About Backlog

Project & code management, together at last. Plan work, track progress, and release code right in Backlog for all-in-one collaboration.

Learn more about Backlog

Pros:

I like that is easy to use but some features have to be more accurate.

Cons:

When i review pull request on Backlog, i can't see the number of deleted line, added line and total changed line. Github has this feature.

Backlog ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Backlog has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 79 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Backlog before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (79)

Ivan
Ivan
Managing Consultant in Czechia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

backlog.com better than many "Goliath" systems

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We use backlog.com as overall tracking and project management tool for our projects, support tasks and maintenance activities that we provide to our customer. We selected backlog.com after evaluating many other tools (like Jira, Pivotal tracker etc.) and backlog.com became the clear winner. Why ? Because this tool combine together the best features of all other tool while still being neat and straightforward. Backlog.com has been proving it at our daily use for 1 year approximately. Well done. Thank you.

Pros:

neat design supporting easy of use all necessary functions available on-click excellent for agile approach clear and easy administration of projects, people etc. integration with email and MS Excel (exports) subtasking no-time to get started and leverage the tool by users fast and responsive design standalone application for iOS

Cons:

nothing essential maybe more storage space included in plans better numbering of subtasks (to include number of parent issue)

Akhilesh
Akhilesh
Software Test Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Backlog has your back!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: The product is clutter-free and any features that are added have simple use cases and helps in easier implementation. A good user interface to avoid daily hassles involved in bug/defect reporting daily as a tester.

Pros:

Bug identification and creation have never been simpler. Its unique way to describe and categorize the issue at hand is well sorted and makes for a clean and understandable user experience.

Cons:

There might be issues that are created and assigned by parts and during bug/defect identification and creation, assigning these bugs should have an option to assign multiple members instead of single-member.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Choosing Backlog: It was very difficult to track and monitor, the interface was confusing.

Switched From: Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Backlog: Bang for the buck!

Đặng
QA in Vietnam
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Backlog need to be changed and improved

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: Sorry but the truth is inconvenience for me. I hope Backlog can do more for me and my project.
I can't have the statistics I want at Home, I can't see overall my project ...
I Hope Backlog can be developed and help us more in the future.

Pros:

The color of issue can be changed, I can customize the characteristics of issue for each project.

Cons:

when I filter all issue of project , it shows parents issue and sub-issue. If I click on the arrow, which is head of parent issue, Backlog shows all of sub-issue of that parent issue, which are showed before. So many issues are showed twice. It can make me confused. I think Backlog shoud list parent issue and issue has no parent issue. About issue has parent issue, you can hide and when user click on the arrow, it can be showed. Thank you

Arpita
Business Analysr in Bangladesh
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The most compact Project Management Application!

4.0 3 months ago

Comments: Backlog was awesome to use!

Pros:

Backlog is the most compact & advanced Project Management Application! No gibberish and very clean UI/UX experience.

Cons:

It's knowledgebase/FAQ features could be a little bit improved for easy navigation/usage.

Yongjin
Commercial Pre-Sales in South Korea
Internet, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A fan of Backlog

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: using for issue tracking, and regular meeting agenda / minutes at WIKI space.

Pros:

The best tool with easy UI for users, and comparatively reasonable price!

Cons:

Not sure how to backup all the contents and versioning if I should move to another platform.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

Reasons for Choosing Backlog: reasonable price and easy to use.

Switched From: Jira

Reasons for Switching to Backlog: instant payment when I want to use. Pay-as-you-Go.

Miguel
Miguel
CEO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Well designed and extremely easy to use

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Tracking software issues across a dispersed organization. Worked great!

Pros:

Intuitive software that you can use without instruction. Upon sign-on immediately see what has recently happened and easy to click on items needing your attention. Great way to organize and collaborate on issues with a diverse team in different locations.

Cons:

Not much I didn't like. Perhaps the ability to add a custom field or a more fine-grained priority field (Low, Medium, High) so as to make sure people are looking next at the most pressing issue.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in Poland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Free but functional

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I'm very happy working with Backlog tool. Email notifications are insanely useful for tracking changes.

Pros:

It works well for small projects; it covers (probably) all features you may want to use and it is free for a team like my own.

Cons:

No Cons, honestly. For this price it is impossible to find any ;)

Eric
Eric
Postdoctoral Researcher in Netherlands
Verified LinkedIn User
Research, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

A great app for any work with an active team

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: We work in a research project for Artificial Intelligence in Games.

Pros:

I really like the fact, this is easy to add some issues and to follow any kind of problem. This is also really easy to assign an issue to someone.

Cons:

The different kinds of priority are not enough, that will be better to let the user define its own priority (high, normal and low are not enough sometimes to make the difference)

Peter
Australia
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A great alternative ticketing system for teams

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

We're using the basic plan and it provides us a great deal of flexibility for our teams. It allows us to keep track of items really easily and submit via email, etc is a breeze. Our users are finding it very easy to get into the system and are seeing quicker responses to their queries. Features of the system are great and what you would see in more expensive alternatives. Pricing per company is excellent compared to per seat as well.

Cons:

Make sure you setup on the right plan to start your trial as you cannot change while you are on trial which is somewhat challenging if you setup a stack of work prior to your change. Apart from this support has been great when needed and the service runs quickly and smoothly.

Santhosh Rao
Santhosh Rao
Android Lead Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Review Software

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: I am able to fix my development issues easily with backlog. Thanks

Pros:

I can easily found out my issues raised by tester.

Cons:

Nothing found so far. If possible, provide web push notifications.

