About Aha!

Aha! is the world's #1 product development software — trusted by 600,000+ product builders from companies of all sizes.

Learn more about Aha!

Pros:

Combined with the excellent integration options, I would recommend evaluating Aha! whether you are a startup or looking to upgrade the PM function.

Cons:

Often I'll need to completely refresh the page before I see my changes in the UI so it makes things a bit slower to use.

Aha! ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Service
4.9
Features
4.7
Value for Money
4.6

Likelihood to recommend

9.1/10

Aha! has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 474 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Aha! before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (474)

David
David
CPO/CTO in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Facilities Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I will use this software for the rest of my career. It's worth every penny.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: If you've used developer-centric tools (Jira, for example), you know that they may be great for tracking stories and sprints, but they have very limited support (if any) for tracking the actual thought process in coming up with those stories. Either they don't have enough levels of hierarchy, or they try to get away with tags for everything. This is the first product that I've every used that has a structured methodology and design approach to evaluating your goals as a company / department; figuring out what initiatives support those goals; further breaking the initiatives down into master features (sometimes called Epics in other packages), and then individual features (stories). It also generates beautiful roadmaps, and has a transformational scorecard feature that lets you set up the criteria that matter, then rate all of your features, then calculate a score so you have a definitive order in which to do things.

Pros:

The comprehensiveness of this software is incredible. It has almost everything you can possibly conceive of when building nearly any type of product or service. It helps you organize, plan, communicate, rate, rank, document, and create everything you need, except the actual software code (but you can just assign the stories to your dev team, and/or sync to another product). It also empowers you to have the conversations with stakeholders to figure out truly what's important (as opposed to the endless chorus of "it's all important"). I wish I would have known about this years ago.

Cons:

The single largest missing feature is OKR support. There are goals and metrics, but not a structured way to do OKRs for products/teams. But there is also plenty of other software in the world that does it. We did struggle a bit with the integration with Jira, but that's largely because of Jira deficiencies.

Verified Reviewer
Product Manager in Japan
Verified LinkedIn User
Automotive, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Full featured, as deep as you need it to be

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

There is so much here. It is made my product managers for product managers. And as product management has so many variations in practice, this tool is configurable to suit pretty much all practices, processes and workflows.

Cons:

The ability to customize is initially overwhelming, and its difficult to make sure all things are considered before configuring for deployment. Theres simply too much to learn. There are also certain things like workspace prefixes that once set and used, cannot be changed. So don't make any mistakes when configuring!

Aha! Labs Response

2 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We know every organization is unique so it is great to hear how Aha! is able to fit your team's specific workflows. I am sorry to hear you found customizations to be overwhelming at first. You may be interested to read our support articles (https://www.aha.io/support/suite/suite/customizations) regarding how to customize Aha! to match your organization's workflow and terminology. If you ever need any help at all, our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions you may have.

gary
Product Manager in UK
Telecommunications, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Knowing me Knowing you....

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Nice software...only used it for a short time but would be interested to try again...support were really helpful and knowledgable.

Pros:

User interface was really nice...easy to use, intuitive and still feature rish

Cons:

Permissions were difficult, customisation was difficult

Aha! Labs Response

last month

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry to hear you found customizations difficult. You may be interested to read our support articles (https://www.aha.io/support/suite/suite/customizations) regarding how to customize Aha! software to match your organization's workflow and terminology. If you try Aha! again and ever need any help at all, our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions you may have ([email protected]).

Matt
Manager in US
Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Aha is a great way to manage the product portfolio

5.0 4 months ago

Comments: Aha provides a place to capture our entire portfolio in one place and allows independent support of each business division. This is enabling enhanced planning dialogue and greater transparency throughout our organization. We use it to model and support our value stream which makes it easy to ascertain current information about the disposition of each feature. This, in turn, informs better decision making. Also, on the rare occasion when we do need support, the team at Aha is always responsive and always very helpful. And the tool is always available and stable and has not left us hanging at any critical moments

Pros:

the flexibility/configurability is the best thing about Aha. It can be configured to match business processes and needs and does not force adherence to any particular process. The diverse needs across our entire business portfolio are supported.

