15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

About Supercritical

Helping businesses measure their carbon footprint and providing ways to reduce their climate impact through carbon removal programmes.

Learn more about Supercritical

Pros:

Everyone is really helpful and obviously cares about the service they provide. The process is very simple and there isn't much time required from me or my team.

Cons:

Carbon categories were changed/ removed/ added/ or merged between the years so it makes it difficult for me to compare the years and see what exactly has changed.

Supercritical ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
5.0
Features
4.4
Value for Money
4.3

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Supercritical has an overall rating of 4.7 out 5 stars based on 16 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Supercritical before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (16)

Redona
Redona
Operations Manager in Serbia
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Road to net zero

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: This is already the second time we are working together with Supercritical and both the experiences have been very positive. From the data gathering to discussing the carbon removal options, the team has been very supportive and guiding us through every step, with different check-ins to see how everything is going.

Pros:

The platform is super user-friendly, guiding you through the different sections needed to calculate the emissions. The Supercritical team is also very reachable, setting up a Slack channel, and responding quickly to any queries when completing the data gathering.

Cons:

As a small business, we haven't come across something that we didn't like yet.

Tom
Head of Sales and Lead for Sustainability & Life Sciences in UK
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Net Zero Healthcare IT

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: We've been able to publish our Carbon Reduction Plan (which has been well received by our customer base) and really shout about the work that we're doing to manage our own carbon footprint.The team at Supercritical have always been helpful and supportive - would definitely recommend them to any other provider.

Pros:

Supercritical was easy to use to support our own carbon footprint analysis.The team were incredibly helpful and supportive, enabling us to understand our own footprint as well as highlighting key areas of focus to support our strategy for reduction. This included answering ad-hoc queries/questions, as well as supporting us in developing our carbon reduction plan.The quality of the permanent carbon removal solutions available via Supercritical continue to be a key differentiator between them and the other solutions that are out there.Would definitely recommend Supercritical to any company who are looking to evaluate their own footprint, minimise this where possible, and remove the remaining footprint via robust carbon removal solutions.

Cons:

A key improvement would be the ability to map across the carbon removal on to the overarching dashboard that a company has access to. At present our own footprint and the removals we've purchased are presented in two different places within the platform, with no means of consolidating them.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Easy to use platform with great support team

4.0 last year

Pros:

Working with Supercritical is easy. They have great tools in place which make it frictionless to do submit your carbon emissions. They also have a great support team who is always on hand via Slack to answer questions.Supercritical have a very good range of offsets too from the more traditional ones to more advanced ones.

Cons:

Carbon calculations still being a new field, I feel it's hard to always have confidence in some of the calculations for emissions like online advertising or partnerships. I'd love to understand the techniques used a little better.Equally, the offsetting strategies suggested were good but sometimes not particularly relevant to our business which again could be improved.

Christiane
Chief Operating Officer in UK
Staffing & Recruiting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

What a great all round team at Supercritical!

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Overall a really user-friendly experience! I couldn't fault the process or the people. Thank you

Pros:

Having dealt with other companies in this field, we felt we were constantly just being pointed in a general direction, but not given support and guidance. Rather, we had to do the work ourselves and plug in numbers. Supercritical were the first company to actually listen and engage in partnership. When we have questions, there is a person to speak with and the responses are quick. No matter who you speak with, you get the sense that they are knowledgeable and genuinely want to help. The integration with Xero was seamless, and covered all 3 international entities.

Cons:

I'd like a little more clarity around exactly what information is necessary to extract from Xero (eg client meeting in a coffee house!). Also, assumptions are made as to pensions or policies around hardware purchase/disposal. Appreciate however that we needed a super fast turnaround on our emissions calculations, so hoping the next cycle will have more time to get granular!

Ed
Partner in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Very happy with Supercritical's services

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: Overall we are very happy with our choice to partner with supercritical, their customer service was superb, they understood our business and our needs and we feel very satisfied with the robustness of their removal offerings. However, there are improvements that could be made to automate more of the process and it would be nice if the relationship were nurtured a little more from their side. I look forward to hearing from them for our next annual footprinting and removal.

Pros:

We chose Supercritical because as a largely remote digital business, we felt most other carbon calculators and removal services didn't cater for our particular type of footprint. We felt Supercritical 'got' us and understood that our scope of emissions are not as obvious as say, a factory, which most competitors are geared up for. Throughout the service the customer support and relationship management was superb, they are a friendly team always happy to help.

Cons:

At points the process felt quite manual. I understand they have a roadmap to integrate more with technology but I think there are improvements that can be made here. Similarly, the dashboard was a little simplistic at our time of last use, so we have not really revisited it since the initial footprinting exercise. Finally, our relationship manager has left the business and it feels like we may have been forgotten in the process – it would be nice if someone had reached out to continue the relationship into year 2.

Edie
Senior Operations Associate in UK
Insurance, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great comms and friendly, High quality platform and offsets. Efficient process & great results.

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: We have re-certified as carbon neutral with Supercritical, and we now have some ideas for a plan on how to work towards Net Zero, and it was very easy to get to that point.

