Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Confluence

Confluence is a team workspace where knowledge and collaboration meet. Create, collaborate, and organize your work all in one place.

Learn more about Confluence

Showing 1,892 reviews

Ramakrishna G.
Lead
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018

"Confluence is the best choice for sharing the information with the team members & other projects."

Comments: Definitely I would like to recommend the confluence for communication between projects or clients or team members without maintaining the files in the desktop locations.

Pros: Confluence is the best tool to share the information with the clients and other team members without maintaining any other documents like word docs or excel docs etc.
1. Confluence functionalities like Live Edit, JIRA integration are good.
2. In the confluence it is easier to search the required document.
3. We can able to see the recent changes immediately and also we can get the notification mails too.
4. We can query for other issues is very easy.
5. Its easy to use - notifications help to inform the watchers about changes
6. Every page can be exported to pdf and doc - you can develop your own macros - you can integrate very helpful plugins.

Cons: 1. Sometimes we can receive notifications for each and every edit in the confluence, this will irritate little bit.
2. UI-design does not look rich or user friendly
3. If we attach a documents into confluence again finding the earlier version of document is little tedious.
4.We have to struggle little about permissions, and it can be difficult to delegate. Some users get overwhelmed by the interface.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
QA Lead
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2020

"Nice tool for Documentation"

Comments: Good experience so far, fits very nicely with JIRA environment.

Pros: Good tool for Documentation and writing PRDs,tech documentations etc. Has rich editing options to ease documentation.

Cons: Has limited flexibility to add charts. Need to add paid add-ons for rich charts. Also there is some learning curve involved for traditional text editor users.

Alternatives Considered: Basecamp

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: It comes as a package with atlassian products like JIRA

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/04/2020
Tanuj D.
Salesforce developer
Computer Software, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021

"Great tool for collaboration, document management and knowledge base management"

Comments: We are using Confluence for managing our projects. Each project has a different Gantt chart and project schedule report which helps us to manage projects efficiently. All the user stories test cases and description are stored in confluence to help the employees to get a better idea of the product development. We use it for managing our knowledge repositories.

Pros: Confluence is a great tool for managing the project. You can have several types of reports and charts like Gantt chart , resource utilisation charts, project schedule chart etc which makes project management easier. It's has a simple markup language for creating documents. Confluence also shows all the users who are editing the same document. It is a great tool for maintaining documents.

Cons: There are not many extensions available for Confluence. It is really hard to create and add graphs and similar complex diagrams. It is also hard to add small video previews and stuff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2021
Verified Reviewer
Manager - Service Delivery
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020

"Everything is Centralized !"

Comments: We have 24/7 Support teams locally & globally and we are using the tool to share the Knowledge between employees also within the respective teams.

Pros: Everything is Centralized
The hierarchical structure of the documentation.
Customizable with themes and colors.
The ability of personalization (Company level).
User-friendly GUI.
Reports and overviews.
Easy Navigation.

Cons: Low workability with templates.
Unavailability of Chatbot and phone support.
Support in different languages.

Alternatives Considered: Jira

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/10/2020
Balamurugan T.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2020

"Single tool solution for project documents"

Comments: All are considered as page in confluence and we need not upload documents. Documents need not be created and uploaded rather the content can be created on the page itself. Project related information can be stored as pages within Spaces in Confluence. Unless Sharepoint where we need to upload documents either a word document or Excel file which causes issue in opening up with different versions of Office as well with different OS like Mac, windows etc. In confluence it is all pages and are not documents.

Pros: The UI is very User friendly. We usually use the features that we have on Microsoft word or Excel and then upload the document on tools like Sharepoint. With Confluence, anything that can be done using Microsoft Word or Excel can be achieved using the Confluence for project related documents. Creation of tables, uploading images, including Objects etc are all can be done on Confluence page directly.

