15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About AccountEdge

AccountEdge is a powerful, easy-to-use, small-business accounting software for the Mac and Windows desktop.

Learn more about AccountEdge

Pros:

The three big keys for me was that AccountEdge had customer service available here in the States that can be reached easily with a phone call, the price is reasonable, and they have a decent program.

Cons:

Trying to find prior years' transactions is costly and a huge pain.

AccountEdge ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Service
4.0
Features
4.1
Value for Money
4.2

Likelihood to recommend

7.9/10

AccountEdge has an overall rating of 4.3 out 5 stars based on 93 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used AccountEdge before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (93)

Gary
Gary
President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Entertainment, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Couldn't be simpler!

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Only great things to say about this product.

Pros:

AccountEdge Pro has made a work of difference in my company. With their easy to use dashboard, I can enter purchases, invoice customers, pay bills, create payroll, keep an accurate accounting of my banking and so much more. It is simple to use... even I can do it! It's a huge time saver and in the five years that I have been using AccountEdge, I have never had an issue.

Cons:

Not a big deal but there have been a couple of times when I have had to realign the check printing format.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Accountedge Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall this software is really good for people who want a simple bookkeeping and accounting solution.

Pros:

This software is great for people who are not accountants and are looking for a simple bookkeeping and accounting software solution.

Cons:

Whenever they release an update there are plenty of bugs and a lot of features will not work until the bug is fixed. Last upgrade my outlook connection stopped working so I had to manually send out invoices. Also support is no longer what it used to be. They will force you to upgrade to the current version and also charge for any support unless you can prove that you are calling about a software bug.

Lonny
Owner in US
Alternative Medicine, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

User for 30 years

3.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: 2. I paid $7K for a shopify site because Accountedge advertised they supported Shopify. For years I could open software, hit a button and my accounting was done. Now sometimes t takes HOURS a day to enter my shopify sales because shopify says accountedge "fell out of compliance." Again Accountedge said they were developing an app that would synch my store but it, like the native mac version, is NEVER coming. They have a protocol for exporting sales from shopify and importing them into accountedge but support has refused to guid me through it. Their directions are unintelligible and they simply won't help. Absolutely HORRIBLE support for a 30 year customer that invested 7K in a site based on their say so.

Pros:

Gets the job done, lets me do whatever I need to do.

Cons:

1. Accountedge discontinued native support for mac when it went to 32 bits and have been saying for about 5 years "we are working on a native version. " The DOS shell it currently operates in is awful and makes me feel like Im back n 1995. It's the slowest program on my computer. I call support 2x a year and it's always the same old thing "they are working on it." I was just told "As soon as we complete a project Apple makes a change to their OS so it slows us down. " Yeah well keeping programs current with each new OS is how computers work. Accountdege does anything I need but, on a MAC it's a miserable experience.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: GetApp

Alternatives Considered:

Overall good product

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I love the software and functionality but will most likely switch to another platform due to lack of support from customer service. Also support to your accountant is also non existent.

Pros:

The simplicity of this product makes it enjoyable to use. The layout is nice and it makes it easy to find things you are looking for.

Cons:

Customer support has gone completely down. Upgraded to the 2021 version and it broke a lot of features including the ability to send emails through outlook. Had to wait months for a fix and had to send out invoices manually. Come tax time they now want me to upgrade to 2022 for the accountant to get a copy to work on my file. Software maybe a good price but don't expect any support without spending more money. Basically a trap to force you to pay.

Jim
Owner in Canada
Printing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Accountedge Pro

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: Accountedge Pro is easy to use and has all the features needed. It’s a good program. I have enjoyed using it.

Pros:

Very easy to use. Performs all required tasks Automatically. It’s reliable. Easy to navigate. Works very well.

Cons:

Lacks mobile integration- being able to use application on mobile device when on the toad or at a clients office. There are some functions available like looking up old invoices and jobs. But that’s about it. In this day and age portable applications are almost necessary.

Georg C.
Georg C.
Vice President in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Retail, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Simple Complete Accounting System

4.0 5 years ago

Comments: We were looking for a small light-weight accounting system to manage some of our ancillary corporations that have very limited activity on them, but need to be audited yearly and reported to in public documents. Thus we wanted something that didn't allow much in the way of mistakes, and was relatively simple to use, without being overly complex and expensive.

Pros:

Installation and use of this software is relatively easy, and requires little to no accounting background to accomplish. You can pick your industry, and the types of services/products you provide, give them some custom names, and the software will setup your chart of accounts, and having you rolling. Setup a few vendors/suppliers, and a few customers, and you can start issuing invoices and paying bills.

