15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About SimpleMDM

Cloud-based mobile device management solution that provides businesses with tools to manage macOS, tvOS, and iOS devices.

Learn more about SimpleMDM

Pros:

SimpleMDM offers great visibility, device management and device control.

Cons:

Not many I can think of. Having a “device” name and simple mdm name is a little confusing.

SimpleMDM ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.8

Likelihood to recommend

8.8/10

SimpleMDM has an overall rating of 4.8 out 5 stars based on 40 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used SimpleMDM before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (40)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great device management tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: SimpleMDM has been a lifesaver to manage our large amount of devices deployed to customers.

Pros:

SimpleMDM has been a fantastic tool to use to manage the thousand of devices we have deployed in the field. The features to customize the different components required for our deployment are amazing. SimpleMDM offers great visibility, device management and device control.

Cons:

Nothing really to complain about the software. Customer support has been responsive to all our queries, which are usually related to third parties changing device's features.

Jeanne
Marketing in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Easy Mobile Device Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Really good, it does everything we need, I've been happy with the software.

Pros:

SimpleMDM was easy to set up and easy to use. When I have a questions someone always gets back to me with an answer.

Cons:

sometimes I wish I could get support on the phone rather than email.

Chad
Manager, IT in US
Wholesale, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

It's a solid product, but a few small changes would make it awesome.

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: It's cheaper than mobileIron or Airwatch. Mostly, this allows us to more easily manage DEP enrolled iOS devices.

Pros:

Cheap, intuitive, basic features are very easy to use. Support is quick to respond and offers helpful advice/solutions.

Cons:

To be awesome: For the love of god fix your UI - please.... The Groups should be collapsible. Exports should be able to contain everything (the group field is missing) and there's no filter/modification/selection on group view. Also, nothing can be copied, so multiple similar groups have to be created and then re-created by hand. To be better than awesome (better than Airwatch/MobileIron): The only big things we'd love to see is more control over user rights in order to assign tech staff to manage SimpleMDM without full access to all of the SimpleMDM, filter access to device groups, filter access to SimpleMDM controls/device commands. The addition of file management on the iOS platform? That is, let us push files to the device for their ibooks or icloud drive environment. Also, a backup via simplemdm to grab txts, contacts, pictures, etc... when moving a user to new hardware? Sync to AD - pull in user data to be assigned to the device (email, contact information, etc...) Allow sending messages to a whole group instead of just one device at a time. Allow the enabling of "Automatic" updates when new versions of iTunes Store applications are available to users.

PDQ Response

6 years ago

Thanks for providing your feedback, Chad. We have taken it into account. The devices view has been updated to solve the problems you mentioned. We've also added admin permission classes, the ability to message groups of devices in one action, and automatic app updates. Thank you for your continued business!

Douglas
Romania
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best management option for our mobile workforce

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: Our company sells customer loyalty software and services. Our most popular product is a mobile app and iPad combination that retailers place at their registers, allowing these retailers to incentivize their customers to shop with them often. The service we offer is fully managed, meaning we develop the software, deploy and maintain the iPads running the software, and handle all other service and maintenance activities. We currently manage in the neighborhood of 750 devices. We initially used Apple Configurator for our management platform and later moved to Cisco Meraki. After continued issues with their buggy platform, I began an in-depth process of reviewing other MDM solutions. They were Apple Profile Manager
JAMF Casper Suite
JAMF Bushel
SimpleMDM
Air-Watch
MobileIron
In brief, MobileIron and Air-Watch were a nightmare to use (check the web for similar sentiment). Casper Suite, while better, still had an outdated interface based on Java that didn't deliver a great experience. Apple Profile Manager required that we manage the server ourselves, which we preferred not to do. JAMF Bushel had a much newer looking interface than JAMF Casper Suite, but seemed more oriented toward the small office environment of 20 devices or less. The interface quickly became unruly and the configuration options too general and limited as we got going. SimpleMDM has a new-age webby look and feel much like JAMF Bushel displayed. In addition, the feature set fit our deployment needs much better. Bushel doesn't allow enteprise app deployment but SimpleMDM does. Bushel isn't feature rich when it comes to supervised device functionality, SimpleMDM is. What tipped the scale for me in the end was the friendliness and willingness to help that I experienced with the SimpleMDM staff. We had an issue with our push certificate that ultimately turned out to be due to a misstep of my own. Their staff was extremely helpful in resolving the issue, offering to retrieve old data backups they had to recover a certificate I had deleted. In these days of relatively anonymous software as a service transactions, it was a joy to learn that one of our vendors has our backs. We've been with SimpleMDM for almost eight months now and I am very satisfied with my selection.

