About Confluence

Confluence is a team workspace where knowledge and collaboration meet. Create, collaborate, and organize your work all in one place.

Learn more about Confluence

Pros:

It is a very practical and simple software, it is not necessary to invest a lot of time to learn how to use it. Its graphic interface is very friendly, it is very intuitive software.

Cons:

Now I need to upload to google docs and import as google doc rather than word. The error messages sometimes are on the level of "something went wrong.

Confluence ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.3
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Confluence has an overall rating of 4.4 out 5 stars based on 2,780 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Confluence before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (2,780)

Liam
Liam
VP of Product in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The brain of our organization

5.0 last month New

Pros:

Confluence is one of a few systems we use that are crucial to our business, where if there was to be an outage, our business would grind to a hault.Confluence is the central store of knowledge for our company for everything from knowledge management, business process, knowledge sharing, product management, and anything in between. I like the Confluence doesn't try to re-invent the wheel, building on the basic premise of a word processing tool like Word or Google Docs, reducing the learning curve for new users.Confluence grants users super-powers through features that make Confluence documents interactive, engaging and powerful. Confluence's integration with Jira is fantastic and the two go hand in hand together, where 1+1 = 3.

Cons:

Atlassian has a marketplace of apps for Jira and Confluence that provide additive features and integrations. It is incredibly frustrating that you cannot buy licenses for only the users that need to use this app. For example, we have 100+ Confluence users, with multiple teams from customer support to developers. If our team of developers wants to use a Confluence app that costs $10/user/month, we have to buy licenses for all 100+ uses. As a result, apps become cost prohibitive to use, reducing the utility we get out of Confluence.

Verified Reviewer
Product Owner in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great Tool for Content Organization and Management

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: We have been using Confluence as a main software for content management. We use it for all our project related documentation like high level business requirements, enhancement requests, technical specs, meeting notes, project roadmaps etc. It seamlessly integrates with JIRA, which makes it such a great tool to be used by AGILE teams. Overall, Confluence is a very robust and powerful tool and it provides a central place for all your documentation.

Pros:

Confluence is a great tool for having all your documentation and knowledge in one place. You can create wiki pages for each topic and group these pages under 'Spaces'. Multiple team members can work on one page simultaneously. It captures a detailed audit trail on the changes made at a page level. You can have strong control on the content publishing by defining a robust review and approval process. It has a robust search functionality and it seamlessly integrates with JIRA, MS Teams and other third party tools.

Cons:

One major issue with Confluence is that when multiple people are working on one page simultaneously, then you need to refresh the page in order to see the changes made by others. Also, the access control can be complex and glitchy sometimes.I would love if the user interface for Confluence is improved.

Thom
Thom
Product Director in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Publishing, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

If you use Jira and need documentation for your projects, you need Confluence

3.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Confluence and Jira are part of my day-to-day. I use it nearly as much as I use slack and email. It's invaluable - again, when set up correctly. But it takes time to do it properly.

Pros:

The integration between Jira and Confluence is simply amazing. In addition to all the documentation features, the ability to make Jira dashboards of sorts that auto-update is incredible. It takes a slight learning curve, but it's nothing short of magical for managing tasks and epics in a way that can please all stakeholders from engineers to PMs to end-users.

Cons:

It's hard to use, set-up and learn. But once you learn it, it's amazing. But you need to be patient and put in the time to learn to use it properly.

Mohamed Salah
Project Manager in Tunisia
Management Consulting, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

An In-Depth Review of Confluence

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, Confluence is an excellent collaboration platform. Its intuitive interface and powerful features make it easy to set up and use, and it's a great way for teams to store, share, and collaborate on documents, notes, tasks, and more.

Pros:

Confluence is an incredibly powerful and flexible collaboration platform for teams. It enables teams to easily store, share, and collaborate on documents, notes, tasks, and more. The interface is intuitive and easy to use, making it simple for teams to get started quickly. It also has a wide range of powerful features, including powerful search capabilities, easy-to-use editing tools, and the ability to create custom workflows.

