15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About ServiceNow

Transform your IT value chain, from planning to operations.

Learn more about ServiceNow

Pros:

The cost per licenses is a bit high for a fulfiller and hope service now can bring it down a bit.

Cons:

ServiceNow has a steep learning curve, and I'm not sure how necessary it is. There are a lot of features sure, but finding what you need can be very difficult at times.

ServiceNow ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

8.4/10

ServiceNow has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 242 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used ServiceNow before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (242)

Brandon
Brandon
Press Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

I used ServiceNow in a Desktop Support Role

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: I used ServiceNow daily, almost hourly to be honest, as a Level 2 Desktop Support Agent. It replaced vFire which was getting slow and agonizing to work with. Tickets would come in and we would perform the work and move the ticket along and/or close it altogether depending on the job. I liked using it and felt it was very robust and powerful while still being nimble and problem free.

Pros:

ServiceNow is fast and issue free so long as it's setup correctly. The interface is simple and easy to understand. The learning curve, unlike older software, is practically nonexistent.

Cons:

Sometimes tasks can have subtasks that are nested so deeply that they can be missed on first glance. I wish the software had a simpler nesting system.

Terry
IT manager in Australia
Utilities, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow is very advanced tool but very expensive.

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

ServiceNow is the leading ITSM tool in the market. It offers a comprehensive range of features and capabilities that can meet any business needs. It is constantly updated with new versions that bring more innovation and value to its customers.

Cons:

ServiceNow is not a cheap option when it comes to ITSM tools. It can be a significant expense for organizations that have limited budgets and need quick results. ServiceNow requires a long implementation process that involves multiple stages and customizations. It also demands a dedicated staff member to maintain and manage the tool effectively.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow, an excellent solution

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The customizability and integration options in ServiceNow are fantastic. Being able to link knowledge base, inventory systems, and ticketing systems in one stop is amazing.

Cons:

Some of the features seem to be a bit redundant and I'd prefer that the base software roughly stay the same instead of any unnecessary layering.

Mihir
Information Security Intern in US
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy to setup but limited features

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: We use service now every time a change request needs to be raised our experience has been fine but the UI is very bad.

Pros:

It's easy to setup and has limited features without overwhelming the user

Cons:

The features are limited and UI is very bad

Zain
Zain
Support Team Lead in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Using Service Now as a Team Lead

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Overall a great experince over the last year or so. My team have greatly loved this new tool and as a LM it has allowed me to focus alot more on metrics and making my team efficient.

Pros:

Dashboard and Reporting Ticket Management Customisation I am in the process of setting up automated ticket creations based on application alerts which will be fantastic.

Cons:

It takes a little time to get your head around the reporting element if you have multiple status's. You have to play with the data to get it spot on, but its fairly easy and you will get the hang of it quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

as a Project lead we customize and use this Product extensevely.

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love this Tool because of its ease of use of the tool.
The way they develop the feature is great.
KB and Articles for support documents are good.
ServiceNow Community is great Help and they resolve most of the Issue there the way the Technical person explain and presenation is good.

Pros:

all the Modules that we used are ease to use. Documentation is well maintained. Easy to implement. easy to track the changes for Admin Team. Reporting Module is Great for BIz team.

Cons:

Cost and Product Support. Product road Map dates are not clear.

Lillian
Lillian
Human Resources Generalist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow helps us centralize our processes

4.0 8 months ago

Comments: Our distributed crew was able to get together and focus on a single source of information. Now that all incidences are being recorded in one place, we have more insight into how things are progressing.

Pros:

Thanks to ServiceNow, our processes are much more streamlined. Assisted in creating a streamlined operation. Our remote team's efficiency increased once we established a central hub where everyone could access the same, reliable information.

Cons:

There is some lag time when utilizing the dashboard, but I'm sure this will be addressed in a future update. In addition, I think the report function may use some tweaks.

John
John
Game Release Support in Philippines
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Games, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow Review by a Former Helpdesk Technician

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: its all good, the best ticketing software for me. also Jira

Pros:

Everything, I love ServiceNow. I used it in 4 different IT BPO companies here in the Philippines.Integration to other systems is really good and helpful.

Cons:

I can't think of any Cons using ServiceNow, it really depends on the Management or Admin that handles ServiceNow. some management can't utilize ServiceNow's great features.

Rishabh
Rishabh
Director - Customer Success in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A decent tool to manage enterprise operations

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: The overall experience with ServiceNow has been pretty neutral. While there is no denying that the tool serves its purpose, it must evolve on all fronts to stay in the competition. Support, Interface, Design, New features, everything.

Pros:

The pricing of the software, in comparison to JIRA, Zendesk, etc.

Cons:

The interface of the software can be worked upon.

