15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Power BI Reviews

4.6 (1,673) Write a Review!

About Microsoft Power BI

Power BI is a unified, scalable platform for self-service and enterprise business intelligence (BI).

Learn more about Microsoft Power BI

Pros:

The biggest positive that Power BI has going for it is that it was included as part of my organization's O365 subscription.

Cons:

The UI is clunky, the data model is not very intuitive to set up, performance is slow, especially compared to other tools. No build in box and whisker plots was a huge downside too.

Microsoft Power BI ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.1
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.5/10

Microsoft Power BI has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 1,673 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Power BI before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (1,673)

Utkarsh
Utkarsh
Power BI Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

How Powerful is Power BI ?

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I am a Power BI Developer and have delivered many dashboards to the client in Power BI. Its Better than other Products. Its Save my lot of time by using Power BI various features. From Importing the Data to Publishing ,Its a easier platform I would suggest you to use. It contains the most trending Visuals in the market that a every developer wants.

Pros:

1)Its Easy to use, Provides a Reliable user interface . 2)Its Time efficient as most of the work Power BI does it even before you know. 3)Integration to the third party visuals and creating its own market place have already took it way further than other products. 4)A User can customize its design and can easily give the dashboard access to the public. 5)It contains the most trending Visuals in the market.

Cons:

1)Software is reliable on Latest Machines. 2)Old machines then need to be upgraded(OS, RAM) to use this software smoothly. 3) Multiple Dashboards can hang the entire system.

Federico
Federico
CFO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for Data Analysis and Dashboards

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience is great, using it to compile, perform ETL, prepare reports and create Dashboards is simply powerful.

Pros:

This is a great tool that integrates perfectly with Microsoft Excel (they are from the same family) it really makes life easy. Another great feature is the possibility to connect with a wide variety of sources such as Google Analytics, Facebook, SQL, data files, cloud files, and the list goes on. Free to use and very affordable price. Finally their visualization features are also impressive.

Cons:

Like any other tool, we found a high amount of the time required to train and master it, when you try to go beyond create reports, you would need to learn about additional tools like Gateways and Report Server. In addition, their language DAX is not the easiest language to work with, but nothing some training and research can't solve.

Manmadharaj
Assistant Manager in India
Pharmaceuticals, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

MSBI is master of businiess intelligence

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: There is plenty of documentation available online from creating visuals to advance functions using measures and It is easy enough for a non-developer to use and turn a mess of data into an intelligent and understandable story.

Pros:

Microsoft Power BI is a wonderful cloud-based business intelligence tool that helps us to visualize data from multiple sources. As per my view, it turns ugly numbers into amazing reports and visualizations and it doesn't require any prior high programming or technical knowledge.

Cons:

We may experience some performance degrade when we work are working with big dataset. No. of data refresh is limited per day!

Rebecca
Chief of Staff in US
Real Estate, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

You need to have a developer build

3.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

i love the options, the ease of use once you have the data

Cons:

we are limited to our developers. the downside is that i am sure it can do so much more, but we can't get it there unless you have the right people executing.

Osman
Marketing Support Manager in Honduras
E-Learning, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Share important information through Power BI

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

How easy it is to connect with different systems, to create dashboards, limit who can see specific data and how everything can be updated in real time.

Cons:

I would say the different cost to have the cloud version.

Martha
CEO in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power BI review

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy squeezy. Very easy to implement. Very easy to teach my team. I rather like it.

Cons:

It is not so much about not liking MSFT Power BI. There are just. There are many options on the market.

Hosam
People Analytics. in Egypt
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best self-service business analytical tool.

5.0 6 days ago New

Comments: Microsoft Power BI helps me turn raw data into reports and actionable insights as I pull data from various sources, including our local files using the desktop version and online data via the Azure SQL database service. I can transform this data to build interactive reports and dashboards, which I then embed into our internal Power App to visually communicate key metrics and make them available to analytics teams and across the company. I connect Power BI directly to our Azure SQL database and virtual machines to get a live view of data that are important to our business operations. My team and I use DAX and SQL for on-the-fly data queries and analysis to generate performance reports on employees, turnover, and other key HR metrics.