Cons:

While Confluence is a powerful collaboration platform, it can be a bit overwhelming for users who aren't familiar with the platform. Additionally, the cost of using Confluence can be prohibitive for smaller teams.

Hasan
Civil Engineer in Angola
Construction, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

I highly recommend Confluence as a collaboration platform

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall, I highly recommend Confluence as a collaboration platform. It is user-friendly, packed with features, and provides a great platform for teams to work together. The only downside is that it can be a bit pricey for some users.

Pros:

Confluence is an excellent collaboration tool that allows users to create, share and collaborate on various projects. The platform is incredibly user-friendly and easy to use, with a wide array of features that allow for seamless collaboration. The user interface is intuitive and clean, making it easy to navigate and find the features you need.

Cons:

The only downside to Confluence is that it can be a bit pricey for some users. Additionally, it is not as intuitive or feature-rich as some of its competitors.

Abhinav
Program Manager in India
Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Document Management cant be more simpler!

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

The product is pretty easy to use, have a great UI. The simplicity of the features are a blessing for all users. Its has made document sharing so easy that anyone can use it without any training.Also, the seamless integration with JIRA and other widgets eases our power to use the tool at the best!

Cons:

The only thing i dislike is when we edit a document in space or add a new document, its really troublesome to remove it properly.Also, the import and export functionality can be improved.

Alternatives Considered: Miro

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: We were already using JIRA, so using confluence was an addition to the product suite.

Kazeem
Solution Architect in South Africa
Media Production, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Conluence is good for IT-Development Project and also Knowledgebase management

5.0 3 weeks ago New

Comments: My overall Experience is very positive and good, i will always recommend Confluence

Pros:

This Software is massive and has a lot of tools embedded, what i like most is the possibility to Draw inside of the System and also embedding other documents, Confluence is Smashing :-)

Cons:

It could be slow sometimes. The usage of the embedded tools may be complicated and not running seamlessly, one may also forget to save the the edited stuff in the tool.

Arunas
Arunas
CEO in Lithuania
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great tool, for documenting all your project information and easy to share amongst different dept.

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Great! 10/10, I will definitely use it in another project, a great way to keep information in one place and share insights.

Pros:

Very intuitive and easy to navigate, as well as, to use it. I was sceptical in the beginning, but now cant image, cant image how we worked before.

Cons:

As part of Microsoft solution, it is very easy to integrate with other Microsoft software, but not so much with 3rd party tools.

Alternatives Considered: monday.com and ClickUp

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: We have some technologies that are built in Azure.

Martin
Martin
Freelancer in Czechia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

You can do anything with your ideas in this app

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall experience is perfect. Easy to use, nice UI/UX. For me the best tool to collaborate with team members. There are little bugs in access control, but nothing terrible. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Management of documentation for project is awesome. The text editor is very robust. I think this is the best app to collaborate with another people on your project.

Cons:

Access control is a bit chaotic. Sometime we have problem settings right for users and we need to repair them more times to get the right result.

Verified Reviewer
Editor and Writer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Decent Project Management Software for Teams

3.0 2 months ago

Pros:

The best part about this project management software is how easy it is to edit and add basic content to pages and to then update the team of these changes.

Cons:

While it's easy to add basic content to Confluence, the software lacks ready-made features to build pages that are more easy to read and follow. Users have room to create, but I think having some easy templates would help teams save time when putting together project flows.

Zuhairah
Zuhairah
Marketing Communications Specialist in Malaysia
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Very flexible collaboration tools

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Main issue that we have solved with this software is, sharing and giving access of document to certain user from various department. It help to protect the document and it will give insight if the document has been edited and the editor of the document.

Pros:

I really like that Confluence is very flexible in managing collaboration of documentation and task. Creating a document and stored it in the cloud storage provided by this platform make the sharing process of the document is very easy and flawless and the document will only circulated inside the software which add more security to the document.

