Webex Events (Formerly Socio) Reviews

4.9 (157) Write a Review!

About Webex Events (Formerly Socio)

Webex Events (formerly Socio) powers flexible, end-to-end virtual, in-person and hybrid event experiences.

Learn more about Webex Events (Formerly Socio)

Pros:

It has a simple interface that's easy for anyone to understand and doesn't need a lot of training. The cost was actually fairly reasonable compared to many other virtual event platforms out there.

Cons:

Our workshop moderators were really nervous about the chat and Q&A feature during sessions.

Webex Events (Formerly Socio) ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.6
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

9.5/10

Webex Events (Formerly Socio) has an overall rating of 4.9 out 5 stars based on 157 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Webex Events (Formerly Socio) before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (157)

Megan
Megan
Director of Business Operations and Information Strategy in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Socio Perfect Fit for New Program

5.0 last year

Comments: Socio filled the technology gap in executing this brand new initiative we launched in 2021. We needed the software to facilitate a community environment while allowing the platform to live stream using our own chosen platform. Socio came in at the right price for the scale and scope for what we needed.

Pros:

From the research process to executing our program, Socio exceeded expectations the entire way. We needed a solution outside of our current website/database because our program was for people outside our membership. Socio's registration component was very versatile and facilitated the unique group registrations and discounts we offered with ease. The Community platform we used for our 5-month event was super user-friendly and intuitive for our attendees and staff conducting the event. You do not need any advanced experience with web development or technology to build out the community as you need. The Socio support team is also quick to respond and always very helpful.

Cons:

The standard template to build out the community is pretty rigid. We had to adjust some of our styling and graphics to account for what Socio's template allowed. It was not prohibitive in our facilitation of the program, but just more inconvenient. The other thing we disliked was the inability for event admins to make account changes for users. Several times we had users change jobs, therefore, changing their emails. Each time, we had to go through Socio support to get them access to their account. It would be a much better process if event admins can adjust usernames/emails for their users.

Socio Response

last year

Hey Megan! Thanks so much for taking the time to review Socio. We're thrilled to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and that you were able to use so many features within the Socio platform! Feedback is super important to us and we're always looking to improve, so thank you for letting us know about your thoughts on the templates and backend suggestions. We will definitely take this back to our product team so they can work some magic Thank you for all of the effort you put into your event! We look forward to continuing to work with you

Julie
Julie
Sr. Manager, Events and Trade Shows in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Socio's Platform is the Ultimate Engagement Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: From start to finish, we were well taken care of--from contract phase to event day. Again, we had the Orange Glove service so we had several trainings (staff, speakers, sponsors) and brainstorm sessions to help teach us about ways to maximize features and build an engaging virtual conference agenda. Lots of great trainings and idea shares!

Pros:

This platform is so versatile for streaming options--you can use a variety of streaming options or use the one they offer. It also keeps your audience's attention with incredibly engaging features and a great variety of them--from gamification, a social wall, integration with the virtual lounge of your choice (same for a virtual photobooth) to the chat, polling and q&a offerings, attendees are enthralled and truly participate. Additionally, having the mobile app complementing the web app means if an attendee needs to step away from their desk during a virtual event, they never miss a minute of content.

Cons:

While the initial buildout felt daunting (we bought the Orange Glove service so did not have to do this ourselves)--once the hand off from the Socio team to our team was done and we were trained, it was fairly easy and intuitive. Now that we've done it once, we'd likely be able to do our own event builds in the future if we have the time/bandwidth--but truly, it's a fantastic option to be able to have the Socio team perform the buildouts.

Socio Response

2 years ago

Hey Julie! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience from beginning to end. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Melon
Marketing Manager in Uganda
Cosmetics, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Webex Events is a powerful for video conferencing platform.

4.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Webex Events offers a great way to communicate with a large audience while engaging with them in the same event. It is an excellent software.

Pros:

I love using Webex Events because of its ability to host more than 1000 people in one event. Another thing I love are the in meeting messaging feature and the ability to manage the participants.

Cons:

Most of the features I found annoying four years ago when I started using Webex Events have been improved and the software works perfectly.

Cisco Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Melon! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your candid feedback! We're happy to hear we've been able to improve our features so that they now work perfectly for you. We are always striving to improve our products and the user experience! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or need any assistance!

Aloysius
Trainer II in US
Utilities, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lacks features, there are better applications.

