Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Intercom

Build better customer relationships with the #1-rated Business Messenger.

Learn more about Intercom

Showing 757 reviews

Verified Reviewer
IT Specialist
Internet, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2021

"More than a messaging platform"

Comments: We are using Intercom as our main costumer messaging platform in all our ends, from emails to customers to internal communications for our team. Intercom does everything in a neat and easy way.

Pros: In a few words, using Intercom is such a wholesome experience with zero to non competitor in the market who can compete with his top notch features and constant improvements. There is always something new in the works to make it even more useful.

Cons: The overall quality of the SaaS is very good, but the price you have to pay for everyone of the features is a bit too much compared to what is offered from the competition, don't get me wrong, being at the top of the list comes with a hefty price tag.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 17/02/2021

Thanks so much for letting us know how Intercom is helping you manage your communications with your customers and teams.

Thanks too for you feedback regarding our pricing and packaging. Our aim is to align the price you pay to the value you see, and it's a difficult one to get this right for every type of business model. I'll make sure to pass your comments on to the right team.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2021
Grégoire D.
Head of Growth
Marketing & Advertising, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    2 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2021

"Great product, poor pricing and support"

Comments: Intercom helped us provide better support and engage more visitors and clients.

Pros: Intercom is super easy to use and implement. It's packed with time-saving features.

Cons: Their support team is driving us crazy. It can take them up to 10 days to reply to a simple question.
Their pricing is also super frustrating. We're paying more than 500€/month. For a company with less than 10 employees and 1,300 paying clients, this is a lot of money.
Despite what we pay, we don't have access to their most recent features.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 27/01/2021

Hi Gregoire, thanks for leaving us this review. I'm happy to hear we're helping you better support and engage your customers.

I've let your account rep know about your support experience as this is not what we expect.

Kate (Intercom)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/01/2021
Peter C.
Dir. User Experience
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019

"Complete Package"

Comments: We had the opportunity to start fresh with a new ticket system/knowledge base so were shopping around. We came across Intercom and never looked back. While it has those things it is so much more being a central place to manage all our client related communications. It is by far the application I use most day-to-day.

Pros: Using Intercom has been an amazing experience. It is well thought out, full featured and continues to improve all the time. It has become an essential tool to communicate with our leads/clients. What is great is we can reach them (and they reach us) wherever they are: our website, in our web app, our mobile apps, email, etc.

Cons: While it starts off cheap depending on the features you choose to use and your volume it can start to get expensive quick. I'm not saying the product still doesn't provide value (it absolutely does) just if I had to pick what I liked least I would say cost.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 18/12/2019

Hi Peter,

We really appreciate you leaving us a review and are so happy to hear Intercom is an essential part of your customer communication.

Thanks also for your feedback on pricing. We work really hard to align our pricing to the value you are seeing. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss your subscription options with us.

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/12/2019
Nathaniel P.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019

"The really bridge the gap between customers and our service"

Comments: Their customer success team is great, even on the days when I'm not the most gracious customer. I even try to emulate some of their practices because I feel heard as a customer when I suggest features or report what I think could be bugs in the system.

Pros: The ability to converse with our customers quickly and seamlessly between email and the messenger app is great. They've thought through this feature set very well and it brings us very close to our customers and we are able to convert leads very well through this service too. Other similar apps function the same, but their UI/UX is lacking compared to Intercom. The actual feel of the app is clean and friendly and dare I say...even fun to use. Customer success at Intercom is also excellent, they've got our backs and I appreciate it (although getting paired with someone in a vastly different time zone can hold up ticket times on our end).

Cons: There are some gaps in the help center and email features. It would be ideal to create/edit documents in a manner closer to Microsoft Word or Google doc, as those are the standard for editing documents these days. Little things like not being able to create a list inside of a document the way I would in other apps can be frustrating, but there is usually a workaround of some sort that will suffice (I'm just picky). It would also be nice to only be paired with their team members in our time zone. Working in the US and then being helped by a team member from Australia means our ticket times take much longer and conversation is hard to do in real time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Operations Specialist
Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2019

"Lots of Features but Frustrating When Messages Get Lost"

Comments: Our team used intercom to support a large team of contractors that would frequently visit our website and work with us on a regular basis. We frequently use the "segment" feature to learn more about our population and to send out messages to certain segments. We also used a variety of integrations. For example, we used upscope.io so that we could immediately screenshare with any user who was on our website if they sent us a message on intercom that they needed help. The user would get a popup asing if they want to let the administrator view their screen and they just need to click "ok." That's it. It's that easy. Upscope.io integrates directly with intercom. You can also add Google Calendar to intercom so that intercom users can schedule a call with a teammate directly.

