15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Olark Reviews

4.5 (468) Write a Review!

About Olark

Beautiful Live chat solution with CRM and Help Desk integration and powerful reporting capabilities. GDPR Ready and Accessible. API.

Learn more about Olark

Pros:

This point of sale software was very easy to use in our lounge. The touch screen interface is very intuitive.

Cons:

We should pay for the entire features of this software.

Olark ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.7
Customer Service
4.6
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.4

Likelihood to recommend

8.7/10

Olark has an overall rating of 4.5 out 5 stars based on 468 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Olark before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (468)

Shayne
Shayne
Director of Sales in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

The Best Customer Service Add On!

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Our company (which is a SaaS), started using Olark after we had major issues with another website chat client. Olark is way better and is definitely more reliable. Apart from work, I also use Olark for one of my e-commerce side businesses. Right now, it can easily be integrated with WordPress. Not sure about other platforms, though.

Pros:

1) User-Friendly: I've found Olark to have a very simple and user-friendly interface for both - the recipient and the sender. 2) Affordability: Olark gives you the opportunity to look much bigger and way more professional than you already are! All of this at a very nominal price, of course. As of April 2019, Olark has one pricing model that can either be billed monthly, annually or for two years straight. As you choose a longer commitment, the prices reduce accordingly. Also, if you're not sure about what chat client is best suited for your business, you can always try Olark for 2 weeks, absolutely free. What I like the most is that there are no "Starter", "Pro", "Enterprise" discriminations! 3) Intelligence: Olark allows you to pre-assign quick responses that keep your customers from having to wait for an answer. Our employees love this feature because they don't have to type the same response again and again. Another smart feature is the notifications that our employees get when they leave their workstations and forget to log out. Olark gives the customer a quick response, giving them an option to send the chat as an email instead. This is great for a future follow-up. 4) Reporting Feature: Olark gives the administrator the option to assess the quality of an employees' chatting capabilities as well as his/her productivity levels. An employee can also learn from any feedback that's left by their customer with regard to their chat experience.

Cons:

1) No Image Sharing: This may not be a necessity for all businesses, however, we occasionally require our customers to send us screenshots of the issue that they are facing. This can help us serve them better. We have makeshift walkarounds for this, but having an image sharing option would be great. 2) One User At A Time: Unfortunately, only one user can be logged on to the agent at any given time. This could be a deal breaker larger businesses that have more than one customer care representative.

Ifeoma
Ifeoma
Developer in Nigeria
Verified LinkedIn User
, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use support solution.

4.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Olark is amongt the simplest helpdesk applications to try. It is intuitive and has a very short learning curve for new support staffs I have introduced to Olark. Olark has got an array of smart features , which helps the conversion rate on our website and also helps the sales team better improve the quality of customer service offered to customers and clients. I like the searchable transcript feature , which ensures every conversation between sales agents and web. visitors are saved in the cloud. Thereby allowing anyone on the sales team to search through the chat transcripts either for analysis purposes or to follow up on previous conversations. It has an efficient mobile approach ,which has ensures users who communicate with the website team via mobile phones, have a quality experience just as someone communicating via pc or tablet.

Cons:

Olark automatically closes open chat conversations if agents have not responded in over five minute. I wouldn't know why this was introduced ,however it does not do the sales team any good.

Jesse
Support Representative in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Decent value but performance somewhat lacking

2.0 4 years ago

Comments: When Olark is functioning correctly, it's a decent tool. The service is affordable, and this has been the largest draw. Our organization uses it as an integrated chat support option and it has helped take our support to a higher level. Some issues arise however when our users contact our other support channels and report "not getting a response" which we determined to result from our rep's not receiving the text, simply open chats with no content. We have no way to determine when this is happening or why but it comes and goes sporadically. When the transcripts are later sent to our email inbox (another of their useful features) we see the conversation, but by then it's too late and our customers are already frustrated. We've kept it for over 2 years because we've built a lot of our other functionality around it, however the problems (such as not having accurate visibility of when other reps are online as another example) have continued and we will likely be seeking an alternative option.