Cons: I do not see the Work flow approvals that can be created for project documents. As project documents can be audited for signoffs/approvals etc I do not see option to create a work flow approval for any of the pages we create. Sharepoint has the workflow approvals to get the signoffs from stakeholders. This is missing in Confluence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/01/2020
Mike M.
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2015

"Use of Confluence for Knowledgebase and QMS"

Comments: Despite off-the-shelf options, we built our Quality Mgmt System using Confluence. Best feature is the ability to collaboratively share documents. Advantages of this over our previous method (shared directory on server): 1. No out of sync document instances. There is one instance with the ability to post live excerpts or link to the document elsewhere. When the document is revised, shared content is also. 2. Ability to search all document content. 3. Group memberships can be granted to users in a simple way, allowing for reviewing assignments, permissions, targeted content, and task lists. 4. A variety of macros allowed many additional features within our local instance (self-hosted). These include: a read confirmation macro (to record employees keeping up to date on required procedures), a document approval macro with configurable workflows (the basis for our document change/review procedure), page attachments (that allows related documents to be stored on summary pages), a reporting macro that automatically creates summary table on parent pages in a tabular form of their child pages, and a very simple flow charting macro (Gliffy) that is fairly powerful. The downside is that the editor is a bit buggy (with numbered/bulleted lists) and plays differently in different browsers. It appears to be the most stable in Chrome, but a feature allowing editing in place of MS Office documents is only functional in IE. The WYSIWIG editor is fairly light without a lot of format options (for some this turns out to be fairly economical and is a much simpler user interface than Office products). Frustratingly, I have been dumped out of pages or have had them lock up. I'm also very frustrated with the documentation available (core product and macros). Although the feature descriptions vary from OK to mediocre, my issue is the lack of application examples. Without examples, one is left to a trial-and-error approach. I have truly hated this! Once the concepts are learned, it does seem fairly straightforward. For this reason, I rated ease of use as 4/5 even though I very much like the product and gave it 5/5. I haven't used customer service, so no rating.
As a part-time QMS manager wanting to get others involved in the shared management of our system and its documents, I've been very happy with our choice. Where other QMS software may have worked out of the box without development, I don't believe that they would have been as collaborative as our Confluence based system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/02/2015
Brandon B.
System Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020

"Quick and Easy to use"

Comments: We use it for business requirements for our solutions as well as a Wiki/knowledge base for our support desk.

Pros: Great editor tools and easy to make my pages look content rich and informative. Good search and folder structure is great for organizing content.
Integration with JIRA is a huge win.
Notifications are powerful and helpful.

Cons: So much flexibility some pages are just garbage because of the authors - wish i had the rights to do more cleanup. The versioning on content can get a little cumbersome, especially with attached files and file lists.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2020
Jared M.
NOC Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019

"Documentation Basics"

Comments: We've used this for some time because it just works.
That said administering it has been somewhat frustrating at times due to us not having a developer on staff. Doing anything with the tool other than building spaces and pages will require some time investment and some very strong guidline adherence from your documentation editors and contributors in order to 'work'.
For us, it hasn't been working, we need more structure and will therefore likely leave the product behind soon.. But this tool absolutely has its place for many scenarios.

Pros: Confluence makes for a great entry point into getting a Knowledge Base or even an environment of communication in your business. Creating pages is simple and with lots of features its easy to get them looking very presentable. Some built in templates help get you thinking like you need to in creating an organized environment that is easy to surf and find what you need. An advanced back-end makes it so you can develop if that's your thing.
Not to mention the ability to host yourself with the myriad bonus' that that comes with.

Cons: Time: If you need advanced layout and/or don't have the first clue in how to structure your environment this tool may not be for you.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/09/2019
Ellie J.
Senior Project Manager
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017

"Great product for documentation"

Pros: This product is great for documentation and sharing information. I do a lot of training documentation and Confluence is a great place to store the information. Anyone in our company can easily access the information through a link. Because it is online the information in the training materials is always up to date; we don't have to worry about someone having an outdated version of the document. In addition, Confluence allows for screenshots to be easily added, which is awesome, and it automatically resizes them, which is amazing. You can also add grids (which isn't Confluence's strong suit but still a nice feature) and Table of Contents and many more features. In addition, you do get to keep Revision History in Confluence so if you change something and need to reference an old version of the document you still can. And, you can change the access different people have so some people can edit the document and others can only view, or some can't view at all.

Cons: The software was a little confusing to learn to use. Now that I know how to use it, it is easy, but we did have to have some training. While others are learning it they aren't using it much because it is kind of foreign to them but if we could get past adoption issues the software would be a great help to us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/06/2017
Saurabh G.
CTO
Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2020

"Great for sharing and storing documents and thoughts"

Comments: I really like it. I have not came across a better product for that. You can keep data in any way, tables, blob or even nice looking html. Copy paste form many source work great. It has a lot of integrations to make it easier to track data.