Pros: Intercom allows for various quasi-queries, integrations, and outound messasges to your users. This is very helpful and is not available in all of the other customer support platforms that I have used. You can find out information about your customer population. You can send messages to only CERTAIN "segments" of your customer population. You can also integrate with a WIDE variety of other softwares to really up your customer support game.

Cons: Intercom does not show all of the user messages together unless you open their profile OR they send their message as a response. So, for example, if a customer sends you a message, then 10 minutes later they create a new chat and send a new message, those messages are not linked togather unless you open their profile. I have had the experience of different agents answering the two messages or of answering one message only to see that the same user had sent a correction to their message. This is very frustrating. It can also be difficult for users to locate the knowledge base which leads to more inbound messages. Intercom is trying to solve this by bot responses, but this is something you may have to pay for.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/01/2019
Jennie Z.
Marketing Manager
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019

"A Great Lead Capture"

Comments: Makes customer communication and customer acquisition easier. I wish the chat flows were more advanced and customizable. There was definitely a learning curve with the chat flows. Also, I don't believe I can export contact information with my leads.

Pros: -Capturing emails and names
-Integrating to Hubspot and other software for easy lead closure
-Creating chat flows allows us to communicate to customers faster and saves us time

Cons: -Would like to combine actions on Intercom
-Hubspot Integration is not perfect; would like to have specific field matching
-Chat flow capabilities are limited

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/10/2019
Oliver A.
Founder & CEO
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019

"All our support team is using it"

Pros: Ease of use is really great. We have hundrets of conversations with our clients every day using this tool.

Cons: Their pricing. Not only is it expensive, they have changed their pricing plan about 4x in 2 years. Furthermore it's very complex to understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/09/2019
Sylvina R.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019

"Fast and easy"

Pros: We used the chat system for our support team and Intercom made is super easy to get going. The chats were like personalized messages and we could set up introductory or absence messages for a duration set up. Automation is great.

Cons: No reporting at all. They have reports within the system which is not editable and if you want to download and run your own reports, it is not possible. Makes it difficult to audit.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/08/2019
Alexis D.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018

"Easy-to-use tool with great features to make supporting customers a breeze!"

Comments: We have been able to resolve customer questions in a much quicker time simply because we can access help articles quicker, get other team members in on the conversation more easily, and use integrations like co-browsing and attaching help articles to resolve a problem more quickly. Overall, Intercom has been a great experience compared to our past customer support apps and we are happy to be using this to improve our customer's experience in our app.

Pros: It is great to have the ability to do so many things within one app: chat with our customers, write help articles, link help articles to our customers, send out messages to groups of people, easily find previous conversations, and create reports to monitor our progress. Intercom has really made our support workflow simple and much less confusing than other software tools we have used. They also integrate with a number of different tools (GitHub, ZenDesk, Upscope co-browsing, etc.) so anything that Intercom can't directly do, we can find a way to do through an integration.

Cons: The Customer Support response times from Intercom are a bit long, but the team is always helpful and resolves any questions we have. I also wish the Articles were a little more built out - they just have some simple feature there, and it would be nice to have a more robust help center with the flexibility to format our articles the way we want and organize the collections differently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
CX Supervisor
Food & Beverages, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020

"Great intuitive software"

Comments: Using this to answer incoming customer inquiries, resolution not, faq, and more

Pros: Easily merges email and live chat on one platform. Integrates loads of other software too. Also has built in reporting and lots of features that come standard

Cons: Cannot merge tickets like other platforms do. Some reporting could use deeper drill downs and insights

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 06/05/2020

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your Intercom experience. I'm glad we're helping you manage your multi-channel support.

I've made sure to pass your feedback on ticketing and reporting on to the Product Team as I know we have a few plans in the workds that could address these.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/04/2020
Andre L.
Customer Success Hero
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Great tool for conversations - not for tracking"

Comments: Overall, this platform would be amazing if the stats were figured out. Right now, it's a solid 8 even without tracking features. It's a keeper, but not once the team reaches over 100 and you really need to track solid numbers.