Dipti
IT Recruiter in US
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great ITSM and Asset mgmt tool

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Change and Incident management are very user friendly and easy to enahance and mainti

Cons:

Search functionality can be made more robust and accurate

John
Helpdesk agent in Spain
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Main ticketing tool for a company present in over 60 countries

5.0 last year

Comments: From perspective of a Service Desk Agent, Service Now is a solid ticketing tool with lots of customization and integration options, and decent monitoring capabilities. With regard to reporting - it is no match for an Excel spreadsheet, but the option "Export to Excel" is available in any report table :)

Pros:

Customization options and integration with with other tools (Nagios) as well as separate instances of Snow. As an example: one of our customers is running their own instance of Service Now. Their users interact with their own instance of Snow: log incidents, create service requests, receive and respond to mail communication. Snow objects from customer instance are then bridged (synced) into our instance of Snow, where they are actioned by fulfillers. User communication, ticket status etc. are then bridged (synced) back into customer instance of snow and reach final users.

Cons:

There is a learning curve for agents coming from other ticketing tools as well as for new joiners - which is expected. A lot of user guide/process information is openly available, however not all the options described (especially reporting) are available in the version currently deployed by the company, which leads to some areas of tribal knowledge.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

A wonderful and probably the best ticket and change management tool

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Search feature is very powerful and easy to use as it is globalized search. Allows me to see the ticket distribution across my teammates. Supports customization of the change management process.

Cons:

The frontend design looks a bit old and not much attractive to me personally. Also it is little bit costly. Apart from these 2 things, everything else seems great about ServiceNow.

Dakshina Singh
Software Engineer in India
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review by DB - ServiceNow

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

This feature is very very impactful in day-to-day IT business. From incident management to customer engagement, it provides end-to-end solutions. You have multiple options to display your data in graphical or list formats. It gives multiple filters to generate effective reports. It provides a very easy and feasible way to onboard the users and manage the customer accounts and their cases. Our IT department uses ServiceNow helpdesk services to manage the employee data. The support features from ServiceNow makes it easy.

Cons:

I do have a few things in mind that ServiceNow can upgrade: 1. They should give the option to edit the comments we make on cases/incidents/changes etc. 2. They should provide the option to perform the search specifically on comments and it should be optimised. 3. There should be option for grid view instead of list view, such that user can go to the next case or incident and update them side-by-side. Currently if we filter out 10 cases, we have to open them all in separate tab to work on it. It should be managiable using same tab only.

Ryan
Analyst Developer in Canada
Telecommunications, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

As Flexible as it is Functional

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: We've been using ServiceNow for 5+ years and it has really transformed our Service Desk and Customer Service teams ability to work with the customer.

Pros:

ServiceNow is such a user friendly product. Their out of the box modules require very little customization to get you up and running using a wide suite of available modules, there's not a lot ServiceNow can't do.

Cons:

Over-customization can make upgrading time consuming but there are plenty of guides to assist you with this process.

Gajendra
Gajendra
IT Specialist in Luxembourg
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Service Now Review

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: For me it very good, specially the change.very easy to create change and follow up with the different parties.

Pros:

Amazing tool for change incident and CMDB management. I am using this tool for change and incident and I found it best among the tools I used. Design the too the way you want. Very simple user interface and make process very easy. With any experience user can use this tool

Cons:

Nothing as I am aware of as for me this is best and the way service now is improving , I have nothing what I can this as an improvement.

Hamzat
Application Support Analayst in Nigeria
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best ITSM tool

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Service now makes integrating workflow automation easy. I am able to carry out multiple IT Service management activities, ranging from incident management to Change management. it helps to aid accountability, you are able to view the work effort of each employee and the time it takes for incidents to be resolved in line with SLA. With Service now, I am able to view all task and incidents raised to my team at every particular point in time, assign them to appropriate team for resolution and also follow up on resolution. It also provides a platform where i am able to identify trends and recurring issues. The dashboard allows me to view all related activities at a glance, for me it is the best ITSM tool .

Cons:

From NON -IT user perspective, it is difficult to work around the platform, it needs etxra training to educate users on how to use it. Asides that it is a great ITSM tool.

Edrick
Process Associate in Philippines
Human Resources, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Ticketing Tool!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, this is a great software to organize and manage requests and concerns in mid to large businesses.

Pros:

This software have extensive features which allow us users to work more efficiently. Managing request and concerns of our employees has been easier because they can create raise it through chat or ticket/case in this software anytime. Communication by users and administrators have been easy because they can follow-up through the software or even via email. Dashboard also can be customized depending on the user's needs. It also has a Knowledge Base Management attached to it which allow administrators to clarify or countercheck their responses/resolutions to the tickets/cases.