Pros: Its easy to use and you can throw anything at it. You can control who sees what completely. Everything you add is searchable.

Cons: It becomes quite huge soon and you end up having a giant repository of data to shift through. You have search functionality but eventually it ends up searching similar to google. I don't know what they can do to make it more simpler but thats the biggest issue I face.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/04/2020
Benjamin M.
Activations Coordinator
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2019

"A complex platform - in all the right ways"

Comments: With confluence, we have created a fantastic "KB" (Knowledge Base) forum for our business. It's a place to document processes, link to useful software, and it ultimately makes work and collaboration easier.

Pros: Confluence has so many layers of security and permission structures that you'll never accidentally let someone see a page they shouldn't. Once set up properly, it's an amazing way to collaborate! The sheer number of customization plugins and add-ins really lets you make it your own.

Cons: The difficulty of getting it running on your own server and making it work initially. Confluence has good documentation, but it's still a fairly difficult implementation. There are some slightly confusing licensing models, too.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2019
Tania G.
Analyste principale
501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"Best wiki I've ever used"

Comments: Widespread adoption. A wiki is only as good as the content you have in it and having an easy to use tool made people want to use it and create documentation.

Pros: I love the ease of use of the editor and the content management features. I fell in love as soon as I saw I could copy/paste screen shots directly in the editor - it's such a time saver for me. You can also re-organize your documents in a snap, drag-and-dropping through the hierarchical view or using the Move feature. Content reports let you create page lists on the fly with the information you want in them. Templates are awesome - you can use theirs, customize them and even create your own so that your content stays consistent even when multiple users are creating documents.

Cons: Most of the advanced features you need are available through paid-for add-ons. And still, I can't find a decent image management add-on. Also, when we had a few licences, the cost was negligible, but as the usage is growing, even though some of these add-ons are only used by a few users, we have to pay for the whole company. Finally, managing these add-ons as we upgrade Confluence versions is not always seamless. Some add-ons just stop working and aren't updated by the vendors, leaving us without the feature we've come to appreciate.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Gabriel C.
Operational Manager
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2021

"A nice tool for building, storing & maintaining a central knowledge-base"

Comments: I've used Confluence (as a cloud solution - since on-premises licensing costs are significant) for a number of years and overall this is a great tool to use as a central point of information. In addition to technical and functional documentation we also use this to store the output of most of the SCRUM events (minutes, decisions and action items, etc.)
Documentation can easily be added and maintained, the software supports page versioning and collaborative flows (creating drafts & publishing pages). Editing is done fairly easy, and embedding common objects (code snippets, images, external pages ) comes out of the box.
As a note, some extra features (such as embedding SVG diagrams) require additional plugins (some of which have their own separate licensing)
In our scenario, we've integrated with JIRA (another Atlassian tool for ticket & progress tracking) - integration is done fairly easy when all products are using the cloud-configuration. As a bonus, it also has a limited-functionality 10-users free plan - perfect for evaluating the product capabilities.

Pros: - Easy to use
- Simple, wiki-style page structuring
- Storing things together under one or more spaces allows building separate knowledge bases for multiple projects
- Integrates nicely with other Atlassian products
- Supports extension via plugins

Cons: - Migrating to something else is extremely tedious
- Not-so-good when used as a DMS (document management system)
- Some plugins require extra licensing (payable)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/02/2021
Julian X.
DevOps Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2019

"A well-organized documentation graveyard"

Comments: Overall Confluence is a good platform to store your documentation and make it searchable for later usage. Although it doesn't solve the issue that most companies have, which is that often you'll find outdated pages or incomplete ones. This doesn't mean it's a Confluence issue, but it will definitely not help in solving this.

Pros: Confluence is a very good documentation platform, with its easy to use GUI and markup syntax ( although not compatible with Markdown, unless a plugin is installed ), will offer you a good way to organize your documentation based on projects and Page trees. You can also tag those pages and have a full search that will help you finding what you're searching for. Last but least, the platform offers extensibility through a plugin system which will get you covered.

Cons: When it comes to documentation, no software is doing their best. Often you will find out that creating pages, tagging them and giving them nice titles, will definitely not help you in finding what you search for. Although Confluence tries to help a lot in this, definitely is not a bulletproof solution. So if you suffer from documentation graveyard, unfortunately Confluence will not help your situation to make it better.
Also, although Plugins are available, as Jira they are very expensive even for super simple features ( like Markdown integration ).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/12/2019
Connie C.
iSeries Senior Developer
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2020

"Confluence"

Comments: Using Confluence is helping our company by allowing developers & CSR's access these informational documents to solve customer issues and not have to dive thru from the beginning. It allows a starting point for support & if not found, to be able to create a new document for that specific issue.