Pros:

Microsoft Power BI is an easy-to-use analytical tool that provides a convenient self-service data reporting and visualization solution for the average and non-technical business users. The desktop app and online service support data extraction, transformation, and visualization from various file types and offer built-in Power Platform integrations. The web service's rich AppSource marketplace provides apps and templates that help users design better dashboards more efficiently. Power BI's well-organized navigation menus make it seamless to integrate with other Microsoft solutions like Azure SQL database, virtual machines, and various Fabric Platform services for data science and data warehousing workflows. The Power BI community forums and user tutorials are helpful for new and experienced users alike.

Cons:

Managing user permissions can become a bit complex when dealing with a large number of users and varying report access levels within the same workgroup and department. Also, the increasing number of options available in the user interface can sometimes feel overwhelming.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review of Microsoft Power BI

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I like the fact that it gives me more features to be more creative in my reports and data analysis compared to other software.

Cons:

I do not dislike anything about this software

Soon KIt
Enterprise Risk Officer in Singapore
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, Presentation features can be improved

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy to use, most users can start using it quickly without much orientation needed

Cons:

Presentation and data processing speed can be improved

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Efficient but difficult to set-up

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, this tool is really great. It is super effective if it is used and set-up properly. If the right people operate the dashboards and pull the data in, it can be used very well and safe a project a lot of time for reporting and communication internally.

Pros:

I like the ability to pull data from multiple sources.

Cons:

It is truly difficult to set it up. It is not intuitive.

Prabhu
associate project in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple and highly customizable

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: 1. Dax query is highly reliable when comes to slice and dice the granular level data based on time trend.
2. Embedded report and dashboard in any kind of business applications easily and it becomes part of it.

Pros:

1. Free desktop tool for development(Power BI Desktop) and simple installation process. 2. Almost, we can connect many source to fetch the data. Ex csv,web,excel,sql,odbc etc.., 3. Specialized ETL(Extract,transform,load) to clean the raw unstructured data into structured data with help of Power Query. 4. Powerful DAX query to customized measure and calculated column to get desirable business metrics and KPIs. 5. Top standard visuals, Custom visuals(visual market) and also we can create our own visuals using reactjs. 6. Publish in cloud(azure) to view report anywhere in the world with help Power BI service. 7. High availability and low latency to view report and dashboard with help of xVelocity engine. 8. Anyone can easily create basic charts with structured data.

Cons:

1. Power BI Desktop consumes a huge amount of resource in system. 2. Service monitoring increases for larger report consumers. 3. While dealing with an enormous volume of data, constant optimization takes place.

Babita
Assistant Manager in India
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Highly recommended intelligence and analytics tool for businesses and professionals !

4.0 last year

Comments: Absolutely great experience so far. One stop solution for all our data analysis need with speed and accuracy. Easier to install and can be deployed anywhere, anytime. It functions with great accuracy and precision. Highly valuable tool for business analysts and businesses with big data and predictive modeling.

Pros:

Easy to operate and understand. The application is highly advanced and provide high level advanced business analytics with huge utilities. The dashboard is interactive and is not boring at all. The business insights from data analysis is of great use and has wide business utilities. Server is good enough to manage any kind of data load due to which no lag or no slow down of system is observed. Correct and accurate analytics helps in driving accurate business decision making.

Cons:

No problem. One of the best analytics and business intelligence tool in current era. Highly dynamic with wide features and numerous utilities. The tool is versatile and stable to function across any kind of business environment. It integrates well with any kind of other dashboards or other IT platform . Pulling and pushing of data is instant and accurate through Power Bi. No hassle or problem at all.