Pros:

Easy to use Through metrics and reporting Easily integrated with other ticketing and metrics tracking programs

Cons:

Unable to post images (from the chat rep side) Performance/ functionality somewhat inconsistent Limited ability to create personalized macros Agent visibility (knowing when teammates are online) often unreliable/ not functional

Olark Response

7 months ago

Hi Jesse, Thanks for your review. We're glad we could be helpful. If you have any questions around additional support or the ability to post images we'd be happy to chat with you at Olark.com

Santiago
Santiago
Co Editor Chief in Venezuela
Verified LinkedIn User
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

There is no better option today than Olark.

5.0 4 years ago

Comments: Every time a potential client came in, we noticed that soon after we left our portal, we began to prove that it was what was needed, and we noticed that the accompaniment in the purchase is fundamental, especially when it comes to highly specialized articles. We looked for options similar to Olark but none offered that great ability to adapt to our needs, so we decided to install their live chat platform and the results changed completely, from having visits of a few minutes to a secure sale after each interaction. Apart from that, we achieved an integration with another platform such as Slack, which has led the work team not to lose any sales, and at the same time, has integrated us more as a team for common purposes.

Pros:

When working with businesses of all kinds, especially the one that is linked to sales and customer service, one of the aspects imposed by the criterion of a good or bad experience is customer service. That's why I like Olark a lot, because you can offer an exclusive experience, which translates into higher sales. Since we used Olark, we have attracted more people, because thanks to its platform, it allows you to respond in record time, all those doubts about your products or services. Another thing that I like, is the ability that offers you to customize the chat to the corporate image of your company. Also, when you start communicating with any visitor, it allows you to know valuable data for your work, information such as location and contact details. Live chat is so important to us, and the best option you can find is Olark.

Cons:

All their years of experience offer you a shielded commercial option, which makes me not identify negative aspects of their platform or their services, quite the contrary, I have compared them with others and greater are the profits, a marvel.

Crystal
Crystal
Marketing Content Developer in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Best Live Chat

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Olark is hands down the best chat software we have used based on functionality, ease of use, and price. We have used 2 other softwares and none compare to Olark. Olark is easy to customize to fit your website (color scheme, style, design, etc) and it is easy to use (for both back end and front end users). We found our users are more engaged when chatting to us through Olark.

Cons:

The only complaint we have is that we can't share seats. This makes sense. Olark doesn't want you to only purchase one seat, yet have multiple users using it. I guess we were blessed in the last software we used which allowed us to have 2 people for one seat. The other software failed in other regards though, so we are fine paying for multiple seats with Olark. I guess we actually have one more complaint: people who chat with you can upload screenshots, but not the other way around. We cannot upload screen shots into the chat while chatting with people. This makes it difficult sometimes. We have to explain via words where to click on our website or where to sign a document. We would love if a feature was developed where both front end and back end users could attach screenshots.

Romina
Romina
telecommunications computer technician in South Korea
Verified LinkedIn User
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use tool

4.0 last year

Comments: Olark is a great platform that adapts to all your needs, it has excellent functionalities and characteristics that are essential to communicating with your customers, and it allows you to keep track of the activities and interactions of your customers.

Pros:

Olark is a very easy-to-use platform with a simple interface, it is quite accessible since it is relatively cheap, it has excellent functions and features for a very low cost, you can use it completely free for 2 weeks, with Olark you can create quick answers for basic questions This is excellent because if a customer asks a question, they do not need to wait for an answer since quick responses are pre-assigned, with this platform you can offer the customer an excellent experience to increase sales.

Cons:

I have not obtained negative aspects of this software, it has offered me a fairly protected commercial tool, I have been able to increase sales and obtain better performance in terms of communication with my clients.

