REALTRAC Reviews

by Realtrac Holdings

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.1 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.4 /5

About REALTRAC

Manufacturing software provider for make to order manufacturers and job shops in many industries. Offering Total Shop Floor Control.

Learn more about REALTRAC

Showing 25 reviews of 68

Louis H.
Scheduling/ purchasing
Oil & Energy, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020

"REALTRAC POSSIBLY THE FUTURE OF SHOP FLOOR SCHEDULING"

Comments: I HAVE HAD SMALL ISSUES WITH INSTALLS BUT EVENTUALLY THINGS GOT WORKED OUT AND THIS NEW VERSION IS EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID IT WOULD BE. THE LATEST TECH INSTALL TEAM HAS BEEN VERY GREAT TO WORK [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] WITH AND THE SUPPORT SYSTEM THEY USE [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] IS EXTREMELY CAPABLE ON THEIR PRODUCT.

Pros: EASE OF SEARCH FUNCTIONS AND ABILITY TO CUSTOM CREATE REPORTS AND CUSTOM PAGES FOR INDIVIDUAL USER TO FIT SPECIFIC DESKTOP NEEDS

Cons: STILL SOME FEATURES THAT ARE MISSING BUT REALTRAC TAKES TIME TO LISTEN TO OUR IDEAS AND POTENTIALLY WILL INCLUDE THESE IDEAS IN FUTURE UPDATES.. WHICH IS GREAT FOR ME AND HOPEFULLY HELPS THEM SELL MORE PRODUCT.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Matt C.
Quality Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020

"Great software for job creation and tracking."

Comments: Overall Realtrac is great for our small business of around 50 people. It is also nice that a touchscreen shop tablet is an option for easier and faster job logging.

Pros: Realtrac is super simple to navigate and use on a daily basis. The data logging of operations is excellent.

Cons: The Quality tab could be updated to have a "responsible party" option and the NCR/CAR reporting could be updated to include better printable & shareable history data.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 10/11/2020
Shane M.
Director of Operations
Semiconductors, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2017

"Realtrac ERP being used in a CNC machine job shop environment."

Comments: Realtrac has been a great resource for quickly estimating upcoming projects and large scale bids on a variety of machines, work types and work stations. We offer many post-production processes at our facility that include a combination of some or all of the following: cleaning equipment, manual equipment, manual labor, ongoing consumable items and a variety of packaging materials and clean room supplies. The ability to affix real known costs to all of these things for any specific job has helped ensure that we are quoting our cost very accurately and not unexpectedly raisin our customer's pricing on subsequent orders.

Pros: Work step customization. Attaching files to jobs or part numbers.

Cons: 1) Time card time display is inaccurate and not fixable, therefore not being utilized. 2) For estimating Bill or BOM items, there is no way to uniquely identify per unit cost based on associated quantity discounts from suppliers. 3) Overall look and feel of the software and reporting sheets feel antiquated, like it was developed in the late 90's.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2017
Kevin C.
owner
Furniture, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    2 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2019

"Frustraded"

Pros: have had program at least 5 years , support is decent. I am not a computer guy, and I find it easy to navigate

Cons: I have called in the past to complain, and I did get up the pole pretty far ,but they say they can't do anything. The program shuts itself down at the end of the day and starts up in the morning - beautiful . However it starts every Saturday and Sunday as well.adding to peoples hours who are not working, which in turn make trying to find the cost of manufacturing useless. the only thing the program is good for is to know where items are in the production process. The reason I originally purchase the program was to try and get the true cost to manufacture the parts - it can not be done on this program. - Also on the main list screen you should be able to see what employees are working on each project, without leaving the screen

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/08/2019
Steven Y.
Manager
11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017

"Northern Precision - Realtrac for Twenty Years!"

Comments: We have been using Realtrac for approximately 20 years and it has continuously improved in its applications, efficiency and overall quality. Realtrac is a large factor in our success over the years and has helped make us the company we are today! Look forward to Realtrac for years to come.

Pros: The range of uses, reports and also the fact that it is tracked in "real" time and is current every five seconds.

Cons: The ability to design and generate custom reports. Some data is not available in all reports.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Jacob L.
Owner
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019

"JD Ellen Mfg Feedback"

Comments: We have grown with Realtrac over the last 8 years. We have appreciated the improvements made. We would enjoy it if we could have it programmed to fit our product flow.

Pros: Organized filtering for job tracking. Purchasing and RFQs. Estimates are nice.

Cons: Scheduling can be a challenge for us. I believe that has to do with how training is provided.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Misti R.
Office Manager
Mining & Metals, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"RealTrac = Awesome"

Pros: User Friendly, Exports to QuickBooks, Exports to Excel, Can Upload your Logo, Customer Service!!!!!!

Cons: The software updates can be confusing at first sometimes, but customer service is good with helping.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Mike J.
President
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2017

"Extremely cost effective"

Comments: We have been a long time user and it extremely satisfying to make a suggestion and then see it incorporated in the next upgrade.

