15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Sage 50cloud Accounting Reviews

About Sage 50cloud Accounting

Complete, out-of-the-box-desktop accounting software, with secure cloud and mobile access, for small & medium sized businesses.

Learn more about Sage 50cloud Accounting

Pros:

Sage has been the bread and butter of accountants across the UK for many years. Once you have learned how to use it, it is easy to use.

Cons:

Cost: Sage 50cloud Accounting can be expensive, especially for smaller businesses. The cost may be prohibitive for businesses that are just starting out or have limited budgets.

Sage 50cloud Accounting ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Service
3.5
Features
3.7
Value for Money
3.5

Likelihood to recommend

6.8/10

Sage 50cloud Accounting has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 382 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Sage 50cloud Accounting before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (382)

Barry
Barry
Accountant in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

28 Years and counting

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good, have loved my interaction with some great cleint managers over hte years and we have all benefited.

Pros:

I have used this software for 28 years from DOS to version 28. Its always delivered when required and good support when needed.

Cons:

Recent prices changes have been a challenge and too much for some cleints.

Laura
Director and Senior Bookkeeper in UK
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Laura Lee Bookkeeping Love Sage 50

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I have used Sage 50 for over 20 years & I do not ever expect to stop using it in my professional career. It is ideal software for many of my clients.

Pros:

It's so clear to review entered transactions & run any kind of report you like.

Cons:

Some of the third party software plugins do not work so well as they do with other softwares.

Mark
Technical Manager in UK
Facilities Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Sage 50cloud Admin

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: In general, fair. As an Admin I found the regular updates and data errors which occur from time to time a problem.

Pros:

The user interface is fairly well laid out with good online documentation when there is a problem.

Cons:

It is not strictly a cloud service and requires regular software updates which can be problematic when there are multiple users is the business. We used an RDS machine with multiple users logging in to overcome this. However, this does make it expensive.

Sam
Financial Controller in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product for a small entity - but you will outgrow

4.0 2 months ago

Comments: Good product for an SME but will outgrow it.

Pros:

Simple to use, flexible with ODBC connection possible.

Cons:

Not actually cloud based, connection to server can be slow.

Happy
Accountant in Malawi
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage 50 Accounting: Balancing the Books with Precision

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Easy to use and very great interface for new users.

Cons:

Might need some prior knowledge or short training.

Dan
IT manager in UK
Environmental Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

On premise title in a world of cloud-based products

3.0 last year

Comments: It used to be the only game in town, but nowadays, it needs a true cloud-based version which it doesn't have.As an on-premise software, it worked ok before we moved to work from home as everyone was in the office, so the connection to the server was made over the local LAN. Once WFH started, we had to move and use Sage Drive, an internet-based sharing tool. The data get out of sync fairly quickly. We now moved to a hosted solution but still used Sage50 as it's the only tool that can get the job done for us with our unique setup.

Pros:

That it's the only financial package that can transfer cost codes to our CRM system.

Cons:

The clunky thin server is called SagDrive.SageDrive is a service that allows sharing between a server and terminals via one central point (hosted by Sage). It is slow and gets quickly out of sync with the sage server.

Biff
Ownwr in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

Can't get up and running

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: My account isn't having any troubles but as the business owner, it troubles me that the program won't let me set it up in my computer.

Pros:

It's nice when it works but it doesn't work on all my computers.

Cons:

Getting it set up for a shared company is next to impossible. I've been working with support for three months now trying to get this to work. It still doesn't work.

Daniel
Accountant in Poland
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Sage slowly catching up with Xero, QuickBooks and others

4.0 9 months ago

Comments: It is definitely getting better and better but still lagging behind Xero or QuickBooks

Pros:

It now does most, if not all of the things expected from online software for bookkeeping and accounts.

Cons:

The feel is still old fashioned, not very intuitive, though for people coming from desktop Sage this should not be a problem. Still not many apps link with Sage, compared to e.g. Xero

Mark
Director in UK
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good but could be better

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: It does the job. Can be cumbersome at times. Lagging behind the competition.

Pros:

Customer support is great. Always get through to someone who can help solve issues.

Cons:

Playing a bad game of catch-up in terms of features and being cloud based.

