About Datadog

Datadog is a service that helps increase uptime and maximize the performance of services through centralized monitoring and alerting.

Learn more about Datadog

Pros:

It's expensive but the pricing is easy to understand and keep track of.

Cons:

Filtered tags is very Slow. The integration with another tools is difficult.

Datadog ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.5
Value for Money
4.1

Likelihood to recommend

8.2/10

Datadog has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 203 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Datadog before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (203)

Mauricio
Mauricio
Full Stack Engineer in Argentina
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros:

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons:

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

Marcos
SRE Team Lead in Spain
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog is great! Room to improve but definitely the future of observability

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

For us the most liked feature of Datadog is the possibility to compare all data that we received from our platform. Being able to compare the platform status, the network status, the performance traces, the logs is really helpful letting us find issues where we couldn't find if we will do it manually.

Cons:

Datadog is great but it misses something, for example it could include a self remediation tool. Since every server has already installed a Datadog agent it would be so helpful if with the UX we could add, edit or delete custom checks in python or something like that, and if we could automate some actions programmed in the UX so we could work and integrate with escalation policies, alerts and more.

Alternatives Considered: Prometheus, Grafana and Elastic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Pandora was not escalating like we expected and we wanted to search for a unified product that covers everything we need, server monitoring, database monitoring, APM...

Switched From: Pandora FMS

Craig
Owner in Australia
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Couldn't install

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: If you can get it running I am sure it's good.

Pros:

Looks like it should do the job, less log limits than other products.

Cons:

Spent days trying to get it working on a pretty vanilla Windows VM but never could get it up and running. Support pretty much just told me to read the documentation which wasn't really helpful after going over it ten times already. Had similar problem with another product and they could tell me the exact lines of the config and registry that needed changing.

Alternatives Considered: Site24x7 and Raygun

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Price

Switched From: Retrace by Netreo

Tim
Director, Software Platform Development in Canada
Biotechnology, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Everything in a single pane of glass

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: I have had a great overall experience with the product, the customer success team, and the support team at Datadog. I would highly recommend.

Pros:

Datadog is a solid and stable product. They provide easy to use features and functionality that sets the standard for APM and Security tools - and their suite of tools is continuously expanding to important areas. The APM capabilities were able to handle our complex technology stack with little to no configuration necessary.

Cons:

Not necessarily a con, more of a caution to monitor your consumption.. We worked with the customer success team to ensure our account was right sized based on forecasted usage. In the beginning we had to monitor our on-demand consumption as we outgrew our initial needs, this was handled incredibly well by the Datadog team, but you do need to keep an eye on your own consumption to avoid additional costs.

Alternatives Considered: Instana and New Relic

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: We were looking to consolidate our output from our cloud provider to reduce I/O traffic and security risk. Also, we felt the use of Datadog would simplify our integrations (and the number of integrations overall) by using a multi-purpose tool.

Switched From: Instana and Sumo Logic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: We felt the specific mix of technologies covered by their APM was a differentiating factor for us.

Matthew
Director of Platform in Canada
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

DataDog is key component of our engineering stack!

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Initially we had purchased DataDog to get some basic observability and to lift our logs into a central location. Quickly we began leveraging there additional features to gain deeper insights, better monitoring, and to speed up troubleshooting. DataDog is now a cornerstone of our software stack and everyone from engineers up and into DevOps/SREs use this on a day-to-day basis.

Pros:

The software can scale with the business needs. You can start with basic features or leverage many as you like (for $$) to gain deeper insights. Engineers once onboarded use it heavily to spot issues or troubleshoot more obscure bugs both in production and development.

Cons:

You often need to review usage and costs. Misconfigurations, migration projects (where legacy + new infrastructures are required), integrations which may cause double reporting need to be observed to prevent run-away spend.

Alternatives Considered: New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: We chose DataDog due to extensive feature set and existing product knowledge within the engineering team.

Srinivas
Srinivas
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Best Application Performance Monitoring tool!

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Datadog helped us solve a critical reliability and traceability problem we had with one of our customers. There was not clear visibility into the root cause of an issue when it happens and that caused finger pointing between teams. While there were other monitoring tools being used, they lacked the capabilities that Datadog has which provided much greater visibility and helped us improve the reliability of our system landscape. Onboarding was a breeze and customer service top notch!

Pros:

Service Map, Session Replay, Custom metrics and monitors

Cons:

We had a sticker shock after onboarding, as the was the hosts were counted for certain infrastructure was not clear from the documentation.

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace and SignalFx

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Ease of integration, comprehensive documentation, good community engagement, good customer service, clarity in pricing

Sandeep
Sandeep
Systems Engineer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

One Consol for everything related to monitoring

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Excellent.

Pros:

I need not have multiple monitoring solutions for different Applications. So, creating combined Dashboards/Monitors/Alerts is very convenient.

Cons:

Pricing is a little on the high end, but it's definitely worth it .

William
VP of Engineering in US
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Dog eat Dog world

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: DataDog has allowed me to bring Fortune 500 company insights and application monitoring to a early stage startup!

Pros:

DataDog is able to ingest and make sense of a complicated cloud application without the developer having to understand the infrastructure or program specifically for it.

Cons:

That if I could afford it I would turn on all the features 24/7 and use them all.

Alternatives Considered: Prometheus

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Needed the value fast with little to no development time.

Aviram
Developer - devops in Israel
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Monitoring our micro services app with datadog

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Use it every day, easy to implement

Pros:

All in one shop. APM, DB monitoring , synthetic transaction and log analysis

Cons:

APM does not work well on nodejs asyc services. Might be hard to track transactions.

