RMM Reviews

by N-ABLE (formerly SolarWinds MSP)

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.2 /5

About RMM

The N-able RMM platform is built for both managed service providers and in-house IT professionals who manage complex IT environments-w

Learn more about RMM

Showing 68 reviews

Nigel Z.
CEO
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019

"Great features and value"

Comments: I am able to keep the clients I have engaged and continue to service them with other IT needs. It works great for improving the client's performance and increasing my bottom line.

Pros: I like that this software is cost effective for a startup and can expand with many features to use. I can be sure that the clients have their machines up and running all the time.

Cons: I would like the software to have an option for the client to cancel a reboot of their machine.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Darell B.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2020

"Solar Winds is a Great addition to any technician doing remote monitoring and management"

Comments: My overall experience has been positive as the software is a setup and forget automation for updates and detection of harmful software or sites on your client computers

Pros: I like the dash board setup and being able to select features for all my clients or individually. The antivirus software detection's are very accurate without false positive infections. The reporting feature can be scheduled and sent to clients emails concerning alerts or problems.

Cons: The software is a little frustrating to get setup and monitoring sometimes errors occur but when you work through the issues the software does an outstanding job of watching your clients

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/09/2020
Jim M.
System Engineer
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019

"SolarWinds Monitoring Tool"

Comments: I would recommend to start with one or two features and add others to reduce the overall impact of its initial rollout and use

Pros: This software will monitor just about anything on your network (except for the coffee pot). Server status is its best known function. You can set parameters for the monitoring both local and devices over the network.
Other features available are anti-virus, help desk, notifications, etc

Cons: With all of the options available for this software, the screen can become busy.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/07/2019
Aaron B.
IT Support
Computer Networking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020

"It does the job"

Comments: We primarily use SloarWinds RMM to manage the computers of our clients so they don't have to worry about those things.

Pros: SolarWinds RMM does a decent enough job connecting to remote computers and allowing us to see what is going on with every computer.

Cons: What I like least about SolarWinds RMM is that there is a consistent request to update the remote software on my computer. It seems that at least once a day this is happening, often breaking my workflow in the process.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/02/2020
John H.
Network Consultant
Computer & Network Security, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019

"SolarWinds RMM Works for the MSP"

Pros: This Software does all of the heavy lifting and will save you time and money from managing your network the manual way

Cons: This software does everything that I ask of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/07/2019
James K.
IT
Machinery, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019

"Works as a remote desktop for remoting into computers or servers"

Comments: Overall it has been good. It has allowed me to remote into computers and servers and correct issues with no problems. Only if the agent eats up a lot of CPU and memory will you have an issue with slowness.

Pros: Easy to get setup. Install the windows agent on a computer or Server and then add a discovery job to find that device. Can also be used for cell phones, printers and any network device you need to monitor. Allows multiple options form Take Control to Remote Desktop, Java web control.

Cons: Can sometimes be flaky. The biggest problem is that the agent can really take over CPU and memory. Sometimes to the point of making the device you are remoted into really slow. Tried everything suggested on SolarWinds website to mitigate this to no avail. Location tracking for cell phones is also buggy. Soem phones report location correctly, others will not report at all, so if soemone loses a phone, good luck trying to find it. Good thing for Google tracking.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2019
Verified Reviewer
President
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    1/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019

"Easy to use - not easy to leave"

Pros: We used an old version six years ago. The issue was value for money.
They courted us to come back with better pricing and all the improvements.
Nice web based interface. You can get lost or distracted with all the extra functions.
I think this would work best for a new MSP that does not have all the infra structure and services in place.
Then it is a one stop shop.

Cons: BRUTAL dealing with AR. We tried it a second time on a few devices.
The reporting was what was expected. We had most of the feature in place already.
I got a call that we would get extra charges and the value of the product dropped.
I paid and asked to cancel. - Now what a disaster! - They refused my cancellation and have continued to bill.
From their NetSuite: The cancellation has been submitted. But it was rejected 5/3 and 6/3.
What a terrible company to deal with!

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 21/10/2019

We are sorry to hear you had challenges with your billing process. We'd love the opportunity to help. Please contact us at [email protected] and one of our Customer Success Representatives will be in touch asap.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/07/2019
Tim L.
Sr. Consultant
Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2019

"SloarWinds RMM is very good software"

Pros: SloarWinds RMM is very good software. It is easy to use and has tons of features to adapt to different business.