Katie
Co-Owner in UK
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Our trusty BI tool for all-things data

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: I've been a huge fan of Power BI since we switched to it from Excel. We use it to create dashboards, set up automated reports, and anything else that requires reporting. In the years that I've used it, I've very rarely ran into bugs or performance issues. It's relatively easy to set up, has very advanced reporting capabilities, and tons of integrations you can set up pretty easily to pull data from different places. You can't fault it for BI.

Pros:

We used to use Excel but switched over to Power BI for the more advanced features. And they've been very very handy for us. The data cleaning works a lot better, there's tons more cutomization options, and some integrations have been made much easier compared to just Excel.

Cons:

The imterface isn't the best to be honest, especially compared to stuff like Tableu. But gets the job done nonetheless.

Sri
UI Developer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Really good for aggregating data from multiple sources

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Power BI has helped us go from random spreadsheet reports to consolidated dashboards that are pleasing to look at and easy to interpret.

Pros:

The interface is beautiful and easy to navigate. Once data sources are all connected, it's pretty easy to create a new dashboard/layout if you know how to analyze your own data. Nearly every integration that we needed was already included.

Cons:

It's hard to build some more complex reports. If you want to combine two different data sources into one view/metric, you will need some advanced skills.

Satya
Data Scientist in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power BI, widely used Tool

5.0 last year

Comments: Concluding or summing it all up, I think this is by far the most convenient tool out there for performing various things such as extract data from different sources, clean, visualize, create colorful dashboards and reports. All in all, a great way to present what we have to say in words. With the use of Artificial Intelligence too, its clever enough to handle certain tasks really well.

Pros:

Most of what I like about this is the outcomes of it, it is simply brilliant as to how we get such clarity on insights with this tool. This can make businesses take the correct decisions that drives them into good decision making that profits them. A one stop BI solution tool.

Cons:

While creating complex relationships among data, it can be a little tedious to do it because if there are multiple links amongst the tables/data, POWER BI cannot handle them quite well at times. The factor of modeling the data in the right way comes in picture.

MUHAMMAD
Database Administrator/ Data Analysit in Pakistan
Automotive, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Business Intelligence Tool Ever!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great experience and great tool to experience has a very easy interface and can make dashboards easily.

Pros:

Microsoft PowerBI is the most easy tool to use, an non IT personnel and not a well trained personnel can easily use this tool. This tool has an interactive Graphical user interface and if you have any problem you can just google it.

Cons:

The frequent update sometimes will be much tricky to handle as if you have the newest version of the desktop and the old version of desktop so it may be tricky and the file may not upload to the server.

Satbir
Satbir
Analyst in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Self Service BI Solution to start with

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Dashboard, Reports, Data extraction/Transformations from websites, PDF's and other sources, transformations and also as an alternative to vba)

Pros:

Capability to Extract, Transform data at the desktop level in a single package. (Others solutions like have Data transformation feature inbuilt)

Cons:

On publishing your report online, it gets slightly cumbersome to configure through (like configuring gateways for auto-refresh)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It brings the power of BI down to non-tech users

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: My job is to collect and process all sorts of data in my organization and present them to the highest management committee for policy level decision making. We are heavily dependent on MS Excel for this. I handle excel worksheets with thousands of entries every day. A year ago, I tried Power BI to see whether it can help me in my job or not. And i am hooked till now. I am most impressed with the processing power of Power BI. Huge worksheets can be processed very fast using Power BI. It also updates the reports automatically which improves my productivity significantly.

