Act-On Reviews

by Act-On Software

Average Ratings

  • Overall
    4.3 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 /5
  • Customer Service
    4.3 /5

About Act-On

Act-On is a growth marketing automation leader that offers solutions for marketers to engage targets throughout the customer lifecycle.

Learn more about Act-On

Showing 246 reviews

Catherine H.
Sr. Marketing Manager
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019

"Wonderful Product. Great Value, Amazing Results!"

Comments: I've used Act-On for many years and enjoy the ease of use, their great metrics and the intuitive interface. This is a product I can't recommend enough. I use it daily and enjoy the automation as much as I enjoy the social publishing and email marketing abilities.

Pros: Act-On is easy to use and great metrics!

Cons: Nothing I'd change about this software!

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 22/05/2019

Thanks for the great review, Catherine! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy you're a fan of Act-On.

Cheers!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/05/2019
Dan S.
Project Manager
Computer Software, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019

"Quick to Learn, Easy to Use"

Comments: Overall, it's just been a good experience. I had to learn this software at the same time as a handful of others related to my new responsibilities, and this was definitely the easiest to pick up on.

Pros: It didn't take long for me to learn how to use it, even without hands-on guidance. I primarily focus on a monthly campaign being sent to a massive group of clients, and I was able to refer to past ones created by my predecessor as a standard template. Designing is a very simple processes.

Cons: I didn't like the reporting at first, but, now that I better understand the information I being provided, it's better.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 03/07/2019

Hi Dan,
Thanks for being an Act-On enthusiast and posting a review! We love your feedback.
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 01/07/2019
Doug P.
Director of Sales and Marketing
Retail, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2018

"Act-On is a great platform and partner in educating users on marketing automation best practices"

Pros: The most beneficial aspect of Act-On for my team and me is the ease in which you can create attractive templates for emails, landing pages and forms.

Cons: I do not have any major dislikes as far as the software platform is concerned. There have at times been minor issues, but support always does a great job quickly rectifying the situation.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 31/07/2018

Hi Doug,
Thanks so much for posting an Act-On review on Capterra. We love hearing from customers and appreciate you sharing your feedback.
Happy Marketing!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 28/07/2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Operations Manager
Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2018

"A strategic tool to build successful marketing campaigns"

Comments: Having a marketing automation tool such as Act-on is a really benefit to run successful marketing campaign. When we started using Act-On, we realized we were not as organized as we thought we were; It kind of "forced" us (in a positive way) to rethink our campaigns, how we built them and what we expected from them. We were able for the first time to really segment and target our audience. We saw a significant increase in our opening and click rates, we could trigger more interest by sending relevant content to our audience, and this led us to more qualified and interested leads. This tool allowed us to track our audience and create reports on our tasks and projects such as events, webinars, digital campaign (including google adwords, social media posts, emails, website, landing pages). It is a must-have in our marketing tech-stack.
We would advise to really define your needs and do some benchmark; Act-On is a great tool to build segmentation, automated programs, nurturing programs and it can be integrated with many other tools, to create a great and efficient tech stack. It definitely is a tool worth having, but it requires to know where you want to go and what you want to achieve.
It took us a few months before understanding and mastering most of what you can do within the platform, and we’re still learning. So be persistent and don’t be afraid to “play with” and test the tool, it’s totally worth it.

Pros: Act-On’s automation platform is intuitive, I like the way the menu is built, it’s been made in a logical order so that when you move from one section to another, you go down the logical path to build automation.
The support team is great, they’re efficient and patient ! There are many ways to find answers and tips; the Act-On community, the Act-On university, the online training courses, the webinars, everything is made for us to easily learn and efficiently use the platform.