Cons:

The only thing that i have problem with this software is, the full text search is not properly constructed. Too many unrelated search result is returned and that mean it is not accurate. I need to scan the result manually to find the document that i need and that action is taking time and slowing me down.

Federico
Federico
CFO in Brazil
Verified LinkedIn User
Banking, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great product for a Small / Medium Bussiness

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: My experience using Confluence is great, we stopped having several places to store the same information or share results, now we share everything in one place.

Pros:

Allows to have one single place for all the company's documentation, this reduces efforts and allow an easy more controlled data sharing. We have very interesting possibilities with other collaboration tools. It is very easy to use, just type, tag and share. Just like using any social network.

Cons:

Even though this is a very easy to use tool, sometimes the navigation is not so easy to understand. Users cannot see edits in a document in real time like Docs in Google Drive. Lastly, some formatting options are quite basic, a little or more options would be appreciated.

Alternatives Considered: Kipwise

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Confluence has better integrations with other tools.

Switched From: Kipwise and Nuclino

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Because the relation quality - price in confluence was greater.

Sridhar
Chief Technology Officer in US
E-Learning, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy and Simple Enterprise knowledge base and document management system

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Confluence is really good for organizing all of your company/teams requirements related to content, document, knowledge management and file management. Its a must for any company which is dependent on content and content based activities.

Pros:

From the word go, our team was able to jump start and create a solid knowledge base for our entire enterprise. Being in Education and E-Learning domain - content is the heart of our business. Managing content created by various teams inside company, partner contributions, freelancers content is extremely crucial and critical. Some of the most important features of this product for us are: Document Management, Knowledge base, Version Control System, Structured Pages, Search

Cons:

Confluence product does content related work really well. But that's not enough as we have grown in last 3 years and so are our requirements. Integrations with forms, data collections, Kanban board, tasks etc have become kind of a must rather than good to have features. We are currently on the premium plan and $10 per user for just managing document and collaboration seems little too much, specially when there are products which provide much more for less.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft SharePoint, Drupal, Zoho Docs, Dropbox Paper and Asana

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Initially we started maintaining and collaborating using Google Docs. With the amount of documents created, it was really getting difficult to manage, tag, structure the content and files around various categories of our educational departments.

Switched From: Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: With confluence managing, creating and organizing content is extremely easy and above all confluence will keep track of all the changes. With easy file uploads, managing documents and creating structured pages will only help create better content.

Denise
Denise
Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

All-in-one collaboration platform

4.0 7 months ago

Comments: Aids in the development of specialized work areas, wherein employees may carry out their duties in a relaxed and conducive setting. Integrating with other Atlassian products, as well as third-party apps, makes the platform more robust. It's easy to implement, fits any budget, and can help any business expand its operations.

Pros:

Atlassian Confluence is a platform for teamwork and information exchange that has helped our company greatly improve its operations. The platform is accessible to all users and features a straightforward interface, enabling our company to set up shared workspaces where employees can efficiently complete a wide range of assignments. It's steady, and it's facilitated the simple expansion of our holdings.

Cons:

There was a difficult learning curve for some of our less tech-savvy consumers to become proficient on the site. Some users may find it inconvenient that customer service is only offered in English.

Julián
Full-Stack developer in France
Financial Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Class-enterprise knowledge base software

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: The best thing I achieved using this software was to integrate the concept of knowledge base with my business logic, and it really helped because they have a great documentation for starters, and they don't just learn to use the platform, but the overall concept regarding documentation management.

Pros:

The best feature that this has is the extended Add-In marketplace. You can find the proper Add-In to express your ideas in the best way: Coding, Images or illustrations, animated gifs or videos, and even forms inside the documents and pages. From a user perspective, this is one on the easiest knowledge base software in the market, and also you have the bakcing of Atlassian. The process of the integration with our existing business logic was easy because we didn't have a strict knowledge base, but Confluence gave us the foundations to build one from scratch.