Pros: We use this software to create manuals or just documents for product support, customer support & to troubleshoot easier and quicker with information entered by developers who have already corrected similar issues. We have different document libraries for parts of the company so each genre is easier found. We reference these instruction sets when solving issues previously encountered or when we have a new issue, then we create a new document and enter pertinent data, information & instructions on how to solve/correct the issue.

Cons: Confluence is dynamic enough for any company to set up for their needs. I was not on the team who did all of the setup, so I don't know how that was; I'm a user and have used it daily. The only thing I have found that seems a little weird is doing a search. You have to know the name of the document you are looking for or it may not turn up in the search correctly if you only put in part of the name. It would be very helpful to be able to put in a keyword to search for a document name to see how many for a topic is found.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 30/03/2020
Sagar D.
DevOps Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020

"Amazing Tool for Documentation and Integration"

Comments: The seamless integration with different products makes this application extremely desirable for us. If you are using other Atlassian products like Jira, Trello, then Confluence is an amazing solution for bringing all tools together. As you start building your documentation on confluence, you will love this tool even more.
Most Importantly, you can integrate confluence page creation from your Jenkins Pipeline using the extensive API support they have.

Pros: After using this software for more than 18 months, I can definitely say, this is a great tool for technical documentation. It provides with easy setup, multiple project spaces for different teams, amazing API's to create pages remotely from different tools and last but not the least, simultaneous editing of the same document.

Cons: The only con I would say is it's Cost. It comes with an additional cost for every user who needs access, that racks up your monthly Atlassian bill pretty quickly. If you are not looking to spend the extra overhead, you should look at cheaper options.

Alternatives Considered: GitBook, Google Docs and Drupal

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: We were already using the other amazing atlassian tools like Jira, so to use Confluence was a no brainer for us.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020
Arturo M.
Developer
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019

"Best documentation tool I ever used"

Comments: I use this almos daily and I think it is a great tool for team performance. It allows to create and view all the info in no time and pretty well structured.

Pros: The main advantage about Confluence is that is part of the Atlassian Suite which involves Jira and Bitbucket among others. This makes pretty easy to integrate them and add quick references to a jira issue with just write the reference number.
The text editor in Confluence is pretty complete, allowing to create really decent pages for any kind of documentation desired. The possibility of create nested pages makes really easy to organize the information in "chapters" "sub-chapters" and so on, giving your documentation a really neat look.
This feature also allows to segregate the information, so you can have your product's documentation on one place, perfectly organized and set another "Chapter" for your team info, where you could store info about code conventions, timetables about overtime or availability, and so on.
Confluence is also useful in order to create software designs, since it allows to create pages where you can paste your diagrams and so on and allows to discuss on them by adding comments or remarks.
And the Watch utility keep you posted via e-mail whenever a page you're watching is modified in any way so you can keep track of a discussion or whatever.

Cons: So far didn't find any big issue with confluence. Maybe for beginners it has a bit of learning curve and some option like the page nesting and so on is a bit difficult to learn. Besides that, I think is a pretty complete software.
Something I miss is the possibility of "downloading" a page with all nested ones into a pdf. That would be a great feature in order to generate documentation files.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Panagiotis K.
Founder & Managing Director
Media Production, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019

"Great documentation platform for both intranets and customer-facing hubs"

Comments: The experience I had the last 9-10 years that me and my colleagues worked with Confluence is excellent. The document editor works smoothly even from the mobile app that is offered. There are many article templates to choose from when you start creating an article, from decision making documents to marketing strategy forms and solution focused how-to pages. Confluence supports a lot of media types in the pages, so it's easy to create helpful articles with video, audio, images and many more like attention panels, embedded spreadsheets, etc. You can even embed the contents of one section of a page to another page, so that if you change that it reflects the change in all the pages that the section was included. Which is great for customer support and of course technical documentation. Did I mention that you can create as many different wikis as you like? Confluence calls those "spaces" and it's a great way to keep things separated. I use different wiki spaces for my employees handbook, customer support, app manuals, design documents per project, etc. The possibilities are endless and having them separately helps with security between different roles in the company and outside of it.

