15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About WP Courseware

Create and sell courses with student management, progress tracking, quizzes, certificates, gamification, drip content and much more!

Learn more about WP Courseware

Pros:

In terms of cost, WP Courseware is one of the most cost effective LMS systems for WordPress.

Cons:

Lack of question types and images, video. When I have an image as an answer I want it treated as the answer, plus a mobile version option.

WP Courseware ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.5
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.5

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

WP Courseware has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 20 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used WP Courseware before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (20)

Vernessa
Vernessa
Freelance Writer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

WP Courseware: Learning Management System That Works Seamlessly Inside WordPress Platform

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall Good Value: Buying WP Courseware was money well spent. A real plus is the two-license scheme -- I can use the software on two sites without paying extra. Being able to import users (and slot them into course enrollment) using CSV reduces work, especially when moving from a different system or when offering bonus courses and you don't want the students to have to sign up again. Yes, I would highly recommend taking a look at this LMS plugin if you're planning to build your courseware site on the WordPress platform.

Pros:

In the market for a learning management system (LMS) that could be used on the WordPress platform, I purchased WP Courseware to use on two e-learning sites, one where online training is the entire focus and another one where training is just one component of the site. WP Courseware works well in both scenarios. Good Integrations: The developers of WP Courseware offer numerous integrations with other popular WordPress plugins. For ecommerce, WP Courseware is integrated with WooCommerce on my technology training site and integrated with WP eStore (the Tips & Tricks HQ version) on my medical field site. The ability to work with both of these shopping carts seamlessly was a big differentiator for me. I'm also pleased with the integration to my membership software of choice, WP eMember. Pleasant course-creation experience: The bells-and-whistles are actually functionality that no course creator wants to do without. For example, creating a certificate of completion is considered an extra in similar courseware tools, but it is a staple in WP Courseware. Customizable and Flexible: I like that the course outline page can be placed on any page in the WordPress site. WP Courseware uses "shortcodes," which gives me control over where courses, login boxes, progress bars, etc. show up. WP Courseware is flexible in how my students consume their training materials, whether to drip-feed course content, follow a linear progression or allow students to jump around at will.

Cons:

In order to get certain functionalities, WP Courseware relies on a third-party vendor. That's not so bad but I think this particular functionality should be baked into the core plugin, even if they have to charge a few more dollars. That alleviates the need to add another customer support layer into the mix.

Mitch
Mitch
Founder in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Have been using WP Courseware since the beginning and love it

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: It just works - I love that I'm not left wondering if it will break and suddenly I would have a customer support nightmare on my hands. Dependability is everything with a WP Plugin.

Pros:

There are a lot of things that can go wrong with a Word Press site - and after about 6 years, thankfully WP Courseware has been solid as a rock throughout the whole time, serving thousands of students and delivering hundreds of courses.

George
Outreach in US
Religious Institutions, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Best Support and Software I can find!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

It's all about helping people with WP Courseware. They have the best customer service. I always get scared with software companies that there will be no customer service. But [sensitive content hidden] and his team are incredible!

Cons:

What I least like is that WP Courseware doesn't make more products. I feel like they are so good at software that they need to make even more plug-ins related to the education industry.

PAUL
PAUL
IT Director in South Africa
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

WP Courseware is one of the oldest and it shows

3.0 3 years ago

Comments: It was bad. I will never journey there again.

Pros:

In terms of cost, WP Courseware is one of the most cost effective LMS systems for WordPress.

Cons:

Apart from the price, there is really nothing to like about this software. The setup is clunky, getting it up and running is not intuitive. Being a PHP and WordPress developer, I thought I would be fine, but that was not the case. If you want to do anything beyond what they have thought, you are pretty much on your own.

Diane
Self-employed in US
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

WP Courseware is the best LMS plugin out there!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

WP Courseware makes it easy and simple to create courses. They have the best customer support. I highly recommend this plugin.

Cons:

I have not had any issues with WP Courseware. This is a great product!

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Gets the job done, but a bit tedious and frustrating

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It helps my company deliver curriculum, and the UI experience for students looks sharp and works well.

Cons:

Adding content to the platform is tedious, occasionally buggy, and a bit frustrating. I need a drink after I finish loading a course.

Pieter
Pieter
Owner in Kenya
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great, easy to use software with great functionality. Visually impressive.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Time saving, time saving and time saving through automations.

Pros:

Ease of use - setup and managing. Love the grading functionality. Student front end works and looks great. Great customer service

Cons:

Only reason for 4 on Quality, Functionality and Customer Support is that the certificates do not print logo, etc (custom fields). Customer Support tried hard to resolve the issue and referred the matter to technical\development. It has been months and no further feedback on the issue.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The easiest and most professional online academy with WordPress!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: With WP Courseware I have been able to create my online academy quickly. It has given me the possibility to monetize my education website in a simple way, with many payment gateways.

Pros:

The integration with WooCommerce is essential to be able to use my payment gateways. The possibility of creating Online Diplomas for students is a great incentive. The support guys have a very good predisposition and quickly solve any problem.

