Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 /5
  • Customer Service
    4 /5

About xTuple

ERP / MRP / Inventory Management Solutions for growing manufacturers and distributors.

Learn more about xTuple

Showing 116 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Director - Material Support Center
Education Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2018

"Feedback"

Comments: By and large the system provides decent tools to process our work. Some information, data, and reports require significant specialized enhancements.

Pros: Generally speaking, all functionality is available with xTuple. Operations, Sales, Finance, and Production activities can be performed.

Cons: Some reporting is slow and redundant. there have been many specialized reports created for ease and efficiency.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 08/02/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your confidence in us. Are you planning to upgrade to the next major version 5.0?? Let's ensure you're getting all that you need out of xTuple. https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2018
Janet B.
Owner
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"Wanted something better than Sage that didn't require "frankensteining" the software & costing $$$$$"

Comments: more available options without having to pay for it - included in the package which is the way it should be. Every time I have to purchase another piece to make the main package work better for me, it's more money for software; consulting hours, training.....

Pros: Open Source; great support team - in it to get the problem solved efficiently an effectively; great instructor - he really knows the software inside and out and a great problem solver; in fact, all of the partners involved with xTuple will help with problems if you reach out to them in the forum; and for the "cherry on top" - constantly evolving and improving - they don't rest on their laurels - they constantly challenge themselves to make it better, more expansive - "How can we benefit our customers the most" mentality and they just keep going and going.

Cons: Call it housekeeping - there used to be a few bad apples and they have been slowly and surely weeded out and discarded - both employees who "loved to hear themselves talk" but was much ado about nothing and then some partners - if you are in it, then you are in it - don't bad mouth it - the company, the customers - all of it - get out or help make it better for all - as you know, employee and partner housekeeping take time but it is better and the air about things is better; more responsive, more positive, more open discussion and not territorial - it's a true think tank like it should be. One other thing - I am not personally a programmer so admittedly some of that stuff is way over my head and there are smarter people than me there that I will happily pay from the consulting dollars to get the most efficient and effective bang for my client's buck - I wish I understood some of the report writing better - it's not my strength so it's more my con than the software I believe.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Rebecca S.
IT Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Extendable ERP"

Comments: I have implemented xTuple a number times. In all cases the businesses were small and unique. I worked with the xTuple team to get their ERP to work for businesses in manufacturing, education, and health care. In all cases the extensibility of the product was key to our success.

Pros: ERP systems are complex and can be difficult to extend to accommodate unique business needs. The open source nature and configurable design of xTuple overcomes the effort and cost barriers of other ERPs. An IT person can customize xTuple for their business or they can work with the xTuple team. The technical support and professional services they provide help get projects up and running.

Cons: The technologies used in xTuple are not for the faint of heart. A considerable amount of technical accum is required to customize the system. Even simple changes to screens and reports require an understanding of SQL and JavaScript.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks, Rebecca, for your very concise review. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. That's why we're working on a whole new way for businesses to get that ERP functionality they so desperately need, but can't tackle due to cost, or lack of resources, or plain old FUD (fear, uncertainty, doubt).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Kerry H.
Chief Marketing and Communications Officer
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"xTuple has been a great software for our manufacturing company. Very satisfied!"

Pros: Simpler to use than other ERP solutions. Integrated well with other critical software that our business depends on.

Cons: The report writer functionality is difficult to use and takes a good bit of time to learn. Most users will need to use an xTuple consultant to build custom reports. This includes even your basic invoices, packing lists and things like that.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for your great review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing in the Cloud. Glad you find xTuple ERP simpler to use than other applications. RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Let us know when you¿re ready to upgrade to the latest version (that will help a lot!): https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Co-Owner & President
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"The best CRM/MRP/ERP System on the market today!"

Comments: Implementing a new system is one of the hardest things a small and fast growing company can do. xTuple made our integration seamless and the process went very smoothly. We love the tool and we use it for all of our company processes.

Pros: I liked the fact that you can do everything in one tool. All business processes are included in one package from Customer lead all the way through to the collection of money. I also very much like the fact that the software is Linux based open source and offers full customization for your business.

Cons: I cannot think of anything I do not like about the software!

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Could you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Christopher C.
accounting/erp contractor
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"A lot of potential if you put in the effort"

Pros: Because it is open-source, there is nearly indefinite scalablity if you take the time to plan ahead of launch.

