Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Derek S.
Derek S.
Service Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020

"SolarWinds RMM (formerly N-Able) is a great RMM tool"

Comments: Great solution for an RMM tool. The management of the alerts and system is the best overall of the competitors. Would recommend as long as the PSA tool links to it well.

Pros: Very intuitive interface and easy to learn. Easy to navigate and manage individual endpoints and quiet noisy alerts. Great integration with direct hardware monitoring as well.

Cons: Remote access software has historically been an additional feature. Very competitive market and some aspects are not the "best" in the market, including remotely connecting to computers. SolarWinds is also only breaking into the PSA market so there is not a direct connecting service to link on day 1 without looking at other vendors.

Alternatives Considered: ConnectWise Control and Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to RMM: SolarWinds is a great RMM tool and can be linked nicely with Connectwise Manage. ConnectWise pushes hard to force the linking of Control, which makes this a difficult decision.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2020
Verified Reviewer
Network Operations Manager / Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018

"Network monitoring tool with a lot of information to help you track your environment"

Pros: The tool has a lot of features out of the box with the basic module purchased - add the nodes of your environment and collect historical data on them. The main features make network monitoring and tracking simple - with stats and graphs. Reporting is also great for giving to managers. Excellent support when calling in.

Cons: Out of the box a simple setup, each module though becomes pricey for small/medium businesses - each comes with it's own maintenance plan. Reporting takes some knowledge of SQL for setting up the reporting profiles and can be confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/03/2018
Bill B.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018

"There is no perfect RMM tool"

Comments: Solarwinds was one of my stops on the way to the perfect RMM system. After trialing a number of them for months, I learned there is no perfect RMM. Each one has different strengths and weaknesses. Solarwinds RMM is strong on usability, integration, and pricing. They were, when I trialed it over a year ago, weak on patching and to a lesser degree, automation.

Pros: The trial period is a full 30 days. The sales and support teams are available to help with setup questions and problems during that time. My experience with sales was overall positive - they were not pushy. The product is cloud hosted, no option for self-hosting (they offer another RMM that can be.) The monitoring agent is unobtrusive on the target PCs. It's possible to remotely manage most of what you need to manage on a workplace PC. They offer integrated AV which is a must for MSPs. A documents-only backup is also available, although for full system backups you will need to use theirs or another add-on backup application. A large body of knowledge is available online, much of it from the days when the individual components were stand-alone companies. Once you learn the history of SW RMM, you can find answers to most problems in forums and blog posts. I can't comment on their phone support, as I only used it once or twice. I thought the pricing was quite fair. You can easily charge enough per PC to make the RMM cost small change. They offer month-to-month billing, which is great for small startups.

Cons: Running tasks and scripts is anything but real time. You might wait hours to learn if a script had run or not, or what the output was. Patch management gave the appearance of being complete and granular, but again, for me, confidence in the actual state of systems was not there, needed lots of double checking. AV and backup were reliable.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2018
Kevin E.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018

"Powerful, but complex monitoring and backup"

Comments: I'm using the software to monitor and back up business servers across multiple clients. Other than an outage due to the removal of less secure SSL and TLS protocols from the servers I monitor, the software has been solid. In the case of the outage, support stuck with me for quite some time over multiple sessions to make sure the issue was resolved. TOP MARKS FOR SUPPORT!!

Pros: A wide array of sensors to monitor servers and workstations. A powerful dashboard provides a quick look at the state of systems being monitored. Integrated file and SQL backup and antivirus provides a one stop shop for protection and monitoring.

Cons: It can be challenging to resolve issues when they arise with the software, or underlying issues that affect the software. Given the complexity and nature of it, this can be expected to an extent.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2018
Louis B.
IT Profesional
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"An all-in-one solution for providing IT monitoring"

Comments: This platforms allows me to manage about 50 customers with more than 20 servers and 100 desktops from one single location. Thanks to the remote access feature, I can solve more than 80% of my customer problems without having to go onsite.

Pros: Complete solution: rich monitoring features including SW updates management and backups
Easy to deploy: o need to spend lots of time reading the documentation
Flexible: it does what you need to do

Cons: Nothing really!
The backup/restore option could probably be more user friendly
The Android version is a bit disapointing today

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Simon E.
IT Manager
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018

"Remote Monitoring made easy"

Comments: Overall and cost effective solution for monitoring systems which normally would be a manual process.