Cons: SlocarWinds RMM can improve their Graphic User Interface to make it more friendly and collaborate more features in one place.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2019
Marcio P.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2019

"Nice to have all your customers in one place"

Comments: Customer service is hard to reach and slow to respond

Pros: The fact that I have all my customer computers in one place

Cons: Updates fail constantly and the reason is not clear. Also it doesn't work with trendmicro antivirus which is my solution

Vendor Response

by SolarWinds MSP on 23/12/2019

We're sorry to hear you've experienced some challenges with customer service as we always strive to deliver the best service experience possible. This obviously wasn't what you experienced and that's troublesome. We will reach out to you shortly to hopefully assist you further.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/12/2019
Danny M.
IT Manager
Food & Beverages, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019

"Amazing remote manamgement software"

Pros: I love how simple it is to manage my systems with this software. I can remotely control every single endpoint in my organisation, pull an assest list when I need it, keep an eye on virus threats and even deploy virus protection all via a simple interface

Cons: The only additional feature I'd like to see is the ability to freeze the remote display, so the user cannot see what actions are being performed, like entering sensetive parts of systems etc.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/10/2019
Rex S.
Business Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2019

"It is WORTH a Consideration!!!"

Comments: SolarWinds has a great solutions and been happy with the support. They give generous discounts and allow very attractive solutions to provide more features and products to our clients. Its a new solution, so they have issues, but they do seem to take care of them rapidly. If something does not seem to work for us they will discount it, and allow us to integrate it slowly. The price is attractive and a consideration for anyone in the MSP RMM or MSSP business.

Pros: Starting using SolarWinds shortly after they offered a reseller solution for RMM and MSP's. The features are wide and the prices is mostly on par with other mid tear offerings. The ease of loading the remote client software is good, and better than many others. The broad range of addons is nice, but can be costly fast! Tailoring to each client is what we do, so we add the features based on the broadest range of use of that feature. We spend many weeks evaluating RMM software. Coming from more costly software solutions to SolarWinds we felt that for many of the clients we had, they offered to most advanced solutions which could grow with us. The reporting features, and remote monitoring, and the anti-spyware was key features we needed. Recommend SolarWinds for any level MSP or MSSP.

Cons: The user interface needs work to be easier for entry level staff. The reporting details in some modules seem to be incomplete. The cost structure for each item, needs to be redone. Very hard to determine exact pricing for wholesale cost versus retail selling price.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2019
James W.
Business support technician
Information Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019

"Solid software with good function, but not perfect."

Comments: We've been using this dashboard for a long time and it does everything light solid antivirus for my residential clients up to medium scale commercial asset tracking and maintenance operations.

Pros: The single pane of glass to manage antivirus, backups, in detail alerts, and asset tracking is really nice. I use it to manage nearly a thousand workstations and have used it since it was called "hound dog RMM"

Cons: several parts have a fair amount of hassle to set up and administer, notably the antivirus installation and patch management. Alert status is always green or red, there's no functionality to have a "low priority issue", so I have to treat every failed check as a possible emergency. I'd like to be able to say something like "if the backup is one day out of date, mark it yellow, 2 days mark red" or something like that.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2019
Matthew S.
Director
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020

"Solarwinds RMM Review"

Comments: We have been using Solarwinds RMM for quite a while now and have been very happy with they business relationship we have formed, easy, cost effective RMM with loads of features.

Pros: This RMM is cost effective and web based, no need to install a bunch of software to use it. The ability to turn on components as you want to upgrade and grow is brilliant.

Cons: I have to say I cannot think of anything that I like the least.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/01/2020
Akbar A.
CEO
Consumer Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019

"SolarWinds RMM MSP Software"

Pros: Remote Access, Industry Standard Software for protection, quick install, Data collection

Cons: Loading of the RMM is slow, workstation drag and drop not available, does not provide much information like Kasaya does, and issues installing because its not showing up on the RMM Dashboard. Dashboard also could use a touch up. Support is slow to respond, Make this more like Kaseya, and you will have the Perfect RMM. Keep the pricing more lower then the others as well. make support easily accessable to partners like myself. And provide more training and help for setting up billing, and consumer side visuals.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/10/2019
Leo A.
Network Specialist III
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020

"Instant notifications = quick response rates"

Comments: We've had SolarWinds deployed in place for years and it works perfectly.

