15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a fast, affordable and top-rated backup and disaster recovery solution.

Learn more about NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Pros:

It runs on NAS devices (Synology ), the installations was very fast and the job configuration is very ease. Reporting, creating jobs etc. is easy and without the need for complex configurations.

Cons:

There are no real cons to mention. Sometimes we wish, that the logs in the UI would tell more details, when it comes to errors.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.8
Customer Service
4.8
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

9.4/10

NAKIVO Backup & Replication has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 387 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used NAKIVO Backup & Replication before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (387)

Chris
Chris
DevOps engineer in Greece
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo Backup Review

5.0 last week New

Pros:

The things i really like about nakivo is the ease of deployment, literally in Minutes and the reliability of VM backups. Also the ability to recover even files from backups give us the granularity we need. In addition in the latest version nakivo introduced indexing in recovery which makes it even easier to browse all files in your backup. Moreover, nakivo has a lot of deployment option and you can deploy it as a NAS appliance, VM, physical machine. Finally in a single pane of glass you have all the information you need which is very good for users that are not administrators and also the support team of nakivo is exceptional at problem solving

Cons:

The cons in nakivo is firstly the 365 backup is done only on premises and it takes a lot of time to finish if you have under 1Gbit fiber connection. It should have the ability to be done entirely on cloud without having to store the backups on prem. And the other thing is the recovery process as well as the backup verification take a lot of time to complete. Finally the monitoring system it provides doesnt worth it really as there are much better monitoring solutions available.

Sijin
IT Administrator in United Arab Emirates
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fast and Reliable Backup Application

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I like Nakivo application. It is the one of the fast backup job applications. And it is very easy to do restore.

Pros:

Backup storage space consuming by Nakivo is very less compared to other backup applications. Also, the backup repository remapping to a new backup is a wonderful feature i have used in Nakivo.

Cons:

Live Replication of Microsoft Hyper V is not yet released. Backup Storage attach and detach is difficult when it is scheduled.

Giordano
IT Manager in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo

3.0 4 years ago

Pros:

I use Nakivo to backup AWS istances from a region to another and works very well. It is easy to use and configure.

Cons:

Enable the possibility to restore guest file from a replicated istances to restore file deleted or damage

Colin
IT Manger in UK
Retail, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great alternative to 'big name' providers

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: We were paying for an onsite server, an offsite physical server and software/support from unitrends. This product gave us the capability to reuse the onsite server, backup to Wasabi for a fraction of the cost. My experience over the last 12 months with Nakivo has been excellent.

Pros:

The price was very favourable. There was a perpetual licence option and then we just pay a yearly support cost which includes updates.

Cons:

None. It does everything we need seamlessly

Pavel
IT manager in Czechia
Printing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very good product with great support for affordable money

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Fully satsfies our needs. Development is adding new useful features.

Pros:

- ease of use - easy upgrades - great support in case of any problems - great wizards for setting backups and restoring

Cons:

- not very intuitive use of tapes and recoverig from tapes backups

Peter
Sole Proprietor in Switzerland
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, full-featured cost effective backup solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Nakivo is one of the rare software providers that is dedicated to improving their products by actively reaching out to customers to listen to their suggestions and implement them in future versions.

Pros:

The availability of friendly and helpful support staff. Along with the versatility of the software in virtual and "bare-metal" environments, what gives me the most peace of mind is that I know I can always rely on a support team to help me when there are problems I cannot solve just by consulting the help pages.

Cons:

Sometimes the documentation is not very clear to me - but again, support was always ready to step in and help when I couldn't make sense of the knowledge base. One addition I would like to see is to be able to encrypt data before it reaches a public cloud repository. This is unfortunately only possible in a few situations, and generic object storage is not among them.

Adriano
System Administrator in Italy
Information Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good Software Backup

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Simple versatile software excellent for the fileserver and vmware part

Cons:

nothing for me it is an excellent software

Michał
IT Solutions Architect in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Affordable, yet robust and fast working backup appliance

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

It is running under linux, therefore you can deploy it really fast. The Director and Transporter paradigm makes it convinient to set up in different environments, from air gapped clusters, to edge servers and more.

