Cherwell Service Management Reviews

by Cherwell Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Service

About Cherwell Service Management

Easily maintain and configure IT processes across your organization with Cherwells comprehensive ITSM solution.

Learn more about Cherwell Service Management

Showing 157 reviews

Joe V.
Sr Desktop Engineer
Aviation & Aerospace, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019

"cherwell"

Pros: Cost and ease of use are the main reasons we like Cherwell.

Cons: There is nothing we dislike about this system.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019
Ben T.
Senior IT Support Consultant
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Completely customizable"

Comments: Cherwell is a great platform for ITSM. It allows for a wide variety of workflows. It can be greatly customized to however your wish.

Pros: Customization lets you do so much.

Cons: Customization can let you do too much, you need to tightly manage what you do to make sure you don't go overboard.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Hamid P.
Field Operations manager
Warehousing, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Full Function Fun"

Comments: After months of research found the software that not only met our needs and delivered the requirements but did it with ease. User interface is simple and clear, admin functions are truly easy without the need to code. All this at a prices that is reasonable and sale able to the purse holders.

Pros: Ease of use and powerfully functionality without .to learn coding

Cons: None

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Mark D.
Director of Operations & Data Management
Higher Education, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    2 /5
  • Ease of Use
    1 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    4/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020

"Clunky and poor user interface"

Comments: Have not enjoyed my experience with this product. The software feels antiquated and out of date.

Pros: Users can create a case via emails and can be updated on the progress of the case via emails. Ability to re-assign ownership to tasks when necessary. A dashboard, while not terribly elegant looking, does provide insights into open cases within a users area. Ability to send the ticket to Salesforce, which is a far superior case management system. "Incident actions" allow users to nominate a case for a knowledge base article though we've not used this feature yet.

Cons: The interface is clunky at best and unusable at worst. It feels and looks like a piece of software built in the 80's. Once a user clicks into the case they've been assigned, it becomes very difficult to get a complete view of the thread and what has been worked on. There is simply too much going on within the cases screen itself. New users will surely be overwhelmed as they use the system for the first several months. They will likely find themselves gravitating towards the email and subsequent threads that started the case.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/09/2020
Jeff G.
IT Manager
Wholesale, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019

"ITSM baked in"

Comments: In a previous job for another organization, we used Cherwell as helpdesk software. It can do much more, however: CMDB, etc.

Pros: Cherwell is awesome, in that it's completely built around ITSM, meaning that if you're an ITSM shop, it already speaks your language.

Cons: It's really configurable, which is a good thing, but there's a bit of a learning curve to be able to make it how you want it. Almost like learning a new programming language

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/12/2019
Dilip G.
IT Middleware Administrator
Financial Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018

"Cherwell Review"

Pros: It's very handy to have issues and changes log and assign to specific users/groups, we were using this software more than 6 years, it also sends notifications to respective users.

Cons: Performance point of view it's little slow.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 20/11/2018
Carsten S.
ITSM Consultant
Information Technology & Services, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Best ITSM system in the market"

Comments: Everything is configurable in Cherwell so you don't need any code skills.
It integrates well with other systems and is low cost.

Pros: Low cost and highly configurable

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Rollie W.
Service Desk Manager
Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Cherwell is the Greatest"

Comments: This software is user friendly and easy to customize. This is a quality application that does much more than incident management.

Pros: Ease of use and the ease to custimize.

Cons: The reporting function is difficult to get quality reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Jared W.
SR IT Support Technician
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016

"Cherwell can be awesome"

Comments: Cherwell seems to have a lot of awesome features. Implementation is a problem at a big institution such as ours.

Pros: Easy to incorporate all different areas of the institution

Cons: Frequent crashes

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Kevin B.
Business Analyst
Financial Services
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016

"Perfect Solution"

Comments: Whether you want a quick implementation OoB or a structure system to completely personalize for your firm, Cherwell has the tools necessary to track and manage your services.

Pros: Love the integration with REST and SOAP

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Truong V.
Applications Systems Analyst
Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Truong Review"

Comments: I like the software and flexibility features. I am looking forward to add new usage and functions out side of ITSM.