Alternatives Considered: New Relic

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: we used new relic in the past 10 years in a former company. We wanted to try someting new and a lower cost

Rayla
Rayla
Graduate Research Assistant in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

5.0 3 years ago

Pros:

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons:

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: My company decided to stay with Splunk and not switch to Datadog. It has a lot more capabilities.

Verified Reviewer
Software Engineer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros:

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons:

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.

Alternatives Considered: Google Analytics 360

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: Datadog seemed to be more data intensive and specifically geared towards products like ours which really relied on app throughput, performance, and availability. Getting our product straight to the user, in a quick and efficient manner, is our priority and Datadog helps clear any blockers or issues that gets in the way of that.

Verified Reviewer
Software Developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for working with AWS

5.0 3 years ago

Comments: We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros:

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons:

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Alternatives Considered: Loggly

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: searching logs was too slow and difficult to get the results we desired quickly (especially to track down recent customer problems)

Reasons for Switching to Datadog: better / easier integration with our current development stack

Satbyul
Staff in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Clear graphs and easy to set up

4.0 3 years ago

Comments: Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros:

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons:

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Drew
Software Architect in US
Real Estate, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Generally good, customer support could be better

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Very helpful to have a full suite of observability tools. Customer support could be better.

Pros:

Overall observability is good, and the way all of the offerings interact is helpful.

Cons:

basic APM requires code customization, which isn't the case with competing products. Documentation for anything beyond basic integration is lacking. Customer support is a bit of a bait and switch; great during eval, and bad once you've bought the product.

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace

Switched From: Lightstep

Richard
Senior DevOps Architect in US
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Well worth the investment

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Overall, it has been a very pleasant experience in comparison to New Relic, Logic Monitor and AppD.

Pros:

It is simple to setup and maintain. Plus the UI is really easy to understand.

Cons:

Polling period of the alerts are not short enough. The lowest is every 5 minutes but if a site is down, 5 minutes is too long to wait to see if it is down.

Alternatives Considered: AppOptics

Reasons for Choosing Datadog: Price and ease of use

Switched From: LogicMonitor, AppDynamics and New Relic

Verified Reviewer
Industry Principal Consultant in Canada
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Must have for your application monitoring and infrastructure management

5.0 9 months ago

Comments: Overall we are using datadog for application performance monitoring on daily basis an it has really helped us resolve application incidents.

Pros:

Application performance monitoring, server and database monitoring, dashboards & reporting, proactive incident management

Cons:

Sythentic queries are difficult to grasp. Need support for more geographies for application performance Monitoring

Alternatives Considered: AppDynamics

Michael
Engineering Lead in US
Computer Games, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Datadog is best in class

5.0 2 months ago New

Comments: Love it, could not imagine better.

Pros:

Easy to use and gives us the data we need to understand what is happening in our applications.

Cons:

It has taken us a while to implement. Ebs support is not as intuitive as others.

Alternatives Considered: Splunk Enterprise and Observe

Jahiezer
Desarrollador in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons:

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Verified Reviewer
BI Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons:

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Ashok
SRE in Canada
Mining & Metals, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Datadog experience

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: It's a good tool, needs to improve the collaboration of the support team.

Pros:

Building Dashboards, Observability at the granular level

Cons:

Terminology , need to distinguish different resources and not tag them as one

Alternatives Considered: Dynatrace

Cara
Sr. Cloud Engineer in US
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Best all-in-one monitoring tool

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Being able to combine all of our analytics tools in one place makes it easy to find the right information to investigate, monitor, and resolve operational issues quickly. Combining products like logs and APM traces makes both tools even more powerful for finding and understanding problems with our applications.

Cons:

If there's one drawback, it's the cost, which can become expensive for monitoring high-throughput systems or systems with a lot of hosts.

Verified Reviewer
Tech Lead, Strategic Alliances and Business Development in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros:

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons:

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.

Jacob
Systems Administrator in US
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mostly good

4.0 2 months ago New

Comments: We needed a general SIEM specifically with Dashboards for management auditing. The Azure Security Dashboard ticks that checkbox, but I do think it could be improved.

Pros:

Multiple tools / functions we needed provided by one service.

Cons:

Some services need additional development/features. Specifically I would like to replace our Site24x7 SLA reports with DataDog SLO monitoring / reports, but features and functionality are not there yet. We have also had less than stelar experience with DataDog support, basically being non-responsive.

Verified Reviewer
CTO in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

A must in the monitoring toolbox

5.0 6 months ago

Comments: the customer experience is perfect, we are assisted every step of the process, and the support is reactive

Pros:

Datadog is a very powerfull tools, it allows you to gatehered lot of differents metrics, and create very powerfull dashboard to monitor everything that append in your app (server side) but also to monitor your API or your network. it's a very powerful tool !

Cons:

It can be a bit tricky at the beginning to setup your dashboard, there is a learning curve to understand how to implements everythings

Verified Reviewer
Back-end Developer in France
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Datadog review

4.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I liked the ease of use and the comprehensive monitoring capabilities that Datadog provides. The ability to quickly set up and customize dashboards to monitor application performance and health was very helpful. Furthermore, the alerting system was incredibly helpful in identifying problems quickly.

Cons:

I found that the dashboard setup and configuration process was a bit cumbersome and confusing. It took me a while to figure out how to customize and configure the dashboard to my specific needs. Additionally, I found the pricing to be quite expensive for the features it offers.