Cons:

I had some problems with the Fonts due to my WP template when creating the certificates for my students but the tech support solved it quickly :)

Megan
Photographer in US
Photography, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Highly Recommend!

5.0 last month New

Pros:

I appreciate the convenience of the product. Being able to create my own course without the headache of coding each section has been such a relief! Customer service was wonderful throughout my experience.

Cons:

I haven't found anything that I dislike yet. So far my experience has been great.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to setup and customize

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

It is very easy to setup and to customize. And there are a lot of possibilities to use it. Nice plugin.

Cons:

That there is no German translation available, so it is necessary that we translated by ourselves. Made more work

Gillian
Owner in Canada
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

WPCourseware Gets the Job Done

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Nice interface for creating courses. Easy duplication and modification of courses. Nice look and feel to the end user. Easily customized via CSS if needed (I like it out of the box). Great customer service. Works well with S2Member (my preferred membership software). Quizzes are customizable to a high degree. Course material can be quite varied (I use videos).

Pros:

WPCourseware has excellent features and looks professional. As a developer I always use this plugin - and I've done extensive research on self-hosted course creation products. I feel that it is great value and am a firm supporter of this company's work. I was an early adopter and it was perfect for my business and development business needs to have a great product to recommend.

Cons:

There are no cons for me - I use it for my own teaching business as well. I have tried most of the other plugins for self-hosted course creation and I still find WPCourseware to be the best.

Linda
President in Canada
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

not many issues with the plugin and when their is they are more than willing to help

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Put our entire course online and eliminated the need to create certificates, correct exams manually.

Pros:

Easy to use when setting up a new course and then assigning users to the course. The team is awesome at helping out when we have issues, including conflicts with them plugins!

Cons:

doesn't allow units to be used in more than one course and or have different user levels allowing some who audit a course not be required to take exams as it is an audit

Amanda
Marketing and Web Development Coordinator in Canada
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Had a technical glitch with their plugin they were very fast in fixing it.

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I like the ease of use as well as the customer support. They have the best customer support of any plugin.

Cons:

So far there is nothing I like least about the product. It's very easy to use and the customer service is the best.

Maira
Web Designer/ Developer in Argentina
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Pretty good.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: An easy way to create online courses without having to pay extra commission like in other platforms such as Teachable. Also, the possibility to customize the design of the course platform to match the brand of each one of my customers.

Pros:

I like that is easy to use for people with some experience using WP and more advanced features. I also like that it can be integrated with WooCommerce.

Cons:

One of the things my customers requested several times is that they'd like to be able to give access to the course for a limited time without having to set up a membership plan. It would be a great improvement if we could select the time frame of access after the course purchase date, right now they have to manually block access for each student. Another thing is that basic users couldn't figure out how to setup the plugin/courses by themselves, I had to create custom video tutorials for them (in Spanish).

Lionel
Director and Developer in Australia
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

It's good but not awesome

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Ease of setting up pages and quizzes once you know how.

Cons:

Lack of question types and images, video. When I have an image as an answer I want it treated as the answer, plus a mobile version option. Example when using images for the question I still need a text answer, the image is not shown as with the answer when complete. Would also like to add video

Hannah
owner in UK
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

confusing interface for a long course

3.0 7 years ago

Pros:

easy sorting of units within modules it was easy to upload to WP, not a lot else is that good really, considering what the course hosting websites are offering.

Cons:

The long list view of modules and units means scrolling a lot to find your place, a creative visual access would be easier to use- a photo icon for each module and then listing within that on a separate page, for example. And the access on WP Dashboard is limited- it seems clunky.

Rushe
Owner in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

WP Courseware gives me the flexibility to customize my course exactly how I want it to appear.

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

WP Courseware integrates tightly with WordPress. In other words, creating courses and units is just like creating pages and posts, so there is no additional learning curve.

Cons:

Integration is all the rave these days regarding Software As A Service products. WP Courseware does provide many integrations, but they need to develop more of them.

Melissa
Finance managee in US
Financial Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Loved this software!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This software was easy to develop new courses and share them to employees to complete.

Cons:

There is nothing I didn’t like about the software

Nagui
Owner in Canada
Professional Training & Coaching, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great software, easy to use, and amazing support.

4.0 7 years ago

Pros:

Took no time to get started using it and creating amazing content quickly. Compared to Sensei this is a breeze.

Agustina
Freelance in Spain
Marketing & Advertising, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Mi reseña WP Courseware

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Con el WP Courseware hemos podido de manera fácil y rápida solucionar el problema de la creación de una estructura para varios proyectos de academia online.

Pros:

Es a mi parecer la mejor alternativa para crear una escuela online o plataforma online de aprendizaje. Me parece fácil de utilizar. Gracias al software hemos creado varias webs con cursos y formaciones de diversas temáticas.

Cons:

No hemos tenido ningún inconveniente, por lo que nos gusta todo del software.