3.0 5 months ago

Comments: It's ok, we can get through the meeting but the features that we were hoping to have didn't work as we thought.

Pros:

That you can create breakout sessions through this.

Cons:

You can't share audio, sharing changes your font, a lot of bugs and instability in the application.

Cisco Response

5 months ago

Hi Aloysius! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the platform has been buggy and unstable for you. We've shared this feedback with our product team to look into. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you need further assistance or have any questions!

Craig
Consultant of Continuous Improvement in US
Insurance, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WebEx Events: Great Product with some Limitations

5.0 last month New

Comments: We first used this software to host two in-house webinars. It was a positive experience despite some issues with registration. The screen-share was smooth and there were no visible slowdowns.
Later, I tried using the program to host a virtual job fair but quickly found it wasn’t the right tool. With that said, I’d still recommend this product for many other uses.

Pros:

WebEx Events is very easy to use. My company uses other WebEx/Cisco products so the transition was seamless. That familiarity was a huge benefit, but started with the product being easy to use/navigate.

Cons:

Users have reported issues with the waiting room/registration function in the past. For example, I had to troubleshoot with a user who couldn’t get into an event that had already started.

Michael
Digital Marketing Specialist in US
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy choice for events

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: It is hard to find things to dislike about socio; I didn't love the switch to restream as their 'in-house' streaming option, but it is still crazy easy to use. You can get lost in the levels of an event in the application builder as it gets as complicated as you would expect when making virtual events.

Pros:

The support team at Socio is one of the best I've worked with by a mile. They know their product inside and out; if you're doing something atypical to accommodate some wild requests, then this team can make it happen. My company has used Socio for in-person event support with mobile apps, Hybrid streaming, and entire virtual conferences. Easy to use for any user, and it comes with a phenomenal support team to make sure things go smoothly. Reporting features are great and they seem to be releasing new features or products constantly, simply put- it makes me look good when we put on events.

Cons:

It is hard to find things to dislike about socio; I didn't love the switch to restream as their 'in-house' streaming option, but it is still crazy easy to use. You can get lost in the levels of an event in the application builder as it gets as complicated as you would expect when making virtual events.

Megan
Event Coordinator in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Webex was the best platform we could have chosen (and we trialed many!)

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: We have only used Webex as a virtual platform, so I would say the biggest issue we solved is Sponsorship Benefits. The sponsorship benefits on Webex was absolutley incredible - something you can't accomplish holding a conference via Zoom or even other virtual event platforms! We would also like to use Webex for hybrid or in-person events and use their other features (QR codes, lead generation, etc). We know how valuable these features are, and knowing how easy the interface of Webex is to use, we may end up switching from our current provider.

Pros:

The build out process was phenomenal, and the support was constant. The backend has support 24/5 with immediate response times, and the Socio Knoweledge Base was extremely helpful and instrumental in helping me with the build-out. The features that are included are incredible, and I love that it's also mobile friendly!

Cons:

There were some issues with the video rooms, but it was on the user end.

Heba
Heba
Industrial Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Use for Regional Conference

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Overall experience was positive. I will recommend it to other organizations within my University.

Pros:

The ease of use for the registrants was unmatched. Our whole conference was easily accessible through the site, with everything centralized.

Cons:

Nothing too major. I just wish I was able to directly address a question through the Q&A portal.

Marylene
Coordinator in Canada
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy and helpful to use

5.0 last month New

Comments: We used it to be able to present live straming to parents and friends who were not able to be present. We were also be able to put all the informations in one place for the musical directors instad of sending multiple emails! Again, it was priceless!

Pros:

Design and easy to access all the informations in one place. Be able to bulk informations in one import. Priceless!

Cons:

It was difficult to add visual information in calendar.

Verified Reviewer
Dean of Students in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Socio Higher Ed Review

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Our overall experience has been extremely pleasant.

Pros:

The ease of use and the ability to explain to others how to use it without issues.

Cons:

There is nothing I liked least about it, but one feature that could be enhanced is the instant messaging features,

Cisco Response

2 months ago

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback! We're happy to hear you find Webex Events easy to use and easy to teach others how to use! We also appreciate your feedback about enhancing the instant messaging features and have shared this with our product team. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or need any assistance!

Eric
Eric
Executive Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Socio Events. Both their Product and their people are the best we have used.

