15 years helping Singaporean businesses
choose better software

Viewpoint Vista Reviews

About Viewpoint Vista

Centralize information, create timely and data-rich financial reports, that offer visibility into the office, project teams, and field.

Learn more about Viewpoint Vista

Pros:

And Vista integrates with Viewpoint One to provide a comprehensive construction software.

Cons:

The user interface can be a little complicated at first. There are a lot of options when it comes to what information you are looking for which can make it difficult to find the right form.

Viewpoint Vista ratings

Average score

Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Service
3.4
Features
3.9
Value for Money
3.8

Likelihood to recommend

7.5/10

Viewpoint Vista has an overall rating of 3.9 out 5 stars based on 246 user reviews on Capterra.

Have you used Viewpoint Vista before?

Share your experiences with other software buyers.

Filter reviews (246)

Verified Reviewer
Verified LinkedIn User
Information Technology & Services, 2–10 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall our experience has been very good.

Pros:

Vista is a very powerful program! Is very customizable.

Cons:

Viewpoint's Customer Service! We hear from our clients all the time that the Viewpoint customer service is horrid.

Bo
Controller in US
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Alternatives Considered:

Robust & Intuitive

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: While it is tough to gauge, our efficiency & productivity has increased for better time management and more effective processes.

Pros:

The software can handle just about anything! It has drastically changed our efficiency company-wide, especially with the projection/forecasting for our project teams. Having our teams getting live data and immediate access helps them more effectively manage their projects.

Cons:

Some of the features within the EM & IN seem to be less of a priority for functionality and user-friendliness.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, Bo!

Lindsey
AR in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

Vista is ok

4.0 2 months ago New

Pros:

I like the ease of it syncing with other software's.

Cons:

There are so many steps to get to where you need to be. The invoices freeze for over 24 hours if you open them twice.

Jamie
CFO in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very poor implementation and support

2.0 3 years ago

Comments: Extremely frustrating -- we had multiple on site consultants during our conversion and go live process. We spent more time re-doing what the previous consultant set-up because each one had a "better solution". Be prepared to have an onsite programmer or hire a consultant to help you with custom features. Viewpoint support is TERRIBLE! They expect you to read through numerous "articles" (if you can get the links to open) to solve your own issues. They're based in Portland, OR; therefore, if you're located on the East coast --- forget any help until after noon. They rarely respond during the same day.

Pros:

Has robust capabilities and custom reporting options

Cons:

The setup was a nightmare and we still have a few issues that are ongoing after nearly 2 years of using the software.

Eddie
Senior Project Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista is a cost effective and powerful ERP for contractors

5.0 3 months ago

Pros:

Effective tool for project managers and accounting personnel to track job costs.

Cons:

Backend modifications require input from consultants and costly customizations.

Sheryl
Director of Business Administration in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Using Vista

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: I am pretty satisfied with Vista.

Pros:

The Project Management/Accounting Integration.

Cons:

The amount of training it really takes to be successful. Also, if you are not a report writer or large enough company to have one on staff, it can be costly to hire that out.

Alexia
Project Assistant in US
Civil Engineering, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1-5 months
Reviewer Source

Great for Task Lists, Hard to Navigate

3.0 2 years ago

Comments: I like it better than Sage 100 contractor, but it still seems based in the 90's. it could be much easier to navigate. the people that have been using it for 3 years or more seem to still have some issues with navigating the system.

Pros:

I like that you can set up your own task list for the items you use the most.

Cons:

its difficult to find reports, unless you know the name of it, or where it is located. it would be nice to be able to run a targeted search.

Jon
Jon
IT Manager in US
Verified LinkedIn User
Construction, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Extremely customizable software

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

The software itself is customizable and very good overall. Their knowledgebase is extensive, but the search features in it don't yield correct results as often as they should. Vista is very customizable, which is extremely importane. You can create user defined fields and tables. You can also connect to the data via SQL, Excel, etc.

Cons:

They have a suggestion box but getting anything implemented takes multiple years the vast majority of the time. Chat support gets a needs improvement. Far too often in the middle of the day no one is available (including today at 2 PM EST).

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Hi Jon, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback!

Tom
CA in Australia
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source

CA Review

2.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall my experience hasn't been great coming from other Construction Project & Accounting Software. There is a lot of positives about Vista, however, I find the very old feeling of the software to be a shame as it leaves users who are required to use this software daily feeling unexcited.