Pros:

1. Ease of Use: Unlike other BI software’s, Power BI's interface is friendlier especially to MS Excel users. You will not feel overwhelmed rather it will look familiar. 2. Powerful engine: Users who need to tackle very large datasets with thousands of entries know that MS excel gets horribly slow processing such a large file. Power BI is a God sent for these users. Its processing engine is super-fast and the speed is more noticeable when you let it handle such large datasets. 3. Excellent data presentation tools: For regular MS Excel users Power BI is a PowerPivot on steroid but a lot smarter one. Even those users who are not familiar with the complexities of PowerPivot feels less intimidated by its simple and user friendly design. 4. User friendly but powerful DAX language: To write formulas you have to use DAX language in Power BI which in my opinion is a fancy name of just natural language formula writing. However, DAX is super easy to learn and pretty much intuitive but at the same time very much powerful. 5. Schedule refresh option: Power BI has an option to auto update the report at fixed interval of time which is very helpful if you need to prepare and submit reports weekly or monthly. 6. Option to control users of the report: In Power BI you can share your reports with other users and also control how much of the report can they see. If you want you can allow only a part of the report to be seen by some user which is super convenient.

Cons:

Honestly, in my opinion, Power BI is by far the best software made by Microsoft. But considering I am a heavy user of MS Excel, it is easier to me. I think learning curve of Power BI for a beginner with no prior skill in MS Excel will be a bit steep. Then again, BI is a complex thing itself. So master any kind of BI software will be tricky by its own merit.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Power BI ; Affordable Data Visualization Tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It is an affordable software that enables us to consolidate our data, generate reports while keeping track of all the key performance indicators.

Pros:

It is a good data analytics and visualization software and its ability to import data from multiples sources is a great feature. What I like about Power BI is that from the dashboard, we are able to get a great overview of the organization including the market analysis, the status of our current deals, track the performance of each team member, view the gross income and company financials. The ability to filter to the specific metric we are interested in is an amazing feature. It enables us to review our marketing expenses and also see how each team member's activities contribute to the bottom line. It is also easy to forecast cash inflows and outflows. Power BI makes it possible to customize the visualizations and it also has the option to upload and view data from Excel. Frequent upgrades from Microsoft keep Power BI functioning well. It has both freemium and premium versions. You can try it out and have a feel of the software before you choose to purchase it.

Cons:

It can be a bit complex due to the fact that it is a collection of various tools and you have to learn what each component does and how it relates to the rest of the structure. Working with large data sets causes lags especially when on the free version. The free version has very limited features and doesn't give you the true performance capability of the software. This can however be solved by upgrading to Pro or Premium. The user interface is a bit crowded with too many icons which hinders a clear view of the dashboard.

Gary
IT Manager in UK
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very Powerful but not for the faint hearted

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: We have been rolling it out throughout the company over the past 1.5 years. It's been a journey with highs and lows but the overall result is amazing.

Pros:

It has such a broad set of features and possibilities. It's customisation abilities and close relationship with the power platform makes it a very useful tool.

Cons:

Complexity - To make it sing and dance you need dedicated skills due to the size and complexity of the product. We have someone in-house full time working on PBI. I'm often asked by smaller teams if they should use it and I often advise against it unless they have the skills internally to make it work. Can be difficult to find reports - For end users, once you have a lot of reports, it can be difficult for them to locate them or to know where to go to get specific data. Updates - MS roll out monthly updates and often make changes to menus and options which doesn't make sense. This can be quite frustrating if your not using the product every week.

Caroline
SAP B1 Consultant in Canada
Accounting, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power BI is an descent alternative tool for Data Analysis by Microsoft

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Overall, Power BI is a great tool for data analysis and visualization helping provide you with the necessary insights for faster and informed decision making.

Pros:

The awesome attribute about Microsoft Power BI is it allows you to import data from various sources including Microsoft Excel, SQL server, Oracle Database, IBM database, etc. This shows the level of compatibility that was built on to the application to ensure it can be used diversely. In addition to this, you can also do a data merge of data from the various sources that are supported. Power BI has a variety of data visualization tools column charts, funnels, pi charts, donut charts, KPI visuals etc. Any possible data visualization you can think is included in Power BI. The interface is also quite user friendly with a few drag and drop functionality enabled.Another awesome feature about power BI is the fact that it can also be accessed via Android and IOS. You can access your data and make decisions from anywhere.You can also use natural language query to 'Ask Questions' to your data in Power BI. It can understand natural language.As expected, Power BI works well within he Microsoft Ecosystem, so if you company is already intensively on Microsoft Products, this is a seamless transition.