Pros: This software is easy to use and navigate. The support has been quick to respond and very helpful. They utilize all the tools and resources available to you and really embrace their own technology. Intercom has helped to create more of a conversational-based outlook for our success team.

Cons: This software's statistic-tracking is severely lacking. I'd give this a 0 for any crucial numbers you are looking for, time to resolution (you can't track ongoing conversations), tags are conversation based and pull the entire thread, not the moment the tag happened, and countless others. You will spend more time compiling your stats if you use Intercom's system and need to track valid numbers.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 05/12/2018

Andre, appreciate your review and feedback! We're continuing to invest in our reporting and have a dedicated eng team focused on improving this so will pass along your feedback and you should see improvements start to ship in the coming months!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Sean D.
Client Experience and Customer Success Specialist
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Intercom Review"

Comments: This experience has been very positive. The value we gain by using intercom helps us as a team to stay organized and on top of everything as we are a highly collaborative office. Not sure what all is in the pipeline for development. I've made a few request and not sure where those stand or really even where to go review those. I understand with ongoing development it's hard to give dates but some type of "under review" or "denied" status would be helpful.

Pros: This software is easy to use and the customer support is very friendly and will help walk through how to solve for an issue end to end - even if there is no developed solution, which can be difficult. I really like the "note" functionality.

Cons: Images in emails sometimes (and often) all turn into attachments. It becomes a pain to click through every image when a customer of ours sends in a screenshot when they have thumbnails in their email signature. It would be great if pictures came through a bit more naturally as it would via email. I've also sent in a bit of feedback here and there on how to improve reporting capabilities. It would be nice if adding people to conversations worked a bit better for our need being able to tie in our account team (they are not "agents") would be helpful rather than typing their whole email. Reporting on our reply time within our office hours would be huge as well (i.e. if we get a message at 5:01 and we leave on a Friday it won't knock us the entire weekend).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Chris S.
Customer Support Manager
Telecommunications, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2019

"Great for Our Company"

Comments: Coming from our previous chat software, this one is 1000% better. You can view reports of different employees and their ratings from customers they interact with, you can send emails from within Intercom, and I am sure there are many more options that I am not even aware of yet. Overall, a great product.

Pros: I love the main chat interface, and how it keeps everything clean, neat and organized. You can snooze chats for later, and create preset replies, which save a TON of time, when answering the same types of questions.

Cons: For some customers, if they are on a different page than the one they were on before, when chatting, Intercom sometimes makes another, new chat. In rare instances, I will have 4 or 5 chats from the same person. I don't know why this is, though it could be how it simply interacts with our website, specifically. Also, the chat sound will sometimes beep randomly, where there isn't a chat there to attend. Minor annoyances, in the grand scheme of things.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 09/12/2019

Thanks a lot for leaving us this review Chris. It's great to hear that Intercom is having such a great impact for you!

The multiple chat issue you're seeing sounds strange to me so I would advise you get in touch with our Support team to see if they can help :)

Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/12/2019
Farhan Q.
Product Operations Manager
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019

"Intercom - Bringing all your communication on a single page"

Comments: Overall experience has been great and we would love to recommend intercom to any person new to similar products. This is highly useful for small businesses and startups.

Pros: We have set up intercom to be active on more than 40 of our product websites. The best thing is that we do not have to be on separate places to respond to chats from customers/potential customers. Every chat/communication comes directly to the intercom main page from where we can see the link the customer is viewing right now, their location and country. The software also has options to automatically assign chats to different people. We can define rules such as rule according to geographical location of customer. That makes it easy for our globally located teams to address customer requests from customers in their areas only.

Cons: The pricing is a bit aggressive. It costs per seat. The pricing has been revised recently in 2019. Before that the pricing was slightly better.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/02/2019
Anne V.
Head of Customer Care
Consumer Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017

"Makes Everything Easier"

Comments: This allows us to provide top notch customer service while maintaining an organized system on the back end that would only be a headache anywhere else. We are able to flow live chats and email tickets as well as any other inbound activity to one main hub.

Pros: I love Intercom - nearly every function it has makes my job easier, and it makes sharing information between teams regarding a single customer really easy. Bonus functions like notes/mentions, giphys, and integrations with other software systems we use really make it the best thing since sliced bread.