Pros:

The platform is very easy to use, and this made the calculation process very seamless. As a business, we didn't need to sacrifice much time for the process, as everything was intuitive. We thought the presentations of our results were very helpful and gave us the opportunity to learn more about the detail of our emissions. Anyone could do the data gathering without too much prior knowledge of carbon offsetting. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive - we really enjoyed the Slack integration feature where we could get quick responses while working along.

Cons:

I think the recommendations for Net Zero could have been more tailored to our business and could have been laid out as more of a plan. Some of the offsetting options are quite expensive compared to those offered by other providers.

Emily
Director of Operations in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Trustworthy and simple solution for carbon footprint + removal

5.0 last year

Pros:

The product is easy to use and does a good job of explaining the complexities of understanding carbon emissions and how to responsibly reduce and remove them. It's simple and quick to input all the required information for calculating carbon emissions. Once the results are provided, there is clear guidance on next steps and an easy process for purchasing offsets. The team are very knowledgeable and responsive to questions and feedback.

Cons:

The product is still evolving so there are some small bugs but nothing that takes away from the value it offers.

Laura
Sustainability Lead in Ireland
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Positive Experience with Supercritical: Highly Recommended!

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Third party calculation of company emissions and auditing is critical to ensuring robust, transparent and accurate carbon accounting, and to ensure emissions are comprehensively considered. Supercritical's expertise and analysis provided crucial guidance for our corporate accounting, ensuring independent verification of our environmental data and targets. Companies like Supercritical are essential (and will become increasingly more important) for promoting transparent, comprehensive, and audited corporate carbon accounting across sectors.

Pros:

Supercritical's analysis provided valuable insights into our carbon footprint, identifying key emission sources and enabling targeted strategies for reduction. The SBTi support was also great, and the team are lovely.

Cons:

Communication could be improved, with clearer updates on progress and more user-friendly documentation e.g. draft email for circulating the questionnaire.

Dan
Managing Director in UK
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Company Carbon Report

4.0 12 months ago

Pros:

Everyone is really helpful and obviously cares about the service they provide.The process is very simple and there isn't much time required from me or my team.

Cons:

Feels a little pushy on the carbon removals. Also having now worked with supercritical for a couple of years I was a little disappointed about the lack of continuity and comparison between the years. This is both in the knowledge about my company and things I've discussed/shared previously, as well as in the carbon report. Carbon categories were changed/ removed/ added/ or merged between the years so it makes it difficult for me to compare the years and see what exactly has changed.

Will
CEO in UK
Computer Software, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Early adopter of durable carbon capture

5.0 12 months ago

Pros:

The help from Supercritical enabled us to do things the right way, and ensure that we are truly carbon neutral in the short term and on the path to net zero.

Cons:

Not really specific to them, but I dislike the moving goalposts of carbon accounting - the generally-accepted standards change from year to year making it hard to make comparisons over time. Businesses generally benefit from consistency and predictability and the whole carbon accounting industry needs to make strides in this area.

Charlotte
People Coordinator in UK
Information Technology & Services, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Supercritical review

5.0 12 months ago

Comments: Supercritical was recommended to us, we had a great overview/demo of the platform, obviously decided to proceed, straight forward method for measuring our 2022 carbon footprint, recommendations for reductions/removal after were great!

Pros:

Easy platform to enter data, clear to separate out sections for each relevant department in charge, good customer support! Great follow on meetings on reduction/removal methods.

Cons:

Lengthy data collection process for finance and admin for travel/expenses - however this could be due to our systems not the supercritical platform.

Anna
Head of Research and Consumer Insight in UK
Marketing & Advertising, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great company to work with

4.0 12 months ago

Comments: Great. A well educated and friendly team, who could advise with confidence.

Pros:

Working with Supercritical felt like a partnership. They understood what we needed and they took their time educating all aspects of our business on carbon removal.

Cons:

I would really liked to have offered your services to our cinemas so that they could work with the same supplier of carbon monitoring as us which would help the industry in forward emissions monitoring

Harriet
Operations Manager in UK
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Brilliant and informative service.

5.0 11 months ago

Pros:

The team! They were so helpful, lovely, and knowledgeable every step of the way. They made the footprinting process very simple, and their advice around portfolio building and ways to improve our emissions as a team was great. The dashboard is also easy to navigate.

Cons:

There's nothing really I can think of yet.

Bhrigu
COO in UK
Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

cuts through the complexity to enable meaningful progress

5.0 last year

Pros:

Intuitive process and platform, supported by people who inspire confidence in making informed progress, with relative ease.

Cons:

Developing product, so some features that I would like too see are not there yet (such as budget constrained carbon removal-mix options).

Dagmar
Finance Manager in UK
Management Consulting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

First time user

5.0 11 months ago

Comments: Having completed the carbon footprinting process with Supercritical our company is now equipped to formulate long terms environmental strategy as our business is set to grow.

Pros:

Being a small business I was slightly worried that collecting the data for the purpose of carbon footprint calculations may be too onerous. However the data collection turned out to be as easy as I was infomed before we signed up with Supercritical to carry out the footprinting. The whole process was smooth and quick.

Cons:

We did not experience any issues in working with Supercritical.

Mastak Pal
ESG Director in UK
Financial Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Good platform and expert team

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall good experience

Pros:

Easy to use and accessible dashboard and report. The team generally responds relatively quickly.

Cons:

The process of buying removal offsets felt quite sales heavy.