Pros: the ease of use

Cons: the financial reports do not function well

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/02/2017
Patti H.
Office Manager
Wholesale, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020

"Realtrac"

Pros: I love the feature that I can attach drawings to Part Numbers when I create a new order - so that every time I process an order it will automatically pull up those drawings which saves me from having to go look in the files

Cons: I wish there was a easy way to input a material list

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/12/2020
Autumn R.
Office Assistant
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"Does the job"

Comments: The Realtrac software does what we need it to do. We can easily quote jobs, monitor the work and watch the costing. Overall very happy.

Pros: Realtrac is user friendly, and easy to set up. The attachments options help keep things clean and organized for easy access. This software makes it simple to correct mistakes.

Cons: The quality group is very basic and doesn't really add valve.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Blake O.
President
Aviation & Aerospace, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2017

"Small Company review"

Comments: The hardest part of choosing a ERP software is adapting your already established nomenclature, planning and processing methods to the software. While no software can completely adapt to the way a company runs, this one comes close. Where you are forced to change to fit the system, the staff is every ready to help guide the stake holders through the process.

Pros: As of yet it has not been able to run properly. I have not had a lot of "Pros".

Cons: I have to change some of my company nomenclature to conform with the software. There are several steps to enter a PO, plan, allocate materials, and release. These are not intuitive and don't necessarily run in a easy flowing order. The spreadsheet columns will not expand to show all the information within.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/03/2017
Helen J.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2013

Comments: J & L Turning, Inc has had Realtrac software in our plant for approximately 20 years. We are a manufacturing company that manufactures custom designed tools, therefore every job is different. Keeping track and researching jobs was a nightmare. We found Realtrac extremely user friendly and adaptable to anything you want to monitor on your plant floor, plus it intergrates with our accounting software. If you run into a problem, help is always there when you need it. I certainly would recommend Realtrac to all businesses that want to monitor their production, inventory, costs, sales all of it. Easy to use, easy to learn - a winner.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 22/04/2013
Carlos C.
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4.5 /5
  • Customer Support
    3.5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2014

"Review Realtrac for money back"

Pros: It is very user-friendly, and the vendor is very knowledgeable on the product.

Cons: The inventory module is not linked into the standard purchase system, and the vendor didn't explain this step.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 09/06/2014
Keith B.
President
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2020

"A long look, great decision"

Comments: Amazed at how they train. No need to guess, no need to carve out days of forgetful training. Instead Training is as fast as one can absorb. Training is built upon the previous steps. Allowed our business to dictate training direction. Several times before a training session looked at my question as trivial. Considered it would be a waste of their time to show me one thing. In minutes of working together, letting me drive proved to quickly develop and understand the how and why's. The complete process expedites muscle memory, building the retention for a successful implementation.

Pros: The likes, In short, the ability to build and track multi level BOM's while having Shop management, inventory visibility and scheduling features. These have long been the desirable features.

Cons: Same as in all software, time to build the data. The choice was to not drop all past data in but to build from this point forward. This means at times go back and enter data from the past system. Our choice, it was not a requirement.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2020
Jaclyn E.
Operations Support
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2020

"CNC Manufacturing"

Comments: [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been very helpful with an questions or issues. I have used other ERP softwares (most exposure to Epicor). Realtrac is a more simple ERP as far as user friendly application. Also since last update, software is slow and sometimes glitchy. And have had to exit and then re-open the job screen to get any attachments to show.

Pros: Rightboard is in real-time so changes are able to be seen quickly by shop personnel.

Cons: There is no option to see transaction history of parts on the inventory side. When we have an issue, we can't see what transactions took place prior to see where the problem occur to make our qty off or see any negative qty's.
Also, status of "incomplete" for finished goods is pointless for how Realtrac treats it once moved to a job to make the part complete. Just better off making a consumed material part number, which means several more parts numbers for each finished good that are left at incomplete stages.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2020
Erik J.
Operations
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2019

"How Realtrac changed the way we do business"

Comments: Overall Realtrac has given us a different perspective on how we do business. Jobs now have routers detailing step by step production processes. It has also changed how we manage our inventory by consolidating our warehouse. Realtrac has proven to be an effective tool and everyone in the office enjoys its ease of use.

Pros: I enjoy the ease of use and how efficient it is when it comes to tracking job statuses. The inventory management module is also great and it allows us to input inventory locations and statuses. So if we have 20 parts that are partially done in stock we can flag them as partially completed. Realtrac has essentially changed our entire business into a more efficient company.

Cons: The only issue I have is the loading times when it comes to selecting different modules.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 22/08/2019
Jay A.
VP OPERATIONS
Defense & Space, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019

"Good at Big Picture, Some Shortcomings and Missing Features"

Comments: Overall it does what we need it to do by tracking jobs through the shop, but the costing being "broken" for our use makes it a purchase I may not make again if I had to do over.

Pros: It's user friendly for ShopFloor logging in and out of jobs and recording time. Timeclock is easy for HR, and tracking down where a job is in the manufacturing process from a remote location is easy as well.