Cons:

It does not support RBD as a storage repository out of the box, I am still waiting on that option to be available.

Peter
Infrastructure Engineer in UK
Legal Services, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Nakivo backup

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Easy of setup and implimentation. Logical use

Cons:

We have had no issues with Nakivo, it is a great bit of software

Tomass
Tomass
IT Support in Latvia
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

Easy to start with minimal configuration needed. User friendly interface, fast configuration, reliable backup and recovery, good technical support, good price.

Cons:

When licenses expire there is no ability to do anything with backups

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Human Resources, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros:

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons:

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Ed
IT Manager in US
Airlines/Aviation, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great support and always new features being added that I need

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We got tired of the massive cost of renewals from our past backup software providers and decided to try Nakivo instead. They supported our need for Nutanix AHV, QNAP and Tape backups. I'm looking forward to trying the new PostgreSQL database option soon so that I can build my own reports.
Nakivo gets the job done and gets better with each version.

Pros:

- We really like being able to create a backup copy from our Windows Backup server to a QNAP NAS for immutable backups over our WAN to another site. - Synthetic full backups make daily backups fast. - I like how fast I can restore a VM to Hyper-V, even if the backup was from Nutanix, and even if the backup storage is on my QNAP NAS.

Cons:

- SQL Backups on Nutanix do not support hourly log backups like they do on Hyper-V, so we worked around that with an inexpensive tool called "SQL Backup Master". - No support for Microsoft SQL Server yet

Maciej
network engineer in Poland
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

NAKIVO Backup & Replication review

4.0 11 months ago

Pros:

Backup Virtual/physical server to local and remote appliancesThe ability to install as a container directly on the QNAP matrix

Cons:

More precise alerting and error description

Sau
Infrastructure Administrator in Germany
Program Development, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool for your VMs

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: This is the nicest program we tested as a backup and replication solution for VMWare. Just love it!
The sales and support guys were awesome too! Good work!

Pros:

Easy to deploy and configure. We use VMWare for the most of our servers and had some trouble with other backup solutions that cost a fortune, were complicated or horribly expensive.

Cons:

For the moment none, the product meets our expectations perfectly.

Ovidiu
Network Administrator in Romania
Verified LinkedIn User
Design, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to use, robust, cost-effective

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: It covers all my company's needs, at a fraction of the cost of other backup solutions.

Pros:

I first tried Nakivo five years ago. It took me less than 10 minutes from starting the setup, to running my first backup. Everything was so intuitive, that there was no need to read any documentation. Very fast recovery at VM and file level. Considering the price, choosing Nakivo was a no-brainer. With each new version, Nakivo gets better and better. New features are added and existing ones are improved.

Cons:

- Support for tape backup is a bit primitive. - Compression and data deduplication algorithms could be improved. For the same data, vSphere Data Protection (based on EMC Avamar) uses half the repository space.

Julien
CEO in Belgium
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Powerful products and easy to use

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have been using the Nakivo product for almost 3 Years now I used the VM recovery and also the file recovery in VM, it has always been easy to use.
I also had 2 times needed to contact their support and my problems were solved quickly

Pros:

Backup of entire VM and also granularity as you can restore only 1 single file from the VM

Cons:

From now I don't really miss anything with this product

greg
IT Manager in UK
Food Production, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

10 years in and still the best VM backup and Replication we can find

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: From looking at hours to restore some critical servers I an now only looking at minutes to restore these servers and have data in some instances only a couple of minutes behind the original.
You have to hand it to these people on multiple levels for their software and its features to ease of use and their support and updates are second to none.
In the last couple of years I have pushed NAKIVO to many other people and not one of them has said anything different from myself since implementing their solution.

Pros:

This software is so easy to install, setup and use. We were up and running within 30 minutes of getting the software.

Cons:

There is nothing not to like it just works.

Milos
IT Infrastructure Architect in Serbia
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Reliable Backup Solution

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Nakivo platform is one stop shop for all of our backup and DR needs.

