still easy to use"

Comments: Tracking, organization

Pros: I am a technical writer who used JIRA as my first introduction into working in a close-knit, agile programming environment. I really appreciated the clean design, multiple ways to accomplish tasks, and logical visual representations of concepts. Is something assigned to you? It has your face on it. We had several development teams working in tandem and JIRA allowed for each team to structure their sprints according to their own preferences (some had more traditional set up and others used kanban). As time went on we were able to add more projects to JIRA, after transitioning off of ClearQuest for our baseline fixes, and while there is certainly a learning curve getting established programmers who have used one system of tracking for 10+ years converted to using JIRA, most everyone was able to transition and feel comfortable within a few weeks. Speaking as a non-programmer, I found JIRA to be incredibly useful and easy. Tracking writing and editing projects through development didn't require any specific setup or features and it was all around a great tool.

Cons: While it was great that every project could be tracked from our one JIRA site for my relatively small (30ish people) development team, any time fields needed to be added for one specific team to track something for stories or bugs, it was there for everyone. This led to having rather cluttered add screens that meant for a good deal of scrolling. I know some of this was surely user error, but having a bit more control would be nice. Also, the search function occasionally would just... not work. At all. As adorable as the sad faced little magnifying glass was when this happened, it would be very frustrating to lose functionality without warning. Being browser-based always makes for risk and some days would just be constant checking of if JIRA was up again so untracked progress didn't fall through the cracks.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/07/2018
Vijayakanth M.
Senior Manager - Legal
1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018

"Its really a good tool for managing the internal approvals with ease. It is user friendly tool."

Comments: We are able to manage our internal approvals effectively. It is really helping to track the status and for expediting the approvals. It works even we are not connected to office network. You can simply connect if there is internet connection available. It helps us to complete cross border approvals easily and reduced manual work and hard copy print outs. It also reduces time for internal approvals and helps to manage even huge volume of internal approvals by the stakeholders. The resources need not run from one desk to the other desk.

Pros: This tool works on a hosted model and can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using internet connection. The web version and even the mobile version (which i guess has been recently launched) is good and can be accessed through click of a button while it is assigned to you. It is has various options like assigning to different users, obtaining their comments, attaching supporting documents, printing the ticket, reports and dashboards which can be customised by the users, option to download, link the ticket with other tickets, etc., The tool has the option to create various workflows as per the requirements of the users. It has the option to alert the users with email alerts and also reminder mails. There is option to close the ticket, clone the ticket, revoke the ticket. The users can customize the reports and dashboards as per their requirement and download the ticket in various formats from the JIRA tool.

Cons: The reports and dashboards does not provide for reports in a graphical way. The tickets can not be simultaneously assigned two or more users. The tickets can only be closed by the creator which is a set back if the creator does not close the ticket once its gets over. The note which is created allows only text inputs. It does not allow for creation of table or column. Turn around time for closure (at each specific user level) of the ticket can not be generated from the reports automatically. This is a big drawback. Also, it takes so much time for loading the contents and if the internet is slow then it does not get loaded at all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/06/2018
Karthikeyan T.
Manager
Airlines/Aviation, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021

"JIRA tool best for project management and product development"

Comments: In my overall Experience, Jira tool is the best tool to use bug trackers, project and product management, software development services and other services. So, this is cheaper than other products and customer service is greatly appreciated so I would recommend to use Jira for all the users.

Pros: We are using Jira tools for many purposes such as bug tracking, product/project management, software development. Project tracking and management. It has various good features and it allows to track issues, but tasks and other work items. In my company, we were using Jira tool.for a long time and we could implement the project before the deadline.

Cons: I have few concerns about the tools such as not the best mobile app, limited size uploads, few UI are confusing and complex integration. I believe, Jira team is working on these bugs so we will good to use Jira at all the times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021
Robert G.
Business Application Specialist
Accounting, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2020

"Excellent Project Management and Coordination System"

Comments: For over two years I was managing my projects and assignments through Jira. For a system to be able to assign projects, include individuals on work performed, and even keeping notes that could be transferred to our database management applications. Personally as a project manager/owner, I highly suggest Jira as a platform to use.

Pros: What I enjoyed the most about Jira was the ability to see the projects real time that were assigned to me, and provide notes VERY easily. I could update all my projects within a half hour with every note needed and it kept great track.