Cons: The flip-side of the customizable nature of the system was that much of what we did felt like we were building the system rather than just migrating to it. This was in 2009, I'm sure many features that we and others 'sponsored' are now baked-in for new licensees.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks, Chris, for reviewing your xTuple Manufacturing software. This system was built for companies just like yours. ERP is definitely not for the easily intimidated. You've used the system for quite a long time; if you're on an older version, there's a lot of functionality and features you're missing. Please reach back to us; our goal is your success!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Lee Z.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018

"Great software that has a multipurpose approach."

Pros: I like the ease of use it provides and the ability to customise. There is excellent support and forums with help available.

Cons: Setting up can be tricky if your not comfortable with installing SQL and other support it requires but there are comprehensive guides and lots of support available.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you, Lee, for your review and your long-term use of xTuple. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/07/2018
Thomas M.
Finance Manager
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Xtuple for Small Manufacturing Company"

Comments: We are a small to mid sized manufacturing company and use Xtuple throughout our organization.

Pros: It is fairly easy to use and intuitive compare to other ERP systems I have used.

Cons: The cost accounting functionality is a disaster. However, it's hard to blame on Xtuple necessarily, I believe it was the implementation of the platform.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thank you for your review and your investment in xTuple Manufacturing. Glad you find the application useful for your daily accounting and sales functions, especially ease of use with compiling financials. Re: configurations on cost accounting. Please chat with xTuple¿s professional services team, they can get you the help needed to set the system up just as you want! https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Hilary B.
Owner
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018

"Nice for small business"

Comments: Easy use

Pros: Very good option for small business easy use once get used to

Cons: A few features are not available that I would like to use

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Hilary - Thank you for your review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, especially to determine what features you're missing! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/09/2018
Larry C.
Owner
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"Solid, affordable ERP for distribution and manufacturing businesses"

Comments: Up to date information and analysis

Pros: Overall architecture. World class database which is free. Database and application supported on Windows, Mac, and Linux. Easy remote access. Customization capabilities.

Cons: No issue for me but perhaps support for other inventory valuation methods.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your longtime use and investment in xTuple.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Nathan L.
Consultant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018

"An application dragged through different paradigms."

Pros: It is open-source and therefore can be tweaked, modified and customized to fit the business, from minor revisions to reports to entirely new tables, screens, etc. It is truly cross-platform with the same codebase compiled for Windows, Linux and MacOS. We've used it to run a mid-size manufacturing business for the last 8 years, though it has required hundreds of hours of customization during that time.

Cons: xTuple has gone through a few different development / application paradigms and it shows. Some parts of the application are entirely client-driven with SQL statements constructed in the client C++/Qt code. Others are *mostly* driven by PostgreSQL stored procedures, others are controlled by Javascript stored and revisioned in the database, creating and controlling screens via a customized javascript <-> Qt library. And in some places the two are mixed. The complexity and ability to customize a given screen depends entirely on how old it is. The company spent several years focusing on rebuilding the application for a web/mobile market but it didn't seem to gain a lot of traction and never came close to fully replacing the C++/Qt thick client. The manufacturing modules haven't been significantly updated in years. xTuple support is good, but once you're off the beaten path with customiztaions, you're on your own.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thanks Nathan. Watch for xTuple to shake up a 40+ year old industry with a new option in September 2019!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/07/2018
Robert K.
Accounting Clerk II
Sporting Goods, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"My overall experience with Xtuple was difficult at first as it requires quite a bit of training"

Pros: Data integrity management
Depth of the Inventory Management and Costing Tools
Standard JE ease of use
Trial Balance ease of use

Cons: Not very intuitive. Accounting functions are not designed well, especially the reconciliation tool. Sales functions do not have a robust customer service tool.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Ma. cristina L.
COO
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017

"xTuple is an effective and efficient software."

Pros: xTuple is very flexible. It can be used by any industry. Adaptable and highly customizable without sacrificing industry best practices.

Cons: Nothing signifcant that the help desk won't be able to solve. As usually we discover it's user errors.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 12/02/2019

Thank you for your review and your longtime use and investment in xTuple

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/09/2017
Yien S.
Accounting Manager
Wholesale, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017

"xTuple Review"

Comments: Experience with xTuple is positively enhanced because of the high level of customer service with the staff/team members.

Pros: It's very detailed, and the team members can customize our package to suit our business needs.

Cons: Nothing..as long as the team members of xTuple are there to help, then all is well.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Katie R.
Purchasing Manager/Production Coordinator
Plastics, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2018

"User friendly"

Comments: As a purchasing manager who previously used Xcel spreadsheets to submit all PO's this software has made my job a breeze. Being able to track current inventory levels, copy PO's, and submit electronically is a dream.

