15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About MusicBiz

MusicBiz is a complete online business management & scheduling software package designed to automate admin for music schools.

Learn more about MusicBiz

Pros:

Allow me to participate in different classes with different teachers, one for each different instrument I was trying to learn. Very easy and practical to use.

Cons:

Perhaps a recurring enrollment option (2 lessons or 4 lessons at a time) that we switch off if and when the student cancels. This should be setup with automatic Direct debit payments.

MusicBiz ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

MusicBiz has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 11 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used MusicBiz before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (11)

Bronwen
Director in Australia
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

MusicBiz is an excellent product making management seamless

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: MusicBiz has an Australian technical team, who are available to work through any problems with us. This is such a distinct advantage of the software.

Pros:

This database is the only one we need to manage our database of over 800 students and 25 music teachers. We can schedule lessons, track attendance, send emails and texts, create and send bulk invoices and manage enrolments. MusicBiz is intuitive and easy to use and integrates with other software packages such as Xero and other direct debit companies.

Cons:

MusicBiz has provided the ability to store links to online meeting software, which has helped us transition online for the COVID-19 Pandemic. It would be great if ThinkSmart could create their own online meeting platform that is tailor made for the music lesson industry.

Jasmine
Principal in Australia
Music, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Melton Music Musicbiz review

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: *admin takes less than half the time it used to before using musicbiz.
*accounting is seamlessly integrated so come BAS time there is less admin to do.
* updates since we first started using Musicbiz have vastly improved and continue to improve the functionality and usability of the product.

Pros:

*Intergration with accounting software and direct debit soulutions *All-in-one solution for enrollments, bookings, staff worked hours, invoicing. *Customer portal with remote lessons option *Notifications

Cons:

*needs the Ability to send digital certificates to customers when a skill level is completed *Text messaging - needs ability to purchase in block packs rather than per text to reduce per text cost. eg 100 text $10.00 or 500 texts $25.00 etc. *needs a student portal where teachers can send through pdf files, mp3s, midi files etc. to encourage students to practice more often and guide their practice. One way might be integration with "Musicate" app or similar features as "Musico.io" *ability to delete invoices in Xero when deleted in Musicbiz *simplified way to setup subscription enrollment options, for parents who don't want to enrol term by term. Perhaps a recurring enrollment option (2 lessons or 4 lessons at a time) that we switch off if and when the student cancels. This should be setup with automatic Direct debit payments.

Habo
Producer in Kenya
Music, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Easy Studio organisation

3.0 4 years ago

Comments: Great it's easy to work with

Pros:

MusicBiz will improve and automate all of those time consuming admin jobs you hate no matter the size of the studio

Cons:

Could improve on the loading of the software it's a bit slow

Rachel
Assistant Manager in Australia
Music, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Business Critical Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We could not function without Musicbiz. Out of all the offerings for management systems for Music Schools, MusicBiz is far superior.

Pros:

The integrated nature of MusicBiz means that it is a one-stop shop for all our needs. We don't need a suite of lots of different software - from our customer database, to invoicing, to scheduling, it's all in one offering.

Cons:

Anytime we have needed any adjustments to the program, the developers have been more than accomodating. So, any deficits in the program have always been rectified.

Alain Jove
Consultant in Philippines
Telecommunications, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Tailored for the Music Industry

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, this makes admin work feel like a walk in the park, which allows more time to focus on other things. This is really a game changer and I can't wait to see more features from this because it is so intuitive and is packed with all the things that you need.

Pros:

Musicbiz makes booking appointment, scheduling of activities, sorting students and their information along with it, payments and all tedious admin work feel like a breeze. And although this is packed with great features I didn't notice any lag. The best part is that these features are easily accessible with its very intuitive interface. Although, I love navigating and exploring anything when I encounter a new software or tool, it pays to have a very simple and intuitive one as it makes learning faster.

Cons:

So far I don't see any integration for sharing dropbox and google drive. It would be awesome to have this because the teacher can easily share material to the student. Another great feature would be to have like a dedicated portal for teacher and student which has tablatures or sheet music, so it would be nice to access a "library" of materials that the student use for learning. This would be a great alternative to just sharing pdfs or other document formats when giving learning materials. I know this software is instead to facilitate admin functions but since it is tailored to the music genre, it would be awesome to have such features.

Raul Antonio
Raul Antonio
Graduate in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Transforming the management of my music school

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: From the moment I started using this software, it has significantly simplified and improved the administration of my music school.

Pros:

The ease of use and the sheer number of features it offers is great. The software is very intuitive and has allowed me to automate many tasks that used to take a lot of time. From scheduling to invoice generation, everything is done quickly and efficiently.

Cons:

One aspect that has caused me some frustration is the lack of customization options in the software. Although the interface is easy to use, I would like more flexibility to tailor the system to the specific needs of my music school.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Music, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

MusicBiz: a mandatory application for music teachers

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

The most interesting thing about MusicBiz is that it allows you to organize the students in an organized and schematic way. It has different tables to organize the students and their personal data, their monthly payments and their calendar of activities. The design is simple, this is very good because it allows you to write, edit and control information quickly and intuitively.

Cons:

Something negative of Music Biz is the null relation with other applications that could be useful, like Dropbox or Google Drive, for the management of files with the students

Jenny
CMO I in Trinidad & Tobago
Legal Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

One of the most adgirdable and accountable app

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall aspect about this app, is that it has very good functions and is very adaptable and efficient.

Pros:

What I love most about MusivBiz is the multi functional ability to have both its administrative and accounting aspect of the app. It saves time and money, its a one stop shop. I also love the fact that without Internet this app can also work, which is a plus.

Cons:

Certification is one of the issue I have had thus for based on using this app. All in all its a good app.

James
James
Sales and Marketing in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Good option to manage your music lessons

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I used it for a long time when I was taking a lot of classes and it helped me a lot

Pros:

Allow me to participate in different classes with different teachers, one for each different instrument I was trying to learn. Very easy and practical to use. Very easy to schedule missed classes

Cons:

I believe it could have more integrations with other apps

TATENDA
ENTEPRENUER in Zimbabwe
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Quality of music.

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

High quality of music sounds. Easy to use for beginners. Can operate without internet.

Cons:

Malfunction when there is information overload

Edoardo
Edoardo
Osteopata in Italy
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Ottimo programma per scuole di musica

4.0 last year

Comments: Utilizzo questo software da poco tempo ma per adesso mi ha decisamente convinto.

Pros:

Ottimo software che grazie alla sua semplicità di utilizzo e tutti i suoi tool a disposizione è in grado di facilitare notevolmente tutti i noiosi compiti di uno studio di registrazione, facendo quindi risparmiare un sacco di tempo.

Cons:

Per adesso non ho riscontrato nulla in particolare