Cons:

New users need to be oriented on how to navigate through this tool because it is quite confusing and intimidating to users at first.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

SaaS based enterprise ticketing, change management, and configuration management

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We use ServiceNow for managing support requests coming in to IT, for IT change management, and application configuration management. It has proven to be stable and reliable.

Pros:

The product is fairly easy to use if you are tracking and resolving service tickets or change requests. I like being able to granularly customize my dashboard.

Cons:

This is a little more complicated for things like configuration management and opening a support request (from a support provider perspective). There are just a lot of steps and a lot of information to fill out. I would recommend having a couple of ServiceNow experts who can help standardize workflows and provide training for these more complicated tasks. Also, the dashboard can get too cluttered if you let it.

Faith
Customer Service Specialists in Kenya
Farming, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

We all like timely results, try ServiceNow. It gives exactly that.

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Try ServiceNow. It has performed really well for me and gives results quickly saving time and energy.

Pros:

Am happy with ServiceNow for many reasons but the most helpful of them all is the response time. It is very quick and super active. It can manage multiple tasks at a go and still give accurate and reliable results. ServiceNow is user friendly. It's pricing is reasonable and affordable.

Cons:

ServiceNow has it all. No challenging processes or hard to understand features. Launching and implementation is simple. Am glad to be the administrator.

Troy
Software Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Lots of Features But Not Easy to Use

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with ServiceNow skews negatively because it's not easy to find what I want, the only somewhat saving grace is the built-in favorites you can save for commonly used areas.

Pros:

ServiceNow has a lot of features that are all in one place. This includes tracking incidents, requests, change controls, paging, timesheets and more. It's also quite customizable because you can create your own dashboards with whatever information you want.

Cons:

ServiceNow has a steep learning curve, and I'm not sure how necessary it is. There are a lot of features sure, but finding what you need can be very difficult at times. If I know exactly what I'm looking for, it can be easy, but if I don't remember if something was an 'Incident', Request, change, or something else, it can be very difficult for me to find. I don't see an easy way to just view everything that's assigned to me, regardless of what it is.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Excellent Incident tracking Tool

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Excellent tool and request & Incident tracking and reporting purposes

Pros:

Ease of use, User friendly and good User Interface.

Cons:

Having autorouting feature will greatly help manual assignment

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Automation platform for ticketing services.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Best overall, have been effectively working with ITSM modules and working with Incidents, problems, change , catalog items .

Pros:

The best feature I liked about its workflows, the way it is implemented in a backend process for tasks, approvals , and autopopulating required fields etc are signs of great features. Also its integration service that allows clients about their stages of requests. Also in problem tasks the way it creates a RCA ti avoid further incidents count on as great features of ServiceNow.

Cons:

The SLA is what I dislike because there are some tasks that require greater time than the expected time also in catalog items in variable type as multiple choice if we want to hide a choice it is not possible and requires DOM scripting because of which in future relaeses of new versions it could create an issue.

Uddipan
Data Engineering Manager in India
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Centralised IT services management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Experience is great as it supports many use cases needed by the organisation. API integration makes it easier to raise incidents remotely and assign it to appropriate teams. Custom forms helps to solve any access related self service needs.

Pros:

Service Now is a one stop solution for most of IT departments needs which promotes and enables Self service for several use cases. Request, incident management, approval workflows, incident reports are some of the very useful functionalities of service now.

Cons:

Sometimes UI response it bit slow which makes users to wait before form response.

Vincent
Vincent
IT service manager in US
Consumer Goods, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Really helped our team manage requests and tickets

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Great. Definitely recommend this for large businesses with multiple different departments and employees where you need to have a reasonably large IT department to hep process application requests, troubleshooting and equipment requests and more!

Pros:

The ease in which it kept track and managed IT ticket requests. You could easily see the queue and also do tons of data analytics from response times, to ticket requests per month per department, and how often tickets had to be escalated. The cloud-based platform really helps your reomte workers have access to a live database that was updated and always "correct." This was also extremely affordable for all the different capabilities it added.

Cons:

The service technicians aren't always available as spelled out in the service agreement. Luckily we didn't have issues with this often and we were able to resolve issues on our own or could wait it out until it was fixed.

Erick
IT Consultant in Canada
Information Technology & Services, 5,001–10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ServiceNow impressions and feedback

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: I use it for my job on a daily basis to create and fill incident tickets and escalate them to the proper channels if needed.

Pros:

As a cloud hosted software, it is easy to track incidents, any depreciation and assets that belongs to users.It also can be customized with multiple support options. The reports are also easily customizable and easy to understand.

Cons:

The navigation panel can be a mind-boggling experience to use plus the software does not offer On-premises features plus it is relatively expensive upcost wise.