Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.5 /5

About YouTrack

The issue tracker designed for agile teams. An agile project management tool that can be customized to your business processes.

Learn more about YouTrack

Showing 40 reviews

András P.
Lead Developer
Information Technology & Services, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020

"It is a very capable ticket and issue management system and easier to set it up than JIRA"

Comments: I'm glad it exists, it looks nice enough to convince the management and knows enough to satisfy most of the developers too.

Pros: Ease of deployment comes first, the integration with TeamCity (CI) and the IDEA IDE itself is another thing worth mentioning, I also like the Android app. But the greatest thing is that you can freely use it with user limits on your own servers.

Cons: The upgrade process between different distributions like, war, jar, docker is not always the easiest.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 29/09/2020
Craig S.
Manager, Clinical Systems & QA
Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018

"YouTrack Review"

Comments: overall good, good toll for defect/enhancement tracking

Pros: *mostly intuitive
*multiple projects
*ticket linking

Cons: *user profile set up not intuitive
*Field set up not consistent

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/11/2018
Amol A.
QA
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019

"Useful for bug tracking"

Pros: the filters that can be written to get the results and flexibly can filter the results to generate reports in various formats

Cons: the time report charts are not easy to build.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
UI Designer
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"A great agile tool but lack of usabilities"

Comments: so far we are use this for our agile tool and kanban.

Pros: We use this for our daily tracking task. And i love the concept of this product.

Cons: I think the value of the price and lack of usabilities this web app can be improved more.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Somnath R.
Secretary
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017

"Excellent tool for modern agile software development"

Pros: Excellent integration with Git. Customisable according to our needs and easy issue assignment or reassignment.

Cons: The UI can be a bit better so as to help with the steep learning curve. Slightly costly software for small startups.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/10/2017
Verified Reviewer
Chief Operating Officer
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018

"Developer-centric tool for user stories and agile boards"

Pros: YouTrack is very detailed to manage user stories/cards on boards and customizable for our business needs. There is also a free version to continue using YouTrack till our team grows. Before YouTrack, we were using project management solutions which did not fully meet our needs as we transitioned to lean and agile/scrum.

Cons: Our team uses Slack and integration with Slack would be great. Also, the learning curve for YouTrack is a bit high so we would have appreciated guide walkthroughs.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Lead Backend Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018

"Possible up and coming competitor in Issue Tracking software."

Comments: I'd offer that you give this software a try, but JIRA may ultimately be the winner if you're looking for Issue Tracking software.

Pros: YouTrack looks like it has a bag full of punches for other software in the space like JIRA. The UI is 10x faster than JIRA, although it still isn't the prettiest. The price is cheaper than JIRA and they offer more customizable reports.

Cons: After initial setup, it was kind of hard to set up users and create issues off the bat. Their UI was a little confusing.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/05/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer I
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2019

"Nice product"

Pros: 1) Creating dashboard widgets is super useful.
2) It’s easy to use for programmers, product managers and QA people alike.

Cons: A feature for entering how to recreate the problem could be most useful and appreciated.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/03/2019
Dan O.
Founder
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2014

"I'm Addicted"

Comments: I love YouTrack! I can't live without the Agile Board. The new reports are very helpful. I rely on YouTrack everyday. I have recommended it to many other people.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/11/2014
Verified Reviewer
Digital Content Manager
E-Learning, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020

"Excellent tool for tracking product development projects"

Comments: We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

Pros: I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

Cons: It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/06/2020
Ignacio S.
Lead Web Developer
Internet, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2018

"Complete control over your team work."

Comments: Is very awesome. It reduce the time needed to organize the team.

Pros: Youtrack isn't the easier tool to use, I must recognize it, but we need to understand that, with all of it's features that is a necessary circumstance. Youtrack can help you a LOT when you are working with groups of people, you will know what are doing, when and who, you can measure the productivity of your team, create goals and many other things. Forget to think that it is only for programming or teams of programmers, you can use Youtrack in every scenario out there.

Cons: Lack of some integrations, I think YouTrack is as good as Jira but need some extra integrations with others useful tools.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/10/2018
Verified Reviewer
Software Developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019

"Best issue management so far"

Pros: For me this is the best issue management software so far. I've used others like Jira, but I really enjoy using Youtrack. Especially the query language is quite cool.

