15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Microsoft Forms Reviews

About Microsoft Forms

A cloud-based data collection application that helps organizations collect feedback information in real-time through forms and surveys.

Learn more about Microsoft Forms

Pros:

MS Forms is easy to pick up and use by any user and will suffice for most use-cases. Included in most MS 365 subscriptions.

Cons:

However apart from the tremendous efforts and features the software has limited integrations with other third-party applications, which may limit its functionality.

Microsoft Forms ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
4.6
Customer Service
4.2
Features
4.3
Value for Money
4.7

Likelihood to recommend

8.6/10

Microsoft Forms has an overall rating of 4.6 out 5 stars based on 131 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Microsoft Forms before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (131)

Samantha
Samantha
Owner in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Brilliant Way To Capture Data For Free

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: It helps me to collect data really easily and quickly, and saves faffing around with paper forms and scanning documents.

Pros:

I love that it's free to use (up to 200 replies, but then I just create a duplicate one to gather more). I can customise it too to make it look really professional.

Cons:

The fact that there's a limit to the amount of responses, and limitations to the customisation of the fields.

Michaela
Office Manager in UK
Civil Engineering, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy to use and creates forms fast!

5.0 10 months ago

Comments: Excellent - efficient and professional service every time.

Pros:

Creates forms very quickly with useful features such as auto-fill and copy & paste. Excellent for feedback purposes as can anonymise data. Sharing features are just as quick and easy to use and gives an excellent and professional finish with customize options.

Cons:

Would be beneficial to have conditional logic options.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: Free Trial
Reviewer Source

Walking in the light

5.0 last month New

Comments: Impressive and life changing experience.

Pros:

User-friendly and time saving tool for professionals.

Cons:

Inability to open a new window while opening the current one.

Dillon
Dillon
Database Specialist in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Barebones Form Creation

3.0 last year

Comments: Overall, MS Forms is a very easy to use program that offers a low barrier to entry due to it being included with many Office 365 subscriptions. The program lacks in more technical features but will be more than enough for most people.

Pros:

MS Forms is easy to pick up and use by any user and will suffice for most use-cases. Included in most MS 365 subscriptions.

Cons:

The more in-depth customization features offered by other programs are very lacking, especially in creating logic flows to allow for different paths based on user responses

Robert
Owner in Romania
Newspapers, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Helped me getting users opinions

5.0 3 months ago

Comments: Easy, fast and powerful, already came with the package I used from Microsoft. It was like a bonus.

Pros:

It was very helpful to get my users opinions when needed. It was very easy to use and setup what I needed. It comes already with the package that I already used (Microsoft 360)

Cons:

None! I couldn`t find any cons for this app for the time I use it.

Jose Manuel
Marketing Manager in Spain
E-Learning, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Great tool, included in Microsoft 365

5.0 5 months ago

Comments: I can create a form quite quickly and I can download the answer in an excel file that I manage with VBA macros. So I can create reports automatically

Pros:

It is very easy to create a form and feel more secure from the privacy point of wiew

Cons:

The forms are not attractive as the ones created with typeform.

Ben
Ben
Instructor in Journalism in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Use Microsoft 365? You need to be using this instead of Google Forms

4.0 last year

Pros:

This is an absolute hidden gem of Microsoft 365 for me, and something I wish more people knew about. If your organization is a 365-based org, then Microsoft Forms is basically everything you would ever need Google Forms to me, with the added benefits of direct integration with 365 and the security that comes with it. It's not going to supplant Qualtrics or anything that needs to be extremely robust, but it is amazing for spinning up one-off forms that used to have to live outside your organization in Google.

Cons:

As mentioned, the forms you can make with this are currently not the most complex, and design options are likewise limited. I would prefer if there were more customization options for design, specifially.

Andrei
Branch Manager in UK
Accounting, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Forms opinion.

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Comments: Overall Microsoft Forms is an excellent app, it comes packet in Microsoft Office 365.

