15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About ERPNext

Open source solution with HR management, collaboration tools, stock management, project management, and CRM capabilities.

Learn more about ERPNext

Pros:

The extensibility and flexibility of ERPNext is unrivaled. Every field you create becomes instantly available as an API point in the powerful interface of the ERP software.

Cons:

The software slows down most times, the offline sysnchronization time is slow, and also its still lacks a lot of features.

ERPNext ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.1
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.9/10

ERPNext has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 136 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ERPNext before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (136)

Hardik
Hardik
Automation Specialist in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Furniture, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best Open Source ERP that is better than even paid ERPs

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

the look and feel of ERPNext is very appealing. it is inline with the present best practices, followed in UI/UX.

Cons:

The software can integrate with some of the open source PLM Tool like Oddo, and open Source MES and IOT tools. this can create a complete opensorce ecosystem for business

Varun
Director in India
Automotive, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An experience using ERPNext in a hardware product startup in the E-Mobility Space

5.0 last year

Pros:

The fact that the software is well integrated with a wide variety of modules. Other ERP systems would end up with us having a multitude of different softwares each handling their own niche, and all tied together by just Single Sign On. Here, I am able to provide everyone in the company with a login to the ERP system and have access to not just ERP features, but also Project Management, a Wiki and a Learning Managment System.

Cons:

The HR and Payroll Module can improve quite a bit. The way incentive payments are handled require external programming to design an automated performance based pay. Leaves are also not mutable if a mistake was made during the Leave Policy Assignment which was realised only half-way through the year. This also doesn't allow for a leave policy for a person to be changed in the middle of the leave policy period. This is quite important considering the constant switching of employees between Work From Home, Hybrid and Remote, each of which will have a different leave policy within the company.

Conn
President in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use, and highly customizable, but plauged by bugs.

2.0 last year

Comments: The product has great potential! I wish the frappe org would focus more on all the technical debt, rather than new features. Unfortunately, they generally get paid for new features by customers, not for fixing bad code.

Pros:

I love the ability to customize forms, while it could be easier, it sure is nice to make changes without code.

Cons:

Bugs. Unfortunately, open source means that some code is not high quality. Another factor is the poor management of Git pull requests. I've created several bug fixes that languished until deactivated by automated robot after a month or two with little response from product owners. Many of these bugs are quite serious, particularly around the payroll module. Many, less serious and obvious issues, exist over major versions without resolution.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One of the best

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Agile, scalable, robust, economical, customizable,

Cons:

HR & Payroll requires some flexibilty ands development

Martin
CEO in Germany
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Alternatives Considered:

The best choice for teams that have some technical knowledge in house

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The community is vibrant and fast. There are telegram messenger groups for live communication. There is a super active forum platform. And there is a structured and well maintained github project. If you want to be part of this community, it's easy to get rolling.

Pros:

The extensibility and flexibility of ERPNext is unrivaled. Every field you create becomes instantly available as an API point in the powerful interface of the ERP software. All relevant core features of an ERP system are mature and help you learn to do it the right way as a company. The team is rigid and consequent in making sure, that this streamlined process of creating opportunities, quotations, sales orders and sales invoices is kept intact which is very healthy and keeps customizations sane.

Cons:

ERPNext is not yet easy and straight forward to use. If you have no idea of ERP software and you have no technical skills at all this is not for you. I would love to see the team focus more on the UX of the interface and the ease of use for new and very occasional users. The software feels like it's really made for experts and daily users. That said, we have compared ERPNext with Salesforce and SAP and the open source solution really shines in comparison. But having all the ERP world suck at UX does not mean that this is an unsolvable problem. Also the documentation of ERPNext is not job or use case driven and very technical at times. We have started to try to help this. But it's easy to ask and not so easy to deliver. Work in progress ...

Salim
Owner Consultant in South Africa
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ERPNEXT honest review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience has been very impressed since I have the dynamics nav background and can compare the two

Pros:

That it is open source and has all the features of a proprietary ERP like dynamics nav. Is ease to implement, support and customize due to the fact that it uses only open source code , python js etc

Cons:

I think the documentation can be improved but it has come along way since inception and they are on a good path of updating docs

Hisham
General Manager in Egypt
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple, Easy, and Powerfull.

5.0 last year

Comments: Fantastic product for any kind of business.