Cons: I really can't think of any, maybe the settings page, it could use some redesign.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/07/2019
Tim F.
Systems Engineer
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018

"YouTrack is a very powerful but easy to use issue tracking system."

Pros: The best part of YouTrack is how easy it is to get started. You can opt to run the software on your wn server or subscribe for a cloud-hosted instance. YouTrack is extremely powerful without being hard to use and it is very easy to integrate into your apps. Date-based swimlanes are a really useful feature.

Cons: Overall I do not have any gripes but, for some, the options available can be a bit overwhelming. Fortunately this complexity is shielded from software end users and just has to be managed by the technical support and development staff.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/03/2018
Verified Reviewer
AVP Product Management
Entertainment, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2019

"Steep learning curve but well worth it"

Pros: Projects are almost infinitely malleable and customizable

Cons: The solutions are not always right in front of you - a softer UX would help

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/01/2019
Jeff H.
Customer Success Consultant - Software
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017

"Super easy way to log issues with software and track progress!"

Comments: Makes it easy to get issues filed for our software right when I hear about them.

Pros: I like that I can quickly create an issue for our software and search for other issues related to mine.

Cons: The layout is a little "clunky" so takes a little bit of time to get the "hang of it" in terms of what you need to do to submit the issue.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/12/2017
Hashini W.
Trainee Software Engineer
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019

"Easy to use as a bug tracking tool"

Comments: Use this application to track bugs and assign those bugs to the developers.

Pros: we can use this application as a bug tracker and assign to developers on task board when found bugs in applications.

Cons: Do not have a proper tutorials and guidance to use YouTrack.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 09/10/2019
Hang X.
Senior Software Engineer
Biotechnology, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    2 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    1 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    2/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019

"there's better options"

Pros: it's some how configurable, it's really hard to list what I like the most about it

Cons: nice try JetBrain! YouTrack is part of the JetBrain family, but i don't see the same quality in YouTrack in other software like PyCharm, this is hard to use, and you have to learn new query language to be an advance user

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/03/2019
Enrique R.
CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2014

"Awesome product, ahead of the competition"

Comments: sWe tried a lot of issue/project tracking product (Jira + Greenhopper, Pivotal Tracker, LeanKit, among others). YouTrack was firts in all out categories, like: easy to use and administrate, flexible, powerful and reporting system and value (features/cost). We have been using YT 6 months already and no complaints here.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/11/2014
Dayne E.
Customs Compliance Specialist
Logistics & Supply Chain, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2019

"YouTrack helps keep projects on track"

Comments: The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros: The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons: I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/04/2019
Silvio B.
Software developer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2019

"Probably the best tool for task tracking"

Comments: Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros: I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons: I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 17/08/2019
Juan carlos R.
2D Technical artist and Art manager
Computer Games, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019

"Best solution for project management"

Pros: -Easy to use
-Web based
-Free for less than 5 people
-Not really expensive on the next point (15 users)
-Able to add cards to backlog
-Custom status pointers
-Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back
-Customization of user profile
-Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns
-Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same
-Simply perfect for scrum

Cons: -Design wise is not really appealing
-Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around
-Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 26/03/2019
Martino P.
full-stack developer
Information Technology & Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2020

"Let's track your task"

Pros: It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want

Cons: It's very powerful but... there is a lot of stuff to learn!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/02/2020
Robbie D.
Senior Software Developer
Financial Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2017

"Great task manager for agile development"

Comments: We've been using this for a little over a year for all issue and task tracking. It has a basic interface which admittedly could probably do with a little cleaning up but it works great. It provides all the features you need such as comments, time tracking (with different types), git integration and email updates.

Pros: git integration, comments system, time tracking, easy re/assignment.

Cons: slightly dated site styling

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/02/2017
Walid D.
2nd Level Support Engineer
Computer Software, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019

"Best tracking system"

Comments: Youtrack is Software That Make your Work easier.

Pros: Ideas Board , Developement Board , agile proces

Cons: Changing from project to others you need to rework the template

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2019
Sanford G.
Data Center Technician
Banking, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020

"Good Ticketing System"

Comments: We respond to other teams requests within my organization. I also have requests within my own team that are manged with this tool. Overall I am liking it so far.

Pros: This software is easy to use and doesn't take too long to learn. I was up and running within an hour of getting my rights to it.

Cons: I have not come across anything that I feel is negative about this software but I think the admins here might need more training because I am not getting all of the notifications I need.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/08/2020