Pros:

For a while I didn`t knew I had Microsoft Forms in the office 365 Package I used everyday. This is like a powerful add-on to a service I already use. The way you can customize makes Forms a powerful data collection on customers or even team. Getting the reports is very easy.

Cons:

No cons for Microsoft Forms, already using other apps from M365, I consider Forms as a free addon.

Robert
Sr. Full Stack Developer in US
Marketing & Advertising, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Ease of use and implementation

4.0 2 months ago

Pros:

The ease of building the form with all the features I needed

Cons:

The interface is a little bit difficult to navigate the first time

Lauren
Cofounder in UK
Design, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Perfect option to survey

5.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

Microsoft forms is great because it is not only easy for the creator but also the person who is completing the survey. You can display questions in various formats which make it useful in research

Cons:

N/A: I like this very much for my uses.

Amr
Instructional Designer. in Egypt
Higher Education, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Multi-purpose Communication Forms.

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: As an Instructional Designer/Data analyst, I use Microsoft Forms in many situations, but mainly two common scenarios work well for me: 1) Creating formative assessment quizzes within learning modules and online courses. 2) Using forms as a data input source in a basic learning analysis workflow. I create quizzes, feedback forms, and surveys. Then I pass the forms' responses to Microsoft Excel Online and connect Excel online to Microsoft Power Bi.

Pros:

Microsoft forms application is easy to use and has many features that suit a wide range of use cases. It has various question types, design themes, sharing options, and response analytics. Also, it is accessible for users with visual disabilities as it has Microsoft Immersive reader built-in. The Forms settings allow admins to control who can access the form and specify when published ones are accepting responses. It's highly customizable and seamlessly integrates with Office 365 and the commonly used third-party applications/platforms. It is a reliable solution for surveys, polls, feedback, quizzes, and business communications.

Cons:

I can't see the downsides of Microsoft Forms. I think it's one of the most efficient applications of Microsoft 365.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
E-Learning, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Easy way to make surveys and build forms

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall great experience. Easy to use, has a lot of beneficial features which save time. 10/10 would recommend. If you are someone looking to make quick questionnaires or surveys, Microsoft Forms is the way to go!

Pros:

My favourite features of Microsoft Forms is the easy use, templates, and the various features function. Microsoft Forms is incredibly user friendly. When I first got my Microsoft account and learned to use Forms, everything was pretty much self explanatory. There were a couple of things that I needed to play around with but once I figured out, I really enjoyed using Microsoft Forms because of its simplicity. Secondly, Microsoft Forms has many templates a user can choose from depending on the occasion. This makes it convenient for me as I don't have to create a form from scratch, I can work off a pre-made template which is time saving. Lastly, you can add questions in various styles such as for the user to respond by uploading a picture file or through a ranking system or short/long answer text boxes. Every time I make forms I always use Microsoft Forms as it saves me time and is easy to make a well made form.

Cons:

I don't really have any negative to say. One suggestion could be for Microsoft to add more template options. I really enjoy using Microsoft Forms.

Whitney
Instructor in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Education Management, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

There's a form for that!

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall, our company runs better because of this software!

Pros:

We use this software for so many things. Time off requests, administrating student exams, pop-quizzes, surveys for feedback, attendance warnings, requests for tutoring, orientation forms, and more. It can be customized to fit any need.

Cons:

The ability to lock or protect a form from being edited after creation would be a huge improvement on the software. We often find that forms are unintentionally changed because we have several users who have access to the same forms.

Philip
Business Operations Manager in UK
Mental Health Care, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Very simple and efficient cloud form creation and management

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I looked for a simple solution for weekly management reports to be submitted remotely. MS forms provided the solution with this simple, easy to learn free product. I've been using it for about a year without any problems, and will continue to do so.

Pros:

MS forms is very easy to set up and use. A form can be designed and distributed a matter of minutes and responses are very easy to access and save

Cons:

The software is very simple to use, the downside of this is that it lacks customisation options beyond choosing a colour scheme and adding a logo.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Higher Education, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Forms, surveys and quizzes all with ease

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Simple tool but with limited customization

Pros:

The platform is really helpful in creating and conducting various kinds of polls, surveys, forms and quizzes. Not much effort is required if using the templates.

