15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About 3scale

Cloud-based tool that lets businesses share, allocate, control & monetize their APIs.

Learn more about 3scale

Pros:

Searching via APP-ID, email or any other information about the user is pretty handy. You can set your own pricing rules and overages rules.

Cons:

Also, there is no way of going back/reverting the change.

3scale ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
2.9
Customer Service
3.6
Features
3.3
Value for Money
3.7

Likelihood to recommend

5.5/10

3scale has an overall rating of 3.7 out 5 stars based on 10 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used 3scale before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (10)

Henry
NAS SME, ESE
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Cool 3scale

4.0 9 years ago

Comments: Supports Improved Swagger 2.0 with ActiveDocs Offering is a killer . I can manage API traffic, routing all API traffic to me and allowing me to deploy to open source gateways, cloud services or via a Content Delivery Network (CDN). I like the options exist for users of NGINX and Varnish gateways as well as through an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) in the AWS Marketplace.

Pros:

Supports Improved Swagger 2.0

Cons:

Not able to intergrate with EPIC yet

Aleksandra
Aleksandra
Customer Success Manager in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Devices, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I get nervous when I have to use 3scale

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

- Searching via APP-ID, email or any other information about the user is pretty handy - You can set your own pricing rules and overages rules - There is an option to differentiate billable hits from non-billable hits, and this can be set up at the level of a custom plan

Cons:

- The tool does not allow to limit the trial option for the API users by both time and number of calls, it can be either one or the other - The usage statistics rarely work, and if they do, they are very slow (the ones on the level of an app) - Altering any available plan is too easy, meaning that if somebody is not careful, they can change the free plan to paid one for everybody - Using custom plans is not easy to comprehend and get used to - Working on payments via 3scale feels risky, as every time I change something I am afraid it will charge the end-user

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

It’s ok. Very good support

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Very good support, the personal approach definitely is a great plus

Cons:

Ease of use. It’s too easy to change things since there is no pop up if you are sure you want to make a change. Also, there is no way of going back/reverting the change

Kajetan
NLP Researcher in Poland
Hospital & Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

3scale - powerful, yet confusing tool

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, as someone who use it sometimes to check the developers account activity, it's good. It was easy to learn as well as to navigate. Also, it doesn't push me to check out unnecessary features that I don't need to use (so no pop-ups, no chats, no marketing emails).

Pros:

3scale offers pretty easy interface which makes using it pretty simple especially for time-to-time user - you see right away where to click to manage accounts on developer portal, how to change plans, how to check analytics.

Cons:

That sometimes you can simply miss click something and change settings in the whole app - it doesn't double-check with you any significant (or not) changes.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good, but first you need to get a gist of it

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The tool is well prepared to handle API soft, in theory its quite easy to learn and has a lot of functionalities

Pros:

The interface is user-friendly and after the initial setup, which sometimes might be confusing, the tool is easy to navigate and its easy to personalize it.

Cons:

Settings are too easy changeable, sometimes by mistake and its hard to return to your desired ones

Natalia
Customer Success Manager in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using 3scale as a CSM

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: In general, I think that 3scale is quite easy to use once you get the idea of it. However, the crashing of the software can be a nightmare.

Pros:

What I like the most about 3scale is that it's customizable. We were able to set it up according to our needs and connect with our platform.

Cons:

I use 3scale daily and sometimes the software is crashing. Especially, when you try to use the analytics section for each application.

Katarzyna
Technical Support Specialist in Poland
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

3scale review - love-hate relationship

3.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Overall 3scale is a good software to manage an API and developer's account - it's design is easy to read and use and that's what I value most about it.

Cons:

The fact that frustratse me the most is that 3scale is simply not user friendly, it doesn't ask for confirmation when clicking on important buttons (like setting a billing) and it also have some great functionalities that are hidden in weird places.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Powerful API manager but expect some investment time to get things up and running

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Powerful tool to manage API rules and engagement.

Pros:

Found this to be a powerful API management software, being able to guide, direct and establish rules of engagement for API services.

Cons:

Not the easiest platform to initial set up and mature. Expect to spend some time learning it and you'll want to reach out and work with their customer service team to get things done right.

Paul
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Taking APIs to the next step

4.0 14 years ago

Comments: Anyone serious with its API strategy would consider an outsourced API management solution. We have used this cloud-based solution and have been satisfied with the initial results. We had to properly manage or web-services to understand the ROI a solution like this can help you just do that. We have not yet moved to the paid version but we are seriously considering it.

Pros:

real plug&play approach scalability support quality

Cons:

Although they have a self-service sign-up option, I would recommend reaching out to the team. They are responsive and can provide great advice on where/how to get started.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Public Relations & Communications, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Ok experience

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Overall experience was ok. It is easy to manage and interpret.

Cons:

User interface and privacy issues might be improved.