Pros: I've used SolarWinds notifications across multiple organizations I've worked for. Battery Backups fail after short power outages and SolarWinds helps to identify those needing replacing.

Cons: SolarWinds is a staple in the field, we do not have anything negative to say about SolarWinds RMM...

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/05/2020
Jeremy K.
Owner
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"Good product for a small shop"

Comments: Managed services, able to take control of computers and to keep an eye on important functionality.

Pros: Not expensive. Pay per use. Easy to use. Works well.

Cons: Some features like chat with the user have still not been built in. Patch management seems to fail on patches some times.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Yona R.
IT Systems Manager
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019

"Long Time User"

Comments: We use this product all the time to monitor our customer's systems. The alerts and checks are the main features I use. It has helped us in many situations prevent many disasters.

Pros: -easy to monitor
-easy to use
-lot's of features

Cons: I don't have any issues with this product

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/10/2019
Richard V.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2018

"Solarwinds RMM software review"

Comments: I consider Solarwinds RMM a powerful software for managing IT Services which combines a set of tools into a unique panel, making the network administration more flexible and intuitive , allowing remote access and scalability to incorporate more network and IT components into its service scope.

Pros: - Provides a set of tools for managing IT Services into an unique panel.
- Last version includes NetPath which allows us knowing network performance and infrastructure from starting to finish points of our network.
- Allows active monitoring and alerting .
- Inlciude remote access that allows to monitor and administering the network wherever we are.
- QoS analysis available.

Cons: - The configuration process for this software must be done by person with high level knowledge about Networking and IT Infrastructure.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/08/2018
Suraj O.
Jr. Windows System Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018

"easy and too helpfool"

Pros: 1. easy to customize checks as per the system status.
2. easy to deploy agents.
3. easy to make reports.
4. easy and sophisticated to take remote, chat session and file sharing features.
5. best for security purpose 2 factor authentication facility.

Cons: 1. update little bit lately.
2. network discovery feature is not available.
3. do not have inbuilt ticketing tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2018
Guillermo R.
University Professor in Telecommunications Enginee
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Excellent and fast remote monitoring system"

Pros: - The importance of automation reflects very solid characteristics to be taken into account.
- The use of a centralized console makes our students clearly identify the managed services.
- Allows to anticipate problems thanks to monitoring alerts.
- Large amount of scripts in the network that serve as support.

Cons: - We have detected that sometimes the notification of the emails does not arrive.
- The amount of information presented within mobile applications should be expanded, since today it is a very useful element for this type of user.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Systems Administrator
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2020

"All the alerts!"

Comments: SolarWinds in general is amazing. They are responsive, helpful, and reliable. Their forum is full of advise from other users and it is a great resource not just for solarwinds products, but in general.

Pros: There is so much versatility with this. You can monitor so many things and automate responses.

Cons: It can be information overload, but that is not their fault. I was new to IT and didn't know what half of it did. Now, I think I would be able to process the information better and utilize it more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2020
Matthew D.
Business Support Manager
2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2018

"Comprehensive platform for managed service providers"

Pros: Single platform for managing windows updates, helpdesk, remote support, and monitoring. I really like the ability to run custom scripts, and scripts in reaction to issues identified. This saves us time and money and helps us stay ahead of the competition.

Cons: We often get false email alerts for failed checks sent to our helpdesk, which can cause a nuisance.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/04/2018
Verified Reviewer
General Manager
Restaurants, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019

"Very Satisfied, Great Product"

Comments: See above

Pros: After major knee injury, I was able to maintain personal, inventory food cost and operational; issues assisting the owners to resolve and correct issues in a proactive way. Great product!

Cons: It works great but it is determined for me to update it... it works good like it is

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2019
Burt J.
Systems Manager
Computer Networking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/12/2018

"Optimal Network Monitoring"

Pros: Provides excellent traffic analysis evaluation that greatly assists in resolving network performance issues.
Customer support is very professional.

Cons: Price can be somewhat of a challenge.
Somewhat requires technical expertise experienced in network analysis and traffic studies to configure and optimally use the product.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/12/2018
Liam B.
IT Support
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2019

"MSP RMM Review"

Pros: Daily checks for errors have great functionality and when kept on top of reduce calls

Cons: Occasional issues with needing to reinstall the managed antivirus when installing on a system initially

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/08/2019