MySchool is a great online school management system that is intuitive to use!

Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Brad M.
Director of ICT in Education
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: I like the module approach to MySchool. Having access to information in a non-cluttered environment makes navigating MySchool a breeze. I like how easy it is to run reports for specific courses or classes. For my basic daily needs, MySchool hits the mark!

Cons: I see huge potential in MySchool, but it it seems like much of that potential is locked away. I don't like how some schools who use MySchool have access to different modules or have had customized modules added to their accounts. It would be nice to know the full potential. The Grade Report and Assignment module could use some attention. Trying to transition my staff from using a third-party marks/assignments program to using MySchool for assignments and reporting is proving tough. Staff like the flexibility to tweak and to customize their grade books and assignments. It would be nice if MySchool allowed more flexibility in this area. Also, the Parent Portal needs to show more assignment information, especially for assignments that have since passed or expired.

Awesome database system and dev team !

Reviewed on 01/03/2019
Stéphane B.
IT Administrator
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very responsive development team and support, we have been able to go through all our specificities in term of grade calculation (which are very specific to a Japanese system). The team has always been very helpful on each requests/issue we encountered and it's just the 1st year we are using MySchool, and haven't yet finished implementing all (had to rush this project due to abandon of previous one). Thanks guys you're doing an awesome work for us !

Pros: Webased school database system, available anywhere, it's just awesome compared to previous system. It's simple to use and understand. I haven't had to show much to our teaching staff to get their buy-in the project and nobody ever came to complain about any service disruption. It's really modulable and the team is very effective to find solution for different environment.

Cons: It's missing the possibility to create our own reports, but the team is very helpful and responsive to help create them in the background and make them available as soon as possible ! Report export takes sometime a moment (less than a minute anyway) to generate the grades but it's mostly due to a complex calculation system we are using with many exceptions (sorry for complexity).

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 06/03/2019

We really appreciate your review Stéphane and so happy to read you are having a positive experience with MySchool. A new customised report solution is in the works and although it is early days, we think you will like it.

Thanks again for the review!

Highly Recommended School Software

Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Carol C.
Sectorial Administrator
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: MySchool database offers a wide array of tailor made possibilities to suit the schools' different requirements. As the Sector's main Administrator, I am fully dependent on the software to provide me with all the information required, from viewing the student's current location to more extensive data including attendance, students & teachers' timetables, reports and statistics.

Pros: I find this software to be extremely comprehensive of important school data which can be referred to and extracted according to the info required at the click of a button.

Cons: As with all extensive software, it may take a while until all the data is migrated/inserted. First-time users should be also be aware that even the the programme is quite user-friendly, it requires some practice until one understands how the data is linked and the manner it may used for the school's advantage. However MYSCHOOL personnel are extremely helpful and offer immediate and clear assistance.

This is a great company and solves issues quickly.

Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Sandra A.
Administration Assistant
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: The benefits are that the teacher's can learn this software quickly and easily. Each year we have new staff and they like the system.

Pros: This program is easy to use and makes keeping school documents such as report cards and transcripts up to date and accessible. Any issues or updates we have needed have been completed in a very reasonable amount of time. The staff are friendly and helpful anytime their service has been required.

Cons: There really isn't anything that FCA dislikes about this software. We have changed report cards, transcripts, courses etc. and anytime we run into an issue it is solved. We have skyped, emailed, phoned and the staff are very helpful. The only issue we have had is the time change as the company is stationed in Malta and they are 5 hours ahead of us. We have worked around this and plan ahead when doing report cards etc. All in all we are very satisfied!

MySchool Review

Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Stephen B.
IT
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Pros: In general Myschool is a great piece of software. Personally i believe it offers a common sense approach to school management and offers little in way of learning curves while being highly functional.

Cons: It doesn't work to all well or not at all with multiple tabs open , which can be annoying at time. The search function needs to be more 'flexable'. Especially when it comes to searching for people with middle name or 2 worded names. Example El Shaarawy cant not be searched by typing Shaarawy.

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 12/03/2019

Thank you for your review! We've worked hard making MySchool as common sense and easy to use as possible - always thrilled to hear how easy it is to use. We have some big changes to our user experience coming this year which will improve both the search flexibility and how MySchool works in multiple tabs.

The Swiss Army Knife of Student Informations Systems

Reviewed on 07/03/2019
Brad M.
Director of ICT in Education
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
3/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
3 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: My overall experience with MySchool has been positive. I really like how MySchool continues to improve their software and user experience. MySchool does a good job at being the Swiss Army Knife of student information systems.

Pros: MySchool is loaded with lots of great features that bridge the gap between administrative data to teacher usable data like assignments and grade keeping. This software pretty much does it all and does it well. It works well for the administration office all the way down to the classroom.