Pros:

Over the course of 3 years Nakivo proved to be an excellent choice for our backup and disaster recovery needs. After the initial setup the interface was very easy to use, had a logical layout and order of steps when performing various activities. Level of integration with major hypervisors is great. Network acceleration helps a lot when performing backups over slower WAN links. Multi-tenant platform in combination with per VM licensing model presents great sales opportunity for service providers offering DR solutions.

Cons:

Introduction of support for the latest releases of hypervisors takes too long.

David
IT Manager in UK
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great good value product with some feature missing

4.0 3 months ago

Pros:

The product was very easy to install and setup. It is good that they have so many options for storage and install operating systems. You can even deploy on some NAS systems.

Cons:

There is no facility to natively encrypt backups to USB storage or a cloud repository. You need to have an offsite transporter offsite connected to the repository. So you cannot store encrypted backups directly into Amazon S3 storage or Wasabi etc. You need to have a transporter running in the cloud location connected to the storage for encryption to work. Quite a big oversight when all offsite backups should be encrypted.

Davide
CEO in Italy
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Flexible, easy to deploy and affordable.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I use Nakivo in the 95% of my customers. It's an excellent software.

Pros:

Nakivo is an amazing software, flexible and easy to deploy. We use it in a lot of our customers IT infrastructures. The price is affordable for features in a virtual environment. The linux-based environment for the server and the transporters grant availability, efficiency and cost reduction.

Cons:

Lack of some features, like surebackup with services check. The ETA is not accurate as well as the progress bar. Also the log and history can be improved.

Martin
operations manager in Denmark
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Awesome product - best virtual backup software!

5.0 last year

Comments: Nakivo is a very helpful and simple program. It takes only 2 minutes to setup and then it works. If you have problems with the setup and the backup tasks they have a nice staff that will help you through it until your backup is running 100%.Ease of use, and installation is important.

Pros:

Webinterface for managing backups.Cheap.Easy setup.Easy to understand.

Cons:

Not really.NAKIVO has all the features we need.

Juan Pedro
CEO in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Nakivo, easy and useful

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Totally satisfied. From the first moment it satisfies its ease of installation, fulfilling all expectations

Pros:

Undoubtedly, the most remarkable thing is that being extremely simple to use, it more than covers all the needs of a company to ensure the continuity of its information systems. In addition, the ability to integrate with the most common database solutions makes it essential.

Cons:

It is extremely easy, covering all the needs of the company in terms, backup & replication for business continuity

Joerg
PM in Germany
Machinery, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Good and intuitive procduct

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are using Nakivo B&R for our new server with quite a number of virtual machines (VM Ware). Backup of data is onto a Synology via 10GB/s. The backup makes use of all available network speed.
Once you understand how it works, its configuration is straight forward. Whenever we experienced some issues, Nakivo Service was very helpful (GoTo meeting) and pretty fast (next day at the latest). So far no complaints on their repsonse.

Pros:

Quite intuitive. Comparably fast backup. Price / performance value is good. Good service.

Cons:

USB rotation (to external harddrives) definitely needs improvement. Licensing scheme is a bit hard to understand at first glance ... but their sales will help you ;-) A little bit of too aggressive marketing (less would be better).

Dustin
Dustin
System Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Cost Effective And Brilliant Backup And Replication Strategy

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Brilliant solution, cost effective. The product is easy to implement and works just as good as advertised. It surpassed our expectations.

Pros:

Easy backups and replications that help keep us safe and secure! Ability to store locally and in cloud is a plus

Cons:

I would like to see more cloud integration with companies like BackBlaze and their B2 storage offerings. Amazon and Wasabi are partner groups, and that is more than enough to work with until then!

Patrick
IT coordinator in Canada
Automotive, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Backup simplicity

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: It's the third place where we use it. Nakivo is a very easy software to deploy and to use.
You can count on it when you need the most, we have used it to recover an entire environment that was down and the recovery worked without a hicup. The technical support is very responsive and professionnal.

Pros:

Ease of use Granular recovery Incremental forever

Cons:

Backup of office365 is not easy to understand. It's a new feature, so I guess it will improve in the future