Liam
CMO in UK
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Sage Accounting

5.0 last month New

Comments: Sage is one of the best accounting software i know. Is not perfect but the way is build makes it easy to use and a good accounting software.

Pros:

Working with Sage is not hard at all, is was build to be intuitive and easy to sue. After connecting it with the bank account reconciliation works great and is very fast to do. Downloading the reports from Sage is easy they are very informative and complete.

Cons:

Slow loading problems are very frequent.

Aubrey
Accounting Manager in US
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to Use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Generally positive. Very easy to use. I've been using it for about 8 months and have found it easy to navigate.

Pros:

I like that you can delete journal entries if you posted it in error or need to make an adjustment. Other software would require you to do a separate journal entry to reverse the original entry. This software allows you to delete it as if it never happened. I like that because it helps keeps the GL looking clean.

Cons:

I wish there was a faster way to drill into invoices/payments that are tied together.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Oil & Energy, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An Excellent product for SMB

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Sage 50 is extremely easy to use and capable of adapting to most small to medium size business needs. Because Sage 50 has evolved there are also many partners available to help create custom reports, or extend the core functionality of Sage 50.

Cons:

Unfortunately, Sage 50 doesn't allow a lot of customization to workflows, data collection, etc. It also does not collect some key data that is imperative to doing business in today's age, such as Phone Numbers and Email Addresses when creating Quotes, Orders, and Purchases. This is critical data when working with customers. Sage 50 also limits the number of contacts associated with Customers and Vendors to 20? This isn't enough, and, why limit it?Lastly, Sage 50 offers a low Database Size before it becomes sluggish and somewhat unusable, forcing data purging.

Wilson
Electrical engineer in Uganda
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Streamline Your Finances with Sage 50cloud Accounting: A Comprehensive Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Comprehensive accounting features: Sage 50cloud Accounting provides a range of accounting features, including invoicing, financial reporting, budgeting, and cash flow management. This makes it a complete accounting solution for small and medium-sized businesses.Cloud-based accessibility: Sage 50cloud Accounting is a cloud-based solution, which means that businesses can access their accounting data from anywhere, at any time. This allows for more flexibility and collaboration within the organization.Easy-to-use interface: Sage 50cloud Accounting has a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate, even for those with little accounting experience. The software also includes tutorials and guides to help users get started.Customizable reports: Sage 50cloud Accounting allows users to create custom reports that are tailored to their specific needs. This makes it easier to analyze financial data and make informed decisions.

Pros:

Comprehensive accounting features: Sage 50cloud Accounting provides a range of accounting features, including invoicing, financial reporting, budgeting, and cash flow management. This makes it a complete accounting solution for small and medium-sized businesses.Cloud-based accessibility: Sage 50cloud Accounting is a cloud-based solution, which means that businesses can access their accounting data from anywhere, at any time. This allows for more flexibility and collaboration within the organization.Easy-to-use interface: Sage 50cloud Accounting has a user-friendly interface that is easy to navigate, even for those with little accounting experience. The software also includes tutorials and guides to help users get started.

Cons:

Cost: Sage 50cloud Accounting can be expensive, especially for smaller businesses. The cost may be prohibitive for businesses that are just starting out or have limited budgets.Limited customization: While Sage 50cloud Accounting offers some customization options, it may not be as customizable as other accounting software. This may limit some businesses' ability to tailor the software to their specific needs.Steep learning curve: Sage 50cloud Accounting can be complex, and there may be a learning curve for users who are not familiar with accounting software. The software includes tutorials and guides, but it may take some time to become proficient.Limited support: Some users have reported difficulty getting support from Sage, especially for technical issues. This can be frustrating for users who need assistance with the software.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

My Sage review

5.0 last year

Comments: fair enough for the job

Pros:

Is for small business and the accounting structure is perfect.

Cons:

Not all the adding modules are on cloud, some modules are only on Premise.

Andrew
Commercial Manager in UK
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and cost effective.

5.0 last year

Comments: I have been using Sage 50 for the past 4 year and I am extremely satisfied with the results. The software is user-friendly and easy to navigate, which has made it easy for me to manage and keep track of key accounts, income and expenses (PO’s)One of the things I like most about Sage 50 is the customisable dashboard, which allows me to see all important information I want at a glance. I can also create custom reports and track any metric I wish which has been extremely helpful.The software also integrates seamlessly with other tools and platforms, which makes it easy to share data with other team members.Overall, I highly recommend Sage 50 for anyone in need of a reliable and efficient accounting software. It has made managing the financial side of business so much easier and has given me the peace of mind to focus on growing the business.

