About eLabJournal

eLabJournal is a fully customizable, secure, and compliant all-in-one ELN suitable for any life science R&D lab.

Learn more about eLabJournal

Pros:

Integration of the system is the daily work at the company has been decently easy.

Cons:

This doesn't seem to impact the integrity of sample records, but can be annoying when working with a lot of sample records.

eLabJournal ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Service
4.7
Features
4.0
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

eLabJournal has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 17 user reviews on Capterra.

Filter reviews (17)

Product Rating

Product Rating

Usage

Sort by

Have you used eLabJournal before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (17)

Maura M.
Maura M.
Business Systems Analyst III in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Functionality and Superb Customer Support

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Our overall experience with eLab Journal has been exceptional. We are glad we chose to partner with them because they were definitely the right choice! They have helped us immensely and we would not have achieved a successful project outcome without them.

Pros:

Working with the team at eLab Journal to implement our LIMS and make enhancements as our laboratory has grown has been a wonderful experience. Everyone we have worked with is responsive and collaborative. The software itself has amazing functionality and provides the features we need to act as an efficient, high throughput testing laboratory.

Cons:

When we implemented the software in 2020, some of the menu items and navigation seemed disjointed and not exceptionally intuitive. eLab Journal has evolved since then and we have seen improvements. The team is also open to our feedback as system users.

Verified Reviewer
Post-doctoral Scientist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Keeping Track of the Research

5.0 7 days ago New

Comments: This has been a great experience. At first had only planned to use for single aspect of research project and now pushing for us to incorporate into other areas. Customer support has been excellent. Always quick to respond when have questions or requests, and so very willing to work with us to customize the system to our needs.

Pros:

Although there was a learning process to using the system, it did not take more than a week for us to build the framework that needed for managing samples and recording experimental data. Have multiple users with different levels of comfort with technology and hearing more and more from group that so glad that set this up for this research project. Really appreciate that Microsoft Office integrated into system, not only for editing files but as sections within a entry. This has allowed users that do not have access to office to work with us with ease

Cons:

Lacking some options that know are available on other electronic notebook freeware (To Do Lists, Task assignment, Calendar, Messaging center, view only of integrating Microsoft office components, comment tracking, tags for indexing entries). One option that would love to have that seen in other electronic notebook software is the option to share study with outside user so can view (not edit) for defined period of time without using a licensed space. Would be happy if there was a limit on how many of these could exist at a time

Alternatives Considered: Labguru

Reasons for Choosing eLabJournal: Needed a inventory system that allowed better handling of aliquots and lineage. The permission management system was better for the needs of the group. And that hardly anything is every truly gone, can track history of pretty much everything.

Switched From: Labfolder

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: The customer service, the rep who set up our demo provided such good information. Was impressed that during the demo period (which was a month), he not only respond well to our questions but took our feedback and entered as requests for modification of the system. Demonstrated to us that would work with us to help us use the system to fit our particular needs

Alex J.
Alex J.
Student in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Online journal

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: Better for the environment and also don't have to worry about losing/spilling stuff on lab notebook.

Pros:

Once again it allows for easy access to other lab mates by simply sharing it with them. No issues with legibility or whatever.

Cons:

Takes a while getting used to actually typing in experiments, protocols, data, etc. but it can be more convenient than conventional paper.

Elizabeth T.
Visiting Scholar in US
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

eLab has helped manage a veritable flood of samples

4.0 last month New

Comments: Overall, I'm very pleased with eLab. It has greatly streamlined the tracking of sample receipt and downstream processing for thousands of samples, allowing me to set up standard procedures that even novice undergraduate students can follow without difficulty. Likewise, the pricing was very competitive and the team at eLab has been very responsive and pleasant to work with.

Pros:

This product has greatly facilitated the standardization of sample intake and inventory. Likewise, I really appreciate the ability to set up lab protocols (with version tracking) and standardized experiment templates. These features, in particular, make it easy to bring on new lab helpers in an undergraduate setting. There is no need to manage and track shared files or folders, and when a student leaves, their records and activities are preserved. The interface has generally been quite intuitive and easy to maneuver, and customer support is responsive and helpful if a user runs into problems.

