Netwrix Auditor Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About Netwrix Auditor

Gain complete visibility and control over IT infrastructure changes and configurations

Learn more about Netwrix Auditor

Showing 138 reviews

Sam L.
Systems Administrator
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2021

"Great Tool for Sys Admins"

Comments: Overall, I am extremely satisfied in this product for the features and function that save time. Having this tool has provided value several times over since installation several years ago, and the proof is in the pudding. It works and provides valuable insight into system health and the WHO, WHAT, WHEN and WHERE.

Pros: Easily identify the 4 W's: Who, what, when, where. Eliminates sifting through several event logs to find the relevant information. Allows easy investigation into changes not authorized or a failed system. Alerts easy to setup for notifications of items you need to know about.

Cons: Occasionally, services fail and don't stop, so monitoring the service doesn't tell you that there is a problem until it is too late. No preventative as I would like.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2021
James M.
Director of Information Security
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020

"Netwrix auditor does what is needs to but watch out for hidden cost"

Comments: Started off ok, but when the extra bill came and rude sales guy started in we were more than happy to turn this off. We moved to a fully managed SOC.

Pros: I liked I could get reports on who made changes to everything on my domain. I knew when someone adjusted a group policy, created a user, or made a change in SQL.

Cons: We set this up to monitor employees only. We did not want to monitor students or service accounts because of the extra cost. The count on the user side showed 2000+ and we were not licensed. I opened a support ticket with the company and was told not to worry about it because it would just not monitor any user because of the license. I didn't like the answer, but it was still monitoring so much more. Then a year later I was hit with a huge bill because we had 2000+ people being monitored. We decided to just turn of the service.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/04/2020
Lee L.
IT Technical Support Specialist
Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020

"One good solution for security."

Comments: Overall my experience has been good. It has helped save our bacon.

Pros: Allows you to setup email notifications to help keep your network and infrastructure secure. Works very well.

Cons: Cost. Is a little pricey for what you get. The overall product works well and is worth the money for what it provides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020
Rob S.
IT Manager
Staffing & Recruiting, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018

"Great product, easy to use & helps with GDPR compliance"

Comments: Netwrix saves me time not having to go through continuous logs. I can just run reports on demand and review the scheduled reports. It also ensures helps to manage permissions and AD accounts. Netwrix saves me quite a bit of time on a weekly basis.

Pros: Consolidates logs, easy to access reports on AD/file server changes. You are also able to set up alerts for account lockouts, failed logins and more. Netwrix can also help detect ransomware by reporting on bulk file changes (thankfully this isn't an issue for us). The application is easy to set up and navigate.

Cons: Whilst the modular approach is great for price/budgeting, it's a shame you can't trial the different modules for 30/60/90 days before making a decision on which modules to implement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Adrian I.
Chief Technology Officer
Banking, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"A auditing solution with huge value to the organization!"

Comments: It makes AD auditing easier for our Information Security Officer, while providing real-time reports for our IT department. The program saves a lot of time that had been spent doing things manually.

Pros: The daily reporting is great at providing a snapshot of changes the environment for Information Security Officer. In our IT department we rely on the real-time alerts daily for user lockouts and other AD related changes to inform us of changes made so we can act accordingly.

Cons: It takes some time to get a handle on the on-demand reporting, but Netwrix provides a huge list of canned reports so you rarely have to create a customized report from scratch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Network Administrator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2018

"It has been refreshing to know that strange activity is going to notify me."

Pros: The alerting is incredibly valuable. Changes taking place to multiple files will generate an alert long before a human eye could notice what was happening. This is true of administrative logins and failed logins as well. The ability to audit changes in permissions so that they can be "seen" has been very helpful as well.

Cons: It can be a bit too quick to alert but this is configurable. The initial configuration will set the tone for the application and goes a long way toward the initial implementation and usage so plan your install and determine what you want it to do for you before you actually install it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2018
Akash P.
Director of Corporate Information Technology
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Netwrix is great, simple to setup, easy to use."

Comments: Auditing of Active Directory and File Servers. Password expiration notification, disabling unused computer and user accounts.

Pros: Netwrix is very easy to use, very easy to setup. It provides great information and lets you audit your environment very easily

Cons: Documentation could be a little better, but support was great with assisting in setup and they constantly reach out to see how things are going.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Dennis S.
CIO
Banking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Great for audit and exams."

Comments: Audit compliance.

Pros: I like the daily reports that Netwrix sends to the Officers on the network functions. Federal and state guidelines require someone keeps track of the network admins changes to the network. Netwrix Auditor emails a morning report every work day describing the changes made to Active Directory on all our Domain Controllers.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
James M.
CIO
Law Practice, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Provides critical reporting on changes in the network. Customer support is outstanding."

Comments: User account reporting and privileged access reporting.

Pros: The change reporting is the most important component that we use. We're able to receive real time alerts as changes are made or when priviledged accounts are used.

Cons: Setup can be complicated. It would be great it could report on device and Linux access as well. As is it works best with Microsoft AD.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Dan B.
IT Security Analyst
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Netwrix has allowed us to keep an eye on our environment."

Pros: The Netwrix auditor suite has many tools that come with the solution out of the box. This allows us to deploy auditing in our environment, as needed.