Jason
CIO in US
Wholesale, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Got Love how simple it is.

5.0 last year

Comments: So far I never even needed to contact support.

Pros:

I like that I can crotrol all aspects of the iphones.

Cons:

Wish certificate didn't need renewal. But I think it required by apple

Connor
Operational Support Specialist in US
Management Consulting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SimpleMDM - a simple, yet powerful tool for management.

5.0 last year

Comments: I cannot stress enough how much SimpleMDM has helped us. With our continued growth, roll out of new software and growing needs, SimpleMDM meets and goes beyond our needs and expectations,

Pros:

SimpleMDM has changed our day to day work flow for administration of Mac users. Coming from manually tracking and managing software, devices and all other data that comes along with that, SimpleMDM completely blew my mind. The fact that almost anything can be automated - from device enrollment to software installs, this has saved myself and team countless hours.

Cons:

There hasn't been much I feel that the software is missing. It is very straight forward and support is great when we have questions. Perhaps a built in command to reset users passwords?

Lawrence
Network Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Take control of your IOS Fleet of devices

5.0 last year

Pros:

As the name implies it has an easy learning curve to become familiar with the features, it is "Simple".

Cons:

Sometimes when Apple changes something in their Business portal it breaks the link between SimpleMDM and Apple Business which requires intervention to resolve.

Robby
Mobility Engineer in US
Management Consulting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

It just works

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: We're an outsourced US-based outsourced IT firm with clients in the medical space. I initially used Meraki to manage one of our clients but had all sorts of problems. Apps not deploying when they should, configurations not working, and devices that stopped responding after about a month. When we needed MDM for two other customers, I decided to try SimpleMDM instead. I had zero problems with our deployment and was happy to find that they had more functionality than Meraki. Sure, Meraki had some document management feature called backpack, but it was too few features to even be suitable for document needs and we had to use Dropbox anyway. I like SimpleMDM because the price is competitive, it just works and I feel that I'm using the best in breed product in the MDM space. Just make sure you don't need to support Android. They just do Apple at the moment (and do it well)!

Pros:

See above. Also, very technically adept support.

Cons:

Nothing at the moment.

Stephen
IT manager in US
Individual & Family Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Simple MDM (perfect name)

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Very positive. Great slack channel support

Pros:

It’s simple. Coming from profile manager on apple server this was a pleasant upgrade.

Cons:

Not many I can think of. Having a “device” name and simple mdm name is a little confusing

Charles
IT Director in Canada
Automotive, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good Product for a Good Price

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall I think the product is usable, but could use some documentation improvement. The FAQs are good, and support used to be EXCELLENT, but now it is so-so... It can take a full day to get an email response, and many of the guides are not very clear. Once you figure it out, it works fine...

Pros:

The responsiveness of the management software to the end device is probably one of my favorite things. If a user calls me and says that they need an app or an update for an app installed, it happens nearly instantly.

Cons:

Many features are heavily dependent on a cumbersome enrollment (DEP) if you buy your own devices, the SimpleMDM App running and having MANUAL permissions set up (location), and some features simply do not work as you would expect. The learning curve is also pretty steep.

Garrett
CEO in US
Consumer Goods, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Made managing 60+ Apple products easy

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We are able to remotely manage 60+ apple devices from one application. We can push all software and limit settings easily on each computer. The location tracking is ideal for lost or stolen devices. We have used the remote lockout feature many times.