Cons:

The export tools and options you have inside the platform are not good. The data isn't portable, so you can't migrate easily to another platform in case you want. The installation process was complex, but today, they stopped producing self-hosted applications, so you are obligated to use their cloud services, and it can be a problem if the company has a strict data policy, like restrictions in the phisycal storage of the data.

Alternatives Considered: MediaWiki

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: It's easier to use from a end-user perspective. It stimulates the generation of the documentation inside the business.

Verified Reviewer
Quality Assurance Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Life saver for software projects

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: I have been using confluence every day for the last five years and I love how efficient and easy confluence is to use. It allows you to organize your pages into different spaces according to your needs and has an amazing set of tools for content editing. I remember before we used to store our data in JIRA cards or in MS word everything was just all over the place without any management. Now confluence is our one-stop solution for all our documentation needs. Using confluence we have all our content in one place and well organized

Pros:

Confluence is the most useful documentation tool of all time. It allows you to have all your documents in one place and not only that but it organizes them so very well. The number of tools it provides for editing a document is just amazing, something that is missing in all other documentation tools. The customizable templates are very useful too. I love adding images and videos to my documents, arranging the texts in blocks or tables, highlighting the important notes, etc. Confluence lets me do all of this. I also like how it allows collaboration of multiple people and highlights the contributors.

Cons:

I did not find any cons in the product itself but I would like to see better support service for confluence

Christopher
IT manager in US
Farming, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great for an internal and.or external knowledge base!

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

I enjoy using Confluence because it is user-friendly & intuitive. It is also cloud-based, so there is virtually no maintenance on our side other than the content.

Cons:

Some of the organization features for organizing pages could be a little better, or maybe just having some "best practices" explaining some examples on how to best manage pages & documetns for different scenarios.

Alternatives Considered: IT Glue

Reasons for Choosing Confluence: Needed a system that was made for a knowledge base, rather than jsut having a bunch of Google docs in a folder.

Switched From: Google Docs

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: Price was a major factor, and we liked the UI of Confluence better.

Verified Reviewer
Scrum Master in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Financial Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Confluence for Team collaboration

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My overall business experience is great. Earlier team was sharing project content via emails that is a clumsy way to mamage and store the information, but as more and more people are using confluence it has become a repository and one stop shop to put knowledge at one palce which can be referred as and when needed. This is a great tool and a game changer for how we manage our collaboration within team for the project under Agile way

Pros:

The best part about this software is the close integration with JIRA software. This is in real competition with Sharepoint as far as my understanding goes and I am an admin user for multiple scrum teams in my organization. Confluence in its own way is by far the easiest user-friendly software that I introduced in my team that was new to the agile world and now all our collaboration and communication on the process and tech document standpoint happens on Confluence. The comment section and different macros that can be added for adding content on a page and tree structure for pages created give this tool the edge and flexibility for teams to create the format that best suits to specific scrum team needs The technical document and usage of code snippet macro are very useful add-ons that have been given for formatting the content. from the project management standpoint, the product backlog and release planning can be done simply by adding JIRA tickets and their specific status that automatically is being fetched by confluence every time page is opened. The other most important feature is the ability to create JIRA tickets directly from the confluence page just select the text and then Confluence will give an option to create JIRA ticket and gets linked The reporting macros for JIRA tickets is a good way to track progress of projects

Cons:

At an enterprise level, there are few web designing that is required to be done so that content that is already there can be structured in a much more web design format like links to confluence pages to be embedded in an image. That option is available but to central Admin and not to the page admin that makes confluence little crunched to admin users within a project. But this negative point is a very small piece in comparison to positives with this application.

Charles
Charles
Account Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Good software, but not quite GREAT software.

4.0 10 months ago

Comments: We needed a document/knowledge depository. We ended up using Confluence for Knowledge Depository, it had too many limitations and too expensive to integration to use for Document Management. It did the job for knowledge management, but was very similar in features and functionality to other products that do this as well. We tried to adapt it for Customer Success management and meeting note taking but many users found it too difficult to use it regularly and it became shelf ware for this purpose.