Cons: Sometimes it takes us quite some times to do some simple tasks, for example when editing a step in an automated program, we have to wait a few seconds for the system to record what we edited and allow us to move to the next step. When there are many steps, it can become frustrating. Another example is when editing an image using Act-On editor, it can time many minutes before we can see the changes on the image where it’s being used (in emails, landing page, etc). These delays can be a bit frustrating when you are working on a template and you can’t finish it because some of the assets are still being processed by the system.
The marketing calendar is a bit confusing sometimes, I see messages that have not been sent marked as sent, and we can only have a month view unless we export the details.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 15/11/2018

Thank you for posting your review. It's always great to get customer feedback on what's appreciated and what could be improved upon. Thanks again!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 08/11/2018
Verified Reviewer
Customer Experience and Marketing Manager
51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018

"One of the Best Marketing Automation Programs I've Ever Used"

Comments: My sales and marketing team had so many benefits from this software. The marketing and data analysts had high-level, quality reports that were as detailed or as broad as they wanted. The sales team had live information about their hottest leads and could rely on the lead-generation process to do things automatically. They didn't have to worry about information not being part of the CRM from Marketing because the integration made that seamless. Truly a great program and I didn't even have enough characters to talk about all of the other features too!

Pros: I liked everything about this software! It was truly an all-in-one deal. First of all, it integrated with our CRM (we used SugarCRM). The features related to this integration were: lead generation from our web forms, lead generation from our email campaigns, lead generation based on user action. It also pulled information in from our CRM, so any lead lists we created in our CRM (manually or automatically based on file status, etc) could be pulled into ActOn for campaigns. Next, it integrated with our website - it also has the ability to design your own website within ActOn that allows for even more neat features. It tracked users across emails & webpages and the reports allowed us to drill down to specific geographical areas of activity, key words used, which pages they were on and for how long, etc. It also gave a numerical value (that you can custom set) to each action and at a certain point could put that contact into a sales cycle or send an alert to the sales team to reach out to them.
Lastly, the automated marketing feature was THE BEST. You have the ability to design a multi-faceted campaign that could run for a set amount of time, or indefinitely. What I found to be the cherry on top was that you could set actions for contacts who didn't do certain things (didn't click, didn't open, etc) and then repeat steps or put them into different tracks.
As huge as this program seems, it was also incredibly easy to navigate. Saved our teams a lot of time and energy.

Cons: The most challenging features were the design elements. It was very template based and it took some CSS or HTML skills to make them less-standard. This was true for everything - emails, web pages, landing pages, etc.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 23/05/2018

Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review of Act-On! We really appreciate it and are glad to hear about your excellent experience with our solution.
Happy Marketing!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 15/05/2018
Ashley S.
Database Administrator
Marketing & Advertising, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    3 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"Meeting goals and driving leads with Act-On"

Comments: Our overall experience has been great as we have been able to drive leads, gain marketing insights, and develop automated programs with easy to use templates we created.

Pros: Act-On offers automated program templates, all of which are completely customizable to meet our needs in driving leads in our marketing plan. The ease of use which is visually appealing with drag-and-drop, list segmenting, lead scoring options and integrations all work for our organization on both the user level and administrator level.

Cons: Pricing as this tool is at the higher end of some marketing resources. Also, the inability to schedule integrating segment runs at the earliest of four hours has caused issues with some of our marketing aspects.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 22/05/2019

Hi Ashley,
Thank you for posting a review! We appreciate your feedback.
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Matt K.
Digital Marketing Manager
Retail, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019

"Good marketing automation, with some catches"

Comments: Overall, Dynamics CRM is the biggest problem; however, if Act-On is going to support its integration with the platform, it has to better understand it. Besides that, I like the tool. It has a lot of bells and whistles and is competitively priced against similar marketing automation programs.

Pros: Once you learn it, you realize how nice of a tool it is. Email campaigns, lead scoring, assessing total voice of customer -- it's all there.

