Document Control Reviews

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Document Control

Streamline your document authoring, editing, approval, and employee sign-off processes.

Learn more about Document Control

Showing 121 reviews

Leslie S.
QA ADMIN
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/05/2018

"Do you like being organized?"

Pros: Pros: We have over 1000+ documents and MediaLab helps us stay in our CAP regulations. So many functions and the staff from MediaLab is always willing to help us out.

Cons: Cons: Sometimes MediaLab can run a little slow, I'm thinking when they have updates? Although, I'm in MediaLab everyday, all day.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/05/2018
Crystal C.
POCC
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Easy"

Comments: a one stop shop for all things competency

Pros: Very easy system to use, customer support has helped tremendously. I appreciate the quick feedback when an issue has arisen.

Cons: I really do not have any cons about the software. I guess I wish that you could bridge the gap between compass being used for POC and general lab.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Michael W.
Laboratory System Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Lab Procedures and Policy Tracking made "EASY""

Comments: With document control (if done correctly), our laboratory team can evaluate documents quickly and could identify concerns that could be used to improve the laboratory.

Pros: We enjoy the way it tracks and monitors the review and approval of documents. The flexibility of how documents can be organized. The ability to store all types of documents that could be useful for CAP Self-Inspections and CAP Inspections (Inspection Proof). We also like how the system can be used to collaborate between staff members on policies or procedures prior to sending them for approval.

Cons: The challenge was probably the initial setup. However, we were provided with good resources to help accomplish it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Amber C.
Informatics Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Great software; able to customize it almost any way you like."

Comments: Assists with managing polices & procedures. Helps out document control process become more standardized, streamlined, and paperless.

Pros: User-friendly features. The help menu on the side of the screen also helps a great deal. So easy to navigate we did not have to train staff.

Cons: Online text editors are glitchy. Advise using Word documents until text editor issues are resolved.
Wish the CE Administration Module had a backup...Would like to move orientation and training into there but there is no backups performed on it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Samantha B.
Director of Microbiology
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Makes document control easy"

Comments: The system has been easy for the staff to learn and controlled permissions provide document security. I also like the fact that all your company SOPs and worksheets are in one place!

Pros: Ability to organize the documents for easy retrieval by staff. Also the ability to keep up with timely review of documents so as to maintain compliance.

Cons: Sometimes hard to find how to control permissions and access. Can usually find it, but sometimes takes a while to get it right.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Delanda B.
Human Resource Associate
Medical Practice, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Overall the experience with MediaLab have been very informative"

Comments: The experience has been great.We use the software on a daily basis. The software helps streamline the workflow of the organization and it keeps our documents in a centralized location. Employees are able to use the current version of each document. Assigning documents by groups and individual employees is also a great benefit of this system. Being able to assign compency test so Scientists and other staff members can stay informed and current is also a great benefit.

Pros: Overall, I like the system. I enjoy assigning users to review important documents. I like the assessment field and continuing education. The system helps our company with retrieving and maintaining documents.

Cons: Too many screens and it is not easy to toggle back and forth. The Help menu is also hard to get the information that you are researching.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Jennifer T.
Director, Technical Operations & Scientific Affair
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018

"This is the best document control system that I have ever used for a laboratory."

Comments: This product simplified the review and approval process, and made true document control a reality.

Pros: Tracking of revisions and approvals is simplified by far. You can always look up retired documents for retrospective review, changes are tracked and highlighted for quick review, as are all levels of review and approvals. It's easy to get to one's to do list, and the system can be set up to send emails when there are actions for you to take.

Cons: Can't think of anything that I don't like. The vendor is responsive to requests for changes. When we have asked for changes, they have been implemented in a fairly quick timeline.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Medical Laboratory Scientist
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"It's like switching from an analog watch to a digital watch. Great tool for any lab."

Pros: The ability to digitally store, manage, and keep track of your manuals and forms is WAY better than the old method with paper. There are multiple options on editing and modifying a document. No more are the days where you need to hound your lab director, supervisor, or employees to sign a document. The software will remind that person daily and there is a comment box that will inform what changes have been made to the document. You can also link the CAP inspection checklist to the manual so inspectors have an easier time finding the checklist item in question.

Cons: There is a learning curve to understanding and using the software. Still learning different functionalities of the software as I continually update my manual.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Heather F.
Quality Assurance Manager
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"We are a small to medium business, and this solution fits our needs perfectly."