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: WIthout socio, I am not sure we could have put on a successful virtual event the past two years. Their tool and level of customer service literary kept our business alive. We heard from multiple attendees that are simply sick and tired of coming to virtual events, however, that socio was the best platform they had used and set us apart from other virtual events they had joined. In a post-event survey, 2/3 of our attendees rated the socio platform 4 or 5 stars (out of 5). There are always plusses and minuses to various platforms and nothing is ever going to be a perfect fit for everyone. Socio does so much very well but there are a few places, like the current way that presenters are cut off from attendees in the normal system that if that is what is most important to you, there may be better options. However, if you are talking about out-of-the-box solutions for an event of any size, their customer service puts them far above anyone else.

Pros:

Our Main Event each year is a convention. Usually, it is in person with about 4000 people. Last two years we have been virtual. Socio was the event app for our last in-person event and the two virtual events we have held. It connects with our website and our registration system to automatically bring in content and attendee information. In this last year, we also used their platform for the streaming solution. The product itself is flexible but fairly easy to use. We have a fairly complex event (120+ sessions over three days with hundreds of speakers and dozens of sponsors) and not only did it handle it - but it looked good. Customer service and attention is the best that I have seen. We have used 4-5 different event app systems over the past decade and no one came close to socio in terms of both meeting our needs and responding to questions and issues

Cons:

For an organization like out with so many sessions, speakers, and sponsors, but only a few staff members, it would be nice if there was a level of access to the back end content that we could give to the speakers and sponsors for example so they could upload their own information or make needed changes. Also within the socio studio - currently there is not an easy way for presenters to interact with chat or to handle Q&A. But based on my experience with them, I would not be surprised if this wasn't addressed in an upcoming update.

Ben
Digital Marketing & Analytics Specialist in US
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing App!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Socio is helping us by giving us an app for our yearly conference that enables hundreds of people to connect and provides them with useful information. We have also realized that we may want to use this app for more events during the year.

Pros:

I love the new metrics and analytics on the back end. It made it very easy to track all things that the Attendees were focused on during the event. I also love the ability to be creative and add links, attachments, pdfs, etc..

Cons:

There were a few things that I disliked. I dislike the fact that I cant reset attendees' passwords for them in the backend of the app. This was a severe issue, especially during the event, when people needed to download the app quickly and couldn't reset their password because they didn't have access to their email. I also wish that the socio app had the ability to add more than one email address to a specific person's profile. For example, if someone in the back end logs in under their personal email and not the email that we have on file, it creates two different users in the back end. It would also be nice to be able to link to more things internally in the app. For example the ability to link to maps, social feed and additional app icons created. Also, the ability to slow down the banners would be great — maybe a few options like 5, 10, 15 seconds before switching. It would also be helpful to make it even more distinguishable between past events and current events. We probably had 20+ people who accidentally logged into the 2019 event instead of the 2021 event and they became very confused. Maybe a warning that comes up, saying "Are you sure you want to access a previous event?”

Socio Response

11 months ago

Ben, we're happy to hear that you are making the most of the new metrics and analytics. There are so many insights that you can gain here that will help you improve future events for your attendees. Just as you are always wanting to make your events better, we will continue to put that same focus on improving the Socio platform. We'll be sure to pass your suggestions along to the product team. Thanks so much for your review!

Sanya
LRVS Co-Chair in Trinidad & Tobago
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Checking all the boxes with Socio!

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Metrics are super important to any event, it helps us to measure the success of the event and acknowledge areas of improvement. The Socio app allowed us to track the number of users who clicked on Sponsor booths, ads and it even listed these attendees. This allowed sponsors to easily contact the attendees afterwards to follow up with them. The video rooms feature was a huge hit with our event. We used it predominantly for our Pre-Conference event and the attendees loved the intimate settings. This gave the attendees full access to our experts to hold discussions on challenges they were facing and to network with others at the same time. This really added the personal touch to the event and attendees from across the globe felt like they were at a physical event during these sessions.

Pros:

The Socio product was exactly what we needed for our online virtual event! When running an online event which spans across time zones, it’s very important to ensure that all attendees know what time the sessions are scheduled to take place. The Socio app allowed all attendees to see their local time zone and the event time which was a deal breaker for us given that we had attendees from the US, UK, Singapore, UAE and Australia. We were also very impressed with the rapid response time from the Socio team who helped us to set up everything for our event. Their team usually came back to us within a matter of minutes and helped us resolve issues before the big day, on the day and even after the event. We really appreciated the support from this stellar team and were very grateful for it! The attendees were also very enthralled with the ease of accessing the sessions, ability to switch tracks (we had three tracks at the same time) and the ease of networking. They loved the video chat feature and the ability to connect and speak with the speakers, sponsors and other attendees during and after the event. There were a lot of business opportunities which developed from these sessions.