Cons:

There are still a few glitchy (largely aesthetic) areas. For example, the "Lineage" button appears to multiply as one clicks on or manipulates successive sample records. This can be resolved by refreshing the page, but it is not guaranteed that you will remain on the same sample record when you refresh. This doesn't seem to impact the integrity of sample records, but can be annoying when working with a lot of sample records. There is not yet a function to create copies of plates of samples (e.g., whole-plate aliquots, series, or downstream product). One can work around this with batch importation, but I do look forward to this feature eventually being incorporated.

Alternatives Considered: Benchling and SciNote

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: eLab offered a combined electronic lab journal and inventory tracking/management platform that was both intuitive and economical.

Bastian J.
Senior Strain Developer in Germany
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

6 month of eLAB and don't want to miss it anymore

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

We're working with several microorganisms and getting them organized into easily trackable collections are a big plus for us. In general we're using the customizable samples a lot, also for tracking individual fermentation batches. Together with the barcoding feature, tracking and identifying samples has become really straight forward. Another great feature is the collaborative approach we can use, when we work on different projects. Everybody in the team can contribute with individual experiments and still everything is organized into the same project/study, which makes tracking the overall progress really easy.

Cons:

One of the things that certainly need some improvement is the data-management system. You can store data within experiments and in a dedicated file-storage system, but these are not interconnected (at least not that I know). And to work with the file-storage is also not the most straight forward way to organize your files. A little more database management functionality here could go a long way.

Alternatives Considered: Labfolder

Reasons for Switching to eLabJournal: Labfolder has a very bad reputation for being rather slow and most importantly unstable.

John M.
Principal Scientist in US
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ELN and more

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: This software caters to the small biotech co's by providing a single solution ELN that integrates data and inventory management. As such, the pricing is in an very effective position to enable those same small biotech companies to acquire and use their software efficiently. Great customer support and service, this offers an appreciable and competitive value. This software is very good and taking in data, especially as a PDFs. Probably among one of the best ELNs out there. Unfortunately it's not a 'do-everything' solution, and does have some quirks. It would also better help these smaller co's that use it through implementing a less expensive 'module' add-in service that could pull from vendors like Fisher/VWR. This would allow for easier inventory management, and wouldn't require expensive custom solutions smaller companies wouldn't be able to afford anyway.

Pros:

The ELN is easy to start using from ground zero. Many features are intuitive, and easy to navigate. Organization is implemented nicely, and searchable.

Cons:

Frequent users will start to see issues with flexibility in correcting erroneous details of entries (not yet finalized), or setting up high-functioning templates for repeated experiments. More advanced features to integrate into ordering/inventory management are not modular add-ons, and treated as more expensive custom solutions.

Katharina H.
PhD student in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

eLABJournal improves your data management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with eLABJournal is very positive. It definitely improves my data management and it has a lot of benefits when you collaborate with colleagues and students. I definitely recommend this to any wet-lab scientist!

Pros:

Having worked with eLabjournal for nearly 3 year, I definitely learned to appreciate its overall function for data management. You collect everything (e.g. data, protocol, notes, analysis, conclusions) in one software and you have everything accessible with a few clicks. Furthermore, I enjoy the Inventory a lot, as I can easily find back all my samples quickly.

Cons:

As with any new system, in the beginning it takes some time to get used to the navigation in eLabjournal. Logically also the structure is different than in a "diary-like" hard-copy lab book.

Georg M.
scientist in Austria
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

More than just documentation

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Elabjournal enforces high-quality documentation and the rigid structure of Project > Study > Experiment with the definition of aims and sub-aims helps to break complex problems into simpler tasks.

Pros:

In my personal experience, elabjournal did not only improve the structure of my documentation, it also improved experiment planning, design and execution.

Cons:

table or list based viewing and editing can be a pain. E.g. entering many new samples to the inventory for largely overlapping yet different properties is a time consuming task.

Marie V.
Lab Manager & Research associate in Belgium
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Replace the paper notebook

4.0 10 months ago

Pros:

eLabJournal is an easy and efficient way to replace the paper notebook. It's really user friendly. We use also a lot the inventory and it is convenient to link samples to experiment.

Cons:

The most feature that could be improved is the way to add samples in experiment (in used/generated samples section). Indeed, when we search the sample, it's only in the browser, so we need to know the location of the sample and we can only add samples located in a same box at a time. If we could add a sample in experiment by searching a sample in the same way that we can search a sample in the Inventory -> sample list section, it could be really easy to add samples.