Cons:

understanding "the lay of the land" within the tool is always a little confusing for my new users. Some expect to have hand-holding type navigation, but that is not this tool. A few minutes to show them the basics usually gets them up and running.

Aha! Labs Response

last month

Hi Matt, Thank you for your positive review! I am so glad that the flexibility of Aha! Roadmaps means our software can fully support your needs. For new users, we have a great overview on getting started with Aha! Roadmaps (https://www.aha.io/support/roadmaps/strategic-roadmaps/introduction/get-started-with-aha). As always if you ever need any help at all, our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions you may have ([email protected]).

Sam
Sam
Product Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Aha moments around every corner

5.0 last week New

Comments: Ability to produce a roadmap for the first time in company history while integrating that with Aha Develop for targeted sprints which has increased delivery time and quality of each release. The ideas portal has also been crucial to our business and engagement with our users.

Pros:

It is user friendly while being extremely robust as you get deeper into the functionality. So far I've found that almost everything is possible in Aha and sometimes just takes a little thought on how you want to achieve it that will fit your organization.

Cons:

I can't say there is anything that I don't like about this software. We're in the middle tier package and anything I would mention here is included in the highest tier.

James
James
Sr. Business Systems Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fantastic tool and even better people behind it

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Aha has been fantastic for our organization. We are better able to work together as a team, and communicate timelines. Collaboration is foundational to Aha, and it's supported while also allowing flexibility for different groups to operate on their own terms. It's possible to produce dozens of powerful visualizations when data is captured, and that opens many doors.

Cons:

It has been a challenge incorporating the breadth of Aha capabilities into our regular processes. We are probably using 20-30% of what Aha can do, but we have already seen significant value from our limited adoption.

Aha! Labs Response

last month

Hi James, Thank you for sharing such a positive review. And for letting us know how your organization has benefited from using Aha! Our extensive knowledge base (https://www.aha.io/support) is a great tool for learning how to use all the valuable capabilities. We also have a responsive team ready to help ([email protected]). If you or your team prefer, we do offer great training sessions led by Aha! experts. You can find more information here: https://www.aha.io/academy.

Giles
VP Product Operations in UK
Logistics & Supply Chain, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Aha! Onboarding and Implementation

4.0 last month New

Comments: Extremely positive interaction with Aha! overall. We're still finding our way and really appreciate the support that's available with our subscription.

Pros:

Very flexible where anything and everything is possible. Onboarding process and ongoing support is first class where all contact has been professional and effective, Aha! employees way of working very collaborative and helpful.

Cons:

Difficult to find any cons. It has been somewhat challenging to interpret some of the support documentation in relation to our specific requirements i.e you don't know what you don't know and there aren't always answers in the documentation. Also need a SME level resource to design and configure some of the functionality.

Aha! Labs Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Giles, Many thanks for sharing your review. It's great to hear how you have experienced the flexibility and value that Aha! delivers. I am glad you have had great interactions with our Customer Success team! We love receiving feedback on how we can improve our support documentation so if you have any specific questions that our knowledge base does not address please do not hesitate to reach out at [email protected]

Sydnee
Program Manager in US
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Aha! is a great tool and their customer support is exceptional!

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Pros:

Aha! is an easy to use tool that has everything your company would need! Aha! allows users to work together as a team and collaborate. The customer support team has always answered every question that I have quickly and efficiently. They are very knowledgeable and professional.

Cons:

My only con would be trying to understand all of the capabilities.