Cons:

The only improvement would be to have a version that allowed Socio's full service on older mobile devices as there were some users with older mobile devices 94+ years) whose software allowed them to download the app but they couldn't access the messaging feature. They used the web version instead which was much easier for them.

Socio Response

11 months ago

Your team really made the most of the Socio platform and features that help you engage audiences! Thanks so much for the kind words. We're so proud of our customer support team and never tire of hearing compliments like these.

Brenna
Events Manager in US
Media Production, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Outstanding support and customer service

5.0 last year

Comments: Socio has allowed ParentMap to continue to host our resource fairs throughout the pandemic when in-person events were not possible. Our audience relies on these events for their families and Socio has allowed us to continue to provide these resources to our audience when they probably needed it the most. Many attendees have commented that they prefer our virtual events over in-person because the virtual events accommodate their busy schedules. Sponsors also see the value added in participating in our virtual events because their virtual booths continue to get attendee traffic event after the event concludes.

Pros:

Socio is very user friendly and their support team is easily accessible and available for help when needed. Socio is visibly appealing to attendees and easy to navigate as an attendee. Socio's team is customer service focused and every person I've worked with there is upbeat and always willing to go the extra mile to answer questions and find solutions.

Cons:

Socio is frequently making improvements to their product and adding or upgrading features. There are a couple things on my own personal wish list of things I would like to see at our virtual events, but I'm sure Socio's team is already working on these. Such as a more robust filter system and more customization options for virtual sponsor booths. Both of these features have been upgraded since we started using Socio. I know Socio's team is always looking for ways to improve their client's events.

Socio Response

last year

Hey Brenna. Thank you for such a flattering review! Caring for our customers is of top priority to us, so we are elated to hear that our team has taken such great care of you and your event needs. As you know, we are always looking to improve so we will certainly give your feedback to our product team so they can work their magic. It's wonderful to hear that your attendees have had such a positive experience with virtual events! We hope we can continue to serve you and your event needs. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and look forward to continuing to work with you.

Caroline
Program Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

All the features and great customer service!

5.0 last year

Pros:

We used Socio’s virtual platform, streaming, and registration services for a fully virtual conference in May and as the event manager I was very pleased with the platform and customer service. For us, this platform’s features fit our event perfectly, at fantastic value. The attendee filtering was a must, as well as the virtual expo. I was very impressed with how much data the event collected for exhibitors, it seems everything was tracked across the event. I was also impressed with the gamification feature, and as promised this feature did get our attendees moving around the event and they LOVED it. The event mobile app was also a huge plus as it helped modernize our event and provided extra support to attendees. To top it off, Socio had the best customer service I’ve experienced on any event platform. I received a response from the support chat within 5 minutes every time I ran into an issue. The support staff were always friendly and well-versed in their platform and were able to help resolve issues quickly. In addition to chat support, I had multiple meetings with Stevi while setting up the event, who took the time to explain each area of the platform until I truly felt confident. That level of support, in addition to the large catalogue of features provided and seamless integration between registration, streaming and platform are why I would give a strong recommendation to anyone to use Socio for your next virtual or hybrid event.

Cons:

We needed a networking floor, and Socio doesn't have a built in networking floor option. They did have the option to use Wonder and embed it into the platform, which did create a streamlined look. However the functionality of Wonder compared to the functionality of the rest of the features, hosted by Socio, was obviously lacking. I would love to see Socio create their own version of a networking floor to keep things more consistent.

Socio Response

last year

Hello Caroline. Thank you for such a lovely review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed the many features our platform offers. We will also be sure to let the Support team and Stevi know that they got a special shoutout! We recently released video rooms, which is a great option for networking floors. Check out the attached article to learn more. As for your exhibitor booth recommendation, we will definitely give it to our product team so they can hopefully work their magic. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and look forward to continuing to work with you!