Pros: Extremely easy to deploy with default agent settings you setup in minutes. Advanced users can customise the alerts, monitor events of any type. Email alerts on failures. Other addon's can be added to the console such as patch management, antivirus, backup and more.

Cons: If I had to pick something I would say occasionally (once a year if that) the agent service would need a restart as the server would stop reporting it. You still get notified of this so not a massive problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Dillon D.
Managing Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Best IT Management Software"

Comments: My experience is great so far - definitely worth the buck.

Pros: Patch Management
IT Asset Management
Control
Reporting

Cons: nothing that comes to mind - the product so far fulfills all the needs

Alternatives Considered: Panda Adaptive Defense 360

Reasons for Choosing RMM: After Sales Support was bad

Switched From: Panda Cloud Office Protection

Reasons for Switching to RMM: Cost-Effective

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Joe D.
Director of TEchnology
Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019

"Almost the perfect solution"

Comments: Our IT unit was in disarray when I took over and Solarwinds helped us get control of all aspects of systems management. From monitoring servers to patching workstations and protecting our users from CTD's. And on top of it all... inventory. We now know where all our assets are and who is using them.

Pros: Above all, this software gives you the tools you need to run an IT department. Patch management, Managed AV, Web filtering, Risk Intel etc..

Cons: There isnt much. If I had to gripe on something I would say the UI and UX could use a facelift/makeover. Hover menus, cleaner look. But this is just to pick something.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/07/2019
Brian F.
it admin
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"Remotely keep an eye on your customer computers"

Pros: Monitors many items on a company's computer network, allows for remote access, antivirus monitoring and reporting, control over when updates are installed, can schedule reboots for off hours.

Cons: The main application needs to be installed onsite. There is some delay when a computer is restarted for the portal to show that is online.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Verified Reviewer
IT Consultant
Accounting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018

"SolarWinds makes a fantastic RMM tool."

Pros: What I like most about SolarWinds RMM is it's value. I believe you get the most bang for your buck compared to other RMMs. In a recent survey among MSPs nationwide, SolarWinds was even ranked the best overall.

Cons: Patch management could be better, but I know they are working hard on it. Right now it's a bit complicated to setup and use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2018
John K.
IT Director
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great Product"

Comments: I am very pleased to be able to see all of my devices in a single pane.

Pros: Everything is visible at a glance, icons make it easy to what needs to be updated, what to reboot, and what needs further attention

Cons: Setup of new devices can be a little cumbersome, but it can be done.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Shuabe A.
Senior Technical Support Analyst
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019

"Great bang for your buck."

Comments: Overall, a great tool and efficient access across our network.

Pros: Solarwinds RMM is a great tool to use to manage and remote into user machines remotely.

Cons: It can alter the display when remoting in, making it a bit difficult to see clearly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2019
Chris O.
Chris O.
Lieutenant
Law Enforcement, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"THE BEST"

Pros: Ease of use and the support is awesome, the software is a breeze to use for daily duties in our IT department.

Cons: Nothing to say bad about this software or the people who support it. Has been a pleasure to use this program.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Chris A.
VP of IT
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018

"For advanced RMM needs"

Pros: This product has a lot of features and some great add on such as IPSLA and Netflow. This gives you the ability to move beyond Real-time Monitoring and begin performance monitoring.

Cons: This is a complex tool so if you don't understand WMI and SNMP you will most likely not be able to get it to perform the way you want it to. In addition it is costly for small businesses if they plan to use it strictly as an RMM.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/01/2018
Matthew L.
Matthew L.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    0/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018

"They will take your money or ruin your credit trying."

Comments: I am about to file a lawsuit with this company because they gave me a free trial but now claim I owe them a few hundred dollars even though I never used their services but have failed to provide me any documentation proving their claim but are refusing to refund my nonexistent account.

Pros: Its a good idea for a platform that allows an MSN to operate in a competitive sense.

Cons: The customer support is abysmal and they will charge you for talking to them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2018
Javier G.
Service Tech
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"You don't need to spend more money elsewhere"

Pros: The main pro for us has been that it is pay what you use. Many other RMM tools will lock you into 3 year contracts and make you buy hundreds of seats and you will pay for them regardless if you use them or not. We loved that the remote control tool was based on Teamviewer

Cons: The initial interface was kind of clunky. And we really didn't like when they changed the remote control client. We've gotten used to it now though.