Cons: There were no cons other than the features we did not turn on, such as the additional widgets and daily notifications. That was a firm specified choice, not one that I would have selected.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/02/2020
Mariana F.
Quality Assurance Engineer
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018

"Not so easy to use but it has all that my team needs to keep track of work in an agile team"

Comments: Keeping track of a Sprint, a project, a quarter or a year of work is easy. Working on an Agile team, JIRA makes my life better. It has all an Agile team needs to work together on the same or different features.

Pros: That they are constantly improving and releasing new features that make my life easier as a QA working on an Agile team. My team relies on this software of keep track of what we are doing. It has lots of nice features that we use such as to link issues to one another, link tickets, put labels of versions to be released, link to pull requests on Git Hub and scale priority and story points.
My team also uses a lot the Stories, creating Tasks under them. It's also nice that I receive emails whenever I am watching a ticket in specific to keep track of it.
My entire company uses JIRA across different boards and when you want to contact a team in specific it's easy to just open a ticket or link it to another.
As a QA I also use the filters a lot to find issues that are assigned to me or have been reported by me.
My team also creates boards separating them by Sprints. Which is a very easy feature to use, it considers the back log and it's pretty simple to have a Planning or Retrospective section looking at it. We're happy with the features that JIRA offers.

Cons: The person that organizes the board and tickets need to know a lot about the software to be able not to let it look messy. It's easy to create unnecessary tickets and put them on different places and end up losing track of it. Also, it's not easy to configure the boards to fill in correctly the burn down or any kind of chart.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
IT Director
Commercial Real Estate, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2021

"Excellent ITIL tool"

Comments: Excellent cloud tool available for service desk tickets/ resolving and customizing the needs

Pros: It is a brilliant tool for both tech savvy or even otherwise and We have been using in our company over few years and we have customized to suit our needs very easily and good customer support

Cons: Integrating with external tools could be tricky and not much support available online and could be done better

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2021
Gokul K.
Senior Consultant
Information Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Atlassian JIRA Software Review"

Comments: My Overall experience in JIRA is 3 years at this point and we started using it from the Year 2016. This is used in an project called recovery with the count of 25 developers from India/USA/Canada and several business end users on the same. The stiry was easily created and went thruough several phases till deployment. I would say JIRA ease my works in managing the stories since I am the PO for whole board and connecting developers/business end users for moving the stories and completing the same.

Pros: Basically there are lot of likes about this software: 1. Clear Tracking of what is going on in the project along with version needs to be deployed.
2. Ability to Use Kanban, Scrum and other Agile methodologies in JIRA Software.
3. Ability to flag the stories which is in impediment which will show to everyone on when it was started and when it was impended.
4. Easily keep tracking of Backlog for future works and deployments that needs to be made.
5. Ability to bulk update the stories for certain categories like version, points or any others.
6. Easy in terms of reporting to generate using JQL (JIRA query language).

Cons: Some of the cons in JIRA are: 1. Some times it was ended with deadlock leads to slowness. This happens when certain users running the report across the JIRA.
2. Security is less since we can see any ones board and get to know the statuses across the enterprise.
3. JIRA is costly since it per user licenses and whole organisation have to pay according to the usages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Zee G.
Digital Operations Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019

"We used this for SCRUM/KANBAN Project Management"

Comments: I work for a software development company and we have used JIRA for all of our project management needs for over six years now and don't plan to switch to any other tool. Our clients can get access to view the boards and see the progress of their product development.

Pros: - JIRA's quite powerful feature-wise. We have used it for over 6 years now at work and it has always performed its best.
- There is an option to customize workflows for each project, depending on the team involved. This helps a lot because we can adapt it to our needs, rather than get adapted to the tool ourselves.
- We used it in conjunction with Confluence and one of the features we found very convenient for our team was the fact that you can write down minutes in the Confluence and transform the tasks mentioned there into JIRA tasks right away.
- JIRA offers a multitude of integrations and additional features that you can add based on your project's requirements
- User permissions are extensive in the way you can tailor them for your needs. Some of our clients are technically advanced, so we give them access to view the board so they can see the progress.

Cons: - I haven't been the one who set it up, despite having admin rights, so at times it was hard to understand where something should go or where something can be changed. Also, sometimes I just didn't know something was possible :D

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019
Deborah G.
Senior Business Systems Analyst
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2020

"JIRA Cloud Admin & Champion"

Comments: I love JIRA and really cannot imagine our company trying to manage the multiple projects, products and clients without it.