Alex
Special Assistant to the Executive Director in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Socio is Excellent for Specifically Event Management

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall the experience has been great. The best feature from an administrator's standpoint was the support team you could simply chat with at almost any moment. Sometimes with other companies you have to schedule a support team especially if your event falls on the weekend. The ease of changing anything on the app as fast as possible is also a major plus. The events we manage always change on a dime, so the ability to make changes quickly were paramount to us. The time spent fixing weird glitches were almost non-existent. Nearly all of the issues worked themselves out, or had solutions that I, myself could troubleshoot without having to consult the support team at Socio. That says a lot about the work they put into locating bugs and debugging the app.

Pros:

From an administrator's standpoint, the software is very easy to build something that you want branded for yourself and your organization that functions well for users. You can make your app about as complex or simple as you'd like based on the event you're managing. Not to mention, if you need to work around the original intention of some of the features that Socio already built, there's some flexibility. For example, the organization I work needed a directory for our membership, however, there isn't a way to simply upload data and build a directory-like feature that included biographical information, photos, contact information, etc. However, we were able tailor a feature that was originally intended to showcase Sponsors and it appeared to our users as the directory. The flexibility Socio provided to tailor the app to your organization was really great.

Cons:

Logging onto your event, and changing events is a little funky especially to an older demographic. To change events, you have to tap on this square with an arrow in the top left corner and then a pop-up appears asking if you would like to switch events. An older demographic that attends all of our meetings don't completely understand that, thus switching isn't entirely intuitive. That function is important to us as well because we have multiple events throughout the year, so our users have to switch events frequently throughout the year. The other issue is the refresh button. We would have to make changes to our event's agenda on the fly and at the last moment many times, however, the app doesn't auto refresh. I'm not certain if that's a lot to ask for as I'm not a coder, but instructing and reminding an older demographic to "refresh" their app requires as much work as updating the agenda itself. This is not to say that nothing in the app updates whenever you do make last second changes. We would run into issues when adding PDF's to certain agenda items at the last second and not everyone having access to them. The "shake" feature is also very confusing to the older demographic. The app definitely needs to add function to customize the bottom bar, home screen, and shake feature a little more. It would be helpful to have the option to remove this function entirely. I also think there should be a function to archive specific features on your profile.

Socio Response

last year

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are happy to hear that you have had such a positive experience with our customer support and the simplicity of the platform. Your feedback is also much appreciated and will absolutely be given to our product and apps teams. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Eric
Eric
Technical Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reeling in an Event ... Socio makes it possible

5.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic!! The concept of Sales Agent...moving to CSM (Customer Success Manager...moving to online support makes for a hands-on experience between Socio and its clients.

Pros:

There are many aspects to the Socio Event Platform. The two I like the most are its modularity (grab the components that you need) and the GUI interface makes the process easy. For example, sometimes you need registration, sometimes you don't. If you are required to use an outside registration source, Socio will work with you on developing the API to automatically bring in the reg data or there is an easy import feature. Flexibility is Socio's strength.

Cons:

The platform was developed for events that are profit-based. So, the terminologies and behaviours tend to follow that profile. In an in-house corporate event, this sometimes creates sticking points with event planners...words like tickets, price and purchase are not applicable. The Socio team is aware of this and I expect to see this option added at a later date.

Socio Response

last year

Hey Eric! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear that you have found our platform flexible, easy to use and that our passion for our customer's success is clear. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Jennifer
Executive Director in US
Museums & Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great Option for Virtual Events

5.0 last year

Comments: We looked at a lot of software for our virtual event, and Socio lays everything out for attendees in a very intuitive way (we have members from 21 to 85, and had no complaints!). It is clean and professional looking, doesn't overload the platform with things you don't need (every element is very customizable, so you can choose every piece to add), and while it was time consuming to build out, it was not hard to do and support was always there to help. For us, it really kept our attendees engaged, offered us the chance to share resources, have live and recorded content, and lots of options for sponsor engagement. Plus, their game option is great for building engagement.

Pros:

My favorite element of this software is that you can pick and choose the elements you want as a part of your event--if you need to have a virtual trade show, there is an element that can do that; if you need to list your speakers, you can add that. It made the whole presentation on the user side look very customized and clean. There was nothing there you didn't want.

Cons:

We used the add-on broadcast studio, Streamyard. If I had to say I wished for anything more than I got with Socio, it would be to be able to interact more with attendees in Streamyard....but that is a very small con. The broadcast studio was so easy to learn, and looked very professional.

Socio Response

last year

Hey Jennifer! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're excited to hear that both you and your attendees have had a positive experience with our platform. We will certainly provide your feedback, in regards to Socio Streaming, to our product team so we can continue to improve it. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you!