Cons: MySchool's GUI does feel dated and navigating the various options is not as intuitive as it could be. Many important options are buried in a menu system that isn't easy to use. I would like to see a more robust grade book and assignment section that gives teachers more control and students/parents more information. Customer support is good and helpful, but can take some time for issues to be addressed. Being a shared platform with other schools, customization is not always possible as changes to the system does affect the larger ecosystem.

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 12/03/2019

Thanks for the review! Love the Swiss army knife comparison - we really do try and cover all School requirements! We hear you on the GUI point and have good news. We've totally redesigned the MySchool User Experience with a new UI and many improvements to navigation and generally how things work. As this is a big project we're being very careful with testing and roll out to make sure it doesn't impact our customers negatively. We're also working on many areas of MySchool's functionality including grade books. We recognise the issue with some support issue types taking a while to resolve and have been working on ways to address this.

The company is always ready and willing to promptly answer questions or solve issues that arise.

Reviewed on 13/06/2017
Carolyn G.
Executive Administrative Assistant
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Allowing us to store all our contacts in one place was a major selling feature.

Pros: The developers are very willing to work with you to create the best possible experience for your organization. They are continually improving the product. MySchool meets our needs as an independent school in that it allows us to track all our current students and parents but also other people connected with our school; such as alumni, former parents, donors etc. We love that all our contacts are contained in one database.

Cons: Nothing major. I'm not that familiar with the teacher grade book side of things; mostly the administrative side.

This school management system is efficient.

Reviewed on 28/03/2019
Laurent K.
IT Manager
Education Management, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Contacts with MySchool have always been positive. The team's reactivity to the various changes requested (grade reports, consents for RGDP, etc.) is very good. Finally, the support team is very professional, attentive, and the resolution times are very short.
BRAVO...

Pros: This Saas embeds lots of useful functionalities for the day-to-day school management.

Easy to communicate between parents/pupils/teachers/admin staff. Very flexible, stable, (very few downtime since we use MySchool (2013)).
Teachers like the Assignments module, its ease of use, and parents also!

Cons: Let's say that file sharing could be improved a little.

MySchool Review

Reviewed on 14/03/2019
Carolyn G.
Executive Administrative Assistant
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: MySchool continues to improve their software to meet the needs of the BC education system. I do not intend to make a change to our student information system any time soon!

Pros: It allows us to track our alumni and donors as well as current parents and students. The developers are always working to make it better and do their best to solve any problems that arise. They respond to support tickets in a timely manner.

Cons: Sometimes there are weird glitches and on occasion the system goes down but that's very rare.

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 15/03/2019

Thanks for your review Carolyn! It's great to read you are happy with MySchool and that we meet your needs in BC.

MySchool is a great SiS. It is a powerful data and record keeping tool.

Reviewed on 15/06/2017
Mike M.
Teacher/Tech Coordinator
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: This software has made attendance simple and made getting student and teacher information very fast. Changes to schedules and courses can be made very quickly. Printing reports we could not print before is very useful. It is fairly easy to teach a new user how to use it.

Pros: The team at MySchool!
The team's willingness to make changes or upgrades to the system when suggested.
Most of the time we get a great response time.

Cons: The system does not always work as one would expect.
Generating reports can be tricky or require many more steps than necessary.
As a teacher using the system I would configure many pages or reports differently.

Great support

Reviewed on 25/03/2019
Alison V.
Administrator
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: We needed a product for homework assignments and grades. We also use My School for sending out mass and individual emails. Data reports are generated in Excel and allow us to quickly view birthdays, track information from questionnaires, and monitor attendance and discipline reports.

Pros: The team have tweaked certain aspects of the software to suit our specific needs. The support team is extremely responsive .

Cons: Some of the wording is a little unusual, but once the students learned which menus to use, it hasn't been an issue.

My thoughts on MySchool

Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Pat A.
Assistant Head
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Very positive. Having all needed information inone place is very helpful

Pros: The very efficient customer care service. MySchool personel are always there when we need them either if we have a difficulty/problem or if we need to customise something to fit our school. Very friendly to use

Cons: Even though the portal is quite flexible there are still some things that we would like to customise to fit our needs better but might not be possible. Although this is very minor

Great Simple product

Reviewed on 11/03/2019
Director of Technology
Education Management, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: have been using it for over 6 years and am very pleased .

Pros: Great product that is simple and super user friendly. Their team is phenomenal and is always willing to work on custom features and designs with you.

Cons: I wish it synced with more edu products easier

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 14/03/2019

Thank you for your review! So glad to hear you find MySchool easy to use. We hear you on the subject of integrations and it is in our sights for improvement.

We have been very happy with My school.

Reviewed on 14/06/2017
Warren G.
IT Manager
Education Management, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Helps us manage our small private school, from Finance to Report Cards and with a lot more to leverage still.

