Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About JIRA Service Management

Jira Service Management is an ITSM software that unlocks high-velocity teams to deliver great service experiences fast and together.

Learn more about JIRA Service Management

Showing 262 reviews

Verified Reviewer
Vice President, HR Operations and Insights Manager
Banking, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2020

"Great Service Desk for Human Resources"

Comments: Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros: Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons: My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2020
Erik B.
VP, Product Development and Engineering
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018

"Dig Deep Before Buying"

Comments: It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros: JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons: Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected. For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410 Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499 The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues. In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Head of ICT
Music, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019

"A no brainier for non profits"

Comments: In the short time I've been using Jira Service Desk I've been impressed with the scope and capability and think that with the right amount of time invested into getting this setup properly it will do a fantastic job

Pros: I've been trying loads of service desk solutions recently and while i'm still not 100% convinced on which one to settle with, Jira Service Desk is pretty high up on the list. Firstly, they offer a on premise version as well as (the more easy to setup) cloud solution. This is great for those that prefer to host their own solutions. Secondly, this on premise version is also free for non profits which makes Jira Service desk a much more viable solution than some of the other options available. The integration with confluence allows you to build out a deep self service portal, which in theory will reduce tickets. Again, this was easier to setup in the cloud version, but is also free for non profits. It seems to tick all the boxes for an ITIL service desk, which is great.

Cons: It is missing some core features which other solutions provide out of the box, most noticeably asset tracking. While this can be accomplished via plugins, it would be nice if it just existed within the core application.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/04/2019
Tim R.
Special Projects Officer
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2019

"Industry benchmark tools but prepare well before you begin"

Comments: This is a love and hate affair. Service Desk is extraordinary software and its capabilities broad. But it's not for the faint of heart. If we could start over we'd pause to learn, then plan, and plan very carefully. This is a project, not something you setup in your afternoon following a lunch break. And with any project, its success is measured in its planning. But learn Service Desk before planning because with the knowledge of what it's truly capable of, you'll be able to build a very powerful service desk solution. My only gripe is that it's not intuitive. We work amongst high level developers who also fumble their way around Service Desk, taking way too long to find what they need. There are workarounds such as bookmarking key screens, but without this approach you easily become lost in the deep levels of available screens and admin areas. Navigation is too complex.

Pros: Service Desk's strengths are also its Achilles heel if you don't plan carefully. It's tremendously complex but powerful.

Cons: Configuring Service Desk is by no means a simple feat. This is complex software that requires careful planning. I would strongly suggest you approach Service Desk this way: study the documentation first, write/draw a plan of what you need to achieve and how you need it to look (back and front) and perform. Planning is crucial to avoiding chasing your tail in the days/weeks that follow initial project build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2019
Heather R.
COTS Administrator
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Flexible and customizable without complication"

Comments: We tried both JIRA Service Desk Cloud and Server but chose server so we could maintain our own data. Both products allow us the ability to track support tickets and internal projects across several departments. JIRA's basic features are good, but some of our features required we purchase add-ons. For example, we needed the ability to export reports in formats that the basic reports did not allow, needed to display specific reporter information on each issue, and the ability to CC, BCC, and set importance on an email notification. This was all possible with add-ons.

Pros: Ease of use
Customization
Dashboards
Integrations

Cons: Limited Email Functionality
Some custom settings require system file changes
Limited reporting

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Angelo C.
Software engineer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2020

"The best Ticket System"

Comments: My favourite tool for really big software projects.

Pros: Jira is mighty and comes in play when you have really big software projects.
You are able to customise every workflow, and easy manage you projects.
Also you can connect it to other Atlassian products and monitor your progress.

