Filter by:

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About ConnectWise Automate

Automate Backup and Storage solutions can provide data protection and recovery from physical and virtual machines. Get your free tour!

Learn more about ConnectWise Automate

Showing 109 reviews

Benjamin B.
IT in US
Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft"

1 2 years ago

Comments: The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros:

The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons:

It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

Verified Reviewer
Ingeniero de Implementación y Soporte in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer & Network Security, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ConnectWise Automate, a great software

5 3 years ago

Comments: Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage. Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros:

It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons:

CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

Ahmed A.
Information Systems Technician in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

The BEST tool for an IT Army of One

5 3 years ago

Comments: Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros:

You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons:

Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

Rachel H.
Adminitrative Assistant in US
Religious Institutions, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

The most powerful automation tool.

5 2 years ago

Comments: I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros:

I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons:

The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

Tom A.
CTO in US
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

CW Automate

4 3 years ago

Comments: I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros:

Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons:

Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

Verified Reviewer
Managing Partner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

ConnectWise Automate

4 3 years ago

Comments: It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros:

It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons:

Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

Jim M.
Systems Engineer in US
Computer & Network Security, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The solution for any size MSP

4 3 years ago

Comments: Awesome piece of software that allows to take your MSP to the next level

Pros:

Provides you the tools that you need in order to streamline your systems and automate a lot of your processes as a MSP

Cons:

Overwhelming for new users, need to introduce them slowly to all the features that it includes

Daniel G.
Daniel G.
Support Technician in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to understand, difficult to master

5 3 years ago

Pros:

The ability to connect via web portal or application. I can see my items on the fly even when I'm out of the office

Cons:

The application crashes quite a bit when not a very steady connection which makes it difficult to open items

Nicholas N.
IT Project Manager in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Connectwise Automate for MSPs

5 4 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love how easy it is to use the software. After training we have been able to apply blanket policies to each client (ie push all windows 10 updates via one policy) and control server updates differently.

Cons:

The software can be extremely hard to use at first and requires training from Connectwise in order to understand how it fully works.

Verified Reviewer
Helpdesk Escalation Technician in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

This product makes my work life better.

5 3 years ago

Comments: It has allowed me to accomplish more during a work day.

Pros:

How it is able to connect so well regardless of bandwidth constraints, Able to manage updates, antivirus with ease. Scripting is extremely easy.

Cons:

The software removal process often will not work as it sometimes requires accessing the PC. Sometimes registering new machines can be a trying experience without admin level access.

Dillion S.
Marketing Analyst in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

The best in the market

5 3 years ago

Comments: Automates dashboard lists all of your PCs which have agents installed on them and you can do just about anything with it. You can tell everything from usernames that are logged in to what update just ran on the PC.

Pros:

The best part you have the ability to get so much information without remoting into a users PC. You can even use a remote PCs command prompt and registry without remoting into them.

Cons:

I wish their patch management could get a little more TYC. They have some issues there.

Shon O.
Network Administrator in US
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Rock solid RMM

5 2 years ago

Pros:

Very stable unattended remote access client. Works very well especially when doing remote upgrades to Windows 10.

Cons:

Definitely full featured, but a little too pricey to be used for stand alone in house Corporate use, really designed more for MSP's.

Colton W.
Colton W.
Network Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Networking, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect Remote Tool

5 3 years ago

Comments: I would describe it as an extremely positive outlook.

Pros:

Easy use. Great interface. Makes managing a lot of equipment easy.

Cons:

Can be clunky and scripting can be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Project Delivery Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A program that truly understands that automation is important to IT support

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Compared to our last platform we used, this has allowed our company to be much more proactive in regards to support requests. The automation of mundane tasks has freed up our engineers to be more hands on in other areas of the business such as project work now that things like patching are off their plate.

Cons:

The newer UI has been a bit more cumbersome than before and has taken some trial and error for everyone to figure out things that were more intuitive previously.

Kyle S.
Systems Admin in US
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

"LabTech" is a great tool which allows you do anything you want. "Anything custom" is not supported

3 4 years ago

Comments: Its a powerful tool, in the hands of someone who has spent years building and tweaking the software, generally without supports help, it can do anything you want unless a bug gets in your way that won't be fixed for a few weeks/months.

Pros:

Community (LabTechGeek) assistance, The ability to do anything you want with powershell, internal scripting and plugin access

Cons:

Horrible support. Bad UI Design, Bad Releases, horrible support staff willing to assist with issues, constant support problems as they always send a KB article that has nothing to do with your issue

David H.
Senior Accountant in US
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Exceptionally capable and reliable!