Comments: MediaLab Document Control allows EyeKor the flexibility it needs for reviewing, approving, assigning, tracking, approving controlled documents. It fits seamlessly within our existing systems.

Pros: This is an affordable, versatile solution, that aids in keeping all training documentation in compliance. EyeKor uses it to approve training documentation, SOPs, and manage project specific training. It manages all sizes of groups that needs training with easy and the needed flexibility for our company.

Cons: Sometimes there are too many ways to do things, or options to do things are buried too deep. I do not like that I can not require training on minor versions of documents. Many documents I receive externally, I cannot determine how they number, and then numbering on the document does not match the MediaLab number.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Laura M.
Director, Quality
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2016

"The software is very intuitive and the customer service is extremely responsive to suggestions."

Comments: Began using this software ~4 years ago and gave input for enhancements that were quickly implemented. Have implemented 8 facilities and have received nothing but kudos on the ease of use and intuitive functionality. When issues occur, the customer service is extremely responsive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/06/2016
Svetlana Y.
Lab manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"easy to use. Very useful"

Pros: Keeps all the documents in one place with easy 24/7 access for all users. Provides a wide variety of continuing education courses. Gives my ability to create my own courses and publish it .

Cons: I was unable to assign a policy or course to a selected individual. I can only do that by groups. Sometimes it hard to find correct report to print

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Mark L.
Admin Director of Ancillary Services
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Excellent product for the money. Saves countless managerial hours"

Comments: Time savings and peace of mind with regulatory compliance

Pros: Easy to train. Reminders are fabulous. Can assign responsibilities. Can link documents and also link policies/procedures to our regulatory requirements. All electronic

Cons: Does take a few hours of using MediaLab to get comfortable with the software. The constant barrage of e-mail messages is almost too much. Would prefer a weekly or monthly message, especially with back up reminders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Rafael A.
QC technician
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"media is ok. its gets the job done."

Comments: ease of use

Pros: The software is user friendly and easy to navigate through. Its also very straight forward for new users. I personally like that alerts it sends out to remind employees of pending assignments

Cons: I feel that the software is slow.The software takes a while to search for documents and employees . i think the search feature needs to be updated its hard to find certain SOPs , manuals, and other documents at a reasonable speed.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Tom N.
Quality Assurance Coordinator
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Simplification and Standardization"

Pros: It is relatively easy to use, and the technologists who are the frontline users really appreciate the UI and find it easy to use and navigate

Cons: The system is somewhat convoluted on the back end. I have to read each 'Available Actions' items everytime I need to perform backend work.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Callie D.
Molecular Laboratory Technologist
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Makes document organization easy."

Comments: organization and ease of use.

Pros: The ability for employees to sign off that they read documents, and the reports that are kept for that.

Cons: There are so many options, sometimes I feel like I am missing out on functionality I don't know about.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Karin I.
Manager Lab Services
Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2017

"This software has made my life much easier than it was before we purchased it."

Comments: Ease of tracking procedures from start to finish.

Pros: Automatic tracking of approvals, periodic review, staff assignments. Email and to-do list reminders. Ease of use.

Cons: Sometimes I outsmart myself by getting too fancy, e.g. use of labels or other alternate approval functions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/05/2017
Danica H.
Education Admin
Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"It is easy to use and navigate. There is a lot of white space which helps with finding functions."

Comments: A program that finally has a quick turn around time for corrections in the standard operating procedures. It also, is very easy to load other attachments and only assign the attachments/supplements of a SOP to a group or individual.

Pros: It has many functions that are specific to lab use like Medical Directors review of documents and procedures.

Cons: The access to view other department/facilities menu has to be given instead of just having all document control items viewable to all locations.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Anita C.
Quality Assurance
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017

"Easy to setup the system and lab centric"

Pros: Allows integration with other application such as Inspection proof. CLIA and CAP compliance. Allows labs with minimal resources to manage with ease.

Cons: Document collaboration process can be improved. It's nice to have track changes during approval to easily see changes from previous version. It then requires a minor revision before document is effective to accept the changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Kendra M.
Mgr Lab QA and RM
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"Makes meeting CAP standards easy"

Comments: easier CAP inspections

Pros: Ability to manage all lab documents, obtain electronic approvals, obtain electronic employee sign offs, maintain archived/retired documents, reminder for overdue policies, streamlines process for managing p/p for larger multi-hospital system

Cons: it's not interfaced with out HR solution to sync passwords and usernames with what is used for all other systems we use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Meredith H.
Compliance
Biotechnology, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2018

"Great way to stay organized"

Comments: We are readying for a CAP inspection and this tool has helped tremendously to keep us organized.