Sedicka
Project Manager in South Africa
Events Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SOCIO - Perfect for Virtual Conferences

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The product is sturdy, robust and has never failed us. As a company we continue to look at other products, but have not yet found one worth shifting to. The support team is excellent and adds great value to my experience.

Pros:

Socio has all the features as most applications of this type, with some excellent new additions and they continue to improve on the product by seriously listening to their clients. We are very excited about the video rooms, and upgraded areas for sponsors and the excellent data dashboard. Being able to offer our sponsors more has always been one of our main aims. The product truly shines with its ease of use! Even our most technically challenged team members are able to successfully build our platforms. It is easy to grasp how it all works, from selecting features to uploading media, to launching, it is all very sleek and simple form start to finish. I particular like the knowledge base, which is vast and covers every aspect of the product with detailed explanations supported by excellent (and short!) instructional videos. In addition the online support provided is of the best I have encountered, any questions or problems that arise I am able to get almost immediate help. The support team feels like an extension of my own team, where they are as invested in the query as I am.

Cons:

In all honesty, the software does exactly what it promises it will do. Where they lack a feature we may need, they are always open to considering upgrades, this may take some time to implement but we understand that upgrades need to be tested. I have experienced an issue where the download template for adding content was slightly out of date as per recent updates and this made uploading problematic. That being said, when I flagged it for the support team they were on top of it and could fix it pretty quickly.

Socio Response

last year

Hello Sedicka! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are elated to hear that you loved the platform, along with the planner resources and our support team. As you mentioned, we are always looking to add new features and improve based on the feedback our customers give us. We have a lot of exciting new features planned and you can continue to check out the "What's New" section of our knowledge base to get the latest updates. Hopefully you can use them at your next event! We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Arthur
Co-Founder & CEO in Turkey
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Pivot to virtual and pivot back to hybrid

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Before 2020, we have used Socio for our in-person events. Throughout 2020, we have used Socio to pivot our events program to be 100% virtual. 2021 and beyond, we will be using them for our hybrid events.

Pros:

We have been a Socio customer since late 2017. From 2017 until our April 2020 event, they have been powering our live/in-person events. Throughout 2020, we have used their software and their amazing support team (shout out to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for keeping up with me 😂) to pivot our events program to be 100% virtual and doubled the number of events we hold with them. After running RFPs with 6 virtual platforms, Socio was the clear winner with their virtual event platform as well. Looking into our 2021 events program, our plan is to start executing a hybrid (mix of virtual and in-person) strategy, and we are confident that Socio will deliver as they have been experts in the in-person events prior to virtual events even existing for our organization (unlike some other providers that are just virtual or in-person oriented)

Cons:

No downsides at the moment. Their 24/5 support was extremely helpful, and we really wanted it to cover the weekend hours as well (since a few of our events happen on the weekends). Recently we have been notified by our customer success manager that they have expanded their support to include weekend hours as well. So, I can't complain.

Verified Reviewer
IT Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Originally a Conference App, and now a full Virtual Conference Platform

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We first used Socio as a conference app at our conference in 2019, after selecting it from a list of 20+ options we'd tested. Our attendees loved it, and while there were some hiccups on site with managing customer service and notifications not always being real time, we were overall very impressed. For our 2020 conference we again looked at dozens of competing conference apps, but in the end Socio remained the best fit for our specific needs. Due to Covid we ended up having to cancel our 2020 conference, and Socio was gracious enough to credit our purchase for use at our 2021 conference. As the pandemic went on though, we made the decision to switch our 2021 conference to a virtual conference, so started the process of reviewing virtual conference platforms. After looking at dozens of these, we finally came back to Socio and demoed their version. We were very impressed with the production quality they offered for our sessions and keynotes, and the networking opportunities they'd built into their platform. Only one other conference platform was close to their level, but Socio was a better fit for us all around so we are moving forward with them for our conference next March.

Pros:

The software had all the features we were looking for, and implemented in a way that was easy for admins and users alike to use. Socio is also always improving their platform and adding, new useful features. I'm also really impressed with how well they were able to transition from a conference app to a full virtual conference platform, especially their implementation of the live video sessions and the networking opportunities.

Cons:

The sponsor and exhibitor listings could be better. The logos are small and only allow square formatting, and the listings are functional, but nothing fancy compared to what I've seen in other conference apps and virtual conference platforms. I was also disappointed that they don't support live captioning for their new conference video solution.