Cons: The messenger app. We use our own live chat system and maintain use of Intercom for email communication only. Unfortunately the messenger app looks and feels exactly like live chat, which we do not want, because we use it for email communication. Users perceive it as chat, and when they do not get an immediate reply they get frustrated. I have been told that this cannot be turned off nor is there any solution for us regarding this problem.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 18/09/2017
Emilia E.
Technical Support Lead
Financial Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018

"Beyond a customer helpdesk solution."

Pros: Multipurpose use : Intercom goes beyond just being a tool for support agents , it is also used by our customer success team and my organizations sales team.
In a sales capacity ,we use Intercom to prompt new web visitors to signup for our services ,and existing web visitors to make a purchase; thus becoming repeat customer. We achieve this by leveraging on trigger messages and lead routing functions to maximize our website visit to purchase ,conversion ratio.
For helpdesk purpose , we use Intercom to communicate with ease with web visitors. We are able to effectively manage customer tickets and respond to customer queries in real time.

Cons: The user interface is un-intuitive and takes time for new helpdesk agents to get used to Intercoms dashboard navigation. Also the more our users and customers get larger , the higher the pricing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/06/2018
Stephanie V.
Customer Success Coach
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021

"Great tool to attend to your customers in real time!"

Comments: I love how the system works. It integrates well with Hubspot, the workflow is smooth. It keeps a good database of leads since the messages are never gone. I also like how it gives us statistics on what is my team's response time, etc. I love how easy we can set up a business hour rule, auto-responses, and tours. So I would say, I am glad we are using the system because it is definitely an excellent tool I can't imagine having without!

Pros: I really like how it lets my team assist our customers in real-time! Aside from that, it lets us send pictures, links, etc and tours to help the customer troubleshoot with ease! Also, I have never encountered a bug so far. Really great tool!

Cons: Honestly, I couldn't think of any. It works smoothly and integrates well with Hubspot which is our CRM. This is by far an excellent tool in resolving issues aside from doing phone calls. A lot better, actually! :)

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 27/01/2021

Thanks for letting us know about your Intercom experience Stephanie. It's so nice to hear that you're seeing such success with the tools and can't imagine life without it!

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/01/2021
Jonathan C.
Account Manager
Computer Software, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018

"Terrific product and exemplary customer service"

Comments: My overall experience with Intercom has been outstanding. Intercom is embedded in our software so users can contact us anytime via chat. This has helped us reduce the number of incoming (and outgoing) phone calls and provide faster, more efficient service that is also personal. It is also a great way to communicate product updates and important notifications to all our customers. Intercom has made it so much easier for us to solve problems for our customers, and whenever we encounter any problems or questions – the Intercom staff is quick to reply, always kindly and professionally, and offer a solution.

Pros: Intercom is intuitive and easy to use, it has a great-looking interface, it is constantly evolving and introducing new features to improve user experience, and the customer service is fantastic. I have been using it for almost two years now and it has been a great tool for communicating with our users and providing remarkable service.

Cons: No support for right-to-left writing directions, no support for replying to a specific message (like on WhatsApp).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/11/2018
Sundeep G.
WaveMaker Consultant
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018

"Intercom will always in one of the choices if you are looking for a customer nurturing platform."

Pros: Intercom with its easy to use interface and powerful features is easily one the of the best tools for customer nurturing. It has set a new standard for all the software makers in terms of functionality and also marketing. Intercom offers great integrations but sometimes it gets a little overwhelming with a lot of features. They are always in touch with their customers updating them about the releases and new features which are being updated very frequently. Intercom is a great product and I believe that when choosing a customer nurturing platform, Intercom has to be a choice.

Cons: Intercom is great if but it gets costly as you keep adding users. If there is no proper integration with the product, all the data will be garbage and it would not be very useful. Since there are a lot of features that get added very often, sometime it becomes a little confusing as to what the tool actually is capable of.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 29/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Business Development Manager
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019

"Best tool in the market for Online Chat support"

Pros: We have around 700 customers who use our product on regular basis ,earlier they use to send us email and then we would respond to them which was time consuming . Later on we moved to intercom and now as and when we receive any query from customer our customer success team response time has reduced to lest then 1 minute. We have also integrated intercom with zendesk so that if there is technical issue automatically ticket is created in zendesk for technical team . Last but not the least the automated email / message functionality and reports provided by intercom are just awesome , we can measure the performace of each chat support agents .