5 4 years ago

Pros:

Once properly configured, it has allowed for quick and easy monitoring, updating, troubleshooting, and management of the computers, servers, and networks at our many office locations.

Cons:

With advanced capability comes advanced configuration. The initial set-up and roll-out of the software was a demanding process. However, the customer support and resources available were both excellent and, once set up, we were running smoothly.

Michael K.
IT in US
Medical Practice, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Powerful and robust remote management software

4 4 years ago

Pros:

Very powerful and can perform just about any function needed given that you know how. Techs must take caution that learning this is a beast and your job could end up being managing this software full time since there is so much to it.

Cons:

It can be very time consuming to get your feet on the ground with Connectwise Automate which can suck up most of your free time and transform your job.

Michael P.
US
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source

Customer support

4 5 years ago

Comments: Lab tech values their customer service. They are responsive and quick to action.Their email resonance and efficient.

Jill P.
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
5 3 years ago
Dave B.
Dave B.
CFO in
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Not provided
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp
4 4 years ago
Verified Reviewer
Network Supervisor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

A great tool for VARs and MSPs

5 7 months ago

Comments: Overall connect-wise automate is a great tool for our environment to monitor our customers systems.

Pros:

What I really like the is the granularity of alerts that can be set up for customers systems. Also being able to group similar systems together makes it easy once you do the initial setup.

Cons:

Omce the software is great overall The main issue we had is the learning curve curve for employees.

Jared M.
Jared M.
NOC Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

RMM to the stars

5 2 years ago

Comments: We used this tool when it was LabTech - and even in those days there was no comparing this to any other RMM platform. For years it had the edge in so many ways. To those willing to learn it this tool was capable of being the entirety of your platform for doing business!

Pros:

The feature set has been astounding from day one. With the big rebrand and integration with ConnectWise Manage the duo are now all that much better, complementing each others previous, non-focused features.

Cons:

Truly forward progress was the main issue. During the time we actively used LabTech/Automate was during the transition years of the name and aesthetic. Things are definitely driving into the right, unified direction for all of their tools and that is exciting to see! Learning the tool, like most ConnectWise products, can be daunting but there are lots of resources to pull from and well worth the investment. Again, I suspect due to the years of bringing the tools together, Automate seemed to somewhat stall/lag on added features for awhile. They certainly had the most initially so it wasn't a drastic fall-behind, but new tools were taking the slow moving to catch up and the market is certainly competitive again.

Jeffrey B.
Escalation Technician in US
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Fantastic system for remote management, scripting and much more

5 3 years ago

Comments: Used Kaseya before switching and love the overall layout, features and in-depth information you can retrieve very easily. Wish I could set a few things with some customization, which might be possible by working with connectwise engineers but that would be above my paygrade.

Pros:

Set up monitoring alerts, script automated processes, control end user and servers remotely with a couple clicks. Ad-hoc sessions allow admin access remotely, even if the user does not have rights. Fantastic experience overall and only have minor pieces I wish I could see

Cons:

Wish there was some more customization is some of the views. Would like to see some more basic information on the main screens, as opposed to having to dive into the properties to find. Seems that it can get a bit slow and unresponsive with certain actions. Not sure if this is our server or the software though.

Verified Reviewer
Technical Consultant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The best tool I've used in desktop support.

5 3 years ago

Comments: With this software we are able to not only sort users by client, but also location. The network scans and ability to distribute software is killer. When working I am able to easily assist multiple people because of the features of this product. I can remotely connect to a computer, run command line scripts, create custom scripts, and check general health. That's all in the console view. If you want to setup the alerts to prompt you for specific actions, it's all there.

Pros:

The amount of features that you have at your fingertips to remotely assist users is phenomenal. I can't count how many times this software has made life so much easier.

Cons:

When the app is slow to load, it's slow to load. It's the only downside I've had with this application.

Grant H.
IT Services Technician in US
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Really powerful tool

4 3 years ago

Comments: We chose Automate over everything else for a reason; Price and functionality simply could not be beat.

Pros:

- Mostly intuitive GUI - Packed with tons of functionality; Been using the product a little over 2 years now and still learning neat tricks/tools to use - Great asset management - Great at pushing remote commands - ConnectWise University offers tons of training on their products

Cons:

- Because it is so powerful, there is a lot of training that needs reviewed to become proficient in working and navigating - Been experiencing an issue where I need to re-launch the control center because otherwise the agent tree will refresh forever -