Cullen
Cullen
Pastor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Religious Institutions, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Communication Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been incredibly pleased. The product is solid and performs incredibly well. But the product is only as good as the support and the support team beats anything I've experienced. They are timely, witty, knowledgable, and engaging. It is never transactional. They even follow up on things I've commented about doing. They are quick to offer solutions for creative solutions to ideas we have to leverage the app. All around impeccable online/virtually instant service.

Pros:

We use the Socio product for our church members. It is an incredibly simple, convenient, and secure way to share information and keep everyone updated on events/activities. It is a very easy to use app for the user. The administrative process is also incredibly intuitive. It has worked flawlessly for our needs. And the instantly available support team is better than any on-line support I have ever received. This is a hallmark of distinction and sets them head and shoulders above other SaaS products I have used.

Cons:

The only drawback we've had is the need to refresh the app. Users who are not as tech savvy may not recognize the need to update (a circle arrow icon in the top right of the app) the content from time to time. It is a very minor issue we've been able to educate around. On a scale of minor to major scale, this is an incredibly minor issue for us.

Amy
CEO in US
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Amazing Value in Virtual Meetings

5.0 last year

Comments: Terrific, amazing, highly satisfied!

Pros:

When my conference and meeting clients either canceled or moved to virtual delivery on their events in early 2020, I immediately began researching companies who could support a virtual conference platform. I interviewed and demoed at least 7-10 virtual meeting providers. Most providers had issues - they were either very expensive ($30k +), self-contained (no user updates), or lacked some piece of programming that we needed such as issuing of certificates or tracking attendee time in sessions. Socio provides an integrated platform at a reasonable cost that we can customize and update ourselves. They listen to user comments and are constantly adding features that we've asked about. I'm really amazed at their responsiveness! Their customer support is incredible with quick response and friendly staff. I use their platform for my clients and recommend Socio to others regularly.

Cons:

The new Socio Room feature is great, but I would love to see it expanded to accommodate more people in a networking type environment. Right now, we recommend exhibitors use Zoom in their virtual exhibit rooms for networking meetings.

Socio Response

last year

Hi Amy. Thank you so much for your kind review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed our platform so much and the customer support teams. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and look forward to continuing to work with you!

Michele
Assistant Executive Director in US
Higher Education, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

College student leadership conference!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, it was good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was there when we had questions. However, I wish the training/onboarding was a little more robust. It was a lot of trail and error on our part trying to figure everything out. The platform was very easy to use for our attendees and overall they really enjoyed using something other than Zoom.

Pros:

We used this for a college student leadership conference. The live-stream option with the chat, Q&A and polling was very professional. The integration of the wonder.me rooms for networking was a great tool for breakout (and the ability to have a breakout within a breakout. Having everything in one engaging platform was something that our attendees really enjoyed.

Cons:

The integration of the wonder.me rooms was a little tough at the beginning. There were also issues within the conference that people who get dropped from the room and had to get back in. Overall, it ended up fine but just had a few glitches.

Socio Response

2 years ago

Hey Michele! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Very excited to hear that your attendees enjoyed the platform! We have passed your feedback to our Customer Team to look at improvements for the onboarding process. You also mentioned some feedback on the Wonder.me rooms. We are excited to share that this spring we will be releasing our own Video Topic Rooms and 1:1 Video Conversations. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Christy
Executive Director in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Ready for our Event!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We are pleased with the ability to tailor the event to the structure of our event. We are able to feature our sponsors, without whom our event would not be possible! The entering of agenda, presentations and presenters is user friendly to add via spreadsheet or one at a time. Honestly we are all volunteering to put on this conference and we don't have a great deal of time to explore and research every last function option. The Socio team has been great at listening to what we want and offering suggestions.

Cons:

We would have liked to be able to use wonder a bit differently. We wanted the capacity to have round tables, use wonder to offer them, limit the amount of people and pre-register ahead of the conference. We don't really want people in one Round Table to jump to another one. Some of that was possible, but not all of it and in the end we went another route, just adding the Round Tables to the agenda.

Socio Response

last year

Hi Christy! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you found a lot of positives with the platform and our team's services. The greatest thing to hear is that Socio made things easy when building out a conference for which you were volunteers. We also want to let you know that we now have Video Rooms available! Check them out for the next time you want to host roundtables. We appreciate all the work you put into your events and we look forward to continuing to work with you!