Cons: My primary beef with RealTrac is that there is no feature (or wasn't a few versions ago) that allows me to SPLIT AN OPERATOR'S TIME when they are logged into two jobs. If an operator is running two machines, or three, or four, all at once there should be an option (if not a REQUIREMENT) that their loaded labor cost and hours are divided amongst the machines they're concurrently logged into. In my company, one operator ALWAYS runs more than one machine in a bank, so not having their time split makes all my costing metrics utterly useless until I manually go into the work sessions to interrogate the data. This is nearly a deal-breaker making me consider another software. (Customer Service / Tech Support informed me this was intentional so that when looking at historical jobs you never under-bid a job). If this is incorrect, someone please call me ASAP! The "Quality" feature is a horribly conceived module, slapped together as an afterthought, and the default reporting within there is awful, has poor formatting, and doesn't integrate well at all with the rest of the system. There hasn't been an update on this module in forever, but new PAID features (RightBoard) are being added and updated all the time.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2019
Matthew W.
Program Manager
Automotive, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    3 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    5/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020

"Review"

Comments: The biggest benefit is the costing records.

Pros: The software is relatively easy to learn and setup with minimal training.

Cons: The cost analysis within a job only considers the cost of the piece price, not tooling, setup, expedite fees. Additional line items other than the piece cost should flow through on cost tab. Not all jobs are just piece cost. Production on going jobs are not met with ease on this software, the software seems to be geared towards lot qtys or one time orders.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 19/11/2020
Kylan H.
Vice President
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018

"Great System, Everything We Needed Without the Crazy Complexity"

Comments: We are very pleased. They've got a great system and fantastic to work with.

Pros: 1. Easily track the amount of time spent and cost of individual jobs. People out on the shop floor don't mind clocking in and out of operations because it's so quick and easy.
2. It is everything we needed without the unnecessary complexity. Finding that balance between functionality and complexity is hard and RealTrac nailed it.
3. Developers are very responsive to feature requests or the rare glitch. Great people to work with. They're very active in bringing useful updates.
4. It's a network license, you can put RealTrac on as many computers as you want. Plus logging in past your number of licenses still gives you up to 10 minutes, thus nobody gets automatically booted. Some network licenses (from other companies) won't even let you log on which means you have to go find who left the program up on a random computer. RealTrac's gives you grace, which is great.
5. Training is not pay by the hour, it's basically unlimited, plus we are easily able to do remotely; both of which saves thousands of dollars.

Cons: 1. Lacks a central analytics center for mining all the data we create (different sections of the ERP can create reports). However, as I write this I know they are releasing a new reporting platform to hopefully address this.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/11/2018
Sam P.
President
Medical Devices, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2017

"REALTRAC for small lot production in a small shop"

Comments: We have used REALTRAC for several years managing production and inventory of repeat items in our business. The software performs well and for the price, the functionality, support, and responsiveness of the REALTRAC team is unbeatable. There is something of a learning curve to the software, but with disciplined use, we have found it to be very flexible and effective at capturing at and managing the data we need without imposing an unnecessary waste of effort or time.

Pros: Low cost, high functionality, responsive customer support!

Cons: It's a little bit of a hassle to setup and changes/updates to certain data have to be made in several locations. Inventory management could also be a little more intuitive and user friendly.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 27/03/2017
Mike P.
President
Medical Devices, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017

"Money well spent"

Comments: RealTrac fit our company at the perfect time! We were a smaller company that never had a job shop ERP system and RealTrac made this very easy to implement and allow us to grow. It is the perfect software to get started and grow your company!

Pros: Ease of use is the biggest item but there are many more. I hardly picked up the manual to learn this software!

Cons: I wish it was date sensitive for Inventory Reporting and other "what if" scenarios. But this isn't critical.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 23/02/2017
Art W.
IT Manager
Aviation & Aerospace, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018

"Realtrac Review"

Comments: Great for the price but feels a little "not ready for prime time" due to some inconsistencies between screens and modules. For example, some time is reported in minutes and seconds and on another screen or report the time is in tenths of a minute.

Pros: Price. Support. Catching data in real time so errors can be corrected while the operator still remembers the job.

Cons: Inflexibility for some items. Reporting for example.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2018
Raymond L.
Owner
Aviation & Aerospace, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018

"A good value."

Pros: Quick to get up and running.
Very good customer support.
Exports to Quickbooks.
Shop Floor is easy to use.

Cons: Reports are not flexible enough. Not all fields are available on all reports. No user fields.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/08/2018
Lynn H.
office mgn.
Machinery, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018

"lynn's review"

Pros: more features. faster to use.

Cons: had few issues with transferring my into to peachtree software

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 31/07/2018
Monte U.
vice president
Machinery, 2-10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2017

"Realtrac Was the Answer for Us"

Comments: We are a small growing shop. We had purchased a different ERP software 1 year ago. We struggled to implement it. The estimating part of it was really clunky. We ended up relying on spreadsheets yet. Realtrac has been extremely easy to learn. It just makes sense. We went with the leasing option and like that we always get the most up to date version.

Pros: ease of use

Cons: You have to purchase additional modules for some functions

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 03/03/2017