Pixelmator Pro 1.3.3 Prism

Pixelmator Pro 1.3.3 Prism Reviews

by Pixelmator

Awesome design & photo editor tool!

Reviewed on 01/05/2019
Eduardo G.
Co-Propietario
Photography, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Beyond the photo editing features Pixelmator Pro has everything! You can find a great UX a faster rendering techniques for special effects and the fx gallery simplifies the job.

Pros: It's a great alternative for basic photo editing!
You can find a lot of useful tools and it has a great intelligence behind each one, when you interact with each tool the options adapts to clean the space and focus on your next move. It has great control so you'll find the layer panels, typography options and styles easily.

Cons: Although it has an amazing and intuitive UX, it’s very different from the previous Pixelmator version.

Bye bye Photoshop. Hellooooo Pixelmator

Reviewed on 04/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
Happiness Engineer
Internet, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Honestly, a joy. If you're looking for an alternative to Photoshop, Pixelmator is a no brainer.

Pros: Pixelmator is functional across macOS and iOS. It has most of the functionality of photoshop (at a serious fraction of the cost) but retains accessible and easy access to tools and discoverability.

Cons: Pixelmator Pro is a Pro app, so this is almost a moot point however the UI could be a little more accessible and discoverable. Some tools are offer the same functionality in Pro and the consumer version however are much more difficult to operate in Pro.

Pixelmator Pro is a top notch choice to replace Photoshop

Reviewed on 09/02/2020
Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer
Computer Software, 10,001+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Pixelmator Pro is pretty much the only image editor that I find myself using on a daily basis, I couldn't imagine life without it and it's so reasonable priced (in fact, almost too cheap).

Pros: The ease of use in getting simple tasks completed is my favorite Pixelmator Pro feature. I am able to perform professional looking editing on images in just a few clicks.

Cons: Some of the features are buried/hidden in the software and until you find it on the Internet/Tutorial, you would have never known how easy it was to perform the task.

Pixelmator Pro for the Everyday User

Reviewed on 12/12/2019
Stephen B.
IT Manager
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Pixelmator Pro is my go to tool for editing photos and making graphics. It is easy to use and now that it uses Apple's Metal, it can do a lot of the initial leg work when it comes to editing, for you! Pixelmator Pro has great use of layers, editing of colors, and cropping images.

Pros: Compared to other pro level photo editing tools, Pixelmator is a powerful tool and super easy to use!

Cons: For the money, Pixelmator Pro has all of the main features you may need, but it doesn't have the same depth of resources (built in presets) that other high end photo editing tools have.

A Blend of Accessibility and Power

Reviewed on 30/01/2020
Weston O.
Director of Student Ministries
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: It really feels like the developers are walking that perfect line of "ease of use" and "technical ability". It has been the perfect fit for quick photo adjustment and flyer/poster/slide creation.

Pros: The features almost all feel like they are exactly where they are supposed to be. Even when I go to try something new, the intuitive and simple nature of the design makes it easy for me to problem solve and figure it out. If I can't, it's usually because the program literally can't do what I'm thinking off.

Cons: Honestly, the only issues I have are the occasional times that I come up with a graphical idea and the program literally can't do it, or can't do it with our ridiculous work arounds (like text on a path).

I make everything in pixelmator

Reviewed on 03/05/2019
Tessa S.
Artist
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Still prefer it over photoshop even now I have both!

Pros: I love how easy it is to use even without knowledge of the software.

Cons: There is one feature which is missing: for making my drawings into digital transparants. Therefore I still have to use photoshop.

Best for the budget

Reviewed on 02/01/2020
Jon K.
Media
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Best cost for what you get. As a non-profit, student or a small business just starting up you cannot beat its versatility. Highly recommend.

Cons: Its ability to have multiple screens and be very movable is good but can be annoying. Easy to click off your project while trying to organize your tools.

Great image manipulation app!

Reviewed on 26/07/2019
Verified Reviewer
Wordpress Web designer & Technology
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
5/5
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Love it !

Pros: Pixelmator is a great alternative for those who don't want to pay a subscription for Photoshop. It has a great set of features that is great for the price point.

Cons: For those who use photoshop, they like certain things they could do in the program, so it would take adjustment.

Very fast design software

Reviewed on 28/10/2019
Julian S.
Developer
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
4/5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Super useful and valuable for my business so highly recommended

Pros: Great design app for my Mac that lets me easily touch up images and create marketing banners for my business

Cons: Can sometimes get stuck or have bugs but the customer support is usually helpful most of the time...

It's just like Photoshop

Reviewed on 04/12/2019
Andrea G.
Copy Writter
Marketing & Advertising, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It has great functionalities, most of the tools that you find in Photoshop you can find in Pixelmator, and the price is amazing for what you're getting.

Cons: Some features are hidden in the user interface.

Affordable alternative to the big guys!

Reviewed on 10/05/2019
Nicholas T.
Document Reviewer
Legal Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
5/5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: I love this software. It's all the features you want at a much more reasonable price point.

Pros: This is good software - it has the vast majority of features a photo editor could want. The best bit is the ability to quickly turn any selection into a scalable vector.

Cons: There isn't really any color indexing below modern standards, so if you're trying to lock something down to a earlier standard, you'll need to use other software.

A Great Photoshop Alternative

Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Natalia G.
Project Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: Easy to use, with a fresh user experience and an intuitive design that is close to the Mac style.

Cons: There are some features missing, is much more basic than other software and it gets a bit slow.

So powerful

Reviewed on 27/09/2019
Greg W.
Pastor
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My experience is that it works fast and looks great and it’s cheap (compared to other solutions).

Pros: Love the features and how quick I can get things done. I’ve never been great with photoshop but this lets me do everything I wanted to.

Cons: The tools aren’t as intuitive to use as I’d like. I had to watch some tutorial vids on YouTube to do the things I wanted but now I’m great at it.

Pixelmator

Reviewed on 19/11/2019
Verified Reviewer
Coordinator
Marketing & Advertising, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Features & Functionality
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: It is super easy to use and excellent value for money. Best alternative for photoshop so far for simple projects.

Cons: Some features might be somewhat hidden or difficult to identify.