Daniel
COO in US
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

At first Backlog seems like a bit much but now our team could not function with out it.

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Streamlined workflow and the ability to see who's accountable for what and where projects are. It's help us stay on track and keep projects under budget and on time.

Pros:

It's task oriented without feeling like a burden. Other project management tools I've used feel like glorified lists but Backlog offers a lot more. Getting your team on board is difficult but the flow of using Backlog makes sense and came natural for us. We work 100% remotely so if it didn't work we would know right away something wasn't right.

Cons:

For us, one of the strengths about Backlog is the integrations with Typetalk. We use both but I do with they were more tightly integrated. For example, simply using at mentions on Backlog. Messages from Backlog issues go to Typetalk and we use @username to create an alert on Typetalk at the same time. This might be particular to our team but it's really helpful. When I type (@) on a Backlog comment or description I want the list of usernames to show.

Bhadra
Marketing Manager in Indonesia
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Good Experience

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: After using Backlog, each project management has been improved: better time management, better updates in team during project progress

Pros:

- project management based - easy to use and create project/issue

Cons:

- some part confusing in terms of UI - people who was notified at first time issue created, wont be automatically notified if not mention in notify people when make comment/update

Mendy
Assistant Vice President in US
Insurance, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Backlog helped my team with organization

4.0 3 years ago

Pros:

My team is using this product to log issues about a new website we are running live. We are able to each submit issues, whether it's an urgent item that has to be fixed or just a suggestion on something we would like to see changed. It keeps us from double logging our issues because we can see all of the issues daily and our IT person can log and communicate the status on each issue. It seems to be helping us stay organized on what items are priorities.

Cons:

I don't like that you have to click on the issue to see the latest comments on it. I wish it would display the latest comment like a preview of an email will.

Chiara
employee in Italy
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Chiara

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: It is good compared to other product ex. Jira

Pros:

I like that is easy to use but some features have to be more accurate.

Cons:

It is not always easy to understand where you are. There are a lot of functionalities but not always are clear

Alex
Software Developer in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Program Development, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Backlog

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Various team planning projects organized with the developers, organizers of activities, the testing and support team. It is wonderful the system of assignment of tasks and notifications that allows to always take the project to the day and with the priorities to solve.

Pros:

Easy to use and practical for manage projects and teams

Cons:

The attachment files is not very much easy to use, it may be better

Anuj
Application Scientist/ Sales Representative in US
Research, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I would recommend this software

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall it is an awesome tool.

Pros:

It improves connectivity among employees and is very user friendly

Cons:

The search button present at different location does not work the same way.

Conrad
Sales Representative in US
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Absolutely fantastic way to manage your pest control business. Managing has never been so easy!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Tracking appointments. Managing progress. Creating follow ups

Pros:

I love how I can schedule and track appointments. Before using this products I was left to on my own devices to schedule and often times we would miss appointments. Have not missed one since.

Cons:

I do wish they had an analytical reporting feature. It would be nice to have a one-stop tool to manage all sides of the business.

Hernan
CTO in Argentina
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

A must in UAT stage

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are in a huge project that goes from an old BSS to a new one. We are moving from monolithic software to a microservices architecture, so the project is quite complex. The backlog allows us to handle issues during user acceptance testing in a very clean and dynamic way.

Pros:

Very easy set up. Users can get used to the tool very quickly without special knowledge or training.

Cons:

We have been using the tool for 2 months and we still have the benefit, so I have not detected any drawbacks yet ...

pramod
pramod
Software Developer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome Software

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Easy to maintain bugs and their state .Very Useful.

Cons:

Still i did not find any Cons in this software.

Serkan
Co-founder, CTO in UK
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and flexible issue tracking software

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We are using backlog for issue tracking. It is flexible, it allows us to define our own states. Also it is easy to create new issues and search for existing ones.

Pros:

I love the kanban view. Also I like the flexibility of the issue states so that I can set up my way of working easily.

Cons:

Even though there is an attachment preview I wish when you click on them you could get a bigger preview within the site itself.

T L
Sys tem Analyst in India
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Sreedharan Reivew on Backlog Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Excellent Ticketing System with ease of use , Reduces the time spent on updating etc

Pros:

Ease of use,We based and easy navigation and filter functions. Faster retrieval of information Status updation takes less time

Cons:

While copy & pasting from word documents Alignment gets rearranged and the contents become unreadable

Thomas
Thomas
TIer III Support Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Used this product in school and work

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

What I like most about the tool is that it provides an easy to use interface that allows for team collaboration and sub-tasking.

Cons:

The only thing that I would say that's negative is that it runs slow at times but I believe that's a result of our environment.

Alexandra
Marketing mAnager in Australia
Consumer Goods, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Amazing tool

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Very happy with this software that helps us to track bugs and optimisations on our website.

Pros:

Very easy and user-friendly tool, perfect for tracking bugs.

Cons:

nothing I found this software perfect for our needs.

Dennis
Freelancer in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Awesome product for freelance business!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall it has been great. It has helped me organize my freelance business and that means happier clients and more money in the pocket!

Pros:

The board is extremely intuitive and easy to use. It is very easy to add notes, change status of the ticket, and track where the project is currently at.

Cons:

It could be nice to have the ability to add and delete columns from the board for different custom stages of the projects that I am working on. I have used some other bug trackers, and it has come in handy there.

David
Interaction Designer in Costa Rica
Design, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Great free version

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The free version is great, and the paid functionality seems awesome.

Cons:

It has a comprehensive set of tools for managing different aspects of the company, and sometimes it is a bit overwhelming.