Aha! Labs Response

2 weeks ago

Hi Sydnee, Thank you for your positive review! It is great to hear how Aha! is helping your organization achieve success. I see you have also already received some great support! As always if you need any help in the future our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions you may have at [email protected]

Amanda
Product Owner in Australia
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Everything you need for creating roadmaps

5.0 last month New

Pros:

you have everything you need to create roadmaps. i really like the roadmap templates, features board and feature scorecard

Cons:

there's a lot of functionality and linking between features/tasks you can create, it's a bit confusing sometimes

Aha! Labs Response

3 weeks ago

Hi Amanda, Thank you for sharing such a positive review. It great to know that you have everything you need! If questions come up about any functionality, we have an extensive knowledge base (https://www.aha.io/support) and a responsive team ready to help. Our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions you may have at [email protected]

Jose
Product Manager in Mexico
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Very Good Tech Support

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

The tech support is fast and helpful. Could restore some items that had been deleted for more than 3 weeks.

Cons:

The Enhancements board is gone in recent updates.

Ryan
Senior Business Analyst in US
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Finally A Product Management Application That Solves All Needs

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: From the moment our trial started, I was impressed by the software and support we were provided. We weren't provided a sales pitch to later lead to a demo with no direction as is the case with most new application onboarding. Our sales person was also our technical advisor with a background in product management. They were able to answer all questions during our initial call. They demoed the product as it related to our experiences. And, they provided technical support throughout our trial. It truly was an excellent experience.

Pros:

Aha! solves nearly every need we have for product management. It easily integrates with systems we've found difficult to connect in the past and it provides a straightforward, easy-to-use interface for stakeholders to provide Ideas and Requirements. One or both of these have been a major struggle for other applications we've tested. On top of this, Aha! provides a structure to our product management and future roadmap that we've not had in the past. This is important as a single user may work across multiple workspaces managing a multitude of products.

Cons:

If you are not familiar with the technical setup, there are some complexities to work through, especially if integrating with other systems. However, once done correctly, these integrations work flawlessly. Also, if you are new to agile product management or you've never worked in a rigid product roadmap structure in the past, there is a learning curve. With this said, once learned, it will make you a better product manager while making you far more productive.

Aha! Labs Response

last month

Hi Ryan, Many thanks for sharing your review. I am so glad to hear that our Customer Success team was able to help you get set up. Every member of our customer success team has deep product management expertise — and our primary purpose is to increase the happy use of Aha! products. We are available 24/7 and respond to everyone globally within a couple of hours. Please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected] if you have any other questions.

Greg
Greg
Founder in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Sports, Self Employed
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

So glad to have finally found and settled on Aha! Quite aptly named!

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: This is one of the slickest, most beautiful, well-thought-out, powerful, and extensible tools I've ever seen. It took a while to get all settled into exactly how it fits in with my needs, but the documentation AND customer support were second-to-none during the trial to help me get there. Once I did...wow, it's slick and powerful.

Pros:

I loved so many things about Aha!, but probably the most important thing was my ability to manage and prioritize a LOT of my product's features that can also be tied to Epics, Storys, Initiatives, and Goals in a very slick and powerful interface.

Cons:

The product becomes cost-prohibitive, especially for startups, if you wish to use the "Develop" side of the product as well as the "Roadmap" side. For some reason, you need to step up to an extremely expensive Enterprise version, which makes little sense as smaller companies would of course want to use sprint planning and many other critical lower-level engineering and development features. The trials only allow one or the other, not both (without a very confusing experience), which seems odd for the same reason.

Aha! Labs Response

last month

Hi Greg, Thank you for your positive review! It is great to hear how Aha! is helping your organization achieve success. Good news on the trial front — you can enable a trial of Aha! Develop within your Aha! Roadmaps account to experience both tools together. If you are interested, please don't hesitate to send us a note at [email protected] Our Customer Success team are all former product managers and would love to answer any questions.

Bastian
Bastian
Product Management Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

An Amazing Tool to Align Strategy and Execution for Product Management

5.0 last year

Comments: Great experience from setup to use. Fanatical customer support and the fact that they follow their founders "Lovability" mantra (within 95% ;-) It has made me successful in helping companies tie product execution to company strategy. AHA tools usually create artifacts to help keep all stakeholders aligned.