Olark Response

7 months ago

Hi Romina, Thanks for your review. We're glad we could be helpful. If you have any questions around additional support we'd be happy to chat with you at Olark.com

Nathan
Nathan
Director of Client Training and Onboarding in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

What Olark lacks in functionality, it makes up for in simplicity and clean UI

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Overall, I've loved using Olark as a simple sales and support tool. However, any ticket creation or formal integrations are lacking. If you're looking for a tool that is more than a simple one-to-one, one time communication tool, then I would look elsewhere.

Pros:

The UI is clean, easy to use, and is honestly just pleasant to log into every day. Beyond that though, the shortcuts are helpful, and the storage of past chats is really advanced for the price point, and easy to sort through and keep track of. Lastly, the reporting and metrics are helpful in making informed decisions.

Cons:

There isn't a lot to Olark. It's a chat tool, pure and simple. The integrations are available, but they aren't easy to connect, and they don't provide a lot of output for the trouble.

Alan
Alan
Growth marketing gun for hire in Ireland
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Helped up convert bigger customers and expand customer service

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: The team had been using Olark for support before I joined and had it available for everyone looking at the website.
When I joined I did some analysis to see if it was worth keeping Olark running on the front-end of the website where non-customers could use it. Or could we save money and resources and just make the support available to customers after they logged in.
I was very nicely surprised to find that leaving it on the front of the website resulted in us converting customers x3 times the average size. I guess they liked to check us out and make sure there were real people there to talk to if any issues. The end numbers were that for every hour a support person was answering questions on the site we were earning a little over $100 in return.
These numbers resulted in us actually expanding the customer success team to make sure all time zones were covered.

Pros:

Easy to set up and run with a distributed support team across the world.

Cons:

No real downsides. The software worked exactly as advertised.

Steve
Steve
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Goods
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Olark has been our trusted customer chat software for years.

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

Easy to install. Both desktop clients as well as web clients available. Can set up default response templates. Nice back end reporting. Various configurations are available for the customer user interface depending on your preference.

Cons:

Needs an auto responder. If it has one, I don't know where it is. I want it to auto-reply to the customer with a message such as, "Thank you for your message. Please give us a couple minutes to reply." We have customers who expect an immediate response and don't want to wait more than 15 seconds.

Bri
Assistant Manager in US
Medical Practice, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

olark reviews

5.0 9 months ago

Pros:

this has helped us as a small business connect with new clients that are interest right away on our website which allows us to connect with them at their peak interest which is best for sales driven businesses

Cons:

the software gets a little time to get used to but overall can really help a small business thrive

Olark Response

7 months ago

Hi Bri, Thanks for your review. We're glad we could be helpful. We love working with businesses like yours :-) If you have any questions around additional support we'd be happy to chat with you at Olark.com

Perry
Operations Manager in US
E-Learning, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Olark is a very reliable and easy to use platform with limitations

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: 8 out of ten, with the two points really just all about limitations from an "AI" or Automated Response stand point of view and the inability to send graphics.

Pros:

Olark has been our chat platform for three plus years and has proven itself to be a time saver, a great sales tool, and it has been an easy resource for our existing clients and CS Agents to utilize. Their ";" shortcuts are the easiest tools to use on many platforms we have tried. Aside from a few short outages, they are extremely reliable and their support team is responsive and very helpful.

Cons:

The limitations of Olark include the lack of ability to share graphics with our clients. We can receive images from them, but not being able to respond has been a severe limitation on our staff as we have to switch to email in order to send graphics. Their Screen Share option is nice, but with new contacts, this is a hard proposition to sell on letting a new company "take control" of your PC. If Olark allowed us to send graphics, screen caps, images, it would be the perfect platform as my team loves the ease of use and friendly tools.

Igor
Sales Manager in Ukraine
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Simple live chat software that gets the job done

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Olark is a great first ever live chat software. It is super easy to set up and use. While it may lack features, everything critical is already there and working. So if you don't need any extra bells and whistles - Olark will work well for you.

Pros:

The biggest advantage of Olark is how easy it is to install and have it running in no time. The dashboards features pretty extensive analytics and chat history. Customer support was also pretty quick when I had an issue. They also have a mobile app but I rarely used it.