Cons: Unless you get the white glove setup service, it's tough to really figure out what you're doing at first. I would not recommend for Dynamics CRM (it's missing features that other CRMs have). The Outlook email template plugin is nice when it works, but more often than not, there are problems. I do wish they help you better understand what data fields are required in both Act-On as well as the CRM, and how to add/edit what is being integrated.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 30/08/2019

Hi Matt,
Thanks so much for posting a review of Act-On. I would encourage you to check out Act-On's customer portal, Act-On Connect. It's full of great resources for customers and includes a customer community for sharing best practices.
https://connect.act-on.com/hc/en-us
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 06/08/2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing
Warehousing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"Act-On for small B2B business"

Comments: We needed a platform to help us segment and reach customers across many varied products lines, and this has helped. Adding in customer service analytics and social media mindshare, and we are pleased with what Act-On provides.

Pros: Ease of use is first and foremost. To create, segment and automate emails of value that will reach our varied customer base is key for us. The social media aspect of Act-On is also a valued feature that not only allows us to plan when our content is shared but what content hits at the right time. We don't use the scoring as much as most companies probably do, but our dive into behavioral analytics through Act-On is yielding great results as well.

Cons: Main dislike: More personalization for our sales force to view how their customers are responding. Dashboard is fine, for sure, but we'd love a better way for them to witness the contacts happening.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 22/05/2019

Thanks for the great feedback. If you haven't already, check out the Act-On User Community for best practice sharing. You'll also find a recent on-demand webinar there about Act-On and Sales Enablement.
https://community.act-on.com/home

Cheers!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Director
Publishing, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018

"Dynamics Compatible, Great Value"

Comments: An unexpected benefit has been in the customer support department. Proactive email drips for recent purchasers helps that team provide great service consistently through scheduled email programs with tips and tutorials.

Pros: The Dynamics integration was a crucial part of my decision to adopt this software for my company. Ease of use is comparable to any other robust marketing automation tool. We've seen huge value in this purchase.

Cons: Unfortunately the software does not function well on iOS devices.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 21/09/2018

We love hearing your feedback. Thanks for sharing your review! Great to hear that you're benefitting from the new customer tutorials, tips and tricks. If you haven't already, please check out the Act-On User Community as another great resource for best practices and product suggestions. https://community.act-on.com/home

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018
Michael (mike) C.
Computer Software
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    Unrated
  • Features & Functionality
    Unrated
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2014

"Happy Journey from ZohoCRM/Act-On to Salesforce/Act-On"

Comments: A few years ago, after consulting and then joining a growing small business, the president and I threw out Microsoft's Business Contact Manager and brought up ZohoCRM integrated with GoogleApps/Mail. The combination was a 'right-size' approach at the time, for many months. But as the customer database grew, the reporting needs and interest in integrating marketing automation intensified, we knew we needed to augment or replace the use of Vertical Response for outbound. Surveying the segment, I found and researched Eloqua, Marketo, and Act-On. As we were staffing limited, time was valuable, complex solutions were of no interest. We went with Act-On and have never looked back.
The recent migration from moving from the ZohoCRM platform to Salesforce.com as the needs and demands grew has gone quite smoothly. I have seen the comments related to Salesforce by others and believe that for some who are not going to try to work towards automation, and for whom a solid Ecosystem of solutions from which to draw are not important, ZohoCRM can be an attractive solution.
But, if a minimal level of usage sophistication begins to be applied, integration with other systems like Lead Management/Marketing Automation is important (and at this point, it should be for nearly any business with revenues over a few hundred $K a year) the Salesforce/Act-On combination has been killer-good,

Pros: Act-On is FAST to get running, whether using alone, or in conjunction with another platform like Salesforce. Answers, insight, follow up automation are all easily obtainable quickly without being sent to a week-long training seminar for $1500.

Cons: Act-On is still building out some capabilities that other players like Eloqua have had. But if you're just starting out, you're not likely to need those features for some time as you get your feet under you. A/O is best for small to mid-size firms.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: GetApp
  • Reviewed on 01/08/2014
Abby S.
Vice President
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017

"Act-On Worth The Marketing Dollars"

Comments: Act-On is one of the best values for what you get in regards to marketing automation systems. It is worth the cost.