Pros: They software is very easy to use. The flow of the different applications make for quick use without the requiring of vast amounts of setup.

Cons: Some of the reporting options are lacking, however, the ability to export different data to a CSV makes up for this lack in functionality.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 02/08/2018

Glad to hear your commercial version of PostBooks¿ has made your job so much easier. If you need to learn more about reporting options, we¿ve got some great classes - and would recommend the ERP Advanced: Power User Training class - and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2018
Renaud P.
P. Eng
Industrial Automation, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2019

"xTuple Postbook is the Best ERP"

Comments: High tech manufacturing, High mix low Volume.
It was very easy to implement and straight forward.
xTuple provide very good support.

Pros: Postbooks is opensource and it is the best way to start without investing lot of money. It simply takes time to implement and change ways of doing things.

Cons: The license structure when it's time to increase functionalities and pay for a more complete version.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for your review, Renaud. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration P.S. Let us know how we can help with increased functionality you need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/02/2019
Mircea C.
PROJ. ENG.
Design, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"Awesome product and business model"

Pros: Everything (price, features, UI, usefulness )

Cons: Difficult to install and get a license (it should be done faster..)

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Mircea. What version are you on? Let us know how we can help with increased functionality when you need it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Jess K.
Manager
Import & Export, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    1 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2018

"xTuple Review"

Pros: Potentially, it would fit perfectly for our business model

Cons: The set up was incorrect, 4years later still some problems
not enough information and help

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Hi, Jess - Thank you for your review. Customization is key for any software to be flexible enough for growing businesses. Let's talk again and ensure you have the correct setup: https://xtuple.com/contact-us

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director Operations
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2018

"xTuple"

Comments: Th lack of intuitive functionality and the old style interface forced us to go to QuickBooks.

Pros: It tries to do capture many supply chain functions, accounting, CRM, sales cycle

Cons: It tries to do capture many supply chain functions, accounting, CRM, sales cycle but is not intuitive

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 08/02/2019

Thanks, if you were using the free PostBooks¿ community product, it definitely was not meant to keep pace with your sophisticated needs. We keep asking the same question ¿ why are smaller companies continuing to select an option that history has proven is a disaster for them? The answer is simple, there hasn¿t BEEN another option ¿ IN-BETWEEN ¿ once companies outgrow QuickBooks. We¿re going to fix that ¿ watch for an announcement on a brand new IT choice for small companies like yours who do big things in this world!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2018
Petra P.
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2011

"Customizable and reliable Accounting, CRM and ERP software"

Comments: I can strongly recommend this free open source ERP, accounting, CRM package for small and midsized businesses. It runs on Linux, Mac and Windows and takes care of all accounting tasks such as general ledger, accounts payable and receivable as well as bank reconciliation. But xTuple can do more, it is not only an online accounting software but also a great CRM where you can create to-do lists, address books, manage projects, etc...

Pros: - It is easy to use for an average user like me

Cons: Rather for small businesses than large enterprises

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 24/11/2011
Nigel V.
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2019
Carl E.
VP Engineering
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018

"Sales/engineering involved with ERP use. Currently running 4.8.1. Previous system was MAS200."

Pros: Has a Mac based client. Has the option for on-site server or cloud server. Highly customizable reporting capabilities. A decent amount of customizing interface windows. We have several very custom reports and some interface changes that have been made by a 3rd party developer. A lot of features, some we're still learning to use in an optimal way.

Cons: The report editor is weak, at least up through 4.8.1. Text boxes don't auto-wrap making form design difficult. This is a challenge even for our 3rd party developer that uses it all the time. Not the most intuitive - interlinks between data sets is weak at best. Often we find ourselves needing to write somethings down from one inquiry to then go to the next, and the next to find what we need. MAS200 was much better in this regard. Several accounting features that I do not use are also reported to have similar limitations as compared to MAS200. No bug patches. Free updates while using the cloud sever are great, but any customization throws a slight wrench into that. Several bugs that we deal with have been fixed in newer versions but are not available as patches to our version. Since we have some significant customization, the actual upgrade cost keeps us from updating frequently.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 02/08/2018

RE: any difficulties you¿re experiencing with the OpenRPT report editor. If you need to learn more about building custom reports, we¿ve got some great classes and some free online resources at https://xTupleUniversity.com. Backporting bug fixes with patches can run you into all sorts of other problems related to required functionality that may not exist in older versions. It¿s like expecting to get an airbag in a `65 Mustang. Our best suggestion is let¿s help you upgrade to the latest version: https://xtuple.com/contact-professional-services -- Carolyn

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Owner, President
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018

"For someone who is not an accountant, the learning curve was steep. But in time, it became great."