Cons:

There is a bit of a learning curve involved to be able to use Power BI effectively. Your organization needs to employ the services of someone who understands how to use the tool properly.

Trey
Sr Manager of Innovation in US
Restaurants, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Power BI has changed the way we report - and it's been great!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have begun to use this for all business reporting - from the Executive team all the way to the daily front-line workers. It has replaced outdated Excel files and labor intensive reporting methods of the past. It has become invaluable as a daily tool for the entire team and saves an extensive amount of hours from redundant report generation.

Pros:

It is so easy to use once you understand the premise of it. We have super users that create functional dashboards so that anyone can go in and get real-time updates without having to rewrite queries. We use this for our daily sales reporting and it lets you drill down and really understand the numbers.

Cons:

It was a little intimidating to use at the start as there is so much functionality. Once you get the hang of it, it makes perfect sense. Just take your time to learn and focus on one aspect at a time and it will all make perfect sense.

Jimmy
Sr. Business Analyst
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Miscrosoft Power BI for Federal Acquisition Spend Analysis

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: All in all, for the price, this is an excellent tool for helping your organization turn mounds of data into useful insights.

Pros:

Power BI simplifies the process of combining different types of data sources to create a single data model. There are also many built-in Extract, Transform, and Load (ETL) functions that help reduce the time required to prepare data. Creating reports and dashboards is as easy as drag and drop. The Power BI User Groups are strong and plentiful, so you can always read through blogs to get answers to questions that you may have. The Power BI Desktop application is used to perform ETL, create reports and is free. The reports are published to the Power BI cloud service for sharing, which is also free with limited capabilities. For more capabilities, such as security groups and scheduled data refreshing, there is a subscription fee. Microsoft will be releasing an on-premise solution for sharing Power BI content via an update to SQL Server 2016 hopefully within the next few months.

Cons:

It's not always easy to speak directly with a MS Power BI expert, so that is a bummer. Also, you have to sign up to the Power BI service using an email address in order to share and view Power BI reports and dashboards, but Microsoft doesn't yet support personal (.cox, .gmail, et.) or government (.gov, .mil, etc.) email addresses which is a real bummer.

Caspah
Data Scientist in Kenya
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Power BI review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I have been using Power Bi for over 2 years now in creating Dashboard for several items including Finance, data, Students and school data and recently I have used it in documenting poll results and Covid-19 cases.

Pros:

Power BI is great especially with data analytics and visualization. This is usually very informative especially to the senior management when creating dashboard and data summaries. For example, Its specifically important in monitoring budget and expenditure data. The most important advantage of Power Bi is how it can easily summarize, transform and visualize data through summaries and dash board reports. In addition Power BI delivers real-time reports especially when linked with production of the data. It both accessible on computer and mobile. It is also very easy to integrate with excel and other data storing softwares.

Cons:

It is somehow technical especially when writing DAX scripts and when linking several tables for relationships. Since its mainly used for Dashboards and visualizations, the presentations can be crowded considering a lot of information is supposed to be squeezed on one page. Power BI also requires complex formulas in DAX which sometimes can give wrong results from expected. It also takes a lot of time to prepare data and create visuals.

Morgana
Ceo in Brazil
Telecommunications, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Powerbi: a good choice but expensive

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: despite the price, in general I like the tool and I see several possibilities to use it even as a statistical tool

Pros:

Powerbi has many possibilities for visualizing data and making reports. it is possible to connect with simple databases and with more complex ones as well. the range of visuals and features make it the ideal tool for a company's kPIs team. the mobile option helps with routines and saves time

Cons:

it is not easy to create the metrics and what is needed is a deeper training so that the Dashboards are smart, fast and functional. the premium license is very expensive and an intermediate license could be made, with fewer features, but which is more affordable for small businesses