Pros:

I like the version control features of Confluence, it's very easy to use and visibly see changes. Being able to build account dashboards with tasks from various business reviews was also a nice feature though had some limitations.

Cons:

The bullets formatting can be very frustrating and acts very strange sometimes. Confusing sign-in credentials for SSO when used with JIRA.

Alternatives Considered: Google Sheets

Switched From: Notion

Reasons for Switching to Confluence: More features and customizability.

Jinan
Scrum Masters in US
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Jira is incomplete without confluence!

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, I am very satisfied with the confluence. Multiple architects collectively decided to use that over Sharepoint. The key reason is the seamless integration between these two products (Jira and Confluence). For an example, by simply writing the issue key on confluence page would automatically create the link to Jira ticket while reflecting the status of the ticket. This would allow visibility for Release Planning, while allowing you to write an appropriate decisions such as Go-No-Go on the same page.

Pros:

Confluence offers pretty good UI for creating excellent documents (requirements or design). It does support pretty much all features of Microsoft word for creating a great documentation. Between all Atlasssian products, if you are tight on budget, I would suggest you to get Jira and confluence combo. It’s indeed great tool combo for the remote agile teams to work together due to their seamless integration.

Cons:

One thing that I loved on the share point that’s not great with confluence is integration with the Microsoft office products. To be very frank, I feel this is not a big drawback as now a days, web interface is pretty much replacing the traditional interface.

Alternatives Considered: Microsoft SharePoint

Verified Reviewer
Senior IT Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

An excellent documentation service that has saved me on many occasions

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: My coworker and I use confluence extensively to document all of the work that we perform. As IT staff many issues that we come across will be repeated ad-infinitum. As such to simply be able to look up the fix from any location with internet access increases efficiency many times over. The notification ability helps all users to see what has been changed, when, and by whom providing an excellent level of accountability.

Pros:

It is extremely easy to create a large number of documents, it is possible to reference other documents within them to facilitate ease of research, and documents can all be put into sub-folders to contain them within separate trees to aid with organisation. The mobile app is extremely useful for reading documentation whilst on the go - an example would be that we keep Video Conference details on one page that I have favorited, as such when I set up a VC from any location I am able to rapidly find the correct details to dial. The search functionality allows for extremely quick location of relevant documents. On many occasions I have not been able to find what I need looking through the lists, only to immediately find it on the first search. Indeed I no longer look through the list as the search is so efficient. When changes are made to documents it is possible to set it up to notify other members of the team so that they are able to see what has been done.

Cons:

The only minor issue I have discovered with confluence is that when creating new documents setting the location is not as smooth as I would like. Specifically I need to begin creating the document, then select "Move" and finally put it into the desired place. This does not really cause issues as it is still a quick process, however a one click setup would be appreciated.

Verified Reviewer
Missions Coordinator in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Helpful Tool

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Overall I would recommend using Confluence, but would caution people on how they rollout the new platform to their company. Ensuring that the expectations are communicated clearly for how the platform will be used, by whom and the frequency, are very helpful things to communicate when preparing your team to switch.

Pros:

The interactive features of Confluence serves as the best feature and function of this platform! Our organization is relatively small (20-30 employees) and is a Foundation that interacts with other nonprofits in the area. As a result we had many touch points in the community through various teams and often time what we were doing would get lost. In an effort to improve our internal communication our organization adopted Confluence as a means of servicing our company. We used the blog feature heavily which proved to be the best method of communication internally and cut down on the amount of emails adding to the clutter in our inboxes. It also allowed discussions to happen seamlessly and served as a point of reference for folks to easily access when needed.