Pros:

I enjoy the interfacing process the most about the software and how multiple items can be entered allowing the using to only Interface or lock these in as required. I also like the amount of reports available to peruse allowing the user to gain a detailed understanding into certain areas of the project.

Cons:

The software is very old and needs to be updated to provide a modern feel. Often the software feels slow having to sync back up with the server which is disappointing. The Forecasting Module is also particularly tricky to understand and get right without causing an error.

Rebecca
Ow er in US
Arts & Crafts, Self Employed
Used the Software for: 6-12 months
Reviewer Source

Great product

5.0 2 weeks ago New

Pros:

I love how easy it is to just use it and hit helpgul

Cons:

Customer support could be easier to reach

Jackie
CFO in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vista by Viewpoint

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Vista has given us the tools and information we need to stay profitable. There are constant changes to technology and I have no doubt Vista will be a leader in the process.

Pros:

Vista is very user friendly and offers a solid base of accounting modules as well as the extension of the employee portal for all employees. We have found new users learn the system quickly.

Cons:

There are a lot of canned reports but if you don’t have someone on staff that knows Crystal Report programming, it makes it difficult. On the other hand, there are options to export the data into Excel.

Vaughn
Vista Applications Support in US
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001–5,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

The program that does it all

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: I came up as a user. It was not easy to learn on my own. But over the years Vista has offered better help screens, new training screens and videos. I have been using Vista for over 20 years. It has always been solid. They keep adding new and better features. It just keeps getting better. It is detail oriented but that is required for all that we ask it to do. I like it.

Pros:

It is a one stop shop that includes all the various aspects of business. It is solid and proven to work together. It is adaptable when needed. We customize everything and Vista does it well.

Cons:

The more we ask it to do the more complicated it gets. There are a lot of options that we do not use or want. But others may love those same features. Not a big fan of the form searches. Most experienced users tell you to use the GRID search and not the form search. Too many issues.

Bridgette
Office Manager in US
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Small Business Heavy Contractor

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: We have used Viewpoint Vista since it became Viewpoint Vista. It has served us well. I have noticed through the years, that our software has been in the forefront in evolving to meet the needs of the changing landscape of construction. This also includes the changing landscape of regulations and paperwork needed to operate a construction business.

Pros:

The product is multifaceted with so many options to use for your construction business. As you grow, it grows with you.

Cons:

Because of the many varied options, sometimes it is hard to navigate all of those options to optimize the use of this software.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that Viewpoint Vista has been such a great fit for your business.

John
IT Director in
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

to Vista from a custom app

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: The heart of Viewpoint is it's people. There are many software packages with lots of features in the market. The big difference it the staff that you work with before and during conversion as well as the support staff afterward. Viewpoint technical support people are knowledgeable and take the time to work with you to resolve any issues.

Pros:

We had spent a decade with a custom built application. The Vista (Viewpoint) system was able to provide all the function we had and needed as well as giving so much more in features. The system is very flexible and can a few setting adjustments can be tailored to fit our needs. The information provided ranges from very detailed to summarized as needed. A powerful system.

Cons:

The only cons I can think of revolve around the ability to customize the system. If you are moving to Vista from another app, take the time needed to work with your Viewpoint rep before and during the conversion. We had a few changes to make afterward that would have not been needed had we talked them over with our conversion rep. It will be time well spent.

Tim
Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Viewpoint Vista - A good product but some work to do

4.0 2 years ago

Comments: Good integration for a multi-faceted business. Cloud based product with good security and single sign on.

Pros:

Viewpoint One web-based project management and financial controls, solid payroll, general ledger and accounts payable package.

Cons:

Analytics Reporting on Viewpoint One is very clunky, BI is very limited. Dispatch board from the Service Management module needs more flexibility to prioritize calls and tag/flag calls on the board. Projection tools within Project Management module don't provide real time functionality and are not easy to use.

Dave
IT Manager/Assistant Controller in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Review of Viewpoint Vista

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

We have been using Viewpoint since 2010 the software is straight forward and way ahead of our previous software COINS. Viewpoint keeps their software updated and with recent purchase of the company by Trimble they are really putting an effort into making it better.

Cons:

Sometimes updates come out and their are bugs and so another update is put out to correct the issues. A good strategy is to wait a few weeks after an update comes out so it's fully vetted.