Cons:

There are built-in templates but there is not much flexibility. Templates are limited. Customization is limited. Sharing is a problem even within the Microsoft products like teams. The UI is sometimes buggy. the UI needs to be simplistic

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Microsoft Forms review

5.0 last year

Comments: Overall its a good tool but market has many better options

Pros:

Easy to use . It is integrated with mostly all Microsoft tools .

Cons:

Compatibility issues. And it has some security concerns.it has some limited features and its a problem.

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Insurance, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Mostly easy to use but has a few complicated features

4.0 11 months ago

Comments: Overall, it's a function I use fairly regularly and if you get the hang of it, can make your workday simpler!

Pros:

It's fairly easy to set up a form using Microsoft Forms. Especially if you are creating a simple short survey. It's user friendly and I feel even a novice could create a form.

Cons:

I don't like the feature that lets you rearrange the order of the fields. It's not as simple as drag and drop, even though at first glance it looks as though it is.

Akshat
Software Developer in India
Computer Software, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Survey Analyzer for Beginners

4.0 last year

Comments: Overall experience is good, Price for the product is a bit high.

Pros:

It is a great platform for beginners, as it is very easy to learn and generate various forms for different purposes.

Cons:

They can include more color options as well as templates for the form. Rest all is good.

Noe
Office Manager in US
Nonprofit Organization Management, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Experience

5.0 last year

Comments: My overall experience is great. Simple to use. You can change the language and share fast.

Pros:

Microsoft Forms is easy to use. It links through my work email. You can you choose a theme and design different surveys. I love that it tracks how long the survey took to do and gives options for survey design.

Cons:

Over no issues. You need to be logged in to the mail to use it.

Mrinmai
Mrinmai
Director in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The simplest form and survey builder

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

It's great for creating quick forms and surveys and sharing them with others. The user interface is very easy to use and simple.

Cons:

Overall it's great simple surveys and data capturing forms but when it comes to custom-designed forms with more complex logic and workflow, it still needs a lot of improvement.

Thierry
Operations Assistant in Belgium
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Easy online forms

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Easy to use and included in O365

Pros:

Very user friendly. Easy to integrate in Sharepoint.

Cons:

Some extra features would be convenient. Being able to send personalised replies after a form has been filled in. Integration with third party tools would be great.

Faten
Teacher in Qatar
E-Learning, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Forms review

5.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Creating summary link, download responses, adding videos or images to the question

Cons:

I can't add pictures as a question options, I can't add rich text in question part

matt
Accounts assistant in UK
Verified LinkedIn User
Accounting, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Microsoft forms - Review

5.0 7 months ago

Pros:

Very easy to use for someone new to setting up surveys and polls. Allows an easy way to send to multiple users to fill out. Very simple and easy layout.

Cons:

Has limited range of customisation, things like themes and specific pictures.

Rayna
patient care coordinator in US
Health, Wellness & Fitness, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

microsoft forms, what a major help!

5.0 6 months ago

Pros:

i appreciate the organization and structure of the Microsoft forms

Cons:

i always think microsoft forms can be more colorful so it may be more appealing to the eye after reviewing and looking at it all day

Mohammad
Mohammad
Software Engineer in India
Verified LinkedIn User
Computer Software, 10,000+ Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

"Digital form means only Microsoft Forms."

4.0 last year

Comments: #We can also use Microsoft form for getting polls result and analysis.#Free to use .#Creating form is very quick and easy.#Supports media also.

Pros:

#I am using Microsoft Forms from my college days.# It very clear and informative. Very easy to use and its UI is also great.#Can be easily integrated with office 365 applications, like Teams which saves our time.# It looks very much professional.Easy to take data , create online quiz.

Cons:

#Very simple not having so much features.#Templates are limited.#Limited response option.