Pros:

Any organization that wants to be thoughtful, deliberate, and wants to link everything they build to the reason WHY they are building it should use this tool. It takes energy and effort to adopt, but the results are amazing. Every feature and release can be linked to a strategic element. In fact, what you are getting with AHA is not only a tool, but a best-practices thought model for product management (this can be challenging to implement but the rewards are high if you get through it. A key benefit is that once created, roadmaps and reports stay FRESH, meaning all changes to dates of features and releases are instantly reflected in your roadmaps and reports. No more updating Excel rows where cells are months!! Last but not least, their support is second-to-none!

Cons:

While I really like AHA overall, the UI has many challenges. There are many inconsistencies (some places have a save, other autosave, some screens have a URL, others don't, some settings can be applied to everything at once, others have to be set manually one-by-one). Also for a single page app, it often struggles with refresh after edit more than it should in 2021.

Rekha
Portfolio Director for Insurance Solutions Group in US
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent tool for product innovation and management

5.0 last year

Comments: I love that Aha! Customer teams are focused on customer success. They provide exceptional support and their knowledge center is outstanding! Every Aha customer support interaction has been quick, and addressed to satisfaction. All employees seem like they are experienced and well trained and respectful/professional.

Pros:

The roadmap functionality and features, ideas portal and the ability to create dynamic presentation are key features that have been critical to our product teams. I like that we can connect the strategy of our business, goals and mission at the function and feature level. The UI is easy and intuitive and connecting to Jira is a huge plus for our collaboration with solutions engineering teams.

Cons:

SAFe methodology is not completely implemented - although we have found ways to engineer it to fit our organizational maturity in adoption of SAFe

Ajinkya
Ajinkya
Chief Marketing Officer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Market Research, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Convenient Tool for Product Managers, Aha!

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Aha! is no doubt a sophisticated tool for driving product strategy, sharing your roadmap, and detailing features. It's very flexible and configurable so it requires a little while to get fluent with everything it may possibly do, and be aware of the best workflow patterns with it. That said, once you discover your groove it gets much more easily. Pricing is also in the premium end of the market, particularly for smaller companies, but you do tend to obtain what you pay off.

Pros:

Aha! offers a comprehensive range of strategies for managing the entire product management and marketing cycle. I began using product development tools like Jira and then VersionOne, but they both appeared and functioned as if they were developed on purpose and eventually evolved into product management tools. None of them were in charge of product marketing. It was clear from the moment a fellow CTO introduced me to Aha! that this tool was explicitly designed to handle the full scope of product management. The governance features that assist product owners in focusing on the business plan and priorities also aid in the definition of product strategies to achieve those objectives. Customer personas assist the development team in remaining customer-centric. Our product owners enjoy working with feature development because they get to decide both how the features should function and how feature delivery should be prioritised. The Aha! Score, which can be customised, helps to balance value with development costs. Contributors are encouraged to request functionality, and the review process ensures that the promotion (or lack thereof) of a concept to a feature is transparent. Executive management and the board of directors expect product roadmaps to include information in an accessible format and Aha! has delivered efficiently so far.

Cons:

The tool is extremely effective, with numerous features that make it simple to build a complex puzzle that occupies all of your time, causing you to lose track of the original goal: efficiently produce a product that meets consumer standards and business objectives. Keeping the model easy necessitates discipline. Aha! is so powerful and so customizable that it took me a while to figure out how best to apply it to my particular situations and challenges. That said, their amazing customer success team has been and continues to work patiently and diligently to help me make the most out of it.

Alicia
Alicia
Product Implementation Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Using Aha! for Project Management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall I am very satisfied with the product and customer service.

Pros:

I like the flexibility to create and modify schedules and reports. I can create tasks for team members and Aha! sends them reminders (upcoming and past due). I manage business operations projects and this feature has been very helpful and has eliminated my having to chase down most tasks. I like the feature to create various reports with multiple slices of data/views for different purposes by just adding or removing filters vs. building something from scratch. Customer support is top notch. Someone always gets back to me within a couple of hours if not sooner whenever I reach out with questions or requesting help.