Steven
IT Manager in
Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

All-In-One Solution for Our Company

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: As the IT Manager at my company, the last thing I need is dozens of applications spread across three offices to maintain.
Vista gives me the tools to combine several departments under on application.

Pros:

Several modules for different uses with different departments. Customization to fit our needs. Easy to find third-party applications like job and time sheet applications that stream in directly to Vista.

Cons:

A bit pricey, but in the long term it pays off. A bit of a learning curve for users, so this would definitely be considered a long term investment for your company.

Wendy
Accounting Manager in US
Construction, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Vista Review

5.0 2 years ago

Comments: Overall after implementation and 6 months its been wonderful and I would highly recommend it to any Construction Company

Pros:

The integration with in Modules, Team especially and Mobile Field Manager

Cons:

We are not fond of the Crystal Reporting and would like to see more reporting

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your feedback!

Andy
Information Systems Specialist in US
Construction, 501–1,000 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source

Longtime Viewpoint Vista Users

4.0 2 years ago

Pros:

Software is really easy to use. There are a get number of reports out of the box. Reports are really easy to create and manipulate to get you the information that you want.

Cons:

Software error popups are really vague and do not describe what is wrong which can make hunting down the issue very difficult at times.

Trimble Response

2 years ago

Hello Andy, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

Margaret
Accounting in
Construction, 11–50 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

As stated- ease of use- if you can operate a personal computer- you can use this software.

5.0 7 years ago

Comments: If you are in the construction business and looking for a software that will cover all areas of accounting- then this is the software that you need.

Pros:

The programs have been designed for construction business operations and making accounting faster and accurate without a lot of input.

Cons:

I guess this would fall under pros- but updates- just like your personal computer- the software comes with updates that must be loaded- they are needed- just another function.

Wendy
Payroll Accountant in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

So easy to learn

4.0 6 years ago

Pros:

This program was easy to learn and flows seamlessly once it's set up. I have been able to cut my process time by a third since switching to this software. When I have questions I can usually find the answer to a problem in the Viewpoint Knowledge Base under the Help menu.

Cons:

Some updates change different modules so occasionally I'll have to adjust to a new way of entering information or retrieving information.

Todd
CFO in US
Construction
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great product but could be made better with targeted improvements

4.0 9 years ago

Pros:

Billing Module gives us the ability to handle many of the unique challenges of our cost + with Guaranteed Maximum projects. Unapproved AP process works very well (would be nice to get a process refresh to streamline process for non accountant approvers) / Just in early stages of converting to Equipment module (from Toolwatch) but inially appears that it will serve most of our needs / Core modules all are very solid (PR, JC, HR, etc)

Cons:

Struggle with doing projected costs based upon billing rates to be able to show owners current project cost to them (our total billings) in a cost+ GMP world. Forced to go offline with too many excel/manual processes. Financial Manager needs to be overhauled to produce modern financial reports not something proceed in the 90's. Dashboard process seems neat but unusable until above is setup.

Clay
Administrative Manager in US
Utilities, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 1+ year
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Easy to work with.

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: We have been very pleased with the ease of use with Vista. It is a huge upgrade from our old software system.

Pros:

We really love the reports you are able to pull in this software. The functions are pretty easy to figure out and understand. The Clearview resource that comes with Viewpoint is an amazing source of information regarding functionality and capabilities.

Cons:

There is no option to file payroll and other taxes through Viewpoint like there is with some other software. Some functions require an import from spreadsheets which seems to lend itself to extra errors.

Pamela
Office Manager in US
Glass, Ceramics & Concrete, 51–200 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Vista has changed the way we do business

5.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great company to do business with. They have been with us every step of the way from implementation to upgrades.

Pros:

From a small construction company getting by with Excel spreadsheets for everything we did to a fully functioning, paperless enterprise. Viewpoint has brought our company into the future,

Cons:

There are almost too many options with the program. Go into the reports menu and it's like going down a rabbit hole.

Grant
Mechanical Engineer in US
Construction, 201–500 Employees
Used the Software for: 2+ years
Reviewer Source
Source: SoftwareAdvice

Viewpoint is as good or as bad as you make it

4.0 6 years ago

Comments: Great software for programers

Pros:

Viewpoint allows you to customize the user experience as much as you want. Things like custom fields, triggers causing updates to tables and custom look ups allow you to customize it.

Cons:

Not a friendly user interface, looks like it was made in Windows 98. The tables between SM and JC on the back end are confusing if working in SQL