Pros: Act-On is an easy to use marketing automation platform. I've used Marketo in the past, and Act-On was much simpler and user friendly. Over the last 2 to 3 years they've enhanced the look and feel of the product only for the better. But perhaps the portion of Act-On that I like the most is the support. They offer top tier support. It actually might be some of the best support I've had for a SaaS offering.

Cons: I do wish they had a few more options around landing pages. Unfortunately, HubSpot blows them out of the water on this feature.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 03/10/2017
Dave J.
Sr Marketing Communications Manager
Biotechnology, 201-500 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    1 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2018

"ACT-ON customer service is fading fast"

Comments: I was looking for an email tool that integrates with MS CRM and this product fits the bill. It allows you to drip campaigns, which is nice (albeit not intuitively). Just make sure you give yourself ample time for their assistance.

Pros: In the landscape of marketing automation systems, ACT-ON is not the most powerful solution, but it is not the most expensive. It works quite well for our needs.

Cons: I generally don't need a lot of support, but if I can't find a solution on their knowledge base, I have no choice but to call them directly. Ever since ACT-ON closed one of there offices a few months ago, it has been taking me an hour to get through on their support line. I had someone email in June and said they would get back to me very soon. After 6 weeks, I emailed them back and then received a response.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 08/08/2018

Hi Dave,
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry that you experienced delays in your support during the transition. I am happy to report that our support team is now fully staffed and ready to help!

Another great resource I'd encourage you to check out is the Act-On User Community at https://community.act-on.com/home. It's a great place to exchange best practices, get tips and tricks and learn from other users and Act-On experts.

Thanks again,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/08/2018
Verified Reviewer
Director of Digital Marketing
Hospitality, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2020

"Great but with a learning curve"

Comments: It’s been a great tool but because we couldn’t utilize all the features internally, we had to hire a consultant.

Pros: This is a very robust email marketing program with marketing automation capabilities. We switched to Act On to be able to take advantage of setting up automated campaigns based on user behavior both in our emails and on our website.

Cons: Because the automation capabilities are so robust, this software has a very steep learning curve. It would not have been feasible for us to use this for marketing automation in-house without a full time person just using Act-on. We had to hire a consultant to be able to use this software.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 25/02/2020
Verified Reviewer
VP - Marketing & Communications
Financial Services, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018

"Act-On Is An Excellent Tool"

Comments: Act-On is the engine that my marketing success runs on.

Pros: It's functionality and diverse tools makes it the top-of-class when it comes to marketing automation platforms.

Cons: In recent months, the customer service has not been as strong as in the past. It seems like it takes more than 48 hours to get questions/concerns of mine answered.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 21/09/2018

Love hearing that "Act-On is the engine that your marketing success runs on"...that's awesome!

The Support Team is working around the clock to help customers. Thanks so much for your patience.

Please check out the Act-On User Community for additional resources here: https://community.act-on.com/home

Cheers!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 11/09/2018
Verified Reviewer
Marketing Manager
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2019

"Easy to Use Marketing Automation Platform"

Comments: We've built all of our landing pages in Act-On, and every marketing emails is sent through the software.

Pros: Very easy to learn and use the platform. The drag-and-drop Landing Page and Email composers can your team productive with Act-On in no time.

Cons: The interface is a inconsistent (some modules have been updated more than others), and there are a few missing nice-to-have options (like the ability to add anchors to CTA buttons - this can be done but by manually adding a button with HTML).

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 29/05/2019

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback!

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 24/05/2019
Terri M.
marketing manager
Information Technology & Services, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019

"ActOn rocks"

Comments: as our Marketing automation platform we use ActOn daily for lead gen email campaign send, as well as client communications.