Cons:

This software is complex, IMO not very intuitive and has a steep learning curve. There are tutorials that are very helpful and walk you through most everything you can think of, but it takes time to watch them and/or read. Once you get past the initial phase of learning the software and features you need, you will love it.

Kim
Technology Project Manager in US
Media Production, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Fantastic Support & Quick Start Up

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The exceptional Support Team has made all the difference in how we've been able to effectively use Aha! to manage projects. They REALLY do respond in a couple hours, the chat function is fantastic for quick questions, and it's very easy to schedule time to talk through more complex topics. The quality of the knowledge base, video tutorials and regularly offered trainings are the best I've experienced. Behind all that is a knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful team of Support folks.

Pros:

Aha! provides a comprehensive set of tools to allow our teams to track work from an initial thought through to completion. Using Aha! we managed an extremely complex software implementation with multiple integrations and were able to track the work at varying levels of detail while always knowing status. Aha!'s My Work dashboard, assignment and commenting capabilities ensured our team members, with minimal effort, could readily identify their work, call out and address roadblocks and communicate progress. Team members who are more interested in doing the work than saying what work they did are converts to the value of Aha!, praising searchability, ease of use and a central repository for all the critical information.

Cons:

Determining the workspace structure proved challenging for us and we are still trying to decide what's the right configuration. Still, there's really no wrong way to set it up and the flexibility and adaptability of the product will allow us to evolve our structure to meet our evolving organization's needs.

Lisa
Technical Product Manager in US
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Offers room to grow in to

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall Aha! is a very well documented and supported product. The support I've received both over the phone and via email has been great - they really do have experienced product managers available to answer technical questions as well as talk about implementation details/best practices (note: they will make you schedule an appointment if you need to go to the level of screen share...I struggled with that at first but I think it's a gentle way of teaching folks to fish...as most questions can be answered if you take the time to read the documentation). We have also had a good response on a couple of key feature requests which I was impressed by given our modest account size.

Pros:

What has been most useful to us is the ability to let the respective teams remain in their tools of choice while being able to knit together an end to end picture from top-level goals down to the execution of features and go to market activity. The pre-built integrations to Salesforce, Zendesk, GitHub, Slack, and Asana made linking the picture together across our org a pretty light lift.

Cons:

We struggled with the UI here and there as well as getting folks fully up to speed on the available capabilities/best practices as it is feature-rich. Our approach was an incremental deployment starting in the middle of the data model. If I had a chance to do it again, I would start at the top with clear goals, vision and a focus on capturing product strategy details and then move down through the initiatives and into tracking the implementation details via releases/epics/features. Some of the new enterprise + features around collecting customer feedback are pretty interesting.

Peggy
Product Manager in US
Real Estate, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best end-to-end product management tool on the market!

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Aha! is a complete end-to-end product management solution that has the capability to organize features using simple-to-complex org hierarchies while simultaneously promoting product management best practices. There were many areas in which Aha! outshined other tools: application stability, overall performance & speed, ease of use, (just the right amount of) flexibility in feature organization, and out-of-the-box intuitive planning structures (eg feature organization, release planning, roadmaps, idea management), and it's full set of field integrations with JIRA. While many of these sound like fundamental requirements for any product tool, I found a majority of the 9 or so tools I trialed to be significantly lacking in these areas. Aha! is more expensive than some of the other popular product tools out there but the cost is easily justified by their larger feature set that'll save teams time and money, along with providing a stable and consistent user experience. Also, Aha! was also one of the very few tools that supported the capture of ideas directly from mobile phones and enabled users to easily attach mobile screenshots to an Idea or Feature card.

Cons:

Since AHA is a very robust, flexible app that can scale with a business, there's an initial learning curve (as is the case with any software that provides this level of flexibility). The up front time investment is worth it because once the application is set up, it's very easy for the team to understand, navigate and use!