Pros:

Very easy to use, very easy to customize, very easy to integrate with. Robust business cycles.

Cons:

Nothing least, I have not faced any difficulty or problems with this software for 10 years now working with all its versions in different businesses.

Wolfram
Wolfram
Geschäftsführer in Germany
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great product

4.0 last year

Comments: We have started using ERPNext in v10 in 2016 and have now made a business out of it supplying ERPNext for germany, DACH, Europe and the world.

Pros:

The software is very easy to customize and with a little practice you are able to collect data in a very orderly fashion in now time.

Cons:

Some of the standards are not consistent which can lead to frustrations using the product at times.

Renil
IT Officer in Philippines
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ERPNext is a truly open-sourced ERP system.

5.0 last year

Pros:

The feature we like about ERPNext is that it is a solid ERP system. All modules are available to use and can work without customization.

Cons:

It does not have recommended POS hardware solution.

Murtaza Saifuddin
Murtaza Saifuddin
Technology Manager in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

ERPNext - you name it and you have it - almost all the functionalities in a single application

5.0 last year

Comments: Its an all-in-one application. Just go for it!

Pros:

The ability to customize the ERP as per the need.

Cons:

Documentation can further be optimized, on which the Frappe Team & active contributors are constantly working.

Aninda
Chief Solution Architect in Bangladesh
Computer & Network Security, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome ERP experience so far!

5.0 last year

Comments: We've been using ERPNext for 4+ years and so far it's going great. It's extensible, scalable and easy to use!

Pros:

It has everything inside to run a business and the features are quite robust and broad. It's easy to use and so it's easy for the people/it's users to get accustomed with it at the shortest possible time.

Cons:

Inventory / Warehouse Management needs to be more scalable and shall be capable of handling millions of stock transactions at breeze. This is the major thing where the company shall focus on

Gupteshwar
Director in India
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

World Class Truly Open Source ERP

5.0 last year

Comments: This is a first hand experience with any ERP for the business apart from Accounting Tools we used to have before we made a complete shift. So, far this has been a very first class experience overall. This has not let us down for anything, some of the missing things might bother for sometime but weren't critical so we had easy decision to move on with options.

Pros:

1. Simplicity 2. Best of the Market experience. 3. Touches all aspects of the business needs, 4. Wherever short have possibilities to extend and expand, Customisable. 5. Does it pretty well what it offers.

Cons:

Some of the features/modules are still in enhancement and development modes. 1. Project Management. 2. CRM

Mahesh
Dirctor in India
Packaging & Containers, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Most flexible ERP

5.0 last year

Comments: One of the best ERPs for a mid-sized company.

Pros:

ERPNext is all in one suite and hence most of the issues related to data structure are resolved at the beginning itself if the implementation is done for all the modules at one go. Secondly, customization options are almost limitless and you don't need to be from an IT background to carry out some of the basic changes as per your business requirement. Document flow and control are also very easy to learn and implement giving you the requisite flexibility of each function which does help in the implementation.

Cons:

Except that stock and account ledgers do not offer monthly/quarterly/yearly reports and no comparison of the ledgers can be done with the previous period, there is nothing that can be negative for ERPNext.

Mohammed
Virtual CFO in India
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ERPNext Software Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: After a failed attempt to transition from Tally ERP to Odoo software due to our complex business process, we were able to successfully integrate ERPNext software into our organization. ERPNext has been in use at our company for the past two years, and we recommend it to small and medium-sized enterprises that need to use project, inventory and production modules frequently.

Pros:

- Simple and easy-to-use interface. - Open-source ERP software, no licensing cost required. - Customization is simple and requires no coding. - Simple to configure according to business needs. - Simplified reporting system. - Well-maintained and actively supported.

Cons:

- Big enterprises are not recommended. - The software is not suitable for anti-free software organizations. - Still a newcomer to the market, and has yet to earn the trust of businesses. - Customized versions have upgrade issues. - Complex setup for roles and permission management. - The documentation can be further improved.

Gurdeep
Director in India
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Review of ERPNext

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

1. Ease of implementation 2. Ease of use 3. Since it is cloud based, it can be used anywhere in the world 4. Economical 5. Excellent support

Cons:

The only drawback that I feel is that it is not 100% customisable.

Mathew
IT Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

The next ERPNext

5.0 last year

Pros:

Ease of use, flexible, and highly configurable option is the key to the success of ERPNext.