Alternatives Considered: ConnectWise Automate

Reasons for Choosing RMM: It was stile N-Able back then and the platform was just terrible. It cause all sorts of network issues.

Switched From: N-central

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Matthew C.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019

"Does what it says no exaggeration."

Pros: The software does exactly what the sales team say.

Cons: None really. Issues are with post sales team have them set up your accounting correctly the first time.

Alternatives Considered: NinjaRMM

Switched From: LogMeIn Pro

Reasons for Switching to RMM: Recommended by trusted partner

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/10/2019
Jacob R.
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019

"Great for small to medium sized MSPs"

Pros: The ease of use, and how everything just works.

Cons: I wish there was more integration with their ticketing software.

Alternatives Considered: Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to RMM: Cost and ease of use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2019
John Z.
Ceo
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2019

"funtionality"

Comments: Back Up & recovery
Remote Support
Path mgmnt
Security

Pros: Teh functinallity , reports and easy to set up and use , multiplatform is one of the best features

Cons: Does not have a help desk & ticketing support dashboard integrated

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 15/11/2019

Thanks for your feedback! A reminder that SolarWinds RMM and MSP Manager integrate seamlessly to create a one-stop shop for remote monitoring and maintenance to ticketing, reporting, and billing. This makes it simple to create and manage tickets from the dashboard, remote directly into a device from a ticket, create workflow rules and more. It's a big time-saver for busy techs. Feel free to reach out if you would like more information!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/11/2019
Robert B.
Support Technician
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018

"Highly Recommended"

Comments: Monitoring made easy.

Pros: I have used Solarwinds RMM for 3 1/2 years, the program has changed hands many times. I like the integration with teamviewer, makes monitoring workstations and servers extremely easily. I don't think I could manage customers without RMM.

Cons: Support isn't the best, not timely and often you do not get the solution you are looking for, they need to clean up and update their online guides.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2018
Lee T.
District Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Great product to manage clients from a single dashboard"

Comments: Single dashboard to manage all our clients.

Pros: Love the ability to push out updates/patches with a single click or a custom script. Tons of extra features if you are willing to purchase them.

Cons: The reporting feature of this software is sub par at best especially with network vulnerability feature. This could definitely be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
John dykstra D.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020

"Former user"

Comments: I think SolarWinds is a good company and probably a great fit for many companies.

Pros: Several years ago, before Solar Winds acquired this product from the vendor I was using, the features and pricing model worked well for me. The ability to connect and manage client PC's was reliable and functional. Also, adding anti-virus, backup and web protection was a good feature.

Cons: After losing one of my larger users, the flat rate platform fee made the overall cost a bit much for the remaining users. Also, the pricing model for the backup was no longer competitive in my environment.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020
Nate F.
Level II Support Agent, IT
Warehousing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019

"SolarWinds RMM is Fantastic"

Pros: -Easy to Use
-Easy to Manage
-Great Customer Support
-Provides lots of tools that make supporting a large environment with remote users easy

Cons: -Backup Tools are expensive
-Some of the security reports that estimate the value of your data are a little exaggerated

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/08/2019
Gary G.
Gary G.
Service Team Lead & Dispatcher
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2021

"Jack-Of-All-Trades Monitoring Software"

Comments: Although the interface can be a bit crowded, the absolutely feature-rich software that is SolarWinds has won me over as a lifelong customer.

Pros: A simple right-click on any workstation or sever will let you explore a wealth of options and configurations for every single device that carries the SolarWinds (also known as GFI) software. Backups, updates, controlling services, remote desktop control, you name it, SolarWinds has got it!

Cons: Modules can be slow to uninstall and re-deploy, and remote connections can be spotty occasionally if the SolarWinds remote services begins having issues after updates (which can usually be fixed by restarting or re-installing that module); besides that, I have very few complaints!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2021
Verified Reviewer
Consultant senior en technologie de l'information
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018

"Complete set of tool to monitor all your data center and cloud provider"

Pros: Solarwind offer a complete set of tool for managing your datacenter operations. It is including a mapping of your application in the last version, so now you can follow your dataflow and isolate all anomalies like security breach, network congestion, server unavailable ... and get all reported inside the same dashboard. I like that is also avalaible on premise, hosted or cloud

Cons: Pricing is only avalaible by request to a sale person, and licensing model are not available on their web site actually.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2018