Pros: Confluence, especially the new cloud version, is one of the best tools to use for documenting your knowledge-base. The best parts for me are: - The ability to connect my articles with to-do tasks from project management (Jira from Atlassian, same company, so they work like a charm together).
- The articles I can contain any media types, from spreadsheets that I can edit in-line to videos. There are also a lot of native panels to help anybody create very stylish articles with usability.
- In-line and footer comment sections help my team discuss and develop documents all together, without losing any of the discussion history.
- The ability to also keep an internal blog. I use that to inform my colleagues for the day-to-day developments, and keep everybody on track with high ideas and management efforts.
- All of the above can be also used as a customer-facing knowledge-base, to serve your customers with documents, operation manuals and help articles. Very handy if you use it together with the service desk solution from the same company, but can also be used stand-alone too.
In general it's one of the best choices that I made when I was searching for a documentation solution for my company and my clients, back in 2010. Almost a decade passed and Confluence is still growing better and better by the time. Atlassian the company behind Confluence is now huge and offers many solutions that integrate with Confluence, making it an even better choice if you use other tools from them.

Cons: I can't find any cons to Confluence. After all there is no perfect solution, only elegant ones depending on the problem one tries to solve. Atlassian is offering a trial period so anybody can see if Confluence is good for their company's documentation needs. From my experience, it would be bad to start a trial before you hove some really motivated people in your team and some content to put in there. Because it would be better to test Confluence with something that you would use in your company, so that you see first hand the pros and cons while your team works with Confluence with material that is close to the true material that you would put in there. If I was to change one thing it would be the way it recognizes internally any of the pages I create, so that Confluence doesn't have any issues with pages with same titles. That would be a nice time saver and space saver in the outline of any wiki one creates.

Alternatives Considered: Dropbox Paper, Google Docs and Microsoft SharePoint

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: I made the switch from Google Docs because I wanted a more robust solution that would support a more deep infrastructure and would be easy to manage and interconnect with other project management, software development and customer-facing solutions.

Switched From: Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Confluence is far more advanced and fits our business model as a documentation and knowledge-base solution. The price is right and Atlassian seems to continuously develop new features that help us create awesome online media-rich documents for us and our clients.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/09/2019
Ajesh G.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2019

"Finest Documentation platform"

Comments: Confluence gave better documentation compared tot he old text files so that more readable format. The integration of images and diagrams make the documentation more user friendly.

Pros: Confluence gives best documentation platform for your projects. We can categorize based on different projects and sub projects. we can create links to another pages which is very useful to route to another document without searching for it. we can see all the documents related one project in one section. It gives you wide range of features to include images and diagrams to make the documentation more useful. We can also subscribe to the pages so that anyone make any changes we get notified.

Cons: Confluence needs more integration with the CICD tools available in the market to make more automated documentation. confluence needs to provide to create diagrams for documentation so that users dont need to go for external software for that.

Alternatives Considered: Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: In confluence I can categorize based on projects and sub projects and I can see all the documents for that project and select based on the priorities. But in google docs we need to we need to keep a separate index for each documents and the docs are separate. we need to browse through the google docs to go to next one.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/09/2019
Binujaya P.
Software Engineer
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2019

"The best documentation platform"

Comments: This is amazing software with close to zero disadvantages. It corresponds with Jira which is great, also provides documentation, you can create pages, see notes related to a specific theme, besides pages you can create tables, images, etc. I would recommend this software to anyone who needs a program that creates documentation. Also, they are looking to improve their software by making a lot of updates.

Pros: Confluence has a lot of advantages and here are some of them. Confluence is part of Atlassian Suite which is connected with Jira and you can easily integrate them. This software provides a documentation platform for your projects. You can create links to other pages, see other documents that are related to some specific project, also it provides you with different kind of images and charts to make your document more powerful. This software supports everything starting from images, tables, diagrams, charts, whatever you need Confluence has it. Also, another thing that is worth mentioning is that you can see if anyone has made any change to the document and if it has you will get notified.