Cons: Jira is quite expensive and not to easy to use. So you have to really dig in deep to understand the workflows

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 31/01/2020
Prateek M.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018

"Best solution in market for any Digital/IT company"

Pros: 1) Extremely well thought of ticket management via Epic links, project buckets etc
2) Issue collector functionality that can be directly embedded to websites and web portals
3) Tickets can be linked with other Atlassian products like a Conflience page or bit bucket
4) Easy to create and manage sprints

Cons: 1) Third party integrations are not available/limited like that with google drive etc.
2) There are few free solutions that offer something similar. Not as rohbust as JIRA but might still do the job for few.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 20/03/2018
Brant S.
Enterprise Project Manager
Higher Education, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017

"It has been good and we are happy with the number of features that have been added."

Pros: How easy it is to use. It has been easy for us to deploy and expand on campus. We have lot of users that are have commented on how easy it is to use over our old product.

Cons: Flexibility of portal. I wish the portal had more options in how it can be configured and segregated. It would also be nice to have multiple emails flow into a single desk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/09/2017
Maarten C.
Scrum Master
Media Production
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2016

"JIRA Service Desk is not a Help Desk tool, it's much more"

Pros: The integration between their tools is awesome. Obviously JIRA Service Desk uses JIRA in the back, which gives you all the powers of a regular JIRA project. But that's not all! You can link your JIRA (Service Desk) with Confluence (knowledge base), HipChat (quick and easy communication via chat), and much more.

Cons: The product is only a couple of years old and has been growing a lot. Until a couple of months ago we were really missing the WYSIWYG editor for customers logging a request but as usual Atlassian has resolved that issue by releasing a new version that includes this WYSIWYG editor.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/08/2016
Deepika G.
Software Quality Engineer
201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018

"Jira for issue tracking"

Comments: We use jira for bug tracking and issues maintenance and it has been a great help so far

Pros: It really easy to keep tracks of bugs and user stories and tasks in one place categorized by the board. And automated emails will be sent according to the changes to an assigned particular task. Other plugins also can be integrated to support

Cons: And the learning curve is high for beginners due to the complexity of the features. The usability aspect can be improved.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2018
Adam W.
Technical Specialist
Research, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2017

"JIRA Service Desk is a super powerful product, but one that can take effort to perfect for your org."

Pros: Extensive flexibility.
Granular permissions.
Integration with other Atlassian products.
Ease of use from the customer perspective.

Cons: It can be complicated to setup.
Takes extra work in order to set up a bare bones instance.
Takes some training from the Agent's perspective.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/08/2017
Verified Reviewer
Senior Business System Analyst
Investment Banking, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2018

"Great resource for internal teams"

Pros: Keeps our IT dept organized, and makes sure we also are able to have a resource centre for our internal teams.

Cons: Not much, everything is already setup for us, but it is quite a powerful piece of software so there must've been a lot of setup on the administrator's end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/06/2018
Kathy S.
Analyst
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018

"Jira Service desk"

Pros: Software is easy to use. Ability to customize workflow of tickets as well as input forms is helpful.

Cons: Reporting and dashboard creation takes a bit to learn. Reporting is not self explanatory and can be frustrating. Once concepts are grasped it is easy to use.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 18/01/2018
Yan S.
VP
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017

"Working with and implementing JSD in many global companies"

Pros: Ease of use, automation tools are powerfull, add ons with no limited possibilities such asset managemnet

Cons: It is a great tool it is part of Jira suite. It is integrated with Confluence for KM so it is not stand alone

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/09/2017
Nabil A.
Network specialist
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017

"very good product"

Comments: Reduce time to create and customize customer portals.
Track time spent on requests
Track external vs internal requests

Pros: Easy to use
Simple to demonstrate work by category
Simple to customize and add new fields to a project

Cons: Licensing model for server when installed as an add on to Jira
Limited access for project managers, a lot of work is required by system admin to customize a project

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017
Gary B.
Development Manager
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017

"JSD has solved many problems for us as an organisation."

Comments: Avoiding the utter pain of shared email boxes for triage. Better organisation, better transparency and visibility of support issues.

Pros: Ease of configurability, flexibility for different customer use cases, avoiding the nightmare of shared email inboxes.