Pros:

Easy to integrate and set up, updates don’t have an effect on the business and haven’t ever been detrimental to the “Day to day running”. Ability to add users as required is massively beneficial, raising orders, invoices and managing accounts/debtors is so simple.

Cons:

The frequency which it can freeze by trying to cancel an action, is very poor. Surly “cancel” should do just that.

Amish
Accounting Manager
Philanthropy, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Sage 50 Accounting

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: Sage 50 Accounting is ideal for the small business that is looking for a comprehensive, customizable core accounting solution that includes: A/P, A/R , well developedBilling, Invoicing, Inventory Management and Financial reporting. Sage 50 Accounting integration with Microsoft Excel, Outlook and PDF are some of its other features. Sage 50 Acwell-developed program that is great for the small business to keep their books organized. Sage 50 Accounting recognizes that small businesses may not need some of the more advanced features that some of its higher versions have. This is why Sage 50 features are pretty basic, providing support for tasks such as project management, costing, invoicing, reporting among others.

Pros:

Easy to Use. Ease of implementation. The flexibility of financial reporting. A functional software for small uncomplicated businesses. Integration with core Microsoft applications like Excel makes a good product for analytics export into a spreadsheet.

Cons:

It is very basic. And also does not have many capabilities. Finding Transactions can be a bit Tricky. Check printing has its own set of problem. Need to have a fair level of accounting knowledge to use it correctly.

Eric
Office Manager in US
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Save yourself some frustration and don't waist your money

1.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have uses Peachtree/Sage 50 for 22+ years. The cost of use has grown exponentially and the service is useless. Its imposable to find a telephone number for support. They route all support to their automated chat system that has no comprehension of actual problems. So, after 25/30 minutes of arguing with a computer trying to get a "real person", you may or may not get connected. Then you have to reverify all the same info you just gave to "Pegg" the computer. Once you finally reach a real person for "support", they will send you a link to a help article that you have already googled and tried. That's all the support you get! Good luck fixing it yourself.

Pros:

Hard to say. Its too expensive. Support is useless. Has lots of technical glitches. Backup is unreliable.

Cons:

tech support! Free tech support is included with the subscription. But if you can't talk with a real person, what's the point? When you get a real person, they only send you a "help article" that you can google.

Jason
CPA, CA
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Used to be the standard for small business in Canada, but no longer.

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have recently discovered Xero and moved my accounting practice to this software. It is so simple with the convenience of being cloud-based. I now recommend Xero to my clients and given its simplicity (yet still very powerful) I can foresee clients taking charge of their own bookkeeping and getting rid of their existing bookkeepers.

Pros:

Sage 50 was the accounting program I used to recommend to all my small business clients. Stable program that has most of the simple functions needed for most small businesses. Most used small business accounting software among my clients and almost all bookkeepers in our area use and have experience working solely with Sage 50.

Cons:

It's not the most user-friendly program and has a reputation of being difficult for non-bookkeepers and bookkeepers alike to use properly. Sage has been slow to make it more user-friendly and were behind in moving to cloud options. Personal experience is Sage support is very slow to respond to queries.

Holly
Director in UK
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A great in depth accounting program for businesses that is super user friendly

5.0 7 months ago

Comments: Its just a great tool, I have used other accounting software that no way near match up to Sage and cost more. I would highly recommend.

Pros:

I love how in-depth the data/ reporting is, whilst still being so user friendly. It is such a great tool for everyone at every level in the accounts department. I also love how good the support is, there are so many different ways to contact them for their expert advice.

Cons:

I don't have any negatives, Sage keep on top of things, offer upgrades/ updates when needed and also keep everyone in the loop if there is new legislation/ information coming out, all free of charge.

Karen
Head of Finance in UK
Professional Training & Coaching, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A very happy customer

5.0 last year

Comments: Our overall experience with Sage50 Cloud Accounting is very good. We have been using this software for many years and have never considered changing to an alternative. The software meets our companies needs and we are a happy customer.