Cons:

It wasn't always very user friendly. Our organization consists of a variety of ages, so the way that people have engaged with technology is also varied. There are times that adding spaces or pages have proved to be a challenge for those who don't consider themselves as "technologically savvy". There was a bit of a learning curve for me in learning to how to use the software, but the customer support team was helpful in walking me through difficulties. The mobile function also wasn't the best depending on how users have different spaces setup.

Nadiv
Customer Service Emergency Hotline Employee in Netherlands
Consumer Electronics, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Confluence: the hub for knowledge management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, I use Confluence every day in my work to keep my (and my organization's) knowledge base relevant. I use to it to collaborate with other employees for improving internal processes, as well as for communicating important current info (such as outages or key developments). Confluence is unmatched in its search functionality, and allows my organization to keep its knowledge base completely streamlined.

Pros:

I use Confluence as a customer service employee. We have a vast amount of procedures for managing internal systems, as well as for applying systems to actual contact with customers. All of these procedures are stored and maintained in Confluence. What helps me the most, is Confluence's super-advanced search functionality. Essentially, I merely have to type in a relevant word, and Confluence will list all the applicable articles. This allows me to find a relevant procedure for a specific situation in seconds. Another important feature to me is the commenting system. I collaborate with users who create and manage articles. When I see info in an article that's outdated or incorrect, I can leave a comment, and the article manager will get a notification. It's easy to collaborate in this way and keep information up-to-date. Lastly, the permission schemes help with keeping editing (or even viewing rights) limited to the relevant users. Within customer service this is important, as there are varying levels of authorization within our organisation.

Cons:

In my opinion, the user experience and readability of the software could be improved slightly. The color scheme of blue/white/black isn't bad, but the layout tends to be somewhat messy. It could benefit from some streamlining, and perhaps more clear demarcation of elements within pages (such as more use of bold / italics, more variance in font size, and use of headers).

Verified Reviewer
Field Marketing Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Content and document management are made easier using this tool

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: New employees and colleagues in the same department can use Confluence to learn about specific procedures. As a result, it may not be the most efficient method for distributing information between departments. It's better suited to those who have a wide range of knowledge.

Pros:

Confluence has been used extensively by my team to keep track of and add new information to the knowledge base. It appears that we have done a good job of creating pages that provide the information new employees require. Small businesses can use the tool, but I believe it is better suited to larger ones. It's quick and easy to set up a wiki for your team. Real-time collaboration, complete version history, and automated change logs and diffs are all included. You can move and drop documents in the document tree with ease because each document has a unique URL. This is one of the most convenient methods for obtaining such a combination. Confluence integrates seamlessly with the other Atlassian products, making project and product management as simple as possible. This year has seen an explosion in the number of templates that are available to help you keep your documentation organized and easy to fill out. Useful, but sometimes you must look up exactly how to use macros. Confluence's macro documentation is extremely helpful.

Cons:

If you don't have a lot of experience with wiki software, the editor can be difficult to work with. When it comes to macros and formatting settings, it can be difficult to know which tool is best for your project. It's difficult to organize a collection of articles, but that's to be expected. With the help of the software, you can organize your pages in a predetermined way. This is effective, but it necessitates a great deal of self-control as your familiarity with the software increases.

Verified Reviewer
Systems Administer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Documentation is key and Confluence is the perfect place for it

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: My overall experience with Confluence is excellent. My team has been using confluence for over 5 years now and I don't see that changing anytime soon. We have built an extensive knowledge base in Confluence and keep learning more and more awesome features every day.

Pros:

What I liked most and like most about Confluence is recently the ability to inline edit with team members on the same page. You can collaboratively edit a page together. This is very helpful when in meetings with multiple people and they can all be updating their portion of the document at the same time without stepping on anyone's changes. Second to that I would have to say the quick commands to change headers or add lists to a document on the fly never having to move your hands from the keyboard.

Cons:

The thing I would say I liked the least about Confluence is it's API, while there is extensive documentation for it. When you are new to working with their API it can be very hard to get off the ground running without a lot of trial and error due to the lack of examples.