Cons: There are not so many disadvantages, to be honest, this is great software, maybe a bit hard for some beginners, but not too hard and you will have to spend some time on this software to know how it works. Another thing that I don’t like is that they are changing Confluence non-stop. They are doing updates most of the time and changing the software. I understand that they need to make changes for better but that can sometimes be annoying because you know something where is it and then they change it and add something else and you have to learn again.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/11/2019
Julián M.
Full-Stack developer
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2021

"Class-enterprise knowledge base software"

Comments: The best thing I achieved using this software was to integrate the concept of knowledge base with my business logic, and it really helped because they have a great documentation for starters, and they don't just learn to use the platform, but the overall concept regarding documentation management.

Pros: The best feature that this has is the extended Add-In marketplace. You can find the proper Add-In to express your ideas in the best way: Coding, Images or illustrations, animated gifs or videos, and even forms inside the documents and pages. From a user perspective, this is one on the easiest knowledge base software in the market, and also you have the bakcing of Atlassian. The process of the integration with our existing business logic was easy because we didn't have a strict knowledge base, but Confluence gave us the foundations to build one from scratch.

Cons: The export tools and options you have inside the platform are not good. The data isn't portable, so you can't migrate easily to another platform in case you want. The installation process was complex, but today, they stopped producing self-hosted applications, so you are obligated to use their cloud services, and it can be a problem if the company has a strict data policy, like restrictions in the phisycal storage of the data.

Alternatives Considered: MediaWiki

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: It's easier to use from a end-user perspective. It stimulates the generation of the documentation inside the business.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/02/2021
Tami S.
asst digital merchandiser
Retail, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2021

"Confluence Review"

Comments: I'm in a subdivision within my org that is always changing and updating how we do things, and so do the divisions we work closely with. It's sometimes to difficult to remember the most up-to-date process for something, and we keep our confluence pages buttons up and current, so anytime i need to reference what a current best practice is it's all right there. I do the same for our working partners, so I know who to reach out to when for a specific request, and don't have to play email tag with a bunch of people telling me that's not how XYZ is done anymore.

Pros: Confluence makes it so simple to build a knowledge base for your teams. Everything from project timelines, team breakdowns to trainings and procedures & references can be complied and shared out easily. The editing features can help you collaborate with others and the editing notifications come in really handy so you know whenever an update has been made to a page you're following or editing yourself.

Cons: The navigation, to me, isn't the prettiest thing in the world. I think the overall layout and design look a little dated. This doesn't effect the software itself, but the other tools my team utilizes have more of a modern look and feel to them.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2021
Brent w P.
President
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2021

"Great documentation tool in conjunction with JIRA"

Comments: I have had an overall good experience with Confluence and it is easy to create and share documents. If you are using JIRA already I would recommend this.

Pros: Confluence allows me to easily create documentation on projects that we also have in JIRA (And also content we want to collaborate on as a company)

Cons: It gets increasingly more expensive as you add more users. The learning curve to use is relatively high. The interface is not intuitive

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/05/2021
Aminuddin B.
Information Technology Manager
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2021

"All infromation and knowledge in one platform"

Comments: Confluence help us to organized our company technical document in single place and easily search it back by using the text search. It is basically the wikipedia for our documentation.

Pros: Documentation and document storing & sharing with Confluence is really well organized and manageable. Keeping technical documentation is a critical for us to have a fast response when error happens and we will have all the data and information by easily using the full text search. It has a customized storage drive that can expended with additional cost.

Cons: They should change and update the software layout, it is outdated and confusing to find a specific tools that i need. There are some service integration that i need to be link with this software, but unfortunately it is not supported and i had to change to other service to make it work with Confluence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/01/2021
Luke A.
Client Services
Marketing & Advertising, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
  • Ease of Use
  • Features & Functionality
  • Customer Support
  • Value for Money
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2020

"Best knowledge management and wiki out there"

Comments: If you use other Atlassian products, Confluence is the perfect complement. Because exporting documents is so bad, it works best if you, your colleagues and your stakeholders/clients all exist in the same Atlassian ecosystem.

Pros: Highly configurable and easy to use document templates, beautiful interface akin to using Medium, and deep integration with Jira Software and Jira Service Management are the features I find most useful. Recent changes to Templates to enable you to quickly search and preview available templates is incredibly helpful, as inline commenting while editing and being able to quickly convert anything into a Jira issue. Being able to use Confluence to defer service management requests by offering reporters the option of self serving an answer to their question/problem is a stroke of genius.

Cons: It's beyond irritating that exporting documents as a PDF is so horrendous out of the box. I also find the concept of Actions vs Jira issues confusing. I consistently find myself missing actions that have been buried in Confluence.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2020