Cons:

Features for the construction industry are highly desirable.

KVE ANAND
PARTNER in India
Food Production, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ERPNext the best

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I feel proud that I selected a feature rich product at value for money. But still I fear about fewer service providers. Reliability of service providers is high so the successes of implementation depends highly upon their service. Also we faced a critical threatening problem (data got deleted automatically).Luckily overcame as our partner was supportive.

Pros:

1.Easy to understand modules 2. GREAT FEATURES 3. Easy to implement once deployed. 4 Suitable for MSME 5. API feature 6.Auto email

Cons:

1. POOR DOCUMENTATION 2. FEW SERVICE PARTNERS 3. DIFFICULT TO DEPLOY 4. CRITICAL PROBLEMS NOT RESPONDED BY VORE TEAM

Arvy
Director in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

One of the most customisable ERP in the market

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We needed an ERP that can be molded to our needs and to our customers' needs. After searching for dozens of alternatives, I conclude that ERPNext is the only software that can do that. The open source nature and well written architecture are the reasons that full customisations are possible.

Pros:

Very-very customisable to suit the needs of the business. Great integration with other software through API. One of the easiest ERP to use. Great flexible reporting options. We can create custom reports on the fly. Runs on reputable cloud providers. Can be set up with a minimal infrastructure budget to start with.

Cons:

Installation can be confusing for first timers. It was not a big problem for us as we are software development company, there was enough information from the community.

prashant
Partner in India
Building Materials, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Erp next

5.0 last year

Comments: its good , expect for account

Pros:

Simple an ease to use even for new joine its simple to use

Cons:

Finance module is not much convenient ,not compatible as we have date for last 6 yeras , so how to transfer is a major issue

Narciso
Backend Developer in Dominican Republic
Computer Software, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The best ERP for small and medium size companies

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: In overall, ERPNext is an amazing product, I use it every day and I feel so good with the platform

Pros:

Open Source Easy to use A lot of modules available inside the platform such as Education, Non Profit, Agriculture, etc Growing community Active forum to discuss any issue

Cons:

As an active Open Source project a lot of times We face a lot of features requirements that are not so great to have in our system. Also, the permission system is a little bit complicated

Massimiliano
ICT Manager in Italy
Logistics & Supply Chain, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best Open Source ERP

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Opensource: today is a must for an ERP Web-based: the only way to be used by everyone, everywhere Solid: even if it is a rather new software, it has already reached a good level of stability Big community: look on github

Cons:

Too fast updating: Unfortunately, an ERP is a complex system and its most important capacity is to be able to adapt to different scenarios (each company has its own characteristics). AGILE and open source development pay the price of continuous updates that must be managed carefully, especially if you made low-level customizations.

Robert
Ass Prof in
Primary/Secondary Education, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Does all I need, brilliant support, very fast development track continuously improving all aspect of software, open source,

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: Just give it a shot, this software will make it and become a known name in ERP ecosystem

Pros:

Capabilities, flexibility, open source and pricing, very active community, very good support, very modern and user friendly interface

Cons:

no link to bank statements yet, POS functionality can still be improved, documentation is not strongest but quickly catching up

Riyas
Riyas
IT Manager in United Arab Emirates
Verified LinkedIn User
Wholesale, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Wow... the best ERP system available

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: I am using this software after reviewing Dynamics Nav, Oracle etc. Even though we can spend 250K AED for this project non of them could helped me to do field sales from a mobile or tablet. I am using it for managing 10 van sales in UAE. I am tracking over 10 warehouses with serial number tracking.

Pros:

Open-source, Custom Script, inventory, serial number tracking, email alert, Custom fields, reporting, sales, purchase, web view, mobile application, history of every transactions, easy to setup, growing community

Cons:

Need more community members to provide sample scripts like stackoverflow. Now on the community very few people are posting how they solved their issue.

mukul
Business Consultant in India
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best ERP for SME

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very good, near 40+ my client using this

Pros:

EASY TO USE, infrastructure cost is zero, all module available

Cons:

tax report as per Indian government, we develop new module for it. for more details [SENSITIVE CONTENT]

Deepak
Deepak
India
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

No Nonsense ERP

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Ease of use and codeless customization Easy report builder Value for money Good look and feel Works well on any device

Cons:

Complex Setup for Roles and Permission Management Needs a knowledgeable in house resource for a good implementation