Pros:

The product is very easy and straightforward to use and meets all our business needs.

Cons:

The overall visual look of the software changed several years ago, with the headers etc. changed to a basic grey colour. I personally found this extremely difficult on my eyes, especially when working on the software for several hours a day. This was definitely not an improvement in my opinion.

jscottu
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Sage Peachtree is better...not easier

4.0 11 years ago

Comments: I have used both for several years. There is no question that Sage/Peachtree is not as "user-friendly" as Quickbooks...at least for the first month or two. But as you begin to actually understand accounting and your bookkeeping goes on and on you discover some very frightening things about Quickbooks. They put everything onto one, big, gigantic database-unlike almost every other accounting system in the world. That has several disadvantages but the biggest is why quickbooks has a nickname..."slowbooks". If you complain loudly enough they will recommend you "start over" after a year or two by opening a new company for the new year. Their constant ads are something you can live with. But what if you've had quickbooks for 4 or 5 years and you want to put it on another computer because your older computer blew up? Sorry. You'll have to get the latest version. At least with peachtree that is not an issue (if you saved all 3 of the registration numbers needed). My biggest complaint about quickbooks, though, is that it lets you do anything you want. That sounds good for somethings. It's not good for accounting. Peachtree makes it harder to go off track (although you can certainly mess up your peachtree books as well). Another thing I like about peachtree (for me) is that the fonts are bigger and they don't try to put everything on one page. Quickbooks has tiny font but you can certainly see lots of stuff on every page. I really dislike quickbooks reports which also have tiny fonts but that is personal preference.

Pros:

Usually lower in price. It doesn't try to hide the "debits and credits" as much as quickbooks does. In the long run that is a good thing. You will learn real accounting much quicker with peachtree than quickbooks (and you should learn it anyway).

Cons:

Peachtree is not as popular as quickbooks so there are not as many "3rd party add ons" available. If there is some particular 3rd party add on you need to use and only quickbooks has it then the decision is made for you.

Rosie
owner in Canada
Real Estate, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very poor customer service no support for issues which affect the business

1.0 last year

Comments: we have a number of companies and the customer support for issues is very poor i am told have to wait 2 days to get access for the software i am paying for so i have to stop my business for two days so sage can help me get access the online help chats just keeps going in circle's

Pros:

unable to comment as 9 out 10 times does not work

Cons:

if we are paying for a service we should not wait day to access the sevice

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Worst experience ever

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I had one call and because the tech rep could not stay on the phone while I did as he asked, he did up a ticket...which he immediately closed. When I called back in they could not / would not reopen that ticket. I got pushed to sales and they would not give me back my one support call. That rep said I could speak with a supervisor, then pushed me back to tech. When I called in, someone took my name for the supervisor to call me back, and that never happened. This is the worst customer service I have seen in years. Meanwhile my newly purchased upgrade, is not doing what it is supposed to. Thanks for nothing Sage!

Pros:

Fine once you get used to it; it is not as user friendly as Quickbooks

Cons:

Functionality between computers has been a problem and tech did not help; read below

Amber
Office manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Will keep charging you after cancellation

1.0 4 years ago

Comments: After cancelling my subscription Sage continued to charge my account for 5 months . After contacting customer service and being told I was owed a refund I have still not received a refund and that was 5 months ago

Pros:

I use Sage 50 for my accounting , but would never purchase any service through them due to their customer service. After renewing my subscription & charging my account without authorization then continuing to charge my account after I cancelled the unauthorized renewal

Cons:

Their Customer service is terrible purchasing any monthly service through them is risky , make sure you keep all bills , emails and transcripts of phone calls

Alicia
HR in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Works best if you are utilizing all the job features

3.0 6 years ago

Comments: Sage has helped us to improve our job costing. The reports can be exported into Excel for further analytics and review.

Pros:

Features work well among eachother. Create PO, Apply to invoice, Inventory, Pay bill. Create your job quote, assign job, bill job, view job costing. I have found we are happier with the program the more we utilize it to its full potential.

Cons:

Using only certain features is difficult, as the steps in between may be missing to view full reports. It's also pretty ugly and kind of clunky, but it works and does the job. Additionally, it can be difficult to find support online because this is not a popular product.