Cons:

I think the biggest con is that very same simplicity that makes it easy to use. I have had hard time generating a really detailed CSV report about the chat history of our team with timestamps, client emails, names, etc. The customization of the whole Olark experience for both us and the client is also pretty lacking.

Rich
I.T. Manager in US
, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great, easy to use service

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: This is a very easy turn-key solution to customer website chat. Our agents find the software very easy to use. Our customer really love the chat and ask us anything about our products and services, and often even place orders with our agents. Olark has been an invaluable addition to our customer service philosophy. Some things I wish Olark had the ability to do: 1. Block a user from entering a credit card number (yes, it happens) or custom RegEx matches, 2. allow customers to chat with us via SMS on their phones (our agents would chat in the same chat window that they currently do), and 3. have an Olark Android app so our agents can chat with customers after hours if needed (yes, we would pay them :-). Over all the experience has been very positive. Olark's customer service is caring and responsive. I would recommend trying Olark (really it's easy to implement or turn off). You've got nothing to lose, really. You can customize almost everything about it from the user's point of view.

Pros:

VERY easy to implement and customize. Great use experience.

Cons:

Can't think of anything right now.

Carly
Executive Assistant in US
Events Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Olark Makes Communicating with Prospective Clients Easy and FUN

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The reason I rated Olark so high is because I know they're working hard to provide their clients (those offering the customer support to THEIR clients) the best version possible of their product... Thus, offering our business clients an enjoyable interface and avenue of chatting to learn more information about our business. Every 6 mo or so we will receive an update or survey email from OLark, which says to me they ARE interested in their client's opinions and they do value us. Not to mention the interface is sleek and good looking and easy to use.

Pros:

Interface and ease

Cons:

Yikes. I'm not sure. Maybe how often and loudly it pops up every time you open our page! That might be an option we can change though.

Olark Response

7 years ago

Thanks Carly!! [-Karl]

Julie
Managing Director in Australia
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Squawking like a galah from outback Australia

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: We installed Olark pigin live chat on our first website and found it invaluable in assisting customers to choose the correct size of footwear and clothing. The most frequent question asked has been how much for postage? Livechat is useful for getting lazy/unmotivated/ web illiterate online customers quick answers. Despite the increasing popularity of live chat now - Australian web customers are reluctant to chat when the conversation is instigated by the website.

Pros:

It works and the vendor does not continuously pester us to upgrade.

Cons:

I would like greater flexibility to change its appearance. This Christmas the festive themes were non relevant to Christmas in the Southern Hemisphere

Cheryl
Front Desk in US
Hospitality, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Great chat interface with an abundance of quality options

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

This chat software makes bridging that gap between customers and your company easy! I love that I can be assisting guests on the phone, and assisting a guest via chat simultaneously providing better customer service as a whole. I like that it keeps a full history of conversations and contact information for long periods of time. This is great for marketing and follow up.

Cons:

I do wish there was a canned response that tells the customer "Agent" is away from her desk, please leave a message and a contact number and she will follow up shortly", as opposed to just saying there are no agents available and leaving customers in the dark.

Drew
Director of Operations in US
Financial Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use, just wish they were more reliable

3.0 7 years ago

Comments: I really enjoy using olark. It's one of the most streamlined and enjoyable chat experiences (for both customer and provider). I wish there were a few more features to customize the customer's interaction (required fields type things). The biggest problem is that our team has experienced a lot of downtime and it's very frustrating for your users when the chat doesn't work. Almost makes me want to turn off olark altogether sometimes.

Pros:

Looks better than almost all other products (though I think it's falling behind and needs to update its appearance and UI to the customer)

Cons:

Poor reliability

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Apparel & Fashion, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

It's ease of use. Setting shortcuts, updating what the end-user sees, changing the overall look, these are all really easy to do with Olark. Having used Zendesk as well, I really believe that Olark is a better all around experience for live chat.