Cons: Cost is an issue for some teams due to the way that the licensing model works, sometimes speed is an issue if on Cloud hosting.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2017
Dewmi R.
Senior Executive - Business Analyst
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2020

"Project Management is made easy with JIRA"

Comments: I would recommend JIRA as one of the best project Management tools to be used especially for Agile projects as it has everything you need to manage and track your project from the inception to the end delivery.

Pros: Easy to manage and track all project work from the inception to end of the project

Cons: Takes longer time to resolve customer reported issues

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2020
Yagneshkumar P.
Software Engineer
Hospitality, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018

"Jira Review"

Pros: Jira Serice Desk is very similar to other B2B2 ticketing websites where a clients or inner organizations can open a support ticket to get an issue resolved. I like just a few things from Jira which are; its easy to use the UI is very simple to use and navigate through the JIRA service desk web based ticketing system, the ability to track changes in the tickets, make comments either internally or externally, customize the ticket the way i want it to show, either by department, or group or an individual, its subscription based so there is no need of backing up, securing, or changing hardware.

Cons: Well there are number of things that i feel like JIRA is lacking compered to its competitors such as; It does not have the email functionality, when a client opens a ticket jira service desk should integrate an email service such as Outlook, so employees can receive an email if a support ticket has been opened, No other platform is support besides desktop version webpage, Does not have any dashboards or widgets to show the ticket trends, open tickets, closed tickets, other helpful widgets. I believe other competitors are excelling in the areas listed above

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/06/2018
Verified Reviewer
Managing Director
Telecommunications, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2018

"Useful Tool That We Have Come To Rely On"

Comments: We use Jira to manage our development projects and support requests. It's the best tool we've come across for the job.

Pros: Clear presentation of data. Good reporting features. Great collaboration for teams in remote locations.

Cons: Setting up some elements can be a little complicated, but that's all I can think of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2018
Peter N.
IT Manager
Oil & Energy, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2018

"Service desk problems solved"

Comments: nil.

Pros: Flexibility: we were able to effectively shoe horn Jira into our business to cover all "works" requests which included; IT help requests, building maintenance, truck maintenance and fuel equipment maintenance.

Cons: I would have liked to be able to create my own "Local" users for my staff so they could login to my Jira with that, instead on everyone making their own cloud accounts.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/11/2018
Carlos G.
Program Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017

"Service Desk has helped us manage customer tickets in a clean organized way and to have clear SLAs."

Pros: SLAs and queues are my favorite feature. Also comment visibility makes it easy to distinguish between internal and external teams.

Cons: Restrictions on what customers can do. It would be nice if they could edit at least a few fields.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2017
Paul m S.
Director, Business Process Management
Management Consulting, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017

"I use this a lot..."

Pros: The tool has been very useful for my software supplier. It has organized their helpdesk requests, allows them to easily prioritize these tickets, and finally, easily communicate and report on the status of these tickets. this client engagement went from a huge black hole of no information and communication to a very interactive tool that keeps you up-to-date and search options to see if this problem had been reported/solved before.

Cons: Don't get your login locked out. It is really hard to get a temporary password resent to you when your own personal firewall won't allow unsolicited emails from being delivered.. It would be nice to have another option to verify your identity in this situation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2017
Verified Reviewer
Directeur adj. TI
Chemicals, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018

"Jira Service Desk , full integration"

Pros: It was hard for me before the usage of Jira Service Desk to have some IT demands that refer to Jira and the need to copy paste in some Jira Project , Now with the service desk I can transfer demands to Jira project.

Cons: I almost like everything exept the "update of Jira " sometimes it's a bit complicated (on-premise)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Melissa C.
Digital Marketing Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018

"Easy to set up and create a service request portal"

Pros: Ease of use, easy to customize, various form creation, easy to add in own branding.
The customization of the look and feel was quick and simple.

Cons: There were no cons. The implementation was fast and the customization was easy. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants to create a ticket system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Ambulante Receptiemedewerker
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2019

"What you expect"

Pros: It's from JIRA. So its huge and has everything you need.

Cons: But it could look better, and things could be more intuitive.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/08/2019