Pros: Ease of use from start to finish- fairly intuitive software so it is easy to train new folks on, too!

Cons: the layout has some glitches every once & a while- looks one way in review pane & then totally different in the test send.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 22/05/2019

Hi Terri,
We think YOU rock! Thanks so much for posting a review for Act-On. We value and appreciate your feedback.

Cheers!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 21/05/2019
Tom J.
  • Overall Rating
    4.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2013

Comments: We specifically communicate with the C-Suite and particularly with the CEO or President of our clients. It's a relationship-selling process and a one-to-one marketing environment with the most difficult demographics imaginable. We needed a marketing automation platform to track visits to our website from various sources: print campaigns, event follow-up, quarterly articles, etc. Before Act-On we had no software solution. We have an enterprise account. The implementation was extremely easy, and integration with salesforce was not too complicated or messy. We had a lot of data scrubbing to do on our end before things were working correctly. It took about 30 days and Act-On was really helpful. Act-On is very easy to use; it only took us a few days after our initial conference call with the support/training group to send out our first campaign. Customer support is very responsive and thorough. I was having difficulty getting one particular form to do what I wanted it to do, but after a quick chat with our support representative (we have our own dedicated account executive and support person) I was creating landing pages left and right. We can see results in near-real-time! (just hit the refresh button and wala!) It's great to have reports that track everything that our executives can understand and show where marketing is making an impact. It's very difficult to tie in marketing to sales a lot of the time, but we can show where a specific individual landed on our site after a campaign or email, and see what their behavior is. After seeing the pages they landed on, we can issue a request for a follow-up call and direct the sales team to what topics might be of interest to the prospect.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 01/11/2013
Andre T.
  • Overall Rating
    2.5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    2 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2013

Comments: Our company is an insurance brokerage firm specializing in employee benefits (health, dental, life, pensions) for midsize companies in Brazil. Our sales process is based on inside sales cold calling clients to schedule face-to-face visits with our sales consultants. We already have a great telemarketing platform, and we wanted to extract more value from the interactions we have with our prospects, especially when it's not yet time to schedule a face-to-face visit. Before Act-On, we only scheduled a follow-up call after a given time, determined by the inside sales agent according to client response. We found Act-On as an affordable and flexible solution to our marketing automation needs. We particularly liked their "no commitment" sales approach, with month to month billing, no contracts, no upfront setup fees. Implementation was easy, we were able to figure out how to do it ourselves. Business support is very weak, though. Interactions are very superficial, and the sales rep (who, thankfully, continued to be accessible to answer our questions) is more knowledgeable about the software and real marketing applications than the designated Customer Success Managers (who we don't feel are very invested in our success). Its functionality is basic but complete. The content manager (for Landing Pages, for example) is quite basic, but once you figure out how to use it, it does what you need done. Lead scoring works fine, as do Automated Programs. It could have better designed templates for emails and landing pages; the ones provided are dreadful. There is a major shortcoming, though, and I think it's a fatal one: e-mail deliverability. For some reason, most of the email I send through Act-On doesn't make it to my clients' inboxes. I have trying to address this issue with Act-On's deliverability team, but it seems to be something they have resigned to convince their customers to live with. Our clients are in Brazil, so they tried to convince me that this is a problem specific to Brazilian ISPs. I believed this, until I made a test a couple weeks ago. I sent test messages to all ISPs I could create an account on: UOL, Locaweb (Brazilian), GMail, Google Apps, Outlook.com, iCloud, and Yahoo. It turned out that all messages sent to Brazilian ISPs actually made it to their inboxes. The problem was with Google hosted email accounts (100% of the messages I sent went to junk/spam; they didn't even make it to the new Promotions tab), Outlook and Yahoo. So, even if you are in the U.S., look out for poor deliverability.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 31/10/2013
Justin D.
Sales Associate
Computer Software, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    3 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    3 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    6/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017

"A Decent Marketing Automation Tool"

Pros: You can do a lot with Act-On, so long as you know how to use it. It integrates well with SalesForce and is really useful for tracking engagement and behavior via email and web pages.