Comments: It forced me to learn true accounting principles, of which I still haven't mastered, but it's an ongoing experience. That, and the fact that it's free.

Pros: It's a true ERP/accounting software suite that covers all aspects of a business. There's no cheating when posting transactions. It forces you to get to know actual accounting principles and follow them. I also like that it is platform agnostic. I prefer Linux to Windows, and the software runs on both. This versatility also runs to the database back end; I'm using PostgreSQL on Linux, which is quick and clean for my needs. My accountant loves it, since it does what an accounting package is supposed to do, and not let me delete things if I screw up. The entry-level offering, PostBooks, is free. You can request a free license key for up to four (4) users, running concurrently, which for small businesses or startups is fantastic! The database engine runs on a small server (Windows or linux), and users run the self-contained user interfaces from their desktops - no real installation needed there. If you wish to increase your footprint, additional licensing is available. Forms and reports are fully customizable. With a little bit of time and motivation, you can create any form you wish and configure the environment exactly to your tastes.

Cons: It takes time to master the application if you are not familiar with accounting practices and principles. Being a small businessman who specializes in IT, I'm not accustomed to think in the ways of balancing buckets. It's not Quickbooks (whatever that means). Office managers and financial people continually ask me why I should use something that's off the beaten path with respect to small businesses. Of course, I give them the reasons above. Needless to say, the argument inevitably comes back, "Quickbooks is still easier to use." It's not easy to back out stupid mistakes. Again, this is an "operator issue". A non-accountant really needs to be trained properly to fully utilize the power of this application.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 09/02/2019

Thank you for your glowing review. What version of free PostBooks¿ are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd be curious to know how you're using the system, to help inform others who are in similar businesses! Message us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing Be sure you've got the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/06/2018
Lance K.
President
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019

"review of ERP postqb rev 4.x"

Comments: goal was to handle sales pipeline and contract manufacturing; sales people didn't like to use it. Free version is good value, but paid version is expensive when compared to competitive products.

Pros: multi-platform
customizable: forms and reports
structured work flow: modules link together properly (from sales to purchasing to inventory to manufacturing to shipments etc)
has expected and comprehensive list of data: AP, AR, INV, WIP, PO, Sales, Customers, etc

Cons: poorly integrated extensions (eg time and expense)
data entry forms are clunky for bulk entry
UX forms not consistent (over time the UX standards have changed, older forms have not been updated to use newer UX)
automation of import/export is clunky (it works, but not intuitive to configure)
chart of accounts and posting are very traditional approach, so cumbersome to fix data entry mistakes.
need manufacturing edition if doing manufacturing; base model has too many key manufacturing features disabled.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thanks for reviewing our free PostBooks¿ product, Lance. Sounds like you may be using an older version? Be sure to get the latest update for your software and renew your free license key: https://xtuple.com/products/postbooks/license-key-registration P.S. Let us know how we can help with increased functionality you need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/02/2019
Verified Reviewer
Director of I/T
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2019

"xTuple ERP"

Comments: We have put all of our ordering/manufacturing/accounting/finance functions on xTuple, including some company-specific functions that we built ourselves without consulting. We've been running the system for 7 years with great success.

Pros: Cost-benefit is off the charts. A full, highly complex, highly customized install of xTuple can be achieved at about 1/3 the cost of other proprietary systems. The open-source environment allows a technically-inclined administrator with some programming experience to extend the software in business-specific ways without the use of high-cost consulting. Tech support is great, and bug fixes often arrive in a couple of days after reporting.

Cons: The documentation provided for scripting is too heavily geared towards an experienced C/Qt programmer rather than a SQL programmer. There aren't enough specific scripting examples, and too many references to class libraries which don't make much sense to someone with no C/Qt background.

Vendor Response

by xTuple on 07/02/2019

Thank you for a great review. What version of xTuple are you on? Can you chat with xTuple¿s process guy? He'd always looking for stories on how companies are using the system, especially about customizations, to help other similar businesses. We are also working on standing up a scripting library which might be of use to you. Feel free to contact us: https://xtuple.com/contact-marketing

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/02/2019