Cons:

There are no cons about this software, it has been very easy to use.

Dan
Sr. Developer in US
Internet, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SimpleMDM makes managing macs a breeze

5.0 last year

Comments: SimpleMDM cut down our deployment times from like an hour to basically nothing. Open the box, login, you're done. With everyone moving to remote work, this stuff has been critical for letting us stay on top of managing our fleet.

Pros:

I loved the fact it basically provides all of the functionality of a JAMF setup without me having to own and manage a server.

Cons:

The UI can be confusing at times. More contextual help would be nice.

Greg
IT Specialist in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great software to control company phones/pads.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Controlling company devices

Pros:

The ease of use of setting phones and pads up with the software. Easy way to control devices, push out apps or remove along with preventing users to users to download un-needing apps.

Cons:

More options needed to prevent users from using their devices as hotspots. The apps purchased from Apple VPP have been increasingly long in showing-up in available apps to push to devices.

PDQ Response

6 years ago

Hi Greg- Thanks for your feedback! Please contact our support channel for help with any app delays you are seeing. It may be an iOS issue that we can help with.

Armen
CTO in New Zealand
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great software

5.0 last year

Pros:

Simplemdm is easy to use and customise for our needs. We're also happy with the reliability and customer service. Support emails are typically responded to within 24hrs.

Cons:

Lacking SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certifications.

Charles
Network Administrator in US
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Excellent MDM Solution

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: SimpleMDM is a easy-to-use MDM solution for many needs. We have a small deployment (<100 devices) and SimpleMDM allows us to effectively manage these devices easily. It is feature packed and works great with Apple's DEP program.

Pros:

Easy to use and very economical

Cons:

Documentation is difficult to find

PDQ Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the review, Charles! Sorry to hear that it's been tough to track down the documentation. For future reference, our administrator documentation is available at http://support.simplemdm.com. The "Planning Your Deployment" chapter is particularly useful during the early stages. If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact our support staff. We'll get right back to you.

Greg
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and has all of the features I needed.

5.0 8 years ago

Comments: I've tried a few different MDMs. Airwatch: I can tell there's a lot of functionality here but it's such a pain to use. I had to make so many clicks just to get to what I needed to get to. I had a hard time finding the features I wanted. The process to get pricing was also a pain. Meraki: Much like Airwatch it was painful to get pricing. I had to sit through three phone conferences with Cisco representatives before they'd tell me what it would cost. The tool was less confused than Airwatch but felt like a side-show. I'm pretty sure Cisco acquired this company and blended it in with some of their other products. It feels fragmented. Bushel: Much easier to use, but I had problems with it not always working. Sometimes devices wouldn't update. The interface is nice, but it was missing a lot of features, too. SimpleMDM: Easy to use like Bushel and had all of the features I needed. They also have an API which we plan to use to automate some tasks at our company. Their pricing was also competitive, though really, I'd pay a premium to use them because they were the only solution that was really easy to use and worked for our requirements. Support seemed prompt the two times that I've used it. Only quip is that I'm hoping they add some of the iOS 9.3 features soon, though no other MDMs have yet either.

Emma
Project Manager in US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Well thought out app deployment. Nice support staff.

4.0 8 years ago

Comments: We develop iOS apps and use SimpleMDM to push them to devices that we provide for our customers. SimpleMDM has proven to be a reliable, easy way for us to do this. We used Meraki in the past (before it was owned by Cisco) but found it to be unreliable. A lot of the time apps would never show up. The interface was obtuse, too. Glad to be off of it. The interface of SimpleMDM is easy enough for most of our team to use so we all have access to the account. Pushing updates is easy too. Web interface is clean and snappy. We ran into an issue about a month ago where we couldn't get an app to deploy properly. I contacted support and was impressed with the technical know-how of the support staff. They dug into our app binary and found that we had inadvertently used an app version format that isn't supported by Apple. I can't imagine how long it would of taken us hitting our heads against the table to figure that out. SimpleMDM includes an app that can track the location of the devices in your account. It's a nice feature to have since most of our devices are in our customer's hands. The tracking unfortunately stops working if the app is deleted. It'd be nice if there was a way to track location within SimpleMDM similar to how "Find My iPhone" works, even if the app were deleted.