Cons: Act-On gets the job done on marketing automation, but it's not pretty or easy to navigate. Its UI looks like it dates back to the early 2000's. It is very cluttered and disorganized. Although there are a lot of features, they are a pain to find and implement smoothly together. It is difficult to manage data inside of it.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 07/11/2017
Michael D.
Freelance Writer
Writing & Editing, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    7/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019

"I'm happy with the product"

Comments: Overall, Act-On worked well for what we wanted. It allowed us to create campaigns, landing pages, emails, etc. and generate and track leads. I would use Act-On again if I need it in the future.

Pros: I used this software while working for a marketing company, and Act-On was great at allowing us to generate and track leads. Lead generation was one of our clients' major needs, and Act-On worked very well when it came to that.

Cons: We chose to design our own emails rather than use the email creator Act-On had. We just didn't like that feature very much.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 22/07/2019

Hi Michael,
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback and posting a review. We really appreciate it!
Cheers,
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 16/07/2019
Melanie B.
Administrator
Construction, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    Unrated
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018

"A serious advancement in our company."

Comments: You need to be patient with this software, people arent going to start calling overnight. Invest your time into this product and you will begin to see a difference.

Pros: Due to the features Act- on offers we are able to attract more and higher quality leads to our business. The marketing is targeted, AND we don't have to deal with the pushy 3rd party advertising companies that are only trying to up-sell us and not HELP US.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 19/01/2018
Cristian S.
Web Strategist
Higher Education, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019

"Great Marketing Automation Tool"

Comments: marketing automation, forms, lead nurturing

Pros: Features, easy-to-use interface, customer support

Cons: Slow at times. It could have been our internal network.

Vendor Response

by Act-On Software on 12/03/2019

Hi Cristian,
Thanks so much for posting a review and sharing your positive feedback!
Sarah

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 04/03/2019
Tracy D.
Marketing Manager
Construction, 501-1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    4 /5
  • Value for Money
    4 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2017

"Great marketing automation tool for a one-person marketing department"

Comments: Huge time savings and email marketing capabilities; ability to make professional looking custom landing pages myself means I can turn around campaigns more quickly

Pros: I like that as a single person department and someone who had limited experience with marketing automation and had never set it up before, I was able to get up and running in about 60 days with their guidance. It's a logical and pretty intuitive software that has good functionality.

Cons: Sometimes I am not sure where to go for information and help. As with many software companies, they change their sales reps often so without a single known point of contact, I am occasionally frustrated with not having someone I know, who knows me, to go to. That said, this is true of many companies these days.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 12/12/2017
James W.
Sr. Marketing Specialist
Real Estate, 51-200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    5 /5
  • Ease of Use
    5 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    5 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    10/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2017

"Great software wtih great support group"

Pros: I enjoyed working with Act-On for its ease of use and their customer support. Whenever I ran into an issue which was very rare, I could pick up the phone and have an answer in minutes. It's service like that that makes me want to stay on the software.It's user experience and customer support were always top notch.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Source: SoftwareAdvice
  • Reviewed on 27/07/2017
John C.
Director of Marketing
Consumer Goods, 11-50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
  • Overall Rating
    4 /5
  • Ease of Use
    4 /5
  • Features & Functionality
    4 /5
  • Customer Support
    5 /5
  • Value for Money
    5 /5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018

"ActOn for Marketing"

Comments: It has been a solid tool for our marketing department. We have grown our business with it and would recommend it to small and mid-sized companies.

Pros: The ease of set, pushing forms to sales reps and email campaigns.

Cons: No NetSuite integration of value. This was disappointing and one of the reasons we bought it. No improvements have been made recently.

  • Reviewer Source 
  • Reviewed on 07/09/2018