Lorenzo C.
CEO in Austria
Verified LinkedIn User
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

eLJ strongly increases productivity, some room for improvement

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use eLJ in quasi-GLP mode, with witnessing and a strict SOP for documenting. Overall very high improvement in productivity since we introduced it.

Pros:

- traceability of data, search function, easy to do forensics on what went wrong in an experiment - clear structure into projects, studies and experiments - basic functionality very easy to use, reliable - much faster than paper lab journal - collaboration of scientists across different locations

Cons:

- some functions cumbersome to use, e.g. bulk imports and especially exports of inventory or products - picture editing function very rudimentary, hardly usable - moving of experiments between projects or studies cumbersome

Marta G.
Lab Manager in Netherlands
Biotechnology, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

eLabJournal helps to established a better workflow and standarised the lab work

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Integration of the system is the daily work at the company has been decently easy. It takes a bit of time to make the transition but once it is in place, every step of the lab day becomes much mechanical and you are always sure that all the data is trackable and well organized. Samples, materials used, materials generated, protocols, and calculations are always available and referencable which allows higher performance and efficiency of the workers.

Cons:

It is not too flexible in terms of moving through the steps, you always have to save before you move on even if you are inside the same experiment. It would be nice if in the supplies- orders it could reference a PO number or integrate the items in shopping batches.

Alternatives Considered: Labstep

Joseph G.
Senior Laboratory Technologist in US
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using eLAB for about 6 months now and it has greatly improved our organization and efficiency. My favorite part is having the COA and QC documents pertaining to each individual antibody/protein all in one place. Shortly our company will be kicking off a 1,250 patient clinical trial and eLAB is going to be an integral part of managing the study. eLAB is very customizable and capable of meeting many different needs, I’m sure that with continued use we will discover even more features that will help improve our work flow. Additionally the eLAB team is incredibly responsive and easy to work with. Thanks for the help getting us going and answering all of our questions.

Pros:

I really appreciate how many ways you can customize the software to meet different needs.

Cons:

As of right now I can't think of anything.

Tracy N.
Senior Laboratory Specialist in US
Research, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

eLAB Journal is a great tool for any kind of research lab

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: eLAB is definitely keeping everything from project planning, data, and inventory very organized and very accessible. The customer service from the company is also great. We had someone come to our lab to help us implement the system and are happy with the level of responsiveness from the company when you have a question or problem.

Pros:

The ability to easily track inventory, whether it be samples, chemicals, or freezer space. We also like ability to have central storage for our data that is easily accessible.

Cons:

The interface to print labels is very hard to use. You have to create code to make the labels, I was expecting a much easier setup since the rest of eLAB is so easy to use. We also wish that there was a way to create fillable data sheets in the system that was not just directly importing from excel.

Felix K.
Scientist in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Chemicals, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best value for money ELN

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

- cloud based - easy to set up - mobile phone/app integration - sync of photos from mobile phone - servers in Europe

Cons:

- no chemdraw integration - copy/paste works not flawlessly - not fully customizable

Sakshi S.
PhD Candidate in Netherlands
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to work

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

I like this software because it is easy to work with and keeps things very organized and clean. It is also easy to share with others.

Cons:

I would like to hand-write directly on the document to have it like paper notebook. There are some differences in mobile app and the website. I would like to have similar features for mobile and desktop app.

Kannan G.
Post-doc in Netherlands
Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good electronic lab journal

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

I have used eLab Journal for nearly two years, it has very good user interface and easy options to maintain a electronic lab journal. it has handy app that you can upload everything from your mobile and access your data in your laptop! you can also keep track of your samples, location, share data with other users etc.

Cons:

Although it has user friendly interface, it still needs some improvement to make it more user friendly.

Ben K.
Safety Officer in Netherlands
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

eLABJournal ELN user-experience

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The eLabJournal software was incredibly fast set-up, everything was ready in two days. Very nice customer service in that sense. The included inventory software is very useful in order to track your stocks. Especially when this is not set up yet for your group/lab. It allowed us to combine different projects into one overview. With general good accessibility and user-friendliness.

Cons:

The adjustable tables that calculate how many you need of a certain component are not really straightforward. Making protocols is therefore not always that easy.