Cons:

The software is not immediately accessible as it does not really follow any similar flow with current modern softwares. The basic system for each function, be it paying bills or selling product, requires either knowledge of exactly which steps you need to do, and in what order, or you follow the "guide" which is merely a large flow sheet of icons, with arrows pointing to various "next steps" in sort of a large circular picture.

Michael
Michael
Web developer in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Internet, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

One of very few apps for accounting on Mac - 2022 version

3.0 last year

Comments: It is still a very useful piece of software, and a rarity on Mac. However, the recent design decisions made in the latest version leave a lot to be desired. Unless the interface is overhauled, or at least improved, we may not use it for much longer.

Pros:

It is an installable app, which does have drawbacks, but does mean an internet connection is not required to use it, unlike all cloud based accounting software. All useful features are available, such as employee records, payroll, invoicing, accounting, and stock checking, together with up to date HMRC requirements in the UK, such as Making Tax Digital tax submissions. The price is also very competitive. Most cloud based accounting software charges a per employee fee for payroll, but AccountEdge allows for multiple employees as standard.

Cons:

The latest version has completely changed the look and feel of the software. Text is very hard to read, checkboxes are almost unusable, and the user experience in general is poorer than it's ever been. Error messages can be very obtuse.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

The best one for the accounting & development financial of the company, i love it..!

5.0 8 months ago

Comments: They are no problems about it , in my experience with the application is a good way for respect your financial ways

Pros:

By AccountEdge any one can learn the best way for accounting his business management, it’s a good thing for analyzing financial services

Cons:

It’s good for his skills, the way for using is a better ways ..!

Lisa
Owner in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Consumer Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy and customizable

5.0 5 years ago

Comments: Wonderful. I have been using it since 1992. And my CPA loves the reports I generate at the end of the year, it makes figuring up my taxes really easy for him because I can add different expense/income categories and customize it for certain deductions.

Pros:

I have used this software since 1992, when it was called MYOB. It's easy to use, and has all the help you need right in the software. The categories are customizable, and you can easily make edits . you can also generate customized reports.

Cons:

When I am entering a new customer, I would like to have more options on the main screen, such as the initial customer date and notes instead of having multiple screens to click through, it would make it easier to be able to see all the data on one screen.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Medical Practice, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AccountEdge Pro

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: See above

Pros:

I bought the original software a long time ago because it was Mac based. I am only a Mac user.

Cons:

I wish the decimal point floated. I know that that sounds silly but it would be nice. Plus, there needs to be a better way to put in "online" payments in check book. I only use checkbook and payroll. All the rest is a waste for me.

Emily
Secretary in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use but a few quirks that annoy me each month

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Overall AccountEdge makes my business bookkeeping simple-- I've used Quickbooks for other clients and I really do prefer the way AccountEdge handles billing for a daily service industry (we are in landscape maintenance). I wish the mobile technology allowed my husband to see more customer info when he is in the field, but we are able to work around that typically.

Pros:

Ease of use for progress billing, I am able to bill daily sales in an easy to use format helping me not lose revenue by missing charges to customers

Cons:

No ability to show customer total outstanding balance without a statement. I also think the reconciling process is clunky for bank statements and credit cards. My deposits show twice when I group them for a bank deposit slip and customer balances can be inaccurate on "cards".

Tom
Pres. in US
Wholesale, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

AccountEdge Pro Long-Time User

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: AccoutEdge Network Edition allows us to use multiple workstations to manage our daily sales, payables, and biweekly payroll.

Pros:

Comprehensive for what we need it for. All cash accounts, including checking; receivables; payables; payroll; and more.

Cons:

We've used it for so many years that we've gotten very used to it. Because we don't have a learning curve anymore, I don't have complaints. It would be better if it integrated more easily into our database, or Excel.

Jong un
Marketing in
, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

We use AccountEdge at work and it works okay

4.0 7 years ago

Comments: Easy to use and good accounting software over all.

Pros:

It is really easy to use. Most of the new employees have learned how to use it efficiently quickly so far.

Cons:

Not being able to set 'search by' is the big one. Whenever sales team take orders, they have to type in the description of the products when taking an order or looking it up. Would be great if we could set 'search by item name' and 'contains' instead of 'starts with'.

Carrie
Office Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Perfect fit for our non-profit organization

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: AccountEdge Pro is perfect for our small non-profit organization. It is very user friendly. I especially love how fast I can make and customize reports. Processing payroll and making deposits are virtually effortless, which I appreciate. This will be our fourth year with the software and we have never had any issues. Customer service is always prompt and willing to help in any way. We highly recommend this accounting software.