David
Systems Administrator in US
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

MDM functionaility at a great price

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

Enrolling process is simple and straightforward Cost per device is cheap Management of enrolled devices is simple and straightforward

Cons:

The initial account setup can be a tad daunting. When I first starting enrolling devices I was a bit lost and enrolled a few devices incorrectly. I had to some searching of my own to finally get the devices to enroll correctly. It's all good now though. A+

Steve
General Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

User Friendly

5.0 last year

Comments: great and easy to use

Pros:

Very easy to use and navigate as a self taught user.

Cons:

Nothing that I can think of at the moment, it has satisfied all of our expectations

Yuriy
Operations Manager in Hong Kong
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Reasonably easy to use for a less experienced user

4.0 last year

Comments: Easy to use when everything works, when it doesn't get ready to dive into "how to" guides.

Pros:

Considering I was not involved in deployment or at any point of setting it up, and only stepped in as admin at a later stage it was relatively easy to use and learn the basics

Cons:

you need to have good understanding of deployment of managed devices and fixing issues that may arise, when some complex situations come up. Customer service is quick to reply and follow up but you need to dive into guides yourself.

Erick
Director in US
Consumer Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

My Review

4.0 last year

Pros:

Unit tracking and automated sw updates....

Cons:

Tracking is not consistent, on some units, turn off by itself after period of time

Steven
Chief Operating Officer in US
Law Enforcement, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The Best Bang for Your Buck iOS MDM solutions out there!

5.0 7 years ago

Pros:

SimpleMDM really is simple. It's got a robust feature set that is easy to get up and running. We have 17 iPhones managed by SimpleMDM. This is a great option in a very crowded field.

Cons:

SimpleMDM could have a batter UI and UX. It's not bad, but it's not super intuitive either. Also, I'd like to see jailbreak detection built in.

Luke
IT Support Manager in UK
Consumer Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SimpleMDM for Mac OSX

5.0 last year

Pros:

The ability to remotely link and deploy a MacBook has been a lifesaver, especially for Farewill where we support remote working even for new starters.Without it, I'd undoubtedly have to do a lot more travelling and it'd be much less of a seamless experience for our users.

Cons:

While new to SimpleMDM, I'm still wrapping my head around deploying some software that isn't quite "off the shelf" and it's not immediately obvious to me what needs to be done, and where but I have no doubt I'll get better with time.

Michael
COO in US
Medical Devices, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

SimpleMDM Review

5.0 last year

Comments: Excellent. I was involved in selecting this tool, setting it up, administering it and interacting as an end user. Overall we love it.

Pros:

We like the ease of use as it's very intuite and it's accuerate and reliable.

Cons:

It's excellent and could only be better if it also supported android products to cover all the tools used by our employees. That of course is not the focus of this tool.

Rocco
Software Engineer in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

SimpleMDM is truly simple!

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We previously used Meraki's complex MDM system and were continuously faced with problem after problem because of issues on their side. Not to mention the over-complicated interface they use. It was truly a breath of fresh air after we moved to Simple. The complexity was thrown out the window, and they still provider a strong number of features, including remote enrollment. We still miss a couple of features that Meraki provides (Out-of-the-box geolocating instead of having to download an app to track them) but overall Simple has been an awesome company to work with. Not to mention Simple's price point is less than half of that of Meraki's, and the customer service is fast, friendly, and intelligent.
Moving to SimpleMDM was the best mobile deployment solution decision we've made!

Pros:

Easy to use, cheap, excellent support.

Cons:

Some limitations on features.

PDQ Response

7 years ago

Thanks for the kind words, Rocco! Feel free to submit enhancement requests on our feature request portal. The link to it is available under the support section within SimpleMDM. We actively monitor it and it does influence our development roadmap.