Verified Reviewer
Senior Program Manager in Finland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

More than just roadmapping

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have been extremely happy with the ease of use, overall features and value provided by Aha! for our roadmapping and project management needs. Of particular note has been the support response times and turn-around time on solving reported issues.

Pros:

Aha! delivers on the promise to make product roadmapping easy however it offers more than just that. We have been using it as a common platform in product management for planning product roadmaps across the different groups and business units in our organization. While various other tools for managing product features and backlog were already in use integrating Aha! into them allows us to work on and provide an overall big-picture where planning and tracking strategic objectives is more easily done. Among the most useful features for us are the idea portal and flexible reporting capabilities. The reporting features allow us to replace sharing information in powerpoints to sharing a real-time view of product roadmaps and projects. The idea portal has allowed us to create a handful of portals to capture both internal ideas as well as external ones to connect and collaborate with our customers on developing solutions to solve their problems. In addition to that we have also used it as our main project management tool and recently in other functions to for example plan marketing campaigns.

Cons:

While it does provide Single Sign-On and directory integration it lacks more flexible group management that would allow you to link permissions and access rights to Active Directory groups to manage via group membership which is typically needed in larger ogranizations and results in some amount of manual work for us in assigning and changing user permissions.

Rudra
Product Management in Canada
Telecommunications, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Excellent Roadmap & Idea Management Package

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Centralized auditability for investment, traceability from idea to release, centralized communication to internal teams, feedback from customers, structured rankings - list goes on. We originally used Doors, which is an extremely good (but rigid) requirements management platform. Aha! works better with our shift in development practices, and in tandem with JIRA, while adding a lot of capability that wasn't present before (outside of scattered presentations and spreadsheets).

Pros:

Philosophically, the software gently pushes you to validate decisions that are key to product management - why are you building this, who is it for, how is it helping you achieve strategic and tactical goals? With that in mind, it sets up the team to be critical in their choices, extremely important in the current market. You're not forced to use these features, but it helps with both top-down alignment and bottom-up justifications for expenditure. From a feature perspective, the JIRA and Confluence integration work well for our purposes, the cascading templates help us ensure consistency in communication with Engineering across the product lines, an the Ideas portal is a great addition for internal and external feedback.

Cons:

Additional data types for the extensible entities would be nice - lists of custom entities for one.

Karen
Head of Product Management in UK
Primary/Secondary Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Using Aha for Education Assessment products

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: We are introducing the product management function accross the business. Therefore introducing the departments and senior management to the functions of Aha has been my priority.
The multiple benefits have included, multi person access as a reviewer / viewer. Transparency of the portfolio roadmap, clarity and confirmation of epic and feature details and the development priorities.
A prime benefit has been the capabilityof the tech team and CTO to cost up the features and epics in more detail than previously, supporting investment requests.

Pros:

For my role as Head of Product Management: The strategic view of the product portfolio is all important for the company to see and for me to report. The functions I use most are the strategic and portfolio roadmaps, goals and linked initiatives. I absolutely love the dashboard function, especially for executive resporting. And now use the different workspaces for the different departments who are dependant on the product management scheduling, this is also an added bonus.

Cons:

I really wish the functions would allow clarity for Strategic objectives, rather than goals and support the framing of dependant team and individual OKR's. I also find it difficult to delete releases and features on the Strategic level workspace. It would benefit the different types of users to have the functionalities that they need and navigate to it easily. From my role as head of to the associate product manager, we have different uses and feature requirements.

Tessa
Product Manager in US
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Enterprise-grade with powerful flexibility and integrations

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Aha! has made a huge difference in our ability strategically plan our releases and align across multiple delivery teams. It's the only tool flexible enough to accommodate our broad and multifaceted product suite, and allows us to report on it all without requiring engineers to create reports for us. The customization and integration capabilities are better and more user-friendly than any I've seen in any product. When configuring customization and integrations in other products, I often find myself thinking "if only this were as easy as Aha". Same thing about reporting - it can be a bit complicated but I think they do a great job of making it as simple as possible even with a huge variety of options and massive flexibility. Their support is also incredibly responsive and friendly, and their documentation is good. It's been really easy for me to teach myself the ins and outs of the product and get answers to my questions.