Cons: if chat has more then 300-400 lines then time taken to load on mobile app increases

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/01/2019
Catrin W.
Marketing Executive
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018

"Great for keeping everything centralised"

Comments: It's been great, and the support team and quick to respond to any queries we have :-)

Pros: We love that all messages that come in from site visitors and users of our software come in to one central place with Intercom, ensuring we never miss a message. We can also report on our average response time per user, snooze tickets if it's something we need to come back to, but don't want in our queue, and assign messages to other people's queues if it relates to them.

Cons: I find the search functionality is a bit limited, and can sometimes find it difficult to search for specific conversations with users within companies.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 05/12/2018

So glad to hear Intercom has become your central place for all conversations with your website visitors and customers! Appreciate your feedback re: our search and will pass that along to our team.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/11/2018
Max S.
Director, Customer Success
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019

"You may want to replace traditional ticketing system with Intercom if you're SaaS"

Comments: Despite minor UX issues, overall Intercom is a great product with plethora of useful functions, that are also available starting from the beginning plan (Essentials) and improve as you upgrade your subscription. The new automation tools (Custom bots) are absolutely amazing for a heavily-loaded customer support teams.

Pros: - Integration with website & SaaS product;
- Great (simple & powerful) built-in knowledge base with automatic chat bot;
- Insightful pre-built reports for Inbox and Articles product;
- Synergy between chat, platform, inbox, articles and messages modules of the product - it allows enabling functions as you need those.

Cons: - Unlike all other parts of the system, the UX of renewing the cancelled subscription is far from great: you'd need to purchase "new" subscription and go through the wizard once again instead of just hitting "Renew".
- The Contact profile, especially section with Custom Fields, does not accommodate all the data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/03/2019
Hayward S.
Customer Success Lead
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020

"intercom does so much more than just chat"

Comments: Overall, this is a great tool. If you do customer support, this is a great way to get started. It even connects to JIRA! I'm a fan.

Pros: WOW. When I started with this tool, I was just beginning to work with clients via chat. We were starting with a new software, and I didn't know what to do. My manager introduced me to Intercom, and I've come to love the tool. It's easy to use, quickly able to manage the work that comes up, and organized enough for me to not only chat with clients, but manage an internal marketing campaign with the tool.

Cons: There's not a ton to dislike, but they also use the tool to share information. Sometimes its a little TMI, but it's an effective way to build communications.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 30/09/2020

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review Hayward :) It's great to hear that you've found Intercom easy to use and a great tool for customer support.

Thanks again,
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/09/2020
Verified Reviewer
Customer Success Manager
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2019

"Great for any customer success/support team! Will get you everything you need."

Pros: It offers literally anything you and your CS team may need to run the department.

Cons: Their support team can take a bit too long to respond at times. Really holds up our team from developing new processes sometimes. They've got a lot of features so we've got a lot of questions.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/07/2019
Jared D.
Customer Success Manager
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019

"Communicate with Your Customers Easily!"

Comments: Intercom allowed us to efficiently communicate with customers about updates to the product or issues with certain portions of our platform being down or undergoing maintenance. It also allowed us to gather feedback from customers to improve our product.

Pros: Intercom is a very user-friendly tool that can easily be setup on a website to communicate updates to customers. It's able to pull in a great amount of data on users based on what you provide to it. You can do a fair amount of segmenting as well to target certain users/visitors based on various characteristics.

Cons: The big complaint we've received from customers is that the messaging from Intercom becomes very annoying after awhile. Also if you setup multiple messages but can't segment certain people verses others from getting the message, they'll receive multiple all at the same time. You also can't adjust where those messages display on the page, since their widget has to be permanently located in the same place when you set it up.

Vendor Response

by Intercom on 12/12/2019

Hi Jared,

Thank you so much for taking time to review Intercom. I'm glad you found it easy to set up and see the power in our audience data and segmentation capabilities.

The good news is we have a number of solutions to your 'Cons' as these are elements we've had to think about with our own customer messaging. Also, with our new Product Tours you can position messages anywhere you like on your site!

Please do get in touch and we can go through all of this in more detail.

Thanks!
Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/12/2019