Cons: There are a couple of the new auditing tools in Netwrix that require a separate license. These tools should be included in the solution.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Verified Reviewer
Director of Information Technology
Public Safety, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019

"Excellent auditing tool"

Pros: This is a Swiss army knife of auditing tools. It's very flexible, and can audit about any major software you use, including online clouds such as Office 365.

Cons: The interface is not the most intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2019
Ron M.
Technical Services Manager
Utilities, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019

"Netwrix Auditor"

Pros: Easy to set up and configure - we use it for password expiration notices

Cons: I wouldn't say we have any cons - might not be as full featured as some other tools, but its easy, quick and very inexpensive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/01/2019
Dave D.
ciso
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Ease of use"

Comments: AD oversight is the key benefit for us.

Pros: Easy to set up an distribute new monitoring reports.

Cons: Nothing comes to mind! It ha been useful for much of the monitoring we ask of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Jeremy N.
Tier 3 Support Engineer
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Easy audit and detection"

Comments: This software is helping us to be prepared for any audit that may come unexpectedly. I really appreciate the daily emailed reports as well.

Pros: This software makes it possible to track file access and changes.

Cons: There isn't really anything I don;t like about this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director Of Information Technology
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Where did that file go?"

Pros: We use most of the functionality but it allows us to easily diagnose files that have "gone missing" due to user error.

Cons: Sometimes it takes awhile to return a query. Other than that I have no complaints.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Colin G.
ISOM
Plastics, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Great Product !! Netwrix has been able to identify and pinpoint areas of potential concern."

Pros: The level of compliance documents, The state-in-time documents and the amount of historical documents without a major drain of system resources. The daily email reports I could go on and on,

Cons: The user count limitations. Also if there was a way to report a list of devices and not just the activity on them that would be helpful.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Nana T.
accountant
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021

"best helper"

Comments: Overall Netwrix Auditor is an ideal software for sorting information, so that the information would be affordable for use.

Pros: Netwrix Auditor gives me opportunity to sort lots of information that are received from various channels. It is a very software. it became for me an important part of my job.

Cons: During our cooperation time i haven't noticed any negative. The only thing i think is unpleasant it that the software isn't quite easy to use. i need to train a lot to do job well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2021
Jason B.
Internal Helpdesk
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Always gives us the info we need when we need it."

Comments: The biggest benefit is piece of mind. Between knowing that changes made to our infrastructure have been recorded and having the ability to restore in-necessary changes when we need, that makes it easier to sleep at night.

Pros: There is a large list of built-in reports that will give us lots of information we need in a short amount of time. The auditors love the information we can get for them in a moments notice.

Cons: It would be nice to have a report writer that can be used to create custom reports tailored to our specific needs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Christopher C.
Sr VP
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017

"Great insights into my network"

Pros: Netwrix has given me insight about our network quickly and in a clear format without having to hold several IT certifications.

Cons: I am still not clear about what some of the alert messages in the data collection process is referring to with an ambiguous message about error in gathering the information

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017
Michael C.
IT Manager
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Simply Amazing, Way better than most of the alternatives."

Pros: Ease of use, Ease of Implementation. This software was so easy to deploy we were solving our first problems within 25 minutes of purchasing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Donald C.
IT Director
Government Administration, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017

"I found The software to be very informative."

Comments: The ability to see into the activity of the users.

Pros: I found The software to be very informative. the number of applets available is a bonus. I like the granularity of the software and the reporting is exemplary.

Cons: It takes a while to learn the ins and outs of customizing reports. Also, It would be nice to be able to manage the software from a web interface not just from the local server desktop.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017
Richard R.
Senior Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017

"Netwrix has enabled us to monitor our systems with ease"

Pros: The built in reporting is wonderful. We have been able to get audit reports that are accurate in a timely manner.

Cons: I wish that it was easier to setup the monitoring. All systems are complex so I doubt this can be fixed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/07/2017
Jose R.
It director
Computer Hardware, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017

"Simple awesome"

Comments: Nothing

Pros: Fast reliable and diverse. Moreover the system is extremely simple to use and sox complainace . Plus system is easy to use when reporting and other platforms

Cons: Cost is little on high side and customer service can be a tricky at best . I think that customer service can be more robust and provide in depth knowledge of the system

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/07/2017
Miguel G.
Data & Technology Manager
Education Management, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019

"Excellent product!"

Pros: Netwrix is very easy to use and install. It provides a great deal of reporting and notifications to keep you informed of the changes in your environment, which is a must when operating an environment with a small team.

Cons: There was nothing major that I would call a con for this product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/01/2019
Verified Reviewer
Senior Network Specialist
Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018

"Extremely Helpful Tool to Monitor System Accesses"

Pros: You can customize Netwrix to provide you with an abundance of reports that can be automatically generated and sent to you on a reoccurring schedule of your choosing. Having information readily available for all logins, file accesses, active directory alterations has proven to be beyond crucial, especially at times when investigations of personnel are occurring.

Cons: Customer Support is great for the most part in answering questions, but they can take a lengthy amount of time in answering or resolving issues. Typically we contact our Representative with Netwrix to expedite issues as it seems to get the wanted results faster.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/03/2018