Pros: Flexibility , codeless features.

Cons: Missing teaminfo object in earlier version (we started with 5.1)

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Anthony D.
Service Desk Senior Analyst
Banking, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016

"Best ITSM Tool Around"

Comments: I've used/demo'd several different ITSM tools and Cherwell is by far the easiest to use and admin. My favorite part of this product is the Dashboard Manger. Creating intuitive dashboards has never been easier.

Pros: Dashboard Management

Cons: Admin tool, could be easier to use. But may also simply be lack of training on my end.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Sue P.
Sr. Application System Analyst
Hospital & Health Care
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Sue Pip- MD Anderson.org"

Comments: I have using Cherwell Service Management for the past 3.5 years as a Administrator. I find that Cherwell is easy to design basic requirements and also for difficult requirements. I find the upgrades are easy to preform, however they usually come with a few bugs that have to be fixed.

Pros: Easy to use for the end user

Cons: 1st level of Support is not as knowledgeable they need to be when calling in for assistances.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Katharina G.
Server Application and Security Manager
Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016

"Great product out of the box"

Comments: We implemented out of the box and have been able to use the application from day 1 after a 3 week implementation. What is even better is the flexibility of customizing the application in any way and even outside of ITSM.

Pros: Great out of the box, customizable, code less, great company culture

Cons: Expensive licensing for small companies, can take a while to get issues through at the help desk.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/10/2016
Thomas F.
Desktop and Network Support Specialist
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2018

"Used to track tickets"

Comments: Track things that happen in the company more easily and understand where resources are being spent.

Pros: System was easy to implement. Give the ability to track tickets and record when things are going wrong. Shows clearly what was already attempted and allows use to see the time spent per person on a single issue.

Cons: Locking the Description down so after initial creation, it cannot be changed
We like this idea, and will take some time/thought to get it right We are concerned that doing this could result in automation processes to stop working correctly, or other onesteps from functioning. Other concerns are auto-populate options for fields potentially breaking. Additionally we're concerned this might pigeon hole us a bit.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/02/2018
Catie D.
IT Support Analyst
Machinery, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Cherwell - The Best"

Comments: We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros: The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons: There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Verified Reviewer
IT Client Services Technician
Higher Education, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019

"Cherwell Ticketing Software"

Comments: Cherwell has been great overall. Have used it for around 3 years and have had almost no functional issues with it during that time.

Pros: Cherwell does a great job of keeping track of tickets across multiple teams with seamless integration. Makes ticketing for a large IT Dept. with over 12 teams easy. The software is customizable and allows for automation in just about every facet of the program. Tasks that take up to 10 minutes can be done instantly through the One-Step feature.

Cons: The software is lacking in visual design. It's functional but getting information to be readable and look good is very hard and takes quite a bit of work in the dashboard manager.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 13/02/2019
Jamie H.
Director, Service Operations
Retail, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Cherwell is a great ITSM that is easily expanded to the Enterprise"

Comments: We implemented Cherwell in 2013. Currently we have incident, service request and change management implemented within IT. IT Projects underway are problem management, knowledge management and employee on-boarding/off-boarding. We also expanded the tool to Customer Service, Operations, Facilities Service and Supply Chain. Our next non-IT project will be implementing the tool within HR. The tool does not require programming background to configure. We have two non-technical
resources who are responsible for the administration of the tool and development of new applications.
Dashboards are an easy way to report real time data from the system. They are powerful and we use them everyday to monitor our service. As a company Cherwell is 100% customer focused. They listen to us and help us be successful with the tool. The culture of the company is amazing and not something you typically see at a software company.

Pros: Configurability, flexibility and ability to expand beyond IT.

Cons: The report writer is difficult to learn and understand.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
John L.
IT Service Management Lead
Law Practice, 5,001-10,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016

"Unparalleled Flexibility"

Comments: The application allows non-developers to create their own scenarios and solutions, and engage your users with highly-configurable dashboards, reports, and forms. With some more advanced knowledge, you can easily turn a basic ticketing system into a full-featured platform for your company.