Cons:

It's not the greatest for reporting, so it's a solution that can be outgrown. Which is too bad. I've also experienced a bit of outages with it, though they don't last long generally.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Great customer support chat solution

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Olark helps us to achieve better communication with our customers and to resolve smaller problems are users are experiencing almost instantly.

Pros:

It is easy to use and it works like a charm. Instant notifications and email summaries are really helpful for improving communication with customers.

Cons:

All is great except the issues we are getting from website performance tools which always mark Olark resources as a potential issue to page load experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Amazingly easy although this latest version is a slight regression

5.0 4 years ago

Pros:

Olark is so easy to use and customize. You can have multiple teams and adding new operators is a breeze. Everything else you need in a chatbox can be added on with customizable subscriptions.

Cons:

In the previous version they seemed less profit obsessed and you used to be able to screen share easily in the base package. Now it feels like every little extra bit

Brent
Call Center Manager in US
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great for small businesses

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Olark live chat is great for a small business who wants to interact with their customers through a Live Chat feature. For the money, you will not find a better service provider. The set-up is easy and you can be up and running in less than a day. We used a third-party app to work live chats on a mobile device so you can answer live chats on the go! My only major gripe is on their customer support. The reps typically force out web links for you to read about your problem. We had trouble using Chrome and never found a resolution other than using on IE. Overall a great product for a small business.

Pros:

The ability to customize your live chat pop up box to match your website. Shortcuts saved many key strokes.

Cons:

Tagging could be improved by forcing tags on each chat. Tagging shouldn't be free from text - you should select from a drop down or check box list.

Kevin
President in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Olark Makes Support Easy

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Chat support is key to providing the best customer service possible. We find the ROI is well worth it as customers are happy they get answers in seconds with out having to send an email. The tracking and other customizations that olark exposes makes it easy to see what all of your customers are looking at and ensure they are seeing the correct pages.

Pros:

Being able to get live analytics is key. You can see how many people are on your site and what they are looking at.

Cons:

We have seen the software go down more than we like with no real explanation of why. While its up 99% of the time any down time during business hours is not good.

Chuck
Owner in US
Information Technology & Services, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect Fit!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I have tried out several options for LiveChat type options. Self hosted, a service, etc. but when it comes back to it each time Olark fits. I am a solo operation and for me cost is key usually, however its worth the money with the feature set it offers, having the ability to use Jabber to tie-in on the desktop? Simple. Easy. No more missing a website notification or some clunky "offical" app that some others offer, I can use Messages on Mac and it just works. So for me it's a perfect fit for the budget, for my technology hook-in, and let's be honest - it just works great!

Pros:

Cost, Connectivity, Functionality

Cons:

Can't honestly think of anything.

Shaun
Automation Strategy in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Oh look, Olark

5.0 5 years ago

Pros:

I like how easy this was to install- plus you can get a free trial. The analytics are great and I like several of the extensions and the possibility of integrating chat with other applications. The chat interface and its behavior are customizable to match our site's look and feel and business workflow.

Cons:

This product affects page load speed (which slows down my site, although it's true of many website add ons). I wish the pricing was more affordable with larger number of users.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Real Estate, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and Functional...With One Condition

4.0 4 years ago

Comments: I like the Olark interface and, as far as chat functions go, Olark may have the most to offer. I think it's great as a customer service channel but somewhat lacking as a lead generation and sales device.

Pros:

With more and more business being done over the phone, some customers prefer to avoid business interactions or to limit them as much as possible. Olark makes it easy for those customers to engage business and ask questions on their terms: comfortably, quickly, and with little pressure. They can engage your organization in a chat directly from your website. Organizations, meanwhile, can easily engage multiple customers simultaneously through Olark.

Cons:

While Olark shines as a customer service device, I'd venture to say that it takes too much pressure off of customers from a sales standpoint. If a prospective customer prefers not to come into your store or even call you over the phone, the odds of that customer making a purchase are relatively low. I have seen a low volume of qualified leads generated through Olark.