Pros: The best thing about this software is having one place for all of your documents, and an easy way to track who has read them. I like that you can restrict printing so there are no unauthorized copies floating around the business.

Cons: I find some of the interface a little challenging to use - like the home page isn't totally intuitive. I end up using the search functions more than I normally would because things aren't laid out in a way that makes them easy to find.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/09/2018
Rose F.
Med Tech QA and Billing
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018

"Find it very useful to keep track of documents and meet regulatory requirements for timely reviews."

Comments: Easy way to track documents

Pros: Easily accessible at the bench. space is limited in our lab, so being able to keep documents electronically is a big plus. Especially in Chemistry - no large unwieldy binders to keep on the bench. Also like the feature that requires staff to sign off on procedures when they are updated. It holds them accountable for changes, and is useful in coaching or disciplinary opportunities since you can point out that they signed off, and are thus responsible for knowing where to find information.

Cons: Somewhat time consuming to set up, but once set up its pretty easy to maintain. Would be nice if the uncontrolled copies had a expiration date of 24 hrs on them. Would keep people from hoarding them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/05/2018
Roland F.
Supervisor/Education Coordinator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018

"I use the software extensively to train our students and CLS staff"

Pros: The courses offered are comprehensive and excellent quality. We are a teaching hospital and we train CLS students in our laboratory, the ability to create our own custom courses thru Coursebuilder is a great tool for teaching.

Cons: Website navigation is not intuitive. It takes familiarity with the software to find information. We use Document Control for our procedures and it is not that easy to search a topic or procedure. Layout is confusing sometimes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2018
Reid H.
Histology Manager
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018

"MediaLab is great for document control, continuing education, and readiness for inspections!"

Pros: For the money, you can't beat MediaLab!
I like that it was developed by lab professionals instead of some

Cons: I don't like the limitations with other browsers. You pretty much have to use IE for best results
I don't like the way they handle customer support. I prefer talking with someone on the phone over email.
I don't care for the way you cant just click on a line on a document; It is an image. If you want to click on the actual document, you have to download it for editing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/05/2018
Theresa B.
Director, Cytogenetics Laboratory
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2018

"My opinion on medialab experience"

Comments: I have had good help from the company, but I think a couple of days with one of one together at your lab/site would be much more helpful for a small lab like I have.

Pros: I like that it is a good system for the price and aids in regulatory requirements for doc control

Cons: I am learning this system on my own and don't have a lot of time to devote to it and learn it all in one sitting. It is not as simple to set up as I thought it would be.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2018
Zane A.
Chief, Hematology Lab Section
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Easy, Practical and Customizable Electronic Document Management System at a Great Value"

Comments: We have been transitioning from an older system using word documents kept in a secure drive. MediaLab has offered the ability to collaborate on document revisions, securely track document changes, and feel more assured that only the most current version of each document is in use. We can also see at-a-glance what documents exist as approved, in-review or needing update and can see usage reports to know which are most valuable. Feedback from custom quiz success rates allows us to improve how documents (or quizzes) are written. The system also allows for remote access, which is essential to making it available wherever you are that has internet connectivity.

Pros: MediaLab is an easy-to-learn and robust, yet simple-to-use and maintain electronic document management system. It simplifies the document control process and allows users a variety of paths to manage their laboratory documents, including policies, processes and procedures, forms references and much more. The user interface is intuitive, and allows users to quickly access the information that they need through searchable documents. The software keeps track of previous document versions and actions, optionally allows the printing of controlled copies and makes document approval and review a snap. There is also an option to generate customizable quizzes that can be used to verify personnel have read the salient points of each new or revised document and this can double in its use as a part of competency assessment. Site management is also intuitive and comes with extensive accessible help for those with minimal background in website management. The downloadable back-ups are invaluable. The customer service has been outstanding! If you need an easy-to-use, practical and customizable electronic document management system at a great value, I highly recommend this product.

Cons: Nothing! If I had one wish for this product, it would be to expand its functionality with portable tablet devices. That could make it even easier to keep at the testing bench.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018