Pros: The flexibility and ease of use. The licensing model is extremely flexible and makes sense in nearly every business case.

Cons: The depth. While this isn't generally considered a negative, the software is so deep that you tend to realize there are a half dozen ways to do the same thing, and if you're of the mindset where you constantly tweak your apps, you'll always find a better way to do something, even if you don't have the time/resources to do so.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 05/10/2016
Jennifer E.
Senior Application Developer
Information Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016

"Cherwell has changed my career life."

Comments: Using Cherwell has been great because I have gotten to learn a new software product and how to develop in it, whereas before I was sort of stuck not doing any development work for years. CSM has challenged me to learn more and stretch boundaries in planning future projects for more innovative development, as well.

Pros: I really like how the company makes its customers feel special and makes us a priority, and how it is a software company that is proud of providing a code-less software product, that always seeks to be innovative and the best.

Cons: There are some quirks in the product that cannot be explained that exist in different places in the software that make troubleshooting a challenge at times. I have a One-Step, for example, that changes perspective after the 4th or 5th step, for some reason, and I had to build a work-around for it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/10/2016
Chris M.
Applications Analyst
Education Management, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2019

"Very cutomizable, and no coding!!"

Pros: Very customizable, and no coding!! Easy to use

Cons: It's a bit buggy and there are some quirks that require adjustments

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 02/10/2019
Cliff T.
Java Software Engineer
Consumer Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019

"High level of accurateness and flexibility"

Comments: Cherwell Software offers one ITSM product which is aimed at companies with medium and high level of maturity. If you are interested in integrating a flexible and adjustable solution in your organization, then Cherwell Service Management is exactly what you require.

Pros: The company has expanded its ITOM capabilities and supports a wide range of third-party integrations and extensions. For instance, the example of such a platform can be Exchange Mergeable Application. In a few words, this application gives various opportunities for third-party developers to host their applications. In general, the vendor pleases us with the new program’s opportunities and abilities rolling out pretty frequently. We have given our preference to Cherwell Service Management because of its great visualization capabilities, user-friendliness of the program’s interface, powerful reporting, etc. With its help, our team has automatized numerous processes and tasks. The platform pleases with its accurate dashboards and incredible search abilities.

Cons: The company has a tendency to reassign account people. Maybe, the reason for that is the high speed of their self-development, who knows. But still, it may cause little difficulties. Where we see problems with Cherwell Service Management is that this program requires a lot of computer memory to run correctly. In addition, the program will be a real pain without a strong infrastructure from your side. What’s more, this solution does not have any web version.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Yogesh B.
Network Architect
Information Technology & Services, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2021

"Cherwell Service Management"

Pros: Integration into the business was quite straight forward. Many customisable features to tweak it to the company needs and for reporting. Overall a very powerful too for any organisation.

Cons: Not a bad thing, but you can get lost in customisation.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/07/2021
Verified Reviewer
Service Transition Manager
Information Technology & Services, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019

"Great product with high upside"

Comments: Overall the process with Cherwell has been great. The product is fantastic with very few hiccups.

Pros: This product allows us to customize it in a way that makes it so we can bring all departments within the same system (finally!).

Cons: Implementation and additional integrations can be difficult (as with any product).

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/10/2019
Douglas F.
IT Tech Support Specialist
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020

"Very effective ticketing system"

Comments: Cherwell Service Management has been a very effective ticketing system for our operation. It rewards inquisitive users who have some experience with SQL queries. It integrates with our email system, so we end up receiving and answering email inquiries from our user community through the Cherwell interface. It gives good reporting, and good statistics, although the reporting requires some effort to access. It has been a good system for my organization

Pros: Customization of searches; use of an SQ-like search format to build queries that can then be saved and reused

Cons: Requires some level of training in order to increase personal customization. Occasionally have multiple people working on the same tickets, so some tickets get resolved with ineffective solutions while others are working on them. Reporting requires some effort to access.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2020