Pros: The best thing about JIRA is how easy it is to use. It is extremely flexible and customizable for multiple types of businesses and uses. For example, I could manage tasks related to an office move or my New Year's Eve party and at the same time manage a multi-product release. I champion JIRA because it brings ultimate visibility into our business and helps us to easily manage our product release process.

Cons: JIRA's flexibility is also one of its less user-friendly aspects when it comes to figuring out how to set up workflows and processes. It takes some time to understand how to make JIRA do what I needed it to do. Time tracking is very basic in JIRA and Atlassian seems unwilling to enhance it. Atlassian Partners fill the gap, but that costs more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/10/2020
Cooper L.
Owner
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2020

"Very powerful feature set, very useful to keep organized"

Comments: It has been a great experience. Our team's workflow has simplified dramatically and the software integrations has tied nicely into the rest of our software stack.

Pros: The platform is very flexible for our software development and management organization. The platform provides for many customizations and was readily adapted to our team's workflow.

Cons: The setup process was quite time consuming and complicated. The new "next-gen" boards are much easier, but currently lack many of the features we need. I am looking forward to seeing improvements added to improve both features on next-gen and ease of use on classic.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2020
Anna S.
Estagiário de arquitetura da informação
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019

"Best management software available"

Comments: I love Jira and the liberty it gives me to adapt the software to my team.

Pros: Jira lets me create new tipes of issues and flows that fits better with my company reality. I can customize almost every aspect of it, so my team has all it needs to manage their day-to-day tasks.

Cons: It is kinda hard to find some configurations. A few parts of jira is still using the old graphical interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/11/2019
Sanchita A.
Software Engineer
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2019

"JIRA by Atlassian"

Comments: JIRA software come with the purchase option of cloud and self-managed. The disaster recovery features come with no latency, as we just have to keep the indexes in secure places to get it back. Deploy the new software in cloud environment like aws and azure is very easy. The clustered server manage the data in multiple places. The load distribution enhance the user experience by providing the high standard of services.

Pros: JIRA by Atlassian is a great tool for software development platform. It simplifies the issue and project tracking. The new dashboard looks decent and give one stop view to backlog, board, reports, releases, issues and repository. Planning the sprint and distribution of task across team is easy. Release menu provide the clear view on the progress of the different release version on the single display. Best thing of JIRA software is we can select our own work cycle as per the organisation standards or by the size of company. Integration with the other third party tools like bamboo to view the build status help to get the real-time status on the release process bar.

Cons: The third party APIs we are working with are expensive. So we are developing own APIs which is complex. The documentation and on screen help should be more systematic. Support and ticket solving process are the areas where JIRA can work on.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/03/2019
Flavio V.
Telecom Solution Architect
Telecommunications, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2021

"Slim, fast and intuitive"

Comments: The way Jira manages the projects artifacts and allows to connect them offers a seamless experience. It allows to jump from one project to another via relations among the the initiatives, and helps a lot the users to grasp the view of the current development status, or going back in time, and check the history of a previous deliver.

Pros: Jira came to our organization few years ago and it is proving how much we had missed for not adopting it earlier. It is very intuitive and demanded very little training to start using it as end users, such as project managers, team leaders and developers.
We can now quickly visualize project status, update information and register new tasks than the previous solution we were using.

Cons: You must be careful where you click on the Jira cards.
Some buttons may change for example status without warning to the user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/03/2021
Krzysztof K.
CTO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2018

"Ultimate IT Project Management platform"

Pros: JIRA is the ultimate IT project management platform . It's default setting should cater for 60% of all needs of a scrum/kanban team working on a small to mid size IT project. The other 40% can be configured, achieved by external plugins that are abundant in the JIRA marketplace or found in other tools from the atlassian stack (like Confluence). I've used JIRA in projects with 4 people and 50 people. Would not use any other tool, can no longer imagine IT projects managed with Trello or other similiar tools.

Cons: JIRA has come a really long way in the last 4 years - stitching together multiple different tools creating a more unified all-in-one project management platform (including bitbucket, confluence, green-hoper, hipchat, etc.), incorporating multiple elements of scrum/kanban working style as a default. It is still visible at times that the current shape of JIRA is a result of acquisitions of different platforms rather than outcome one development team - but its no longer that painful. This is most obvious when it comes to configuration - for example setting more advanced permissions can become shockingly difficult to do. The learning curve is much steeper than for most of other tools, but this is compensated by IT-targeted functionalities and scalability.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2018