Cons:

Our biggest barrier to getting more value out of Aha is the cost. We would love to bring our scrummasters and UX leaders into Aha in more than essentially just a read-only capacity, but the cost to do that is prohibitive. While the benefits of Aha are huge, so is the cost, so it's something we need to be constantly ready to justify to management. The navigation is also somewhat poor, and there are a handful of specific views that are hard to use, which is a point of confusion for many users. But that's not too bad since we can usually create the view we want via a report.

Joseph
Founder in US
Management Consulting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Frequently Recommend to My Clients

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I have recommended and will continue to recommend Aha! to my clients whenever they want to clearly see how their roadmap, initiatives, values, mission, personals, competitors, projects and releases are all interrelated and support (or don't support) the overall goals of the organization.
It comes down to one word...CLARITY.

Pros:

I am a management consultant. I work with small to medium-size businesses. Often these engagements involve helping leaders get their arms around a complex set of long-range forecasts roadmaps, projects, initiatives, strategic goals, products, services, and more. Aha! brings clarity to my clients like no other tool I have used. There are other tools that do this or that but nothing is as easy to use and drives clarity for leadership in an organization. I love the ability to create a live web page that shows changes and updates to the roadmaps and other documentation in real-time. The time savings alone in not having to create a new slide deck for the executives is a sheer delight to my clients.

Cons:

If you are looking for something to manage the details of your project, I would not use Aha! It just isn't made for that. I always set Aha! on top of a project or product management system; jira or smartsheet. Getting your head wrapped around the hierarchy of Aha! can be a learning curve but once you get that down it makes sense and works great.

Audrey
Digital Marketing Leader in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Best customer service, hands down!

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Aha! is so robust. I am learning so much, but it is already making a great impact on the transparency that we needed with our team. Having watchers on projects and activities and the ability to tag anyone that's just a viewer or reviewer is fantastic! We manage over 100 events a year and more than 40 sales people, so keeping them in the loop with our progress is great. It's helping us get out of some paper/e-doc templates that we can now have built into our project card templates so all information can be entered there for ease of reference. I believe that we can pull reports on any field as well. The presentation and reporting features offer a lot. It's a matter of us determining the best views for our team. Their customer service team is outstanding! They respond super fast and are always helpful. They will get on a quick 30 minute call to talk through and walk through issues to empower you to get it right! I know I'm driving them bonkers right now with so many questions.

Pros:

Aha! allows you to tie higher level goals to initiatives that can dial down to the most granular level. We wanted the capability to pull reports for our C-level executives to see what we're working on and our previous project management system didn't have that as an option.

Cons:

We also loved the workflow features, however there's a little snag in the way we need to visually see our activities and tasks so, unfortunately, right now they don't have the capability to have a true workflow (phases and milestones) tied in with our processes because they get buried in the top level schedule/project. Since we work in the marketing world, our processes are different than the product release projects. If we could have the phases and milestones as a part of the activities so that if we push back the project (schedule) date or postpone in the status field that it would push back all assigned dates accordingly - that would be ideal. Right now, we are managing manually... The notifications are another issue. There's a LOT of notifications that come through my email on a daily basis. Even though I have it set to a daily and weekly digest on each workspace, I still receive too many emails for every task completed or created in projects that I follow. But I don't get an email when somebody comments on something, I have to go to my notifications for that. The my work view is really robust as well. Once you get the hang of where you need to look, it's helpful. However, the naming convention of the records doesn't allow you to know right away which task is tied to a particular project, so we're trying to make sure that we title the tasks and activities accordingly - but that's tough to do manually for project templates with generic tasks.