Pros: It took only minutes to configure and was robust enough to accommodate our needs. The support is excellent; I work in the IT field and can say with confidence that in my experience the support/configuration assistance was readily available and coming from staff that fully understood the software.

Cons: Having the ability to modify/personalize the reports would be a nice feature that does not exist today. ( That I am aware of)

MySchool Review

Reviewed on 19/03/2019
Lee O.
Secondary Principal
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Overall experience is very positive. We are using more and more elements of the system each year.

Pros: Ease of use / Simplicity
Efficient technical support
Cost

Cons: Quite basic functionality - lack of timetable integration, each class session required to be registered individually even when teachers have double periods,

I administrate, open tickets and raise recommendations for MySchool at San Anton School

Reviewed on 23/06/2017
Ian D.
IT Administrator
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
5 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
5 / 5
Value for Money

Pros: Simple and user-friendly, yet powerful and meets all our needs. Runs on all platforms and requires minimal internet traffic.

Excellent, but still not fully-featured

Reviewed on 07/03/2019
Evan S.
Faculty & Director of IT
Primary/Secondary Education, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
3 / 5
Ease of Use
4 / 5
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
4 / 5
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: MySchool certainly opens doors in terms of what problems school have can be solved by modern enterprise-level technology. I am glad they have created a product to address this market need and look forward to the continuing maturity of the system.

Pros: A modern web-application interface makes MS convenient, efficient, and attractive.

Cons: Some important features are still missing from what MS is being marketed as being competitive with.

Grade Reports - collecting data

Reviewed on 07/03/2019
Ruth M.
Assistant Head
Education Management, 13-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source 
4/5
Overall
4 / 5
Ease of Use
3 / 5
Features & Functionality
4 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money
Likelihood to Recommend:
Not Likely Extremely Likely

Comments: Making inputting and tracking results - eventually assignments of student s work easier on the teachers The designing part/inputting part was challenging and setting it up. Grade reporting has had its issues but the support was always prompt and solutions have been found quickly even against time.

Pros: So far that everybody can input in one place and we can view all data is easily accessible - can be tracked I t must have a bigger potential as a software but we are not using it at its full capacity yet

Cons: I still have issues with the statistics part - getting data (results ) into an excel sheet - not catching the right data

Vendor Response

by MySchool on 12/03/2019

Thanks for the review! We'd like to hear from you about what your needs are for statistics as we definitely help! Please drop us a line. We've made a note to bring it up next time we chat as well :)

MySchool

Reviewed on 20/01/2014
Tonio P.
Head of School
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: Chiswick House School and St Martin's College are the largest independent educational establishments in Malta offering a full educational programme to students aged between two and a half and eighteen years. Before deciding which Data Management System to invest in, we explored and analysed a number of different systems, all of which have excellent track records and have serviced esteemed clients in the past. It was also critical that the development team was approachable and readily available to address the specific needs of our setup. MySchool proved to be best system by far. Its user-friendliness and the way it adapts to the school's administrative, communication and educational needs have been key to having all staff on board and eager to make the best use of this excellent tool. With minimal training, all stake holders are now making full use of the system making our processes more streamlined, efficient and cost effective.

Driving change with detailed result tracking

Reviewed on 13/10/2011
Ferdi M.
Principal
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: For a school looking for a very competitve solution for information management that is likely to be used and to make a real difference, then this is the right choice.

Pros: Surprisingly easy to use. Initially sceptical staff are now competing with each other to get all their assignments and grades online. In a few weeks we have already seen an improvement in pupil and teacher performance. The interface for parents and pupils is attractive and easy to follow.

Cons: Administrator can enter grades for technophobic staff but cannot, as far as I can see, correct grades that have already been entered by others. This is the only (fairly minor) problem we have encountered.

My School review

Reviewed on 17/01/2012
Anthony S.
ICT Manager
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: I would strongly recomment this system to any school that is looking for a cost-effective and complete management system.

Pros: This system provides complete management of a typical school. The main advantage is the centralised data that is available for all management needs including students and parents personal data, subjects and courses, attendance, disciplinary issues, VLE, fee management, transport info and time-tabling. Communicating with parents / students is extremely easy via email or sms. Access can be easily given to students and parents, providing a simple but efficient monitoring system.

Cons: Have not found any yet.

Best solution we found in Europe.

Reviewed on 10/12/2014
Jeremy H.
Head of School
Reviewer Source 
5/5
Overall
5 / 5
Ease of Use
Features & Functionality
5 / 5
Customer Support
Value for Money

Comments: The British International School of Ljubljana selected MySchool for its first MIS in April 2011. We were impressed with the combination of functionality, value for money and particularly, the first-class customer service. Compared with the other twenty or so solutions we researched, MySchool presents one of the friendliest user experiences. As a school based in the EU, we were looking for an EU-hosted solution to comply with data protection legislation, and again MySchool delivered the necessary assurances and safeguards.