Pros:

I like how easy it is to customize in order to fit our specific needs.

Jeanette
Controller in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Accountedge for a non profit

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: As a new user, I had the opportunity to use customer support for free for only 30 days.
Sometimes it is frustrating to not be able to turn to someone with a question, but anyone with a lot
of accounting experience can easily use the software.
One of the pluses for our non profit, it that our payroll service is linked with our accounting software and they process out monthly and quarterly returns very inexpensively.

Pros:

see my comments

Cons:

see my comments

Claudia
Managing Partner in US
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

A jewel for small/medium size business!

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: I started using AccountEdge in 2006 on my Mac. Soon I discovered that it has much better accounting options, it is user friendly, and better use of time with lesser chances of errors. I have not found to date any limitations. Customer service is outstanding. Lastly, my accountant loved the options for payroll that are included.

Pros:

Easy to use and great support if needed.

Cons:

CRM integration partners are pricey.

Stephen
President in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Works For Us.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been using this software for our Mac since early in the days it was "Mind Your Own Business." We have been satisfied with the results overall.

Pros:

It does for us what we want it to do. We are a small non-profit and it fits well with our organization.

Cons:

That the defaults cannot be changed on some of the most common uses we have.

Dave
Principal in US
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

They screwed the MacOS users

4.0 last year

Comments: Good, until they walked away from the Mac user base.

Pros:

Mac-focused. Easy to use. Easy to understand.

Cons:

After 20+ years of supporting Mac users, they just dropped us.

john
owner in US
Construction, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

user since 1994

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: they have always taken good care of us

Pros:

works perfectly, info desk had quick and complete solutions

Cons:

less well known, i have "brand name envy" because i use a lesser known program

George
VP in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Former Peachtree user

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: It is much easier to add accounts "on the fly" as our record keeping needs evolve.

Pros:

I like having my program residing on my hard drive rather than having to "rent" the service forever.

Cons:

I'm not sure that there are really any highly objectionable features. Accountedge does take a while to set up, but I feel that it is really under my supervision at every step of the process.

harry
owner in Canada
Building Materials, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

support by email non existent

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: fair

Pros:

somewhat user freidly, difficult to adjust the programs

Cons:

knowledge base not elaborate enough, very disappointed with service after sale

Betsy
owner in US
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Owner

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Used it for many years. No problems.

Pros:

Very easy to use, just mostly common sense.

Cons:

Redundant steps. I do not need to asked three times if I really want to do something.

Natalie
Attorney and Counselor at Law in US
Law Practice, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

I'm loving it.

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: AccountEdge Pro has everything you could possibly want in an accounting software and more. There is a bit of a learning curve to it, but the online tutorials and step-by-step help answers have walked me through almost every problem I've encountered thus far. Now that I'm using AccountEdge Pro regularly, I am able to look at my business' numbers and make financial decisions in an instant without having to guess about where we stand financially and what we can expect coming up.

Pros:

AccountEdge Pro has everything I need and then some. No matter how big my business grows, I have confidence that AEPro will be able to accommodate me.

Cons:

The learning curve can be steep. Some vocabulary is slightly different than what I'm used to using, so finding relevant answers in the help center sometimes takes a bit of creativity. Once the correct topic has been found, however, the answers are extremely easy to follow.

Chris
Treasurer in Canada
Philanthropy, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Fantastic Software for smaller companies

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: I used it since it was MYOB and it has never let me down.

Pros:

Ease of use; Drill down capabilities; Multiple reports This program is ideal for a "simple" operation. That is, one location, even if it has multiple services and products. It can handle multiple companies, but if you are a conglomerate with 3+ locations and require consolidated statements, this will not due. It's AR,AP, payroll and billing functions are sufficient and I've never had data corruption issues.

Cons:

Nothing I have come across, but this is great software for a simple GL. You can have tons of accounts, but if you want departments or cost centres, it becomes a bit more tricky. I will advise you can only keep 3 years of data on it Depending on what you do, you may prefer the ability to drill down 5-10 years in your history..

Dan
President in Canada
Retail, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

So much better over SAGE, thank you Account Edge

5.0 6 years ago

Pros:

I love that the software is mine and no one can start charging me to continue to use it. It's very easy to use, support is good and my accountant likes using it as well. After 20 years using Simply (now SAGE) the updates and costs were getting out of hand I decided to switch to Account Edge. Wasn't an easy decision to make as it was some work to do so but after the first month I wished I had done the change years ago.

Cons:

My accountant can not look back